Tp Link TL-MR3420 3G/3.75G router owner club V1
hurricane21
Nov 14 2012, 09:45 PM
Hi all the experts/pros/sifus here, I am new to 3G broadband devices, got some question to ask I am thinking to get a TL-MR3020, but meanwhile I am quite interested with the TL-MR3420. I did some research on forum and found out 3420 have two versions, one is the square shaped another is the curve shaped. I wanted to ask what is the differences between this two versions? Hardware or only the design? Regards.
TSchuahcs79
Nov 14 2012, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Nov 14 2012, 09:45 PM) Hi all the experts/pros/sifus here, I am new to 3G broadband devices, got some question to ask I am thinking to get a TL-MR3020, but meanwhile I am quite interested with the TL-MR3420. I did some research on forum and found out 3420 have two versions, one is the square shaped another is the curve shaped. I wanted to ask what is the differences between this two versions? Hardware or only the design? Regards. V1 & V1.3 -hotter in temperature -identified modem slower -wireless a bit bug issue -support ddwrt & openwrt V2 -cooler in temperature -identified modem a lot faster -newer hardware to support 4G &3G -newer firmware who less buggy -better wifi external antenna -nicer side usb port correct me if i am wrong
hurricane21
Nov 14 2012, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 14 2012, 11:12 PM) V1 & V1.3 -hotter in temperature -identified modem slower -wireless a bit bug issue -support ddwrt & openwrt V2 -cooler in temperature -identified modem a lot faster -newer hardware to support 4G &3G -newer firmware who less buggy -better wifi external antenna -nicer side usb port correct me if i am wrong  3420 V1 doesn't support any 4G modems Still struggling between 3420 (performance) and 3020 (portable) Anyway thanks for replying.
blacktubi
Nov 14 2012, 11:55 PM
-
QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Nov 14 2012, 11:50 PM) 3420 V1 doesn't support any 4G modems Still struggling between 3420 (performance) and 3020 (portable) Anyway thanks for replying.  It support 4G modem, my MF820D supported  Just no one sure whether it support dialing into LTE RAN
TSchuahcs79
Nov 15 2012, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 14 2012, 11:55 PM) It support 4G modem, my MF820D supported  Just no one sure whether it support dialing into LTE RAN well i guess probably it wont able to dial the 4G RAN, since the hardware is old version, i might be wrong too,
blacktubi
Nov 15 2012, 12:09 AM
-
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 15 2012, 12:07 AM) well i guess probably it wont able to dial the 4G RAN, since the hardware is old version, i might be wrong too,  It's just a firmware update, just TP-LINK decided not to provide further support to enhance their sales for the newer model  Anyway, MF820D confirm working on LTE RAN using DD-WRT or OpenWRT I forgotten
TSchuahcs79
Nov 15 2012, 12:13 AM
Sapu Hulu.com now with DNS forwarding on TL-MR3420 V1 openwrt [attachmentid=3156380]
hurricane21
Nov 15 2012, 12:13 AM
Which shop you guys get the modem from? Thinking to get in garage sales but the price after included postage are quite high already Saw C-Zone price list, 3020 and 3420 (not sure V1 or V2) both are RM89
TSchuahcs79
Nov 15 2012, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Nov 15 2012, 12:13 AM) Which shop you guys get the modem from? Thinking to get in garage sales but the price after included postage are quite high already Saw C-Zone price list, 3020 and 3420 (not sure V1 or V2) both are RM89  lowyat plaza price not bad, wangsa maju area also quite good RM80~RM85
ibnuasad
Nov 15 2012, 04:35 AM
Just finished flashing OpenWRT to the other mr3420 v1.3 Will probably get another smaller 3020 or 3220 as a print server soon Catching up with some old shows @ Hulu
chulk
Nov 15 2012, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Nov 15 2012, 12:13 AM) Which shop you guys get the modem from? Thinking to get in garage sales but the price after included postage are quite high already Saw C-Zone price list, 3020 and 3420 (not sure V1 or V2) both are RM89  i bought mine from viewnet 3 weeks ago for rm84.
hairul
Nov 15 2012, 09:37 AM
Hi, Need Help Proto_3g.lua is missing.. So its unable to connect the internet
digilife
Nov 15 2012, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(hairul @ Nov 15 2012, 09:37 AM) Hi, Need Help Proto_3g.lua is missing.. So its unable to connect the internet meaning cannot use your router now?
chulk
Nov 15 2012, 11:17 AM
Hi Sifu, for this environment, which one is the best option to obtain the stable and high speed connection? 1. higher signal, purely wifi with lower wifi signal ~~~~~~~ 2. lower signal, purely wifi but better wifi signal 3. higher signal, long usb cable connect modem to router for better signal 4. higher signal, long LAN cable connection   This post has been edited by chulk: Nov 15 2012, 11:19 AM
digilife
Nov 15 2012, 11:46 AM
No4, use long LAN Cable to PC, or my better recommendation, use another Router , LAN out from Router 1 which is near Antenna ( use a long CAT6e cable to LAN out into the WAN of a pure Router ( MikroTik ) in the middle of the house where the Ipad/Iphone are located. Then you can LAN out from MikroTik into PC room via LAN if WiFi in PC room is not strong. But MikroTik should be very strong enough as it can be detected 6 floors without external antenna.
chulk
Nov 15 2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 15 2012, 11:46 AM) No4, use long LAN Cable to PC, or my better recommendation, use another Router , LAN out from Router 1 which is near Antenna ( use a long CAT6e cable to LAN out into the WAN of a pure Router ( MikroTik ) in the middle of the house where the Ipad/Iphone are located. Then you can LAN out from MikroTik into PC room via LAN if WiFi in PC room is not strong. But MikroTik should be very strong enough as it can be detected 6 floors without external antenna. lol not easy to find mikrotik router..... sifu can you tell be beside no.4 which is the 2nd best option and which is the worst? This post has been edited by chulk: Nov 15 2012, 11:54 AM
digilife
Nov 15 2012, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(chulk @ Nov 15 2012, 11:53 AM) lol not easy to find mikrotik router..... sifu can you tell be beside no.4 which is the 2nd best option and which is the worst? To me, Second Best is not an Option if there is a better Option MikroTik , rm240 and rm350 ( with more RAM+better CPU Gigabit LAN which suits your PC superbly)
hurricane21
Nov 15 2012, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 15 2012, 12:56 AM) lowyat plaza price not bad, wangsa maju area also quite good RM80~RM85  QUOTE(chulk @ Nov 15 2012, 09:08 AM) i bought mine from viewnet 3 weeks ago for rm84. Found 3020 for RM75 at melaka, but only 10 ringgit difference fom 3420 eh Have to go lowyat hunt for it already if not sure go for 3020 already
digilife
Nov 15 2012, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Nov 15 2012, 12:12 PM) Found 3020 for RM75 at melaka, but only 10 ringgit difference fom 3420 eh Have to go lowyat hunt for it already if not sure go for 3020 already  3020 can use via Powerbank or via car ciggy jack. 3420 need mains but have external antenna and is more powerful. you cannot compare a potato with a sweet potato
hairul
Nov 15 2012, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(chulk @ Nov 15 2012, 11:17 AM) If no 4, better use homeplug. Eazy installation but need sone fund. Btw, homeplug work on single phase. Added on November 15, 2012, 2:32 pmQUOTE(digilife @ Nov 15 2012, 11:12 AM) meaning cannot use your router now? Router still can use. Only dont know how to use command for router to download the proto3g package. If use ubuntu easy to download and install package... Flash back to stock firmware. This post has been edited by hairul: Nov 15 2012, 02:32 PM