Hardware NEW MacBook | Pro | Air Users Thread Version 8.0, MacBook Users, Spill Your Guts Here!

shockk
post Nov 11 2011, 11:22 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(BktRokan @ Nov 11 2011, 04:21 PM)
i spilled some teh tarik on my 11" MBA......

thinking of getting MBP.... so need to be sure its not as sensitive as MBA....
a friend of mine spilled coffee on his MBP 13", and the mainboard shorted as well... so no, if you are keen on tehtarik-proof notebook, go for other brands, or just don't drink anything nearby lah. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Nov 23 2011, 07:55 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ Nov 22 2011, 12:13 PM)
These are some of the places that i have read

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/176422...hreadID=1764220

http://www.apple.com/batteries/notebooks.html

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1490

...but I still don't get it.

Can some kind soul please explain in simple English preferably step by step how should i maintain/work with/recalibrate the battery.  notworthy.gif
Actually, what are you really worried about? hmm.gif

I have used my MBP (mid-2009) model for about 2 years just before I sold it off, and it maintained a sweet capacity of over 90% (can't remember the exact figure, probably around 93-95 more like it) even after 2 years - most of the time, my MBP was plugged to the charger for use. Newer Macbook batteries are designed to last 1000 charges (compared to the previous norm of 300 charges) due to new technology.

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Nov 23 2011, 02:49 AM)
lol bro. c2d or i5? shocking.gif
should be c2d, bro. that price reflects what Machines was previously selling the 2010 MBA (during clearance) at before they were sold out.

no way the i5 could've been on clearance, or i'll be damned! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: Nov 23 2011, 07:59 AM
shockk
post Nov 23 2011, 11:04 AM

11,883 posts

@ mememe12, i'd say about 50% loss. but i try not to look it at that way. for me, it's like i was spending rm1k/year to use the MBP - and now i'm using a MBA which is much faster, which I hope can last me at least another 2 years. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Nov 24 2011, 09:20 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 24 2011, 01:55 AM)
Even w/o removing the battery also maintained ~90%?
Bro, MBP starting from 2009 model and above have built-in battery.

Refer here: http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/features.html

shockk
post Nov 27 2011, 05:30 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(melvin418 @ Nov 27 2011, 09:08 AM)
Im edging towards the air too. Just gonna use until i finish uni .

Added on November 27, 2011, 9:09 amBut is the screen abit too small for normal games like dota ? i only play those games on the pc since i have a console.
i would recommend you get a macbook pro if you going to game often as their cooling system is more efficient, and dota is a very time consuming game. tongue.gif

i have tried games like Torchlight (using Windows 7 on bootcamp) on my Air and the temperature goes up to 90 deg, which might be a bit hot (but still under safe operating temperatures according to Intel standards). so it's probably hot enough to boil water. haha. so if it melts, just get it replaced under warranty. laugh.gif

but on your question regarding the screen, the size is just perfect and the 1440x900 resolution makes game very sharp. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Nov 27 2011, 10:11 AM)
just get a external monitor and output to it  biggrin.gif
and also a full-sized external keyboard + mouse + headphones. thumbup.gif
shockk
post Nov 27 2011, 06:08 PM

11,883 posts

if weight is your main concern, definitely the Air is your only choice. i was using a MBP 13" previously and there really is a noticeable difference in weight compared to my 13" Air. nowadays, i even bring my Air out when I walk around at shopping malls (and chill at Starbucks/some cafe for 2-3 hours out of that) because it's so light (without the charger which I normally don't bring thanks to the Air's 7 hours battery life), I can hardly feel it. biggrin.gif

if you are a student, you need to factor in the weight plus your books/notes/papers too. that's why I guess most students prefer to carry a netbook around due to weight. nod.gif
shockk
post Nov 27 2011, 07:48 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 27 2011, 06:20 PM)
i am also thinking air or pro

it will be using it for work, mainly emails/excel/words only.

I want the SSD, but i am thinking to not only using this notebook for work purpose, but also use it as  the hub for my iOS device, since i am facing a lot of problem in setting up wireless sync and such on my desktop at home. However, if it's a hub, then if air, i will be facing storage problem. but if buy pro, then the weight will build up coz since i am using it as a hub, i will have to bring it back home everyday.....

i used to play a lot of games, and although i have a desktop at home, but sometimes when on mobile, i wish to play too. but i do find that i rarely play PC games lately, usually more on those stupid flash based game lol. but i do regret 1 day when i want to play, air cant support

haiz...i am lucky that black friday deal not in malaysia lol if not surely i buy liao
if work is your main concern, certainly the Air! like what I mostly use my Air for. biggrin.gif

can really feel the speed of the SSD when opening Office files, and browsing through files.

QUOTE(melvin418 @ Nov 27 2011, 06:34 PM)
You using mba 13?
from his sig, i suppose so. blush.gif

QUOTE(KKW @ Nov 27 2011, 06:35 PM)
I realise something on my MBP..
It will use my battery and ac power when I'm gaming..
During gaming I saw magsafe connector light keep changing from green to orange and back to green hmm.gif
Not enough juice to support the graphic card and processor?
interesting, just wondering how much battery life you will lose just say after 1 hour of heavy gaming?
shockk
post Nov 27 2011, 10:08 PM

11,883 posts

the fans will start whirring very loudly when gaming. that's all i can say. doesn't bother me much cause i use headphones. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Nov 27 2011, 11:10 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(cobray @ Nov 27 2011, 10:11 PM)
So far? I say this all the time, best 4k ever spent!

-I probably spend about 1/2 a day gaming using PCSX2 (its a PS2 emulator) and on full charge I can get about 2.30 hours of battery life.

-When I'm playing games, or sometimes when watching HD movie, the fan will start to spin. This usually occurs 15-20 minutes when I start booting up my game, and rarely happens when I'm watching movies. Got to admit its quite loud, scared me to game for a week. But after reading online its nothing to be afraid of. Some people play COD and Starcraft 2 for 4 hours and no problem at all with their Air. (though the fan is quite loud, like tablefan speed no.3 loud.)

-However, if you are the type that likes to surf while the laptop is on your lap, it can get quite warm since the body is all aluminium, but the dissipates quite quickly too when you close it to sleep.

-I rarely shut down my laptop, always put it to sleep when not in use, and I advise you to do that also. Because believe it or not, sleeping is better than shutting down the laptop fully. The power consumption when putting it to sleep is very very very low.
@ bolded part, the problem might manifest later like after 1 year of regular heavy gaming sessions. maybe it will start melting. lol. biggrin.gif
so Apple Care is a must, but then I'd rather not want to claim warranty since I will be leaving the Air at the service centre for weeks. sweat.gif

QUOTE(melvin418 @ Nov 27 2011, 10:19 PM)
I tink i might get the 256gb one. or isit better to get the 128 cheaper one? Cuz i tink 256gb one add a few more hundred can get mbp 15'. wat do you tink?
QUOTE(melvin418 @ Nov 27 2011, 10:30 PM)
Lol ok then . i tot spec got diff. jz storage ah. i can save my things to external ma rite?
if space is vital for you, go for the 256gb one. the price is actually not really that 'value for money' but it really gives you the convenience.

imaging just bringing your Air with you when you go travelling, and that is what it is meant for to help your lifestyle, and not to have to add weight by carrying an external hard drive with you everywhere. laugh.gif

QUOTE(melvin418 @ Nov 27 2011, 10:40 PM)
i5 and i7 any big difference? or just slight?
from what i have read, the difference is not good enough to justify the significant difference in price as the i7 is still limited by the small cache as with all ULV processors.
shockk
post Nov 28 2011, 05:15 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 28 2011, 11:50 AM)
you need a miniDP-to-HDMI adapter
any idea if this adapter is still available in any of the Apple resellers? cause I can't seem to find it on the online Apple Store... hmm.gif
shockk
post Nov 28 2011, 09:45 PM

11,883 posts

@ dvllzplayground, thanks bro. will pay a visit to them resellers soon biggrin.gif

but I was on the impression that Apple did sell them before. perhaps this link sheds some light on the matter: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2388289,00.asp

shockk
post Nov 29 2011, 04:32 PM

11,883 posts

hmmm, will it really be early 2012? or mid 2012? cause the current gen MBA was released in mid-2011, so I would suppose it would make sense to release the next gen in mid-2012, right? any thoughts?
shockk
post Nov 30 2011, 11:21 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 30 2011, 01:00 AM)
congrats! biggrin.gif
play around with an acer S3, u can really FEEL the price difference tongue.gif
lol. the thickness alone, and the design is kinda ugleh... tongue.gif

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Nov 30 2011, 02:02 AM)
acer s3 ? i prefer asus zenbook. biggrin.gif
no no no to acer.

but zenbook not selling worldwide. even singapore dun have.
the zenbook has one MAJOR drawback - no keyboard backlighting, which is a deal breaker for people like me. sad.gif

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 30 2011, 08:44 AM)
agreed. the asus zenbook does have that premium look & feel, i would say same level with MBA smile.gif

slightly cheaper too, but the screen a bit meh
the screen is higher res than the MBA right? hmm.gif

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Nov 30 2011, 08:55 AM)
That's not true. I see many zenbooks being sold in Singapore. Funan digital mall has plenty... All sort of ultrabooks (asus, acer, toshiba, sony etc) n tablets. I would say more than Malaysia
MBA 13" for 3849? Can pm me where u get such price? I also looking to buy 1 tq
MBA can get a lot cheaper through garage sales here, i can say even cheaper than Edu discount. hehe
shockk
post Nov 30 2011, 11:52 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 30 2011, 11:42 AM)
yeah i think higher res... but the colour and viewing angle is not as good as MBA. at least that's what i think la when playing with it
looks like i have to test it out at the shop soon. but from what i have seen, Asus do make pretty crappy screens. lol

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Nov 30 2011, 11:46 AM)
can pm me the seller's nick or thread? so far those i asked, none offer me even close to your edu price of 3849
just search in the forum for Macbook Air.. it's easy to find since there aren't many sellers. also, the last i saw was about 2 months ago so you gotta check if they still selling now or not. icon_idea.gif
shockk
post Apr 18 2012, 02:40 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(Stevenc89 @ Apr 16 2012, 08:49 PM)
My 11" mba is killing my eyes...

Should I upgrade to a 13" now or wait for refresh?
Even my MBA 13" is killing my eyes. sweat.gif

It's either due to the high resolution or poor screen quality (cause I don't my eyes don't feel like this when I was using my MBP 13" before).

I normally output to my 24" IPS screen when I'm at home for 1920 x 1200 resolution for work. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Apr 19 2012, 10:51 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(Stevenc89 @ Apr 18 2012, 08:01 PM)
So MBP has different screen quality from MBA?
I thought I'm getting eye strain due to 11" small screen size.
MBA - High Res, TN Screen, So-so Colour Gamut
MBP - Normal Res, IPS Screen, Great Colour Gamut
shockk
post Jun 12 2012, 02:36 AM

11,883 posts

Hohoho.. looks like I didn't regret selling my macbook air 2011 just 2 weeks ago. Macbook Pro 15" is what I've been waiting for! Can't wait!!! Now wondering should I get from Apple Store Online or through Machines. Hmmm?
shockk
post Jun 12 2012, 03:00 AM

11,883 posts

Definitely the next gen model! Now still waiting for the apple store msia to updated the price. Hmm. I wonder if they accept Amex. Haha. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Jun 12 2012, 03:43 PM

11,883 posts

Planning to order the MBP 15" Retina by this week from Apple Online Store.

Hope the sifus here can clarify a few items for me first before I order:-
- Does the Apple Online Store accept AMEX?
- What are the verification procedures required for the education pricing? Would they check the IC on delivery? Am planning to buy it under my younger brother's name who is still studying.

Any help would be much appreciated! biggrin.gif
shockk
post Jun 15 2012, 11:20 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 15 2012, 10:38 AM)
if not concern about the retina display and the colour, basically we wont need to fork out so much.. cos with the price of lowest mbp retina, 6.8k you can get a very very pro and high end laptop from dell, asus, sager etc etc... but for me i reli need a screen that can produce almost the same colour like printer, so i have no choice to get this f***in expensive mbp retina sad.gif
sumtimes i hate my self y i am so addicted to photography =(
I need to correct you there bro. Other brands only win processor, and perhaps graphic card wise but loses in everything else. After being a user of the amazing MBA 11" & 13" and MBP 13" and 15", actually Apple products are indeed value for money.

Here's why:-
- All aluminium unibody and glass construction - the closest competitors are the Ultrabook series which cost the same or more than the MBA and are indeed inferior.
- Reliability issues. Even brands like Asus and even Alienware are famous for their high RMA numbers (mostly due to poor heat dissipation design and poor materials used), whereas you can check that research shows Apple notebooks are the most reliable of all.
- Screen hinge quality, feel and robustness - MBP and MBA trumps all
- Keyboards - MBA trumps all keyboards in the Ultrabook sector
- Magsafe Technology - No other player has come close to this kind of tech. Except recently with 1 or 2 brands which come close but still not on Apple's level.
- Internal component structure - Just open up any MBP and compare it with any other Window-brand laptop. Apple's attention to detail is just amazing and it means other brands are shortchanging you by making a 'mess' of components inside the notebook.
- Ability to install BOTH OS natively - Win 7 runs superbly on any MBP and MBA.
- Unmatched glass multi-touch trackpad. Competitors don't even come close.
- Gold-plated ports for the MBP.
- ETC.

Normally I just laugh when people say that Apple notebooks are overpriced, because seriously - windows notebook are overpriced for the kind of 'crap' that you are getting. Just joking, or am I? biggrin.gif

0.0271sec    1.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:14 PM