8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

magika
post Apr 14 2012, 08:02 AM

2,605 posts

just to add, Bank Rakyat above 50k fd can nego usually extra 0.05%
icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 14, 2012, 8:05 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 14 2012, 03:06 AM)
Are you calling me a liar  tongue.gif  You never heard does not mean it is not true.
ambank staff also extra % for fd

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 14 2012, 08:05 AM
magika
post Apr 14 2012, 06:58 PM

2,605 posts

gents, need some help. my Ocbc fd date 13 Jan 12 mature on 13 April 12. how many days should it be for calculation purposes.

magika
post Apr 14 2012, 10:43 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Apr 14 2012, 10:17 PM)
yeap thats true. only staff that open his/her own fd account with the bank he is working at will get extra %. no joint names even for parents. yeap its that strict.
isn't that 91days for calculation purposes?
does that mean 13 Jan is not consided or is it 13 April, just asking whether its the norm. i counted 92
magika
post Apr 15 2012, 12:16 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Apr 15 2012, 09:27 AM)
Interest is not paid on the last day (13 April) - the maturity day - because that's the day on which you can withdraw your money.
Product disclosure should tell you this to avoid confusion but many don't.
thanks, this will help on future calc
magika
post Apr 16 2012, 08:58 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 16 2012, 01:21 AM)
maturity day is not counted....coz if you re-open a FD on maturity day, the new FD will start on maturity day itself
thanks for clarifying. im a bit smarter now

Added on April 16, 2012, 9:00 amanyone can share excel file for fd calculation as i hv quite a number of fds. thanks

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 16 2012, 09:00 AM
magika
post Apr 16 2012, 09:33 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 16 2012, 09:27 AM)
Aren't you a bit lazy ? Create your own and let us comment if there's any mistake.
yup, got it. =A2-A1. Pls comment

Added on April 16, 2012, 10:12 amguys, nostalgia... i was going thru old copy of fd 7 found one from Maybank Finance years back ... rate was 9.00% for 9 mths fd .. fuiyoh

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 16 2012, 10:12 AM
magika
post Apr 16 2012, 01:22 PM

2,605 posts

Guys, I did the calc for my OCBC fds which tally with the actual amount on withdrawal. However calc for my MBB fds all came out with discrepancy less than RM1. The amount is negligible but just to confirm my calc.

Can please check whether my calc is correct,

(nos. of days / 365) x % x Principal

magika
post Apr 16 2012, 04:01 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(frank76 @ Apr 16 2012, 03:08 PM)
can anyone pls explain what is the difference between conventional FD and islamic FD?
TQ

Added on April 16, 2012, 3:09 pm

but base on the web site its write Qiradh Investment Account-i, not FD
Bank Rakyat hv 3 diff FD. 1 is fluctuating int, 2nd is fixed int, 3rd is senior citizen.
magika
post Apr 17 2012, 10:43 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 16 2012, 11:11 PM)
mind share the 3 different rates? Thank you
Bank Rakyat rates are all the same. The 3 diff fds are
1. Qiradh - fluctuating interest
2. Mubeen - Fixed interest.
3. Warga Emas - Fixed int only diff lower deposit

1 month - 3.26
3mth - 3.65
6 mth - 3.75
9 mth 3.85
12 mth - 4.01
15 mth - 4.05
and so on....

just remember above 50 k single cert can ask extra 0.05

magika
post Apr 17 2012, 11:31 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Apr 17 2012, 11:24 AM)
Is the 3 (3.65%) and 6 (3.75) mth tenure from Bank Rakyat is fixed int (type 2 in your list) or type 1 or 3?
type 2 & 3
magika
post Apr 17 2012, 11:38 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Apr 17 2012, 11:35 AM)
Do u mean the 3 and 6 mth tenure is available for type 2 and also type 3? So we can actually choose type 2 (fixed interest) for 3 mth tenure with 3.65%.
yes
magika
post Apr 17 2012, 03:52 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 17 2012, 12:50 PM)
What does it mean by fluctuating FD for Qiradh Investment Account-i?
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/125
Based on the rate, its fixed 4.01% pa
the brochure that i hv says return UPTO 4.6%
magika
post Apr 17 2012, 10:31 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
Its consider FD the rate is not fluctuating.

UP to 4.6% mean is simple  - if u deposit for tenure 61 month then u get 4.6%pa
if u already know, why ask?

not that waylah,the board rate will fluctuate-, however dont ask me as havent try it

Added on April 17, 2012, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 17 2012, 08:36 PM)
Hi, what do you mean by lower deposit for Warga Emas? There is a maximum amount that can be deposited?
Also for the 0.05 extra, how do you go about it, just request from the bank officer at the counter?

for normal fd min is around 5k, warga emas if im not wrong is 2k

Added on April 17, 2012, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 17 2012, 08:36 PM)
Hi, what do you mean by lower deposit for Warga Emas? There is a maximum amount that can be deposited?
Also for the 0.05 extra, how do you go about it, just request from the bank officer at the counter?

just request from counter & they will referto hq

im not sure whether its because the amt i deposit is quitelarge, anyway try ur luck

Added on April 17, 2012, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(lkcheng @ Apr 17 2012, 03:57 PM)
If I remember right deposit in Bank Rakyat isn't PIDM protected.
for Malaysian bank to collapse is like striking lottery, cry.gif rclxms.gif

if not mistaken is registered under mof as coop bank.

those days(joe bugner/mohamad ali days) it nearly collapse ,luckily gomen gave capital injection

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 17 2012, 10:45 PM
magika
post Apr 17 2012, 11:37 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 17 2012, 12:50 PM)
What does it mean by fluctuating FD for Qiradh Investment Account-i?
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/125
Based on the rate, its fixed 4.01% pa
I hv fds wit OCBC Gia and the rate is fixed. However if u compare Bank Rakyat Qiradh & Mubeen, both hv same int rates tables. I asked the counter clerk who explains that Qiradh is fluctuating( based on what ref i dnt know). Just for safety i took back the int rates table which has the scribbles rolleyes.gif
magika
post Apr 18 2012, 01:22 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 18 2012, 01:19 PM)
I think this is not a promo, it is just their standard rates. Just put in today on the flexi rate, and manage only to ask for additional of 0.03%. After 3 months if return is as indicated then don't need to transfer here and there and still enjoy a good rate, even not new funds. The flexi rate is better if the trend is for interest rate to move up.
flexi ? Qiradh ?

for Mubeen, the interest in RM is printed on the fd slip

magika
post Apr 18 2012, 03:21 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 18 2012, 02:52 PM)
Qiradh 3-month , negotiated rate=3.68% (not printed on FD slip but on another attached sheet), subsequent deposit would get additional 0.05% as promised by the asst. manager.
Qiradh, on the spot can get additional w/o refer Hq
magika
post Apr 18 2012, 04:33 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 18 2012, 04:17 PM)
by "board rate" did u mean that just let say MAYBANK 12 month FD is 3.15% and its will fluctuated?
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...al/ACC-Accounts

Is that what u trying to say?
ask MGM , who just deposit under Qiradh as mentioned is flexi n not fix while i deposit under Mubeen which is fixed

Added on April 18, 2012, 4:39 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 18 2012, 04:17 PM)
by "board rate" did u mean that just let say MAYBANK 12 month FD is 3.15% and its will fluctuated?
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...al/ACC-Accounts

Is that what u trying to say?
btw we are discussing Bank Rakyat not Maybank conventional fds

Added on April 18, 2012, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
Its consider FD the rate is not fluctuating.

UP to 4.6% mean is simpleĀ  - if u deposit for tenure 61 month then u get 4.6%pa
just to highlight a few terms that we should be aware of when dealing with fixed deposits or dealingwith banks.

UP TO - does not mean you will get the rate shown.e.g UP TO 6% means can be 0.01% to max 6%

INCREMENTAL - certain banks used it to mean increase from base amt for 1 month only. I was nearly trapped, luckily spend sometime figuring it out.

RETURNS - does not actually means interest. could be capital returns

my sister inlaw went to a certain bank to deposit a large amt meant for fd. instead using high level of confusing terms the bank RM signed her up for a scheme that up to today she doesnt know what its called, n neither could i find out without offending her. that scheme is for a great number of years.
so where money is involved i can safely says - DONT ASS..u... shakehead.gif me

but rest assured in a world of hypocrites, i am 90% sure flexi or not rates wont be lower than those fixed(same bank of course) thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 18 2012, 10:24 PM
magika
post Apr 20 2012, 08:17 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 20 2012, 12:02 AM)
UP TO - does not mean you will get the rate shown.e.g UP TO 6% means can be 0.01% to max 6%

YES
Did u check the rate 1st?
U can get 4.6% pa if u deposit for tenure 61 month
of course i did check the rate, even better i deposit for 12 mths. not interested in longer terms anyway.
magika
post Apr 27 2012, 08:02 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 26 2012, 11:27 PM)
3 mths 4% better or 6 mths 4%?

If in 1 Aug there are other banks offer 4% or more then 3mths 4% is better. Am I right?
i would say 3 mths 4% is better, as progression tables on fd shown shorter terms lower %

Added on April 27, 2012, 8:04 am
QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 26 2012, 11:45 PM)
I think he is getting his cash back in the FD cert.
MGM, btw did Bank Rakyat gave u any gifts the other time ? drool.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Apr 27 2012, 08:04 AM
magika
post Apr 27 2012, 09:40 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 27 2012, 09:39 AM)
Shy leh. I took out the money after 5 days and did not return the gifts, an umbrella, a small backpack and a cap.
In return BR has a 5-day free use of my money.
thumbup.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:11 PM