125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Hardware NEW MacBook | Pro | Air Users Thread Version 8.0, MacBook Users, Spill Your Guts Here!

BRY7
post Jun 12 2012, 03:33 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:27 PM)
nowdays i doubt many will use superdrive. use main PC/Mac as downloader then transfer over to Mac Air/Pro.
even now install window/osx also use pendrive dy.
very true, i don't even use my Superdrive at all.
waiting for a demo unit to hit the stores then will get it from my Uni
mr11
post Jun 12 2012, 03:39 PM

1,017 posts

is that new 15' retina mbp cant change the ram ?
aba9785
post Jun 12 2012, 03:40 PM

el aba9785
743 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jun 12 2012, 03:26 PM)
well imho...the retina 15inch cost is high but it dint have DVD ROM to me is quite ok since without that legacy hardware it manage to get 15inch form factor into a smaller and lighter to be carry out...well of course carrying a DVD ROM is not that convenient but having DVD ROM + carrying more DVDs or CDs makes it much inconvenient as well...
i see... seems like u guys r aiming MBP with retina then drool.gif

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:27 PM)
you may read about it here Superdrive swap with SSD
nowdays i doubt many will use superdrive. use main PC/Mac as downloader then transfer over to Mac Air/Pro.

even now install window/osx also use pendrive dy.
i see. thanks.
i go google about the RAM part then notworthy.gif

Added on June 12, 2012, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(mr11 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:39 PM)
hmm... not sure... waiting for ifixit to tear it apart laugh.gif

found this info for older mac book pro (scroll down to the correct model/year)
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1270

This post has been edited by aba9785: Jun 12 2012, 03:42 PM
BRY7
post Jun 12 2012, 03:43 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(mr11 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:39 PM)
can't upgrade.
nothing seems upgradeable on it
shockk
post Jun 12 2012, 03:43 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

Planning to order the MBP 15" Retina by this week from Apple Online Store.

Hope the sifus here can clarify a few items for me first before I order:-
- Does the Apple Online Store accept AMEX?
- What are the verification procedures required for the education pricing? Would they check the IC on delivery? Am planning to buy it under my younger brother's name who is still studying.

Any help would be much appreciated! biggrin.gif
BRY7
post Jun 12 2012, 03:46 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jun 12 2012, 03:43 PM)
Planning to order the MBP 15" Retina by this week from Apple Online Store.

Hope the sifus here can clarify a few items for me first before I order:-
- What are the verification procedures required for the education pricing? Would they check the IC on delivery? Am planning to buy it under my younger brother's name who is still studying.

Any help would be much appreciated! biggrin.gif
they do random checks, if you got selected to be checked.
you need to email them your brother's student ID
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 12 2012, 03:47 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jun 12 2012, 03:43 PM)
As stated here:

http://store.apple.com/my/help/payments#credit

Credit cards accepted
We accept:
MasterCard
Visa

Verification is random. Will not check IC when delivery, Apple dont deliver to you, DHL will.

sai86
post Jun 12 2012, 03:55 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

gaming at this res is gooding thumbup.gif

but the fps is around 20fps for the 2880x1800 according to anandtech

This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 12 2012, 04:00 PM
BRY7
post Jun 12 2012, 04:16 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:55 PM)
gaming at this res is gooding  thumbup.gif

but the fps is around 20fps for the 2880x1800 according to anandtech

cool!
maybe this will be the first gaming MacBook tongue.gif
FishnChipx
post Jun 12 2012, 04:17 PM

988 posts

yo guys, just place an order for the mbp ^^ woohoo ~ cant wait for it to arrive ^^
amirsubhi
post Jun 12 2012, 04:21 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

is it the reason why apple doesnt provide retina display to 13 inch

is because HD4000 not capable enough to bring goodness over retina resolution?
calvincty
post Jun 12 2012, 04:37 PM

226 posts

Just ordered Macbook pro 13" with ACP in education store, seems like no verification. If i have been picked for verification, when it will happened? and if I can't prove it, what is the next?

and anyway, thinking to upgrade the ram to 8GB, need ask the sifus here will this working with the latest 2012 macbook pro?

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Modules-Not...G/dp/B004Y4XAAK
BRY7
post Jun 12 2012, 04:39 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jun 12 2012, 04:37 PM)
Just ordered Macbook pro 13" with ACP in education store, seems like no verification. If i have been picked for verification, when it will happened? and if I can't prove it, what is the next?

and anyway, thinking to upgrade the ram to 8GB, need ask the sifus here will this working with the latest 2012 macbook pro?

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Modules-Not...G/dp/B004Y4XAAK
if you can't prove, your order will be cancelled.
please don't abuse it
Bliz
post Jun 12 2012, 04:39 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jun 12 2012, 04:21 PM)

I guess that's partly true but for people who use their laptop for work ( photo editing ) like me, the retina display alone is enough. Don't need the better graphic card laugh.gif
nles
post Jun 12 2012, 04:41 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Previously I bought my MacBook Air using education price, send it to my company, I'm not there to receive the package too.

1.07kg and 2.02kg can I live with 1KG different, 2.6GHz, 512gb, 16gb ram almost Rm9k hmm
KKW
post Jun 12 2012, 04:44 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(louis01 @ Jun 12 2012, 04:39 PM)
I've got two week old macbook pro 15'' (late 2011) high spec. I bought it late May last month.

4GB RAM
Intel Quad Core i7 2.4Ghz
750GB HDD
1GB ATI Radeon Graphics Card

Anyone interested please PM me
You can try your luck by calling apple hotline asking for swap brows.gif
It work at US but not sure about in malaysia
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 12 2012, 04:49 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Jun 12 2012, 04:44 PM)
It work at US but not sure about in malaysia
Yes agree, some retailer in US give 14 or 30 days money back.

If retailer here do the same, lol guess what will happen.

sai86
post Jun 12 2012, 04:58 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Jun 12 2012, 04:21 PM)

i think this is apple strategy. as it only offer 1 RMBP and therefore most user will fork out additional to get tat RMBP.

same like iOS. you only can get iphone4/s/ipad to use that iOS instead of like android, where there are many diff manufacturer.

for me personally, intel integrated graphic is nvr good for my usage. laugh.gif

BRY7
post Jun 12 2012, 05:16 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(louis01 @ Jun 12 2012, 04:39 PM)
I've got two week old macbook pro 15'' (late 2011) high spec. I bought it late May last month.

4GB RAM
Intel Quad Core i7 2.4Ghz
750GB HDD
1GB ATI Radeon Graphics Card

Anyone interested please PM me
you wanna get the new retina display MBP?
Xirality
post Jun 12 2012, 05:17 PM

12,176 posts

I think the new mbp is near perfect. Just need an external hdd if you're heavy user. A great USB3.0 hdd will do this job. I dont find 256gb ssd is a big problem thou. The only thing I worry is will it "wear out" like normal hdd? but so far, none of my pc and mac hdd "wear out".

after education price , the old mbp15 cost 5199 and new mbp cost 6199. the difference only 1k but inside you totally different. Thinner, lighter, SSD, 8gb of ram, 1gb ddr5 gt650m, 2 thunderbolt port, hdmi and last but not least, RETINA display. all this only for 1k!

I'm so going to get this beast ! rclxms.gif

125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:19 PM