24 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

Ramjade
post Sep 27 2017, 10:18 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(PeterSi @ Sep 27 2017, 05:54 PM)
Nobody trusts government pension fund here, let alone private ones. There's no way to control or somehow affect their work)
You are welcome to pay more income tax to govt. Govt says thank you notworthy.gif Please understand how PRS works. In case you don't know how it works, give you ABC on how it works.

PRS is basically unit trust but unlike normal unit trust where you can sell and take out the money, you cannot withdraw until 55.

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Sep 27 2017, 10:12 PM)
cool! thanks bro for helping.
So, I saw LHDN say until 2021 only. sad.gif only 4 more years to go.
Just put max rm3k/year until 2021. If don't extend, don't topup. Simple.
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2017, 10:25 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Sep 27 2017, 10:19 PM)
ya, i think that's the way
Any recommend fund? haha
Depends on what you want. PRS which invest in malaysia or outside.
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2017, 10:46 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Sep 27 2017, 10:32 PM)
hmm... wel, some middle risk .. doesnt matter ...
Then I don't know. laugh.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 8 2017, 09:27 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Oct 8 2017, 09:10 PM)
What about Kenanga onePRS conservative fund compared to CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C ?
It's entirely different. Cannot compare.
Kenanga onePRS conservative invest majority in bonds 60% in (Kenanga Bond fund) and little bit in KGF (17%) and it's focus in Malaysia only.
CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C invest in Cimb Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income and invest in asia ex-Japan region. This is full equity fund.
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2017, 12:44 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(DevilHu1 @ Oct 13 2017, 12:21 PM)
Just registered with Cimb bank,The PRS account can be opened at any CIMB branches provided u have Cimb bank account (for fund transfer).

I can’t find the FMS inside the PRS providers list,is it registered with FMS qualified for the RM1K incentive from Gov?
Buy from FSM = 0% service charge.
Buy from Cimb bank = 3% service charge.

See here
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/1...me-PRS--8865#27

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 13 2017, 12:50 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 28 2017, 09:52 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Jayce lim @ Oct 28 2017, 08:24 PM)
Hi, I have some questions here. I'm currently studying(RM0 income) , will be grad in another three years. I'm interested with this PRS, shall I start putting my RM1k in?
1) Is it a one off investment? Mean I No need to top up at all until age of 55.
2) If no, when should I top up? Is it monthly, yearly?
3) What is the best PRS scheme so far? CIMB???
4) What is Sub a account and Sub b account? (I thought I only one PRS Account??)
Thank you
1) Only put this if there's tax relief. If tax relief is discontinued after 2021, simply stop. Otherwise, put max RM3k/year.
2) Depends on what you want from the fund. No right or wrong answer.
3) Just ignore the sub account and keep it lock up.
Ramjade
post Nov 2 2017, 09:47 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mephyll @ Nov 2 2017, 09:28 AM)
may i know where you open your PRS account?
is it there are charges of account opening of RM10.60 & annual fees RM8.48

if online? other than FSM, any other website provide such service?
i read in FSM FAQ, there are charges:

WHAT ARE THE CHARGES TO APPLY FOR PPA ACCOUNT?

A: For first-time PPA account application, there is a PPA account opening fee of RM10.60* which will be deducted from your investment amount.
Subsequently, an annual fee of RM8.48* will be deducted from your investment amount for subsequent investment on the next calendar year. *GST 6% included.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/1...eme-PRS--8865#5
You cannot run away from that cost. Only way is stop topping up. If you stop topping up, you won't get charge RM8.48.

The other site you can buy from is eunittrust.com.my but as mentioned you cannot escape the fees.
Ramjade
post Nov 2 2017, 12:59 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(messi.78 @ Nov 2 2017, 12:35 PM)
I have decided invest PRS with CIMB funds.. I saw that they have "do it for me"or "do-it-myself"options.. Which one that you guys choose? If "do-it-myself"option, how do you allocate your contributions? Any suggestions to help me decide?

Thank you
Select fund you want, select DIY. Put 100%. Done. You only need one PRS fund. Every PRS fund will be charged RM8.48/year
Ramjade
post Nov 2 2017, 01:19 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(mephyll @ Nov 2 2017, 01:10 PM)
Huh? RM8.48/ year for each fund?
if i have 3 funds, RM8.48 x 3 o...wa....
i thought RM8.48/year for 1 PRS account.

Then better buy only 1 PRS fund, top up RM3k/per year to get the tax relief.
That's right. Buy just one. PRS is for income tax relief. No need so many. If no more income tax relief, stop topping up.
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 01:49 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(woolala @ Nov 3 2017, 12:56 AM)
Can I withdraw money from my EPF account to invest in PRS? Since the EPF contribution is likely to be more than RM6k for tax relief, I’m wondering if I can do so to claim for addition 3k for PRS tax relief.
Officially no. Technically yes. How?
You can withdraw your EPF to buy UT using FSM. Lots of paperwork involve. PRS is also UT.
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 09:07 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 3 2017, 07:44 AM)
There is only a limited range of UT that is eligible to be purchased using epf. You cant just puchase any UT in the market. So my take is PRS is not in the list of eligible fund.

PRS Is a supplement of epf in retirement fund. Don't think they will allow you to take from one retirement fund to another.
You can't withdraw from EPF to invest in PRS. But you can withdraw EPF money to invest in UT

Eg. Cimb Asia Pacific PRS is a feeder fund into Cimb Asia Pacific.

You can withdraw EPF and invest in Cimb Asia Pacific.

So technically you are investing into Cimb PRS Asia Pacific using EPF money.

EPF UT range is bigger than PRS
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 12:26 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 3 2017, 11:59 AM)
But if that's the case, not eligible for tax exemption for PRS, right?
EPF have tax relief of up to RM6k. Not sure if you can use that RM6k to buy UT. Will try it out.
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 02:06 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 3 2017, 02:01 PM)
i hope U dont mind me clarifying here - our buddy.. U ask (A), he answer (B) pulak. maybe not enough coffee kua  laugh.gif

A. If U take out from EPF A/C1 to buy EPF approved mutual fund - NO tax relief.

extra bonus info
B. If U buy PRS - "tax relief" up to MYR3K, NOT "tax exemption".
very different between the two, ask your favourite tax expert

C. There is a way to buy PRS "using" EPF A/C2 but it involves a mortgage

Hope the above clarifies / helps  notworthy.gif
Let me clarify with sifu wong. When you topup EPF, money masuk which account?
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 05:12 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 3 2017, 04:51 PM)
the question was "But if that's the case, not eligible for tax exemption for PRS, right?"
But if we put RM6k into EPF and use that RM6k to invest in UT, that RM6k is eligible for tax relief right?
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 07:27 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Nov 3 2017, 06:52 PM)
Wrong, impratical as u cannot withdraw all ur epf for ut investment.
Depends on the amount u have and age, the withdrawable amount is from 0% to 20% of the total epf.
Better than leaving 100% inside there earning 5-6%.

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 3 2017, 07:05 PM)
Question is which PRS fund it’s eligible for EPF investment?

Putting 6k into EPF then divert to PRS to get another 3k tax relief? You think IRB would allow such loophole to exist?
It's not a loophole.
PRS RM3k
Self contribute EPF/buy insurance = RM6k

The question is how to go about with the RM6k. I am not too sure about procedure. Will try and experiment and see.
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 08:01 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 3 2017, 07:58 PM)
Bro. Not sure if you misunderstand the rm6k tax relief. As long as you contribute to epf, the amount you contributed for the year is eligible for the 6k. You can check the amount you contributed in your EA form. You don't need to do anything.
That I know. My thoughts are to use that RM6k you deposited into EPF to invest into UT. Make the money work harder.
Ramjade
post Nov 3 2017, 08:49 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 3 2017, 08:39 PM)
Which PRS fund is open to EPF investment?

U dump 6k into EPF and the same 6k invest into a PRS fund to get another 3k tax relief? Basically you are trying to get a 9k tax relief with only 6k contribution, not a loophole?

Anyway let me us know if you manage to invest money from EPF into a prs fund. I will gladly switch them over any day.

If it’s a normal UT then there’s is no tax relief given at all.
No.
RM6k > EPF > UT
RN3k > PRS
Ramjade
post Nov 25 2017, 02:14 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Austin123 @ Nov 23 2017, 03:20 PM)
Q1: I am new to PRS, if I start purchase in year 2017, will I get Tax Relief for the next 10 years (2027) if I fund RM3k/year?
A1:

Q2: Which is the best PRS company now?
A2:
Tax relief only until 2021. If they don't extend it means no need to contribute already as you are not getting anything.

PRS company not important. What's important is the fund manager. Good PRS company with lousy fund manager = bad choice.
Ramjade
post Nov 29 2017, 12:19 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Trulyasia@ @ Nov 29 2017, 11:34 AM)
For my case can get roughly how much? I mean rebate of how much money.
Just contribute la. Little amount also some money save. At the end of day, you will still get back your money.

If you choose to pay tax, you will never get back the money you paid.
Ramjade
post Nov 29 2017, 01:21 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Nov 29 2017, 01:09 PM)
Not worth it.. it lock your money until your retirement
Which one sound nicer?

Put it in, reduce amount of tax, withdraw in full at 55 years old or
pay tax and never see your money again at 55 years old?

Your call.

24 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1523sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:07 AM