6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Need Advice from Bike Gurus: my 1st Bike

SquaLL_JB
post Oct 22 2011, 07:35 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Oct 21 2011, 08:45 PM)
bro i think you can go ahead...the 250 still light bike...i think same like riding tzm...

i jumped from tzm to er6f...for the first few weeks ride slow...understand the bike...get used to the weight,power and size...since you'll be running in period...by the time its over youll be ready.. smile.gif

no point you waste money buy 250...then get 750...same thing...still need time to adjust to the z750..

the clutch same...no big diff. just need time adjust to the weight and throttle response and handling..once you understand the bike....you start pushing to its max potential....once u reach that point..ull start to realize you can tame the power....and start the upgrade bug biggrin.gif hehehehe  drool.gif  rclxm9.gif

Added on October 21, 2011, 8:46 pmyoure from jb ah bro? im in jb too...where you plan to get the bike?
Thanks man for the advice! Yups..im from larkin. Still surveying at the moment. Do u have any suggestion?
Wira_lover
post Oct 22 2011, 01:51 PM

315 posts

yup...can bring you to the authorised kawa dealer@ungku aminah

let me know when you wanna get the bike bro...can bring you over intro you to the boss...very nice guy..
SquaLL_JB
post Oct 22 2011, 11:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Oct 22 2011, 01:51 PM)
yup...can bring you to the authorised kawa dealer@ungku aminah

let me know when you wanna get the bike bro...can bring you over intro you to the boss...very nice guy..
Oo..you know the boss ahh..okay..will inform you when im planning to go there.
TScattledecap
post Oct 26 2011, 10:04 AM

hi all, holiday greetings

Trigger pulled.
order made. tongue.gif
pics soon.
blue krr 150.
Expected to arrive by this friday...
(it looked quite bulky in width compared to say rxz but since ultimately i wanna get bigger bike, got to start with this - did not do any test ride with this bike - hope all is ok).

Now i'm quite worried about security as i stay in highrise with bikes parked below.
what kind of SECURITY can i arrange for my bike?
Is there any cheap GPS transmitted that can be attached to the bike with link to a smartphone to trace it in case it is taken?
Also any good shops selling bike security devices?
thanks guys, cheers.

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Oct 26 2011, 10:04 AM
s_ian86
post Oct 26 2011, 03:01 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(cattledecap @ Oct 26 2011, 10:04 AM)

Trigger pulled.
order made. tongue.gif
pics soon.
blue krr 150.
(it looked quite bulky in width compared to say rxz but since ultimately i wanna get bigger bike, got to start with this - did not do any test ride with this bike - hope all is ok).

Now i'm quite worried about security as i stay in highrise with bikes parked below.
Is there any cheap GPS transmitted that can be attached to the bike with link to a smartphone to trace it in case it is taken?
thanks guys, cheers.
Nice one GPS laugh.gif it sure will be expensive.

Usually ppl will buy a normal lock like solex, or chain, or a disc lock.
yamato
post Oct 26 2011, 03:11 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

QUOTE(s_ian86 @ Oct 26 2011, 03:01 PM)
Nice one GPS  laugh.gif  it sure will be expensive.

Usually ppl will buy a normal lock like solex, or chain, or a disc lock.
GPS is passive security, it cant prevent from being stolen, but only help in "lost & found".
you shall get active securities. disc lock/wheel lock are decent. siren could scare the punk off when they sit or move your bike. a chained wheel/chassis that leashed to a pole or pillar would be the ultimate solution, hah.

safe ride, happy biking.

This post has been edited by yamato: Oct 26 2011, 03:12 PM
yamato
post Oct 26 2011, 03:53 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Oct 26 2011, 03:46 PM)
you have to do this...
lol he want also canot lo.
he mentioned he live in condo/apartment. unless he have a crane to lift his bike to balcony xD
Wira_lover
post Oct 26 2011, 10:21 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Oct 26 2011, 03:46 PM)
you have to do this...

OR...
hahahahaha nice oneeee!

Trigger pulled.
order made. tongue.gif
pics soon.
blue krr 150.

thanks guys, cheers.

congrats broo... thumbup.gif

locks, disc lock..and loud alarm siren. you can also get those disc locks called Xena if im not mistaken, that has an inbuilt alarm... this can be used when you upgrade later on also. GPS not cheap la bro...last time i heard, got one guy, leave a cheap phone in his car .. then when it gets stolen, he just does that search my phone thing... and found his car...hahahha...
TScattledecap
post Oct 26 2011, 11:01 PM

Actually getting a cheap phone with A gps - some do auto updates on that four square website i think - that was a thought in my mind, but i think A GPSphone still expensive.
I asked for certain number combination for luck in number plate - they said that will cost rm 380 for runner - wanted to use both earthly and 'ong' protection for bike. kips would sort of stand out like a sore thumb amongst the kapchais parked. anyway i don't want to think too much about this. the shop mechanic will ride bike and park in my place as i do not want to ride it during rush hour due to my limited experience.
Also i saw this but i suppose not available in malaysia...
http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/08/garmin-...cator-hands-on/

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Oct 26 2011, 11:03 PM
rosstafa
post Oct 27 2011, 11:54 AM

On another note, KIPS 150 is a 2-stroke bike, after that you better upgrade to >500cc (coz Ninja 250 is slower than kips)
rosstafa
post Oct 27 2011, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(T600 @ Oct 27 2011, 12:20 PM)
Actually I live in condo, I parked my ER6N at the car park for almost 1 year, only steering locked, no problem, security system is good there. I even accidentally left my key overnight on the bike  rclxub.gif for twice!

It is all depends on your area, it should have no problem if there is guards, we are using access card to enter the building, very strict here.

haizz pay those guards some kopi $ ask them to look after it lol. rolleyes.gif
I experienced similar accident haha. I left my keys on my bike for the whole night (riding ER6F) and it's still there. Kudos to the guards who secure the area!
TScattledecap
post Oct 27 2011, 02:01 PM

No, at the moment i'm not in condo type. it's 'open air'...no guards.
Both the above posters have 600cc kawa which i think not many thiefs interested.
But yamaha LC/honda cub hot
the kawa 150cc i ordered also considered quite hot for thiefs.
600cc bikes, superbikes etc i think thiefs have no much incentive to steal.
i better pray to all the gods.

ps - recently my bro car got broken into, caught the guy red handed, cctv footage also got, but eventually the thief (drug addict) got released within 1 week i believe. now i understand why the public just beats up the thiefs before handing to authorities. but drug addicts - they aren't usually rational so nothing could stop them i believe.
Wira_lover
post Oct 27 2011, 02:11 PM

315 posts

hahahaha im also an er6f owner...left my key under the seat lock... after locking my helmet doh.gif doh.gif ironic eh. in front of a mall in j.b.

anyways nothing happen also..thank god.

till today i only use steering lock...but i will get the xena alarm disc lock soon la...other than that..i still belive...if somebody wants to steal it, they will definitely get it..no matter how many preventative measures i take.

Added on October 27, 2011, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(cattledecap @ Oct 27 2011, 02:01 PM)
No, at the moment i'm not in condo type. it's 'open air'...no guards.
Both the above posters have 600cc kawa which i think not many thiefs interested.
But yamaha LC/honda cub hot
the kawa 150cc i ordered also considered quite hot for thiefs.
600cc bikes, superbikes etc i think thiefs have no much incentive to steal.
i better pray to all the gods.

ps - recently my bro car got broken into, caught the guy red handed, cctv footage also got, but eventually the thief (drug addict) got released within 1 week i believe. now i understand why the public just beats up the thiefs before handing to authorities. but drug addicts - they aren't usually rational so nothing could stop them i believe.
hmmm i think you should get the disc lock bro..the one with alarm.. go mudah see Xena alarm, then install the armed alarm with a siren....this is all i can think off...instead of spending the money on gps phone etc. you get this 2 alarm...let it scream and prevent the bike from being stolen....

This post has been edited by Wira_lover: Oct 27 2011, 02:16 PM
TScattledecap
post Oct 27 2011, 05:06 PM

ya i agree....i'll put simple alarm.
The shop lady called saying kawasaki online order system down since tuesday. They didn't inform this when i placed order. She does not even know when system will be back on! - not even a deadline. They do not have backup, no way to order manually according to her.
I took holiday thursday/friday to sort out bike delivery/ buying lock etc and postponed some events i had to attend for this - will kawasaki compensate owners for this inexplicable delay? vmad.gif
Wira_lover
post Oct 27 2011, 05:54 PM

315 posts

bro i suggest call kawa HQ sales to see if this is the case. sometimes they might claim this n that, in fact is they who r delaying.
Pliskin
post Oct 29 2011, 03:13 PM

424 posts

ya man...get a Xena disc brake lock with alarm function...i'm using one of those, and it's loud man! :-) the construction of the lock is sturdy too...

i got it from David Choo, a reputable seller on malaysia's various bike forums....just search online....tonnes of stuff man! Jackets, boots, etc...and Eidaman at Kelana is not bad too! frenly owner and wife, will help u source for things...:-)

happy biking!
TScattledecap
post Nov 1 2011, 10:37 PM

ok sifus update for today,
i'm not sure about posting photos, but here are 2 pics of the blue baby.
1. they told me 1st gear down, 2nd - 6th up, and reverse order when coming down
2. they showed me a black rotating switch - turn one side if petrol full, turn down for reserve petrol, then turn ? sideways if petrol in between?
3. raincoat for bike rm 100, 2 simple front and back locks both rm 100
5. the mechanic said got rm 5 petrol in bike, i told him to fill till fulltank and deliver to my place. He took rm 20 and said, all rm 20 finish to reach full tank...don't know true or not but gave him rm 10 duit kopi for his effort to ride it to my place.
6. Early this morning plan to make my first ride, i hope starting no prob as these sport bike i've heard need to manipulate 'choke' etc.
7. my bro scolded me for not getting a kappchai/RXZ first, but i said ' i've talked to forum experts, he said this is not USA where they use big bikes, i said i asked in low yat, not USA forum - he kept quiet. Anyway i'm liking the look and feel of this bike. after riding it i'll give further impressions and issues. It's raining much and it's a big wet field outside home before i reach the road, let's see how things go. I hope i can wake up 5 am...

MeToo
post Nov 2 2011, 10:53 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(cattledecap @ Nov 1 2011, 10:37 PM)
2. they showed me a black rotating switch - turn one side if petrol full, turn down for reserve petrol, then turn ? sideways if petrol in between?
5. the mechanic said got rm 5 petrol in bike, i told him to fill till fulltank and deliver to my place. He took rm 20 and said, all rm 20 finish to reach full tank...don't know true or not but gave him rm 10 duit kopi for his effort to ride it to my place.
6. Early this morning plan to make my first ride, i hope starting no prob as these sport bike i've heard need to manipulate 'choke' etc.
7. my bro scolded me for not getting a kappchai/RXZ first, but i said ' i've talked to forum experts, he said this is not USA where they use big bikes, i said i asked in low yat, not USA forum - he kept quiet. Anyway i'm liking the look and feel of this bike. after riding it i'll give further impressions and issues. It's raining much and it's a big wet field outside home before i reach the road, let's see how things go. I hope i can wake up 5 am...
U wont need the choke unless your bike long time no start.

Tell your bro 150ccis also in the range of considered "kapcai" lah tongue.gif

Its pure base for u to learn the clutch/gear. Also, make sure your shoes can tahan playing with the gear, my riding boots usually have extra patch of leather/rubber where the shoes contact the gear.

Cyprid Dark ii
post Nov 2 2011, 02:38 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 2 2011, 10:53 AM)
U wont need the choke unless your bike long time no start.

Tell your bro 150ccis also in the range of considered "kapcai" lah tongue.gif

Its pure base for u to learn the clutch/gear. Also, make sure your shoes can tahan playing with the gear, my riding boots usually have extra patch of leather/rubber where the shoes contact the gear.
No,150cc sportbike is considered learner-class sportbike..... biggrin.gif

EyraYus
post Nov 2 2011, 03:28 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(cattledecap @ Nov 1 2011, 10:37 PM)
1) yes, its true
2) down when its full, up when you want to put it on reserve, middle when u want to turn off the fuel supply
3) no comment on the shop price
5) no comment about fuel
6) you will need the choke usually when the engine is cold. no big issue.
7) scold him back

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:48 PM