34 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

2 GB the way of the future?

Nemesis181188
post Jun 15 2006, 01:29 PM

635 posts

Oh like that this windows vista thing gonna costs us alot.
Zeroize
post Jun 15 2006, 10:04 PM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

LAst time when RD ram first come out, more expensive than this...
YenS
post Jun 15 2006, 10:33 PM

249 posts

hey question: can laptops do 4gb? the one im using is DDR. out of curiousity. not that i can afford 4gbs of laptop ram
8tvt
post Jun 16 2006, 10:14 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(YenS @ Jun 15 2006, 10:33 PM)
hey question: can laptops do 4gb? the one im using is DDR. out of curiousity. not that i can afford 4gbs of laptop ram
ya lor.. 2gb just ok la.. why need alot? gaming on the laptop?
YenS
post Jun 16 2006, 10:16 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 16 2006, 10:14 AM)
ya lor.. 2gb just ok la.. why need alot? gaming on the laptop?
last time 2gb for laptop considered quite a lot horr. but now everythin is so demanding. my 512 lagging craps la..so maybe upgrade lorr, but i think ive run out of slots.
yenson
post Jun 16 2006, 01:08 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jun 15 2006, 12:50 AM)
I wanna ask,just say if i only have 1gb of ram but high performance RAM let's say ddr800 will it be sufficient enough to run windows vista smoothly?
running windows vista 512mb of ram is enough
RIGmaster
post Jun 16 2006, 01:21 PM

735 posts

Vista Needs 4GB ? Not Really , unless microsoft want to do some business tricks on us ... My windows XP only need 180MB for system only ...

Anyway , Big RAMS Bring BIG latency ... I rather choose small RAM but not too small , good enough for my Basic Gamming and Video editing needs for about 2GB . Even i Edit a 1.3GB Flash File only Needs 400MB RAM ... So for 4GB ... EHM ... Servers May Need that for maintaining the Bandwidth before jamming .

The biggest RAM eating Games i Play before only Alexender , which eats about 1GB of RAM .

I think what they mean 4GB is just to minimise the latency by Maximise the Dual Channel Performance when using x64 Windows . 64 bit windows can acess lot and lots of virtual memory . Terabyte ? no problem .
lucifah
post Aug 4 2006, 09:53 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

topic merged with another thread discussing the need of 2 / 4 gb of ram i nthe near future. have fun debating and if no significant contribution, i'd consider this thread done
Darkmage12
post Aug 4 2006, 11:20 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(yenson @ Jun 16 2006, 01:08 PM)
running windows vista 512mb of ram is enough
vista consumes around 800+mb of ram even in the desktop so 1gb is barely minimum
Merlin_of_light
post Aug 7 2006, 11:11 AM

82 posts

I plan to get an amd x2 3800+ and 7900GT to play FEAR at 1280x1024res. Will 1GB of RAM cause stuttering during gameplay with most graphics settings on? I dont mind longer loading time (how long exactly?)

For the home user, 1GB is most definitely enough but even for casual gamers nowadays 2GB is required.
Aoshi_88
post Aug 7 2006, 11:44 AM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

QUOTE(Merlin_of_light @ Aug 7 2006, 11:11 AM)
I plan to get an amd x2 3800+ and 7900GT to play FEAR at 1280x1024res. Will 1GB of RAM cause stuttering during gameplay with most graphics settings on? I dont mind longer loading time (how long exactly?)

For the home user, 1GB is most definitely enough but even for casual gamers nowadays 2GB is required.
Depends more on your GC RAM than actual RAM itself. Casual gamers? i thik it would still be 1GB. But for hardcore gamers it would be >1.5GB.
Amal
post Aug 7 2006, 02:11 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(Merlin_of_light @ Aug 7 2006, 11:11 AM)

it stutters a bit at the start of the game.. after 10% of the game, it all goes smoothly... biggrin.gif
rayfoo
post Dec 5 2006, 06:57 AM

2,564 posts

this how my vista system looks like with a normal load running on my pc with 1gb of ram, i feel need to upgrade to 2gb , not satisfactory at the moment sweat.gif

Canopies
post Dec 5 2006, 01:53 PM

2,733 posts

Hmm...

guys..a question here

After windows vista out,

will the ram price drop or increase?

Im just wanna get a 2gb ram ...
iluvena
post Dec 5 2006, 02:10 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Dec 5 2006, 01:53 PM)
Hmm...

guys..a question here

After windows vista out,

will the ram price drop or increase?

Im just wanna get a 2gb ram ...
for me.. it depends on the market.. if everyone is so excited and start to change into vista (total volume order is so big) then the ram price will drop drastically.. but if only certain amount of people using vista.. the price might be the same or could be higher..
raymond5105
post Dec 5 2006, 02:37 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(iluvena @ Dec 5 2006, 02:10 PM)
for me.. it depends on the market.. if everyone is so excited and start to change into vista (total volume order is so big) then the ram price will drop drastically.. but if only certain amount of people using vista.. the price might be the same or could be higher..
In order to let majority of the users changing to Vista,i think this might need to take some time to happen.Right now still many of us using the Win XP OS.
sunauto
post Dec 5 2006, 04:55 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I'll make it 4GB to be on the safe side since Vista is resource hungry, our games won't run fine if the OS itself hogs all the resources available. cry.gif

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Jun 15 2006, 09:28 AM)
to run vista smoothly, i would say 2GB, if want extra juice, i would say 3GB.
linkinstreet
post Dec 5 2006, 07:37 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

O'RLY? I've been using 1GB on my Vista and my games run fine without lags. Sometimes, theory is not enough, you just need to use it to know
sunauto
post Dec 5 2006, 08:45 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

You must be kidding me, even 2GB for my Win XP Pro, it's just nice, how could it be running smoothly with 1GB when the recommended specs is 2GB for Vista? Vista alone uses around 500 mb to 700 mb of ram space. Maybe if yours a stripped down version of Vista then I dunno lah. tongue.gif

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Dec 5 2006, 07:37 PM)
O'RLY? I've been using 1GB on my Vista and my games run fine without lags. Sometimes, theory is not enough, you just need to use it to know
mypetridish
post Dec 5 2006, 08:46 PM

1,313 posts

im using 2gb on my XP machine and im not happy with it. in the end it is not the numbers that count

34 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:56 PM