Need Advice from Bike Gurus: my 1st Bike

TScattledecap
post Oct 19 2011, 03:59 PM, updated 14y ago

Dear Motorbike Sifus,
I have been driving car to work so far...
almost never rode bike before....
want to start biking, keen to eventually ride bigger (SBK) bikes...
So, i paid for B full license and told the L class i want B full but never rode bike before - the whole class had a good laugh.
I went to the circuit. The teacher asked me to do '8' - i was able to get on the kapchai and do the '8' first try rclxms.gif , but i could not master the 'titi'. doh.gif
In this situation the teacher advice me to get a bike since now i have L, and practise more outside.
My Question is:
Since i want to eventually trade up to owning SBK, what would be a good starter bike to train:
+some fren said get simple non clutch and get balance right for titi etc
+some fren said get clutched cheap 2nd hand kapchai within rm 1 k, master it then trade in in 1 month
+some fren said just get ninja 150rr, then go straight to ninja 250 --> 500cc and beyond
So - (a) new or 2nd hand (b) kapchai or ninja 150 © if kapchai - which one is best? - i assume one with proper clutch etc...
TQ!
TScattledecap
post Oct 19 2011, 05:06 PM

Good point by sarawakian - about getting B2 first. But i already pay for B full. Initially i want to get the < 250cc license first - but fren say take B full terusla...After going to circuit i realize that i need basics like mastering titi with small bike first. So i'm stuck now-have to go b fulll.

So one person so far suggest kawa 250, one suggest kapchai/kips 150cc...Again if kapchai - i dunno, suzuki shogun sp seem to fit the bill, but poor resale value if i wanna trade up. Yamaha LC also i believe got kickstart and clutch, good resale value, but 'hot' bike for thiefz

Sidestory for ur entertainment:
Meanwhile i decide to get some gear - being newbie don't want my skin to peel of in the first day.
I look at various forums etc for good quality stuff - but most shops sell accessories like a part time income. I got arai helmet (rm 80) but realize i need to buy plastic visor (newbie rite). paid rm 15 for plastic visor, then realized it is non flippable. Anyway because of this i wanted to find proper accessory shop. After much looking found one shop in sunway - got a kushitani jacket rm 3++, and gloves. For kapchai/kips level this is enough maa...Funny riding kapchai with nolan helmet-dainese jacket-sidi boot (by the way all 3 would probably cost equal to a brand new KIPS). Quite happy with my apparel.
Today supposed to go train in the circuit - but saw the dark clouds at the edges of KL - maybe on saturday i will go for 'the battle of titi'.
At the moment all fren bawak car - except one guy - need to hunt him down for kapchai trial...
TScattledecap
post Oct 19 2011, 05:34 PM

well i dunno how to look if it's original or not...
the arai is white color with number 23 on it - not a full face one.
the kushitani is a mesh jacket - non leather one, it's like the cheapest jacket there i think. But i love the design - green kawasaki racing type - M sioze, fits me ok.
gloves about rm 80 - non branded - less protection but more comfortable and flexible type.
i might take pics later - need to borrow bro's camera.
TScattledecap
post Oct 19 2011, 05:53 PM

so far i've been to one shop, described my situation, they suggest:
1. an old yamaha ss 110 rm 1300 - looks run down - mechanic said 'use clutch also can, you don't use clutch oso gear masuk!'
2. a suzuki RG i believe rm 2800 - with 'race clutch' - looks a bit better on the outside compared to the yamaha.
I need to survey couple more shops...
I dunno what to check to avoid shop cheating me, issues are as follows:
1. when buying 2nd/1st hand, what to bring - obviously cash in pocket/3 month salary slip - but for 2nd hand kapchai i can arrange cash. Other than that what else - IC and license i suppose.
2. things to check in the 2nd hand bike - since i'm new, this is a drawback- i don't want breakdown everyday.
3. to avoid the issue in no.2 above, if i buy new, then i have to think of model with decent 2nd hand value, avoiding theft etc - i'm feeling giddy already, need to take one step at a time... rclxub.gif
TScattledecap
post Oct 19 2011, 09:17 PM

now i am leaning towards new kapchai first, then perhaps k150 and up...
i'll update post once there is more progress...
otherwise thanks for advice and ride safe...
TScattledecap
post Oct 20 2011, 07:01 PM

Is there any shop were you can go and be sure the accessories are original?
we are talking about rider safety here.
just because they sell arai for rm 1k, should i trust it is original? - or a lose lose deal where i pay more for fake stuff...
it would be good to have a list of quality original accessory shops...

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Oct 22 2011, 03:39 PM
TScattledecap
post Oct 26 2011, 10:04 AM

hi all, holiday greetings

Trigger pulled.
order made. tongue.gif
pics soon.
blue krr 150.
Expected to arrive by this friday...
(it looked quite bulky in width compared to say rxz but since ultimately i wanna get bigger bike, got to start with this - did not do any test ride with this bike - hope all is ok).

Now i'm quite worried about security as i stay in highrise with bikes parked below.
what kind of SECURITY can i arrange for my bike?
Is there any cheap GPS transmitted that can be attached to the bike with link to a smartphone to trace it in case it is taken?
Also any good shops selling bike security devices?
thanks guys, cheers.

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Oct 26 2011, 10:04 AM
TScattledecap
post Oct 26 2011, 11:01 PM

Actually getting a cheap phone with A gps - some do auto updates on that four square website i think - that was a thought in my mind, but i think A GPSphone still expensive.
I asked for certain number combination for luck in number plate - they said that will cost rm 380 for runner - wanted to use both earthly and 'ong' protection for bike. kips would sort of stand out like a sore thumb amongst the kapchais parked. anyway i don't want to think too much about this. the shop mechanic will ride bike and park in my place as i do not want to ride it during rush hour due to my limited experience.
Also i saw this but i suppose not available in malaysia...
http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/08/garmin-...cator-hands-on/

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Oct 26 2011, 11:03 PM
TScattledecap
post Oct 27 2011, 02:01 PM

No, at the moment i'm not in condo type. it's 'open air'...no guards.
Both the above posters have 600cc kawa which i think not many thiefs interested.
But yamaha LC/honda cub hot
the kawa 150cc i ordered also considered quite hot for thiefs.
600cc bikes, superbikes etc i think thiefs have no much incentive to steal.
i better pray to all the gods.

ps - recently my bro car got broken into, caught the guy red handed, cctv footage also got, but eventually the thief (drug addict) got released within 1 week i believe. now i understand why the public just beats up the thiefs before handing to authorities. but drug addicts - they aren't usually rational so nothing could stop them i believe.
TScattledecap
post Oct 27 2011, 05:06 PM

ya i agree....i'll put simple alarm.
The shop lady called saying kawasaki online order system down since tuesday. They didn't inform this when i placed order. She does not even know when system will be back on! - not even a deadline. They do not have backup, no way to order manually according to her.
I took holiday thursday/friday to sort out bike delivery/ buying lock etc and postponed some events i had to attend for this - will kawasaki compensate owners for this inexplicable delay? vmad.gif
TScattledecap
post Nov 1 2011, 10:37 PM

ok sifus update for today,
i'm not sure about posting photos, but here are 2 pics of the blue baby.
1. they told me 1st gear down, 2nd - 6th up, and reverse order when coming down
2. they showed me a black rotating switch - turn one side if petrol full, turn down for reserve petrol, then turn ? sideways if petrol in between?
3. raincoat for bike rm 100, 2 simple front and back locks both rm 100
5. the mechanic said got rm 5 petrol in bike, i told him to fill till fulltank and deliver to my place. He took rm 20 and said, all rm 20 finish to reach full tank...don't know true or not but gave him rm 10 duit kopi for his effort to ride it to my place.
6. Early this morning plan to make my first ride, i hope starting no prob as these sport bike i've heard need to manipulate 'choke' etc.
7. my bro scolded me for not getting a kappchai/RXZ first, but i said ' i've talked to forum experts, he said this is not USA where they use big bikes, i said i asked in low yat, not USA forum - he kept quiet. Anyway i'm liking the look and feel of this bike. after riding it i'll give further impressions and issues. It's raining much and it's a big wet field outside home before i reach the road, let's see how things go. I hope i can wake up 5 am...

TScattledecap
post Nov 2 2011, 05:17 PM

It was a dark and stormy night...
5 am came....
grabbed my fake arai '23' helmet and rushed down.
put the bike in position so i don't hit anything 'jumpstarting'
kickx1 - nothing
kickx2- with throttle - nothing
kick few more times - moved the fuel switch, nothing
moved choke up, down - kick again, nothing.

at 545 am operation aborted.... blink.gif

woke up had breakfast - called bikeshop, mechanic said to send bike there, will change factory setting.
Then met a friend to whom i informed about getting a bike before.
Bought him nasi kandar.
3pm.
He opened choke, kicked a few times, finally.....bike started.
weather too cold he said.
Also factory set RPM too low for fuel consumption he said, noticing that when i play clutch 1st gear bike jerked.
But with few more tries, i could move few meters straight unaided - success!

He told me he'll leave choke slightly open, and to rev to about 2000rpm before releasing clutch for 1st gear - good advice.
Also he asked me to put a brick for side stand as i parked on grass...just noticed this bike has no centre stand shocking.gif

So, with Internet Panel of Experts and real life assistance, i have moved a few meters...

next step, to bring to small quiet road and see what happens.
learned a lot today...
TScattledecap
post Nov 3 2011, 06:28 AM

-rm 91++, then adding other costs 96++
-2 stroke? i dunno, ask sifus
-riding position -slightly leaning forward...hope it helps.
TScattledecap
post Nov 3 2011, 12:56 PM

-raincoat bought for the bike, not for me... tongue.gif
-raincoat also to tutup aurat for my bike to prevent 'evil eyez'...
TScattledecap
post Nov 3 2011, 07:44 PM

it's not cattle bro, it's cattle decapitation:
http://www.cattledecapitation.com/news.php
a heavy metal band which is against animal slaughter (disclaimer - i still eat meat)

Back to ur question - it's new bike, but this model around since 2008 i think...
Otherwise i'm heaving headache with our current weather as it is very cold -i have to try start bike - these 2 days i'll be buusy - hope it starts or else have to find my nasi kandar friend or retune to higher rpm...

TScattledecap
post Nov 5 2011, 01:32 PM

victory!victory!victory! rclxms.gif
took my blue iron horse for a spin, actually 2.
opened choke max, no throttle.
took to the internal roads around flat.
at the first turning realized that my rear mirrors were lookin at the sky, just turned, too late to think, luckily no car behind me... cry.gif
stopped, adjusted mirror, round 2.
i had some problems bringing the feller to neutral from 1st gear, but finally learnt to get that soft 'touch'.
now time to go buy a nice long plank to practise the 'titi' - after overcoming titi, need to go get the jaguh/virago around the track at driving school, that's next step.
listening to '99 problems' by jay z in celebration...
TScattledecap
post Nov 7 2011, 08:48 PM

i am getting more confident now...
with that confidence i tried starting bike just now and my jeans (straight cut) tip tangle with kickstarter, whoa almost lost balance..
somehow from the first time i ride this bike - have not worn the rm 300 jacket, wearing the arai also no visor. but still small roads...ok,ok i will wear it soon...

the CHOKE icon_question.gif - if i start with choke normal position, even if i rev the bike, it just dies in neutral, but very happy if i pull down choke...i don't know what to do about this - so i rode around with choke 'on' today - very short ride coz i was tired.

TScattledecap
post Nov 8 2011, 12:40 AM

dear jcmf,
i stay near southgate shopping complex. can meet up there - i belanja teh tarik no prob...
http://www.southgate.com.my/gethere.php

eyrayus,
thanks for your teaching offer, but i must be skilled enough to reach all the way to taman layang layang - have to start going beyond 2nd gear blush.gif

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Nov 8 2011, 12:49 AM
TScattledecap
post Nov 25 2011, 05:06 PM

haizz...rain, busy 2 weeks did not ride...
this morning went out with determination - must do it!
bike don't want to start rclxub.gif
choke on, no throttle...bur not starting hmm.gif

Added on November 26, 2011, 7:39 amgrabbed another bg sized guy to kick it with max choke.
had a nice ride this morning...
when i had a morning ride, and i go near speedbreaker, i notice the bike dies if i'm in 3-4th gear.
since there are a few bumpers in short distances, do i drop down gear everytime, or could i just hold clutch and move thru on 3rd/4th gear - i guess it's trial and error.

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Nov 26 2011, 07:39 AM
TScattledecap
post Nov 27 2011, 05:33 PM

wonder full tank petrol costs how much - i'm going to fill petrol later - in cars i know it won't spill out but bikes i'm not sure if it will overflow...

Added on November 28, 2011, 2:14 pmok - night time, planned to for 1st petrol fill, but rain.
morning - rode in the middle of road- thankfully not much traffic - the mirrors - can't see much, i have to adjust them mirrors better.
the nearest petrol station involves me going thru a road tunnel where there is no much room for bikes to ride on the side, then downhill into a roundabout, and finally back. the bloody petrol station is right opposite my house but have to make big detour to get there vmad.gif
fuel tank showed half fuel left - paid rm 5, i was watching the tank - by rm 4.10, full already - so i dunno about rm 20 for fulltank the mech told me earlier...
all this while my choke always turned full - if i reduce, bike stops!
after filling petrol tried 3 times before starting finally - doh.gif
I notice that at roundabouts traffic light, where i need to stop, probably better just stop at 2nd gear and then move. If itry to get down to 1st gear, i gt confused and bike stalls at traffic. also at roundabout bike was jumping like horse when i tried to figure out the gears....luckily holiday and morning rclxub.gif
if i want to downshift/going downhill, i have to make sure my speed really slow down first, otherwise the bike jerks and makes 'whiny' sound...
in conclusion:
***need to learn art of changing gears appropriately at inclines, traffic lights - & have to adjust mirrors properly!***

Added on December 9, 2011, 6:27 pmtoday did about 20x start stops (did not off engine) with 1st gear - to master clutch. made good improvement. BUT...
when i rode back home, at 2nd gear, suddenly engine mati.
Tried starting 6-7 times with choke max but no response.
Gear in neutral, tried to go 1st gear but gear 'tak masuk'...
finally after many kicks, started but with big hollow sound. tried to push into 1st, then 2nd gear...but die again. Pushed back home - that time i thought if superbike how will i push that weight...
anyway called mechanic - he starts it after few kicks, takes a listen - says spark plug dead as choke kept max.
but the fella will not even idle for a while if choke not max!
anyway he slowly rode it back to the shop - i'll visit the bike in the shop tomorrow.
upset as i was making a fair amount of progress today and this happens cry.gif

This post has been edited by cattledecap: Dec 9 2011, 06:27 PM

0.0228sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:20 PM