I would like to open with SCB Step up but need to open CASA.
If with Bank Rakyat, dunno will bankrupt bo after exxxxx
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.
May 2 2012, 10:05 AM
15,192 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
I would like to open with SCB Step up but need to open CASA.
If with Bank Rakyat, dunno will bankrupt bo after exxxxx |
May 2 2012, 10:54 AM
589 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
May 2 2012, 01:32 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 28 2012, 07:32 PM) HI, I notice that Joint Account is listed under Mubeen, while none is listed for Warga Emas. My question is, can I open a Warga Emas Joint Account with my mom? I am not an old citizen, but she is. Thanks A follow up to my query. Got a reply from BR, the applicants for Joint Acc can be both or either one having the age of 45 and above. And an additional of 0.5% from current rates |
May 2 2012, 02:04 PM
2,620 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
May 2 2012, 02:21 PM
Yeah, thats the reply that i got and i didnt even asked about the rates.
BR is kind to old citizens. They gave a pack of bird nest tonic (6 bottles) to their acc holders during CNY. This post has been edited by Human Nature: May 2 2012, 02:23 PM |
May 2 2012, 02:29 PM
5,871 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 01:32 PM) A follow up to my query. Got a reply from BR, the applicants for Joint Acc can be both or either one having the age of 45 and above. And an additional of 0.5% from current rates Great info This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 2 2012, 02:32 PM |
May 2 2012, 02:42 PM
18,468 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 01:32 PM) A follow up to my query. Got a reply from BR, the applicants for Joint Acc can be both or either one having the age of 45 and above. And an additional of 0.5% from current rates Are you sure? Could it be an additional 0.05%, wasn't offered this the last time, was told rates are the same for seniors or non but minimum deposit is lower. |
May 2 2012, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 02:21 PM) Yeah, thats the reply that i got and i didnt even asked about the rates. called BR, last time rate diff Mubeen vs warga emas 0.5%. Now no difference. BR is kind to old citizens. They gave a pack of bird nest tonic (6 bottles) to their acc holders during CNY. pity hv to withdraw a few of my 1 mth fds which has not reach maturity date, loosing around 19 days interest Added on May 2, 2012, 2:59 pm QUOTE(lkso20 @ May 2 2012, 10:57 AM) I got a response from PIDM regarding bank rakyat: so BR protected, but until RM??? PIDM until RM250kKindly be informed that all commercial banks licensed under the Banking and Financial Institutions Act 1989 and all Islamic banks licensed under the Islamic Banking Act 1983, including foreign banks operating in Malaysia, are member institutions of PIDM. Membership is compulsory as provided under Akta Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia. However, Bank Rakyat under Cooperative Bank not compulsory to become PIDM membership because as provided under Development of Financial Institution Act (DAFIA) and Malaysia government. All depositors at Bank Rakyat will be protected by Malaysia government under Ministry of Finance. So you are protected but not through PIDM. This post has been edited by magika: May 2 2012, 02:59 PM |
May 2 2012, 04:03 PM
So i get outdated info from their staff
May 2 2012, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 04:03 PM) So i get outdated info from their staff let us know whether it will work.. May a request a copy from u to try out maybe lucky |
May 2 2012, 05:08 PM
27 posts Joined: May 2011 |
all sifu,
would like to know which bank offers the best FD product as per below conidtions: - FD principal amount = RM3.0 millions - FD tenure = 60 months - need FD interest credited monthly What is the best interest rate currently bank offers? Heard someone said if FD deposit more than RM1.0 millions, you might have lower interest rate / kena withholding tax. Also, how to calculate the FD interest amount per month? e.g. RM3.0 mil x % of interest rate / 5 years x 30 or 31 days? Should I separate the amount (e.g. RM1.0 mil per bank) or all into one bank? Also, knowing that maybank offers 3.8% p.a. for 60 months but don't know whether it applies to RM3.0 mil or not? any advice? Your kind attention and helps are much appreciated. TQ in advance |
May 2 2012, 05:27 PM
May 2 2012, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(wmws57 @ May 2 2012, 05:08 PM) all sifu, Can try Bank Rakyat more than 60mths 4.65% i think, can nego for extra %. Interest i believe is credited monthly. Why not go and ask? If i am introducer then maybe can get some benefits. would like to know which bank offers the best FD product as per below conidtions: - FD principal amount = RM3.0 millions - FD tenure = 60 months - need FD interest credited monthly What is the best interest rate currently bank offers? Heard someone said if FD deposit more than RM1.0 millions, you might have lower interest rate / kena withholding tax. Also, how to calculate the FD interest amount per month? e.g. RM3.0 mil x % of interest rate / 5 years x 30 or 31 days? Should I separate the amount (e.g. RM1.0 mil per bank) or all into one bank? Also, knowing that maybank offers 3.8% p.a. for 60 months but don't know whether it applies to RM3.0 mil or not? any advice? Your kind attention and helps are much appreciated. TQ in advance just use excel to calculate .. maturity date - dep date will get u number of days , then divide by 365 x %. got this from the forum. However just to note, Maybank calc is slightly unconventional. This post has been edited by magika: May 2 2012, 10:52 PM |
May 3 2012, 07:05 AM
4,230 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(lkso20 @ May 2 2012, 10:57 AM) I got a response from PIDM regarding bank rakyat: Thanks for the info. I asked the same question when I opened the FD. Anyway, my FD just 1 year, after that will definitely look for better offer somewhere or put in my housing loan a/c to reduce interest Kindly be informed that all commercial banks licensed under the Banking and Financial Institutions Act 1989 and all Islamic banks licensed under the Islamic Banking Act 1983, including foreign banks operating in Malaysia, are member institutions of PIDM. Membership is compulsory as provided under Akta Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia. However, Bank Rakyat under Cooperative Bank not compulsory to become PIDM membership because as provided under Development of Financial Institution Act (DAFIA) and Malaysia government. All depositors at Bank Rakyat will be protected by Malaysia government under Ministry of Finance. So you are protected but not through PIDM. |
May 3 2012, 08:02 AM
589 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(wmws57 @ May 2 2012, 05:08 PM) all sifu, With 3 millions in hand, you could walk in to the banks and talk to their branch manager to negotiate the rate and term. You could become premier customers as well. Try Maybank, Standard Chart, HSBC, OCBC, PBB, etc... May be you could split to two FDs with RM1.5 mil each in two different banks since you are going to leave you money the banks for 5 years. That is to avoid putting all eggs in one basket.would like to know which bank offers the best FD product as per below conidtions: - FD principal amount = RM3.0 millions - FD tenure = 60 months - need FD interest credited monthly What is the best interest rate currently bank offers? Heard someone said if FD deposit more than RM1.0 millions, you might have lower interest rate / kena withholding tax. Also, how to calculate the FD interest amount per month? e.g. RM3.0 mil x % of interest rate / 5 years x 30 or 31 days? Should I separate the amount (e.g. RM1.0 mil per bank) or all into one bank? Also, knowing that maybank offers 3.8% p.a. for 60 months but don't know whether it applies to RM3.0 mil or not? any advice? Your kind attention and helps are much appreciated. TQ in advance This post has been edited by lkcheng: May 3 2012, 08:04 AM |
May 3 2012, 08:06 AM
question : Uplift 1 mth FD vs Overdraft
Anybody can enlighten me as to the pros & cons as i need some funds wheras my Fds short of 7 days to maturity ? Tq |
May 3 2012, 10:09 AM
5 posts Joined: May 2012 |
if i have 3 million, buy some reits will be a better choice as normally above 7 %.
May 3 2012, 10:53 AM
5,871 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(wmws57 @ May 2 2012, 05:08 PM) all sifu, Can negotiate but wouldn't guarantee you higher rates depending on banks. What i know is Affin can get slightly bit higher and OCBC no different from published rates. Limited time only promo rates sometimes better than negotiated rates. You have to visit the branch and nego. I would say for 5 years long term deposit, some banks may be hesitating to contract you unusually higher rates. But please go and nego and remember to keep us update of your findings. would like to know which bank offers the best FD product as per below conidtions: - FD principal amount = RM3.0 millions - FD tenure = 60 months - need FD interest credited monthly What is the best interest rate currently bank offers? Heard someone said if FD deposit more than RM1.0 millions, you might have lower interest rate / kena withholding tax. Also, how to calculate the FD interest amount per month? e.g. RM3.0 mil x % of interest rate / 5 years x 30 or 31 days? Should I separate the amount (e.g. RM1.0 mil per bank) or all into one bank? Also, knowing that maybank offers 3.8% p.a. for 60 months but don't know whether it applies to RM3.0 mil or not? any advice? Your kind attention and helps are much appreciated. TQ in advance Split the deposit to 5 receipts ie rm100k, rm200k, rm400k rm800 rm1.5m, incase of partial premature withdrawal you can withdrawal in any combination amount in mutilple of rm100k. And don't put all eggs into one basket to reduce risk but the downside is you can forget about negotiated rates as your deposit no longer BIG after splitting QUOTE(magika @ May 3 2012, 08:06 AM) question : Uplift 1 mth FD vs Overdraft use od is more worth it for 7 days to maturity.Anybody can enlighten me as to the pros & cons as i need some funds wheras my Fds short of 7 days to maturity ? Tq This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 3 2012, 11:03 AM |
May 3 2012, 11:17 AM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 01:32 PM) A follow up to my query. Got a reply from BR, the applicants for Joint Acc can be both or either one having the age of 45 and above. And an additional of 0.5% from current rates I just called to Bank Rakyat at 03- 2617 3888, this extra 0.5% rate was a promotionduring last year. Now this offer is no longer available. |
May 3 2012, 11:24 AM
15,192 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(lkcheng @ May 3 2012, 08:02 AM) With 3 millions in hand, you could walk in to the banks and talk to their branch manager to negotiate the rate and term. You could become premier customers as well. Try Maybank, Standard Chart, HSBC, OCBC, PBB, etc... May be you could split to two FDs with RM1.5 mil each in two different banks since you are going to leave you money the banks for 5 years. That is to avoid putting all eggs in one basket. LY so many kaya punya orang. |
| Change to: | 0.0352sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:54 AM |