33 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Computer Engineering Thread, # 67 members already :D #

harrychoo
post Apr 6 2006, 10:10 PM

3,589 posts

i think there is no such things as negative resistance.

if it really exist, i think Ohm's Law or other related laws won't hold anymore..lol

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Apr 6 2006, 10:10 PM
TScharge-n-go
post Apr 6 2006, 11:22 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 6 2006, 09:52 PM)
Share with us regarding the 0 resistance too.  notworthy.gif
hahaha, i think we learnt a bit too in physical electronics. I oso forgotten liao tongue.gif

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 6 2006, 09:58 PM)
Negative Differential Resistance still has a +ve static resistance.
And yes, 0 resistance is the ideal condition but it is almost impossible to achieve with current material that we have...

But a grounding wire has -ve resistance? That simply amaze me...
Negative differential resistance means, the resistance value is decreasing over time mah, rite?
0 resistance is ideal, and super conductors only has very very near to zero resistance.

-ve resistance is like..... the object exist to have some energy supply (instead of resisting, it is giving energy). tongue.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Apr 6 2006, 11:23 PM
iZuDeeN
post Apr 6 2006, 11:29 PM

3,466 posts

that is what i said, which means it impossible that a normal wire giving out energy...

I dunno how to explain to my frend that his reading is wrong....

actually im new to the job and he's senior than me, so if i go to my immediate supervisor and tell this thing, my frend my think i want to 'show power'...

TScharge-n-go
post Apr 6 2006, 11:37 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 6 2006, 11:29 PM)
that is what i said, which  means it impossible that a normal wire giving out energy...

I dunno how to explain to my frend that his reading is wrong....

actually im new to the job and he's senior than me, so if i go to my immediate supervisor and tell this thing, my frend my think i want to 'show power'...
LoL, i were u, i oso dunno wanna laugh or cry towards this senior tongue.gif

Well, if he said -ve terminal then logical la, -ve resistance is stooopig.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 7 2006, 02:39 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 6 2006, 10:10 PM)
i think there is no such things as negative resistance.

if it really exist, i think Ohm's Law or other related laws won't hold anymore..lol
Ohm's Law is a very primitive law and the introduction of superconductor somehow violates it.

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 6 2006, 11:22 PM)
hahaha, i think we learnt  a bit too in physical electronics. I oso forgotten liao tongue.gif
Negative differential resistance means, the resistance value is decreasing over time mah, rite?
0 resistance is ideal, and super conductors only has very very near to zero resistance.

-ve resistance is like..... the object exist to have some energy supply (instead of resisting, it is giving energy). tongue.gif
Negative differential resistance is something like negative temperature coefficient. The resistance of a material decreases when a controlled variable is being altered.
iZuDeeN
post Apr 7 2006, 09:25 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 7 2006, 02:39 AM)

Negative differential resistance is something like negative temperature coefficient. The resistance of a material decreases when a controlled variable is being altered.
That is correct, but you still cant get resistance -ve...

you only decrease the resistence, but it will never reach 0, let alove -ve

silkworm
post Apr 7 2006, 09:29 PM

965 posts

In situations like these, look at the tools being used in measurement. An Ohmeter is just measuring the voltage across the resistor after pumping in a known current. If the DAC resolution is not high enough, or the voltage scaling not large enough, then the result of the measurement is bound to be erroneous. Furthermore, if the resistance of the ground wire is less than the resistance of the probe leads, then the readout is also definitely wrong.
iZuDeeN
post Apr 7 2006, 09:35 PM

3,466 posts

the multimeter used is of industry standard...

while the probe is calibrated every 3 months as per requirement

silkworm
post Apr 7 2006, 10:10 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 7 2006, 09:35 PM)
the multimeter used is of industry standard...

while the probe is calibrated every 3 months as per requirement

Fair enough. Was it a handheld unit or a bench-top? What does the specification for the multimeter say about the resolution and accuracy? For measuring something in the milli-ohm range you should probably be using a RCL meter with Kelvin clips instead of a two-lead, contact probe multimeter.

Measuring Resistance (epanorama.net)
martianunlimited
post Apr 8 2006, 02:49 PM

The original Martian
1,521 posts

There is a phenomenon called negative resistance, where the current will actually increase when the voltage is reduced (and vice versa). And when that happens the circuit will actually oscillate. Quite cool stuff btw. I first learnt about it when checking out on cold fusion on J.L Naudin's website. (Note: this is not pseudoscience... )

http://jlnlabs.imars.com/cnr/index.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negative_Resistance

Actually it's possible to get a -ve reading.

1)ground bounce (the ground voltage jumped to a positive voltage when you place the probe, should be very transient though). Since we always "assume" that ground = 0v, that can explain some things...
2)there is a voltage source connected. (will probably screw up your multimeter permanently though)

This post has been edited by martianunlimited: Apr 8 2006, 03:05 PM
int19h
post Apr 17 2006, 03:32 PM

78 posts

I don't know how I managed to miss this thread all this months, heheh... anyways, int19h checking in. Atm my interests are mainly with top-level architectural design, eg mapping algorithms to array structures, augmenting existing processor core designs with custom instructions... simple noob stuff like that. I'd rather stay away from the low-level stuff, will leave that to you guys smile.gif

[edit: clarified something]

This post has been edited by int19h: Apr 17 2006, 03:40 PM
NEO.rage
post Apr 18 2006, 11:37 AM

I got Unifi. Do you?
798 posts

hola, im new hear.
taking computer engineering in mmu. rclxms.gif

just would like to join this thread even though im just in second year. tongue.gif
seems like u guy's topic are too advance for me rclxub.gif

neway, lets bring this up, up n away. icon_rolleyes.gif
ikanayam
post Apr 20 2006, 12:50 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

W00t i have LVSed already! A bit more tweaking and i'm done!

MAD MAC 525 layout:
http://www.contrib.andrew.cmu.edu/~fma/cmu...t%20labeled.PNG

Win, gold and binary!
TScharge-n-go
post Apr 20 2006, 01:42 PM

4,060 posts

Yes, finally done with my 8-bit CPU FYP. It is working !!
X10A Freedom
post Apr 20 2006, 06:17 PM

ZGMF-X20A Strike Freedom Gundam
3,875 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Apr 20 2006, 12:50 PM)
W00t i have LVSed already! A bit more tweaking and i'm done!

MAD MAC 525 layout:
http://www.contrib.andrew.cmu.edu/~fma/cmu...t%20labeled.PNG

Win, gold and binary!
neat mask layout
i really need to brush up my skill to your level
= /
ikanayam
post Apr 21 2006, 01:31 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(X10A Freedom @ Apr 20 2006, 05:17 AM)
neat mask layout
i really need to brush up my skill to your level
= /
I didn't layout the whole chip, i did the adder and part of the multiplier only. 13000 transistors is a bit much for one person (with other work) to layout in a month and a half tongue.gif

The key is good floorplanning and size estimation. My team's initial predictions on size and transistor counts were very detailed and almost spot on, which helped a lot. We also floorplanned the chip early on and enforced area and shape restrictions for the modules once the initial layout started and everyone stuck to it so we got the shape nice with few gaps and a good transistor density.

Of course above all you need a good team to work with and my team did a good job, i didn't have to fix that much stuff laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Apr 21 2006, 01:33 AM
shadow_dweller
post Apr 21 2006, 06:43 PM

754 posts

reporting in !

Boss charge-n-go ...

hahaha :Þ
hao
post Apr 22 2006, 02:01 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

Do you guys have any recommended website about applications of signal flow graph?
TScharge-n-go
post Apr 23 2006, 04:17 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(shadow_dweller @ Apr 21 2006, 06:43 PM)
reporting in !

Boss charge-n-go ...

hahaha :Þ
going to grad liao only u report ar... tongue.gif

QUOTE(hao @ Apr 22 2006, 02:01 PM)
Do you guys have any recommended website about applications of signal flow graph?
What about google? biggrin.gif
i think SFG is useful for defining the input/output of a system.
Cloudx
post Apr 27 2006, 12:39 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Anyone knows where in penang can i get PCB developing service?? UV,Develope and Etching need it to do a circuit for my FYP

This post has been edited by Cloudx: Apr 27 2006, 12:59 PM

33 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:09 AM