Need Advice from Bike Gurus: my 1st Bike

s_ian86
post Oct 19 2011, 04:32 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(cattledecap @ Oct 19 2011, 03:59 PM)
Dear Motorbike Sifus,
I have been driving car to work so far...
almost never rode bike before....
want to start biking, keen to eventually ride bigger (SBK) bikes...
So, i paid for B full license and told the L class i want B full but never rode bike before - the whole class had a good laugh.
I went to the circuit. The teacher asked me to do '8' - i was able to get on the kapchai and do the '8' first try rclxms.gif , but i could not master the 'titi'. doh.gif
In this situation the teacher advice me to get a bike since now i have L, and practise more outside.
My Question is:
Since i want to eventually trade up to owning SBK, what would be a good starter bike to train:
+some fren said get simple non clutch and get balance right for titi etc
+some fren said get clutched cheap 2nd hand kapchai within rm 1 k, master it then trade in in 1 month
+some fren said just get ninja 150rr, then go straight to ninja 250 --> 500cc and beyond
So - (a) new or 2nd hand  (b) kapchai or ninja 150  © if kapchai - which one is best? - i assume one with proper clutch etc...
TQ!
Well im not that sifu in motorbike. But yes im like you when i start learning, i think it was last year on Oct i start my training, at first i decide to take B full license, but then they ask me do i know to ride a bike? I said no, so the pymt for full B license, is expensive. due to i have to pay first B2 and B full separately.

So i settle with B2 license till im good enuf, then i get my B full license. because i decided to get KAWA 250 ninja.
i was not the type to like Kapchai. (sorry to kapchai owners out there) because i love SPORTS BIKE

Ok here the part to answer your questions:

1) You dont need to buy a bike just to train to ride on the titi. After all you can practice right?
2) It is best to start with Kapchai or KIPS or CBR 150.
3) Although Big Bike is the BEST, but money wise its like flowing like a river. (but if your rich is up to you)
4) Still as a person who knows his mistake, i should have start with smaller one maybe kips.
5) Well if you keen on getting big bike (like me, which i totally ignore my friends advice) go get 250 cc as its a good beginner sports bike.

but if you really are having trouble with the titi, well ask your fren for help.. your instructor damn useless dont want to ajar.

to me u have no prob with the 8 round, there fore try to naik titi, pass it, try to ride on the titi (dont count the sec just wait till you are able to cross the titi till the end) then when you are done with it, baru u start tu kira, or wat my instructor asks me to do is to Sing. i recommend use the kapchai first till u really good in it, cuz using a clutch bike, well u need time to adapt. So getting a B full is a good idea if you have use motorcycle before, if not get B2 first.

Training and riding in obstacle is differ from riding on the roads.
s_ian86
post Oct 19 2011, 05:16 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(cattledecap @ Oct 19 2011, 05:06 PM)
Good point by sarawakian - about getting B2 first. But i already pay for B full. Initially i want to get the < 250cc license first - but fren say take B full terusla...After going to circuit i realize that i need basics like mastering titi with small bike first. So i'm stuck now-have to go b fulll.

So one person so far  suggest kawa 250, one suggest kapchai/kips 150cc...Again if kapchai - i dunno, suzuki shogun sp seem to fit the bill, but poor resale value if i wanna trade up. Yamaha LC also i believe got kickstart and clutch, good resale value, but 'hot' bike for thiefz

Sidestory for ur entertainment:
Meanwhile i decide to get some gear - being newbie don't want my skin to peel of in the first day.
I look at various forums etc for good quality stuff - but most shops sell accessories like a part time income. I got arai helmet (rm 80) but realize i need to buy plastic visor (newbie rite). paid rm 15 for plastic visor, then realized it is non flippable. Anyway because of this i wanted to find proper accessory shop. After much looking found one shop in sunway - got a kushitani jacket rm 3++, and gloves. For kapchai/kips level this is enough maa...Funny riding kapchai with nolan helmet-dainese jacket-sidi boot (by the way all 3 would probably cost equal to a brand new KIPS). Quite happy with my apparel.
Today supposed to go train in the circuit - but saw the dark clouds at the edges of KL - maybe on saturday i will go for 'the battle of titi'.
At the moment all fren bawak car - except one guy - need to hunt him down for kapchai trial...
Well i did get refund, cuz i too pay in full. =) but if u want to go ahead, just go ahead because the impt part is choosing which bike after getting the license.

May i strongly recommend, 150cc - 250cc (buy 2nd hand if you want to change quickly to a BIGGER bike cc) and nope im not a salesman, if you choose ninja, welcome aboard to KAWASAKI family. icon_rolleyes.gif

Last but not least, once you test the BIG BIKE, cars dont mean a thing brows.gif
s_ian86
post Oct 19 2011, 05:59 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Oct 19 2011, 05:43 PM)
and like bro sarawakian said - once you ride big bikes cars mean nothing ....(except when it rains) wink.gif
Like this one thumbup.gif

Still.. JAM or RAIN hmm.gif

kalau balik rumah redah je lah, got rain coat even better!

May i suggest for a fullface helmet which will cost you rm500 below, sirim and dot approval, SOL helmet, am using 1. =)
Could get it cheaper if you know the place. nod.gif

s_ian86
post Oct 20 2011, 02:49 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Oct 19 2011, 06:26 PM)
1.that is called clutch 'mati' i dont suggest you get this as it defeats the purpose.

2.i always like RG's.

for the bike...since its short term i doubt you be facing any major issues and bikes are quite hardcore... just look out for signs of leakage, smoke and misfiring etc...i think license also no need bro..now its self u can buy the bike since cash.

just get a good disc lock or padlock la bro....no matter how you lock up your bike big or small...if somebody wants to steal it..they will get it... so some basic preventative measures is ok....other than that all luck and gods and hands...don think too much...

Added on October 19, 2011, 6:28 pm
hahahahah u da man la bro....you are right....during jams, you feel super awesome...and when pumping petrol you also feel super awesome....

as long as got raincoat good one...rain not so much of an issue..just that at times a bit annoying la ...cause cars drive a bit reckless during rain.

yeah SOL, LS2 are quite good budget full faced helmets... im using LS2.

will buy Nolan or Caberg in SG soon.
Bro totally agree during rainy days. Drivers out there seems to be driving crazy!

Nice one Caberg or Nolan. thumbup.gif

but i must say i respect bigger bike compare to mine.. how on earth they can selit menyelit during jam... hehe drool.gif

Still a long way for me before i get myself a bigger bike.

Added on October 20, 2011, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(EyraYus @ Oct 19 2011, 07:59 PM)
Lol. Stopping in heavy rain are for the small fish. I never stop in rain, unless my riding buddies did.

Anyway, get a Kawasaki ZX150 first. Very light and agile. Enough power to keep up with those 250cc 4 strokers, and you will be eating them for lunch, and dinner. Low maintenance as well compared to those 4 strokers.

Dont really want to write an essay, as I already tell a hell lot of newcomers to stay away from bike above 250cc, and go for 150cc 2stroke ZX150 as its a better choice compared to 250cc 4 strokers.  Its a waste of time as most people usually think of 2 strokers as rempit bike. I learn my way up the biking ladder with the ZX.

PM me if you want to know why the ZX is a more sensible option.
Stopping in rain tu i dont want to comment. dont want to hurt others feeling. So far for me, if im heading back home, i will just go ahead.

but suggesting in ZX150. i do agree with it 100% IF NOT 200% good bike for starting.. Most ppl dont realise about the maintenance until they own one.. Including me =) but i've no complain when riding one =)

This post has been edited by s_ian86: Oct 20 2011, 02:58 PM
s_ian86
post Oct 21 2011, 04:04 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Oct 21 2011, 11:00 AM)
I'll give u a quick list:

Mecinda at Pertama Complex, if u ask which is ori or fake then they will tell
Motoworld at PJCC next to NPE after tol going to Sunway side, it's a branch here. came from SG. most of the stuffs are original.
Motostyle, pro in custom made full suits
Eidaman Bikers in Kelana Jaya, i'm sure someone here is a regular of this shop.
Big Bike Shop in Puchong, not sure never been there.
Dainese Pro Shop in Plaza TTDI, haven't check it out yet cos they just open 2 days back

there u go, enjoy shopping smile.gif
Eidaman Bikers in Kelana Jaya - Not really a regular, but have been there to buy items like Paddock stand, chain oil and filter, brackets + fairing. The owner is very friendly person + a gurus in bike himself. So you can ask lots of questions. The shop is run by him (Man) and his wife (Eida) but most importantly his half sarawakian brows.gif or if you want to view the goods via online go to EidamanBikers.com

The other item i bought is at Pandan Indah. Ibikers the shop name if not mistaken.. located in some shopping mall can remember.. can found his goods in Mudah.
s_ian86
post Oct 21 2011, 06:40 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Oct 21 2011, 06:27 PM)
Actually Eidaman is not bad, bought from him before a Alpinestar GP-Pro replica gloves for my fren. Fren has been using it for 10 months already and still going strong. Just that it's not convenient for me to go there so my usual hanging out area is normally Sunvay Cycle in Sunway PJS7. The owner Mr Chua is famous for many things and has at least 20 years of experience with bikes. Not to mention his service for bikes is top notch as well.

That's just my opinion.

As for iBikers in Pandan Indah, not so famous and always give lousy service. This has been witnessed by a fren of mine who is also a member in this forum.

Cheers smile.gif

ps-if u have fb, check out DC Bikers tongue.gif
Hahaha at that time, i've no idea where to buy the item.. one fren suggests somewhere near Sentul but its so far away.

To be honest im not that good when it comes to road in KL/Selangor. Even though I've been here for 4 years.

Sunway PJS7.. hmm maybe i should google it. =)

DC Bikers? hmm will do bro thumbup.gif
s_ian86
post Oct 21 2011, 06:46 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(SquaLL_JB @ Oct 21 2011, 06:36 PM)
Hi all..i've been riding kapchai for about 5 years now, but never get to ride bigger capacity bikes (>250 cc)..now im thinking to trade my kapchai and get Z750..is it okay for me or i have to try smaller bikes first?

appreciate your opinion on the matter.

p/s: sorry TS, asking question on your thread..
Hmm if you are ok with clutch go ahead. But to be safe, start with lower cc than Z750. I know this because i've read so many articles regarding big bikes. But then its up to you. its just my opinion. Because big bike have differ handling, speed, clutch, weight and etc.

I think most ppl would say, if you are OK with clutch than its up to you.

Additional: always know your soon to be bike maintenance and spare parts, it also helps to decide. laugh.gif
s_ian86
post Oct 21 2011, 07:05 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Oct 21 2011, 06:51 PM)
Actually i started off with a Z750 tongue.gif
haha without riding a kapchai? wow call a brave heart rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
I fail in getting my B full license as my clutch FAIL big time..
but even after getting B2 i got KAWA 250..
And yes it has been a year using clutch, tak da hal punya..
Naik motor kapchai.. itu ada hal punya.. tak tau nak bawa mcm mana hahaha. rolleyes.gif
paiseh paiseh blush.gif

This post has been edited by s_ian86: Oct 21 2011, 07:10 PM
s_ian86
post Oct 26 2011, 03:01 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(cattledecap @ Oct 26 2011, 10:04 AM)
hi all, holiday greetings

Trigger pulled.
order made. tongue.gif
pics soon.
blue krr 150.
Expected to arrive by this friday...
(it looked quite bulky in width compared to say rxz but since ultimately i wanna get bigger bike, got to start with this - did not do any test ride with this bike - hope all is ok).

Now i'm quite worried about security as i stay in highrise with bikes parked below.
what kind of SECURITY can i arrange for my bike?
Is there any cheap GPS transmitted that can be attached to the bike with link to a smartphone to trace it in case it is taken?
Also any good shops selling bike security devices?
thanks guys, cheers.
Nice one GPS laugh.gif it sure will be expensive.

Usually ppl will buy a normal lock like solex, or chain, or a disc lock.

0.0228sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:25 AM