2 GB the way of the future?

Darkmage12
post May 27 2006, 08:45 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Omage007 @ May 27 2006, 01:57 AM)
But the link show 4Gb dun have much performance improvement over the 2Gb, what is the point then?? encourage us to spend money for nothing?? (maybe can show off. . . I GOT 4GB RAM!!)  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
ya showing off could be the point for buying 4GB of ram.... like if u got quad SLI u can also brag like say u go ask your friend his/her pc how much ram if they only got 1GB then u can laugh and say my gc has twice your ram laugh.gif
greyPJ
post May 27 2006, 08:48 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

i'd rather spend the money on bigger lcd.
gamestx
post May 27 2006, 08:55 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ May 27 2006, 08:45 AM)
ya showing off could be the point for buying 4GB of ram.... like if u got quad SLI u can also brag like say u go ask your friend his/her pc how much ram if they only got 1GB then u can laugh and say my gc has twice your ram laugh.gif
What's the good of showing off anyway? PC is personal computer.. its for the specific person personal use only and that particular person have to right to buy whatever specs he think suite his or her own needs based on the usage. Not every PC user is a gamer... Some of us just use the PC to do some accounting, some Word/Excel documents or just some plain web surfing.. So respect others..

Anyway.. 2GB of RAM is the most optimized option.. 4GB currently will not boost your Windows XP .. unless you're planning for Windows Vista soon.. that is..
Darkmage12
post May 27 2006, 09:05 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(gamestx @ May 27 2006, 08:55 AM)
What's the good of showing off anyway? PC is personal computer.. its for the specific person personal use only and that particular person have to right to buy whatever specs he think suite his or her own needs based on the usage. Not every PC user is a gamer... Some of us just use the PC to do some accounting, some Word/Excel documents or just some plain web surfing.. So respect others..

Anyway.. 2GB of RAM is the most optimized option.. 4GB currently will not boost your Windows XP .. unless you're planning for Windows Vista soon.. that is..
windows xp cant support 4gb ram iirc only 3 gb will be used up
jinaun
post May 27 2006, 09:12 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

well.. thats what ppl always say lasttime..

8MB is good enough, then 64 then 126, then 512, then 1GB... then now 2GB....

i won be suprise ppl will be running 4GB as norm in the near future
cloudstrife07
post May 27 2006, 09:16 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ May 27 2006, 09:12 AM)
well.. thats what ppl always say lasttime..

8MB is good enough, then 64 then 126, then 512, then 1GB... then now 2GB....

i won be suprise ppl will be running 4GB as norm in the near future
erk jinaun..its 128mb not 126 lol..

yeah,i wont b surprised too..but hey,in this modern world,there are still plenty of windows98 users tongue.gif
-=J4cKa5s=-
post May 27 2006, 09:44 AM

354 posts

4GB RAM, tat is too much.... cost 1.4K... walao... Xtreme user... Apple G5 use 4GB i din feel anything, at least they use it for multimedia, editing... biggrin.gif If u wan to play games n use for Windows Vista, better invest on graphics card, coz Vista feed alot of memory from GPU... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -=J4cKa5s=-: May 27 2006, 09:45 AM
terencetoo
post May 27 2006, 09:55 AM

3,246 posts

how good is the preformance for 4gb to 2gb? i think 2gc is more then enough for a normal pc user. whereas 4Gb will give u extra 101% smotther application in nonosecond??

Darkmage12
post May 27 2006, 10:01 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ May 27 2006, 09:55 AM)
how good is the preformance for 4gb to 2gb? i think 2gc is more then enough for a normal pc user. whereas 4Gb will give u extra 101% smotther application in nonosecond??
4gb to 2gb wont feel the difference somemore in benchmark it loses out abit
jinaun
post May 27 2006, 11:47 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ May 27 2006, 09:05 AM)
windows xp cant support 4gb ram iirc only 3 gb will be used up
windows XP prior to SP2 can see all 4GB ram
Eoma
post May 27 2006, 11:53 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 27 2006, 07:50 AM)
VISTA is just a bloatware OS which needs more RAM. 4GB = rm 1.5k...Insane...Just on RAM ?
Well, if you compare purely in terms of numerical value, yes, Vista does require quite a bit of RAM. IE 7+, 6 tabs, sidebar on Vista Beta 2 (untweaked) eats up 748Mb of RAM.
2 Gb will be the norm soon, and prices will soon reflect that. It's all a sign of the times (moving ahead) really.
Darkmage12
post May 27 2006, 12:11 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ May 27 2006, 11:47 AM)
windows XP prior to SP2 can see all 4GB ram
oic thx for enlightening me on that

cajun2de
post May 27 2006, 09:17 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

the prices will drop....dell has stated they will ship standard desktops wit 2gb ram once vista is out...so by comparison 2gb ram will be the same price as the current 1gb ram when vista is sort of out in the market...vista is a biach OS ,which is memory hungry
Dead__Man
post May 28 2006, 05:51 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

Some might label me a conspiracy theorist, but I have a dman strong feeling that software companies are purposely setting the requirements damn high, just so the hardware manufacturers can make profit. Hell, they probably don't even optimize their software for minimal hardware requirements.
jinaun
post May 28 2006, 07:32 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

well.. if its true.. it started from earlier MSDOS version when there is no HDD and more than 640KB memory req..

hey.. even the big man himself (bill gates) says that 640KB is all we need for teh future@
Kagaya
post May 28 2006, 09:14 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

I think the biggest question is still, DO WE NEED VISTA ANYWAY?

ikanayam
post May 28 2006, 09:46 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(Dead__Man @ May 28 2006, 04:51 AM)
Some might label me a conspiracy theorist, but I have a dman strong feeling that software companies are purposely setting the requirements damn high, just so the hardware manufacturers can make profit. Hell, they probably don't even optimize their software for minimal hardware requirements.
If you want more functionality out of your programs, the program sizes will grow.
Amdahl's lesser known law: memory size has to grow linearly with the increase in CPU speed.
No point having all that processing power if you run out of things to work on.

QUOTE(Kagaya @ May 28 2006, 08:14 AM)
depends. it has some nice improvements at the core level but also a lot of unnecessary frills which i'm hoping can be switched off.
Dead__Man
post May 28 2006, 10:00 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ May 28 2006, 09:46 PM)
If you want more functionality out of your programs, the program sizes will grow.
Amdahl's lesser known law: memory size has to grow linearly with the increase in CPU speed.
Fine, whatever. Then don't use the extra functionality. Who wants to fork out 2gb more memory for an OS that sports a shinier GUI? Ok, given, there are good things too, like maybe DX 10 or so, but still....4gb is a tick too much, I find.
ikanayam
post May 28 2006, 10:04 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

well the nice part about computers is the prices for the mainstream always go down.
bluesky87
post May 28 2006, 10:27 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 27 2006, 11:53 AM)
Well, if you compare purely in terms of numerical value, yes, Vista does require quite a bit of RAM. IE 7+, 6 tabs, sidebar on Vista Beta 2 (untweaked) eats up 748Mb of RAM.
2 Gb will be the norm soon, and prices will soon reflect that. It's all a sign of the times (moving ahead) really.
QUOTE(Kagaya @ May 28 2006, 09:14 PM)
Just be patient and wait. What's for sure is the price of RAM will definitely drop - I say it. icon_idea.gif As for the market now 2gb is way than enough. I asked my friend, he's a salesman in Lowyat and he told me there isn't any customer that buy more than 2gb RAM until today.

And about Vista, no doubt that is it very "consuming" in every factor, to Vista or not to Vista? That is the question. whistling.gif

Ps. Maybe using Window XP but put Vista shell? lol sweat.gif

34 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:33 PM