Computer Engineering Thread, # 67 members already :D #

TScharge-n-go
post Oct 15 2005, 10:06 AM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Eokboy @ Oct 14 2005, 11:43 PM)
Damn, im still stuck with logic gates, in BM...Get logik DAN, TAK, ATAU, litar penambah, penolak. F5 physics.
Istill dont understand the adder circuit, and SPM is coming...Got the flip-flop circuit down though.
Your adder and subtractor circuit using XOR? (X-ATAU i suppose in BM tongue.gif)
TScharge-n-go
post Oct 17 2005, 03:17 PM

4,060 posts

Just a bump to keep it alive. Currently doing Control Unit, dunno need how long to finish 8-}
TScharge-n-go
post Oct 17 2005, 06:32 PM

4,060 posts

Damn, I need to use gate level oso, behavioral no syiok tongue.gif

Phew... I'm used to work for dunno how many days for my Final Year Project, so damn tired to be on schedule. Ikan genius man, 4 minutes can finish a project laugh.gif

Hey, send me your CU design, see which part i can leech u (if u dun mind) tongue.gif

edit : still got some headache in implementing Interrupt Request into the CU.

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Oct 17 2005, 07:16 PM
TScharge-n-go
post Oct 23 2005, 12:39 AM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Oct 22 2005, 01:24 AM)
Nice topic. One more to register.

I graduated from utm.
Registration done thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Oct 23 2005, 10:24 PM
TScharge-n-go
post Oct 23 2005, 10:26 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Oct 23 2005, 02:26 AM)
hi there... i just found out this thread.... sweat.gif

igor_is300 graduated last year with BEng Electronics Eng. from Staffordshire  University reporting in..  smile.gif
alrites, thanx for reporting. I got another source of information if I dunno something tongue.gif

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Oct 23 2005, 02:44 AM)
y only got e & e  cry.gif

no mechanical 1  sweat.gif

sry 4 d spam... but i m impress with u guys
oops, computer hardware is more related to e&e ma. Maybe u can ask almostthere to open mecha engineering thread in fast & furious biggrin.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Oct 26 2005, 09:05 AM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(zybler @ Oct 25 2005, 09:34 PM)
Erm... I'm a first year student on computer engineering from UTAR.. can add me to the list?  smile.gif

I've got a question lar.. erm.. anyone here knows where to buy electronics parts? Like those for PIC and 80x microcontroller? As well as those logic gates..
Added you, welcome !
Usually i buy my parts in SS2 bcoz near my house, lazy to go so far laugh.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 3 2005, 10:04 PM

4,060 posts

anybody has good slides on the algorithm about Manchester Carry Chain adder? I found a lot from google, but most of them are talking about transistor optimization (which i never learn b4 sad.gif ). I only got a lil tips tat Manchester is using some carry skip and carry lookahead method to speed up the process.

Implementation : 4x 8-bit adder for halo's FADD unit. Need a small, low power and decent speed adder. From some graph i found manchester suits this, anymore recommendation about which adder to be used?

Thanx a lot notworthy.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 4 2005, 12:43 AM

4,060 posts

I already have a couple of CL and CR hybrid. Just wanna try if MCC or some Carry Skip can give me good results for 8-bit tongue.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 4 2005, 06:28 PM

4,060 posts

halo, maybe can ask shabiul for help tongue.gif (JKJK). According to martianunlimited suggestions previously, i already have a few 8-bit adders for you. Choose one to suit yr multi adder FP unit design, hehehe.

btw, anybody knows how to calculate the delay due to the increase of fan-in? Thanx
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 5 2005, 07:22 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 5 2005, 01:44 AM)
That depends on what gate you are using and whether it is a rise or fall delay. In a nand gate the rise delay is not affected, but the fall delay increases with every new input. The opposite is true for a NOR gate. It's not just the delays that are the problem though, it also affects signal integrity, which is why you don't normally see gates with large fan ins.
icic, thanx. how bout normal OR and AND gates? Well, I js wondering if there's any formula to calculate the delay.

In my design, I can only estimate how many gate delays a signal has. Sometimes the signal propagates through a few big fan in gate, which i think it might have 2x delay than a normal 2 input gate. Just hoping to have more precise calculation. smile.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 6 2005, 11:21 PM

4,060 posts

yeap, shabiul islam LOL. He shot me a lot during my presentation, luckily can answer his Qs. tongue.gif

Fabian still around, he's supervising ppl on robotics. Seems like u r from MMU too, haha.

My biggest fan-in is 9 (for 8th bit CLA adder), and no big fan out wink.gif

May i know where to get the STA? Any recommendation? Lanun edition maybe we can PM each other tongue.gif

Thanx ya biggrin.gif

TScharge-n-go
post Nov 7 2005, 08:25 AM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(martianunlimited @ Nov 6 2005, 11:46 PM)
I am a MMU Grad loh.... at least 2 years your senior....
9 Fan-in is too big liao... you are essentially stacking 9 nmos/pmos in a line... you may need to split that to 3 NAND3 and a NOR3 (for AND gate) or 3 NOR3 and a NAND3 for a OR gate..., (the 3 denotes the fan-in)
using 2 gates will probably give you better rise/fall time, (delay... not sure, should be an even tradeoff)

Haha.. unfortunately my company don't use lanun versions, and i don't think MMU is willing to pay the EDA companies RM20K a year for a single license.
STA tools in the industry (once again i can't tell you which one we use)
Cadence- Pearl
Mentor Graphics- SST Velocity
Synopsys- Prime Time, Pathmill
MMU eat so much $ liao still not willing to pay the software? tongue.gif
Well, I actually separated into 2x 4-bit CLA, so the max fan in will be OR5. I'll try to search those software in LYP next week. Thanx !
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 7 2005, 10:09 AM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(martianunlimited @ Nov 7 2005, 08:28 AM)
Try Mines Sri Kembangan; Cheaper... and more variety (at least when i was still there). South City Plaza... not sure it's been too long since i went there... LYP's CD collection IMHO is quite limited, the only thing there that i can't find else where are the manga CDs

Oh ya, just so that you know, don't quote my numbers, it's just a very very rough estimate.

oh ya, why don't you do a 2-3-3 + 3 CLA instead of a 4-4 + 2 CLA instead? that way your worse fan-in is 4, and NAND4 and NOR4s are so much easier to find than NAND5s and NOR5s
I also have 2-2-2-2 (2-bit CLA rippled together) and 2-3-3. The problem is when shabiul become my moderator, he was requesting me to give the delays and size of each adder and compare them. After that only we choose the most appropriate one.
That's the reason i really need to know the delays precisely, as measuring on 'gate delay' in general is too rough in calculation. My supervisor Dr Ajay also wants us to compare different design and choose one of the best for my 8-bit CPU. FYI, I'm designing custom chip with gate level optimization rather than using FPGA tongue.gif

Hmm..... do u know any sites have this kinda statistic.
I only have a book borrowed from halo. Max fan in is up to 4 input only (AND, OR, NOR, NAND). Don't even have the 3 input XOR for the adder. I've searched through google and get a database on gate size and power consumption only. Can't find the delay though sad.gif

Pspice? wow, tat's too time consuming tongue.gif
I still got many things to work on like VHDL and better gate optimization. Sigh, FYP is really tough.

Thanx for all the feedback notworthy.gif

*fishy then how r u doing delay analysis without those tools? manual calculation? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Nov 7 2005, 10:11 AM
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 7 2005, 12:29 PM

4,060 posts

thanx dude. So all the software u mentioned js now is from yr uni? You don't have any copies in yr comp kah? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Nov 7 2005, 12:29 PM
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 7 2005, 12:48 PM

4,060 posts

omg.. then I'm having big problem in deciding the delay, hahaha.

Well, trying to use VHDL and Max Plus 2 to determine, dunno if this method can work or not. Yesterday I've done, but the input and output seems to occur at the same time LOL.
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 10 2005, 11:46 AM

4,060 posts

Thanx X10A (or should i call u X20A tongue.gif)

I've got myself a database.

NAND2 : 1.4ns , 4 tr
NAND3 : 1.8ns , 8 tr
NAND4 : 2.2ns , 10tr

AND2 : 2.4ns, 6tr
AND3 : 2.8ns, 8tr
AND4 : 3.2ns, 10tr

Isit correct if i assume:
1. NAND5 having 2.6ns delay and 14 transistors?
2. AND5 having 3.6ns delay and 12 transistors?

Thanx !

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Nov 10 2005, 11:46 AM
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 11 2005, 11:16 AM

4,060 posts

LoL, near 10 years ago (1997). Damn, never notice that in the beginning !
Principles of Digital Design by Daniel D Gajski, Uni of California.

I'll email my supervisor to ask about it next week bcoz he is still on holidays. Thanx for yr kind help dude biggrin.gif notworthy.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 11 2005, 12:14 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 11 2005, 11:27 AM)
np, i can even give you schematic diagrams etc if you need, i have to document all this some time anyway. I even have layout diagrams if you want, but you probably just need gate sizing figures.
wow, tat's a lot of work. It's ok if u r busy.

Well, later might need yr full name to be in my project report tongue.gif
Hope my lecturer accept my proposal, will inform u a.s.a.p. notworthy.gif

btw, do u know any books have this kind of figures? Maybe i can js get from there and save your hassles.
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 11 2005, 08:41 PM

4,060 posts

David83, got try google-ing? I always find plenty of info there.

ikanayam, that's the 1st time i see this diagram,hahaha.
Well, engineering is the combination of science and art. Without creative mind we can't even come out a simple design. K7 and K8 architecture is an art man, we are going to see another masterpiece - Conroe next year biggrin.gif
TScharge-n-go
post Nov 16 2005, 09:13 AM

4,060 posts

haha, what about doing the whole CPU? tongue.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:30 PM