24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

Ramjade
post Oct 18 2019, 02:35 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(edisoner90 @ Oct 18 2019, 02:30 PM)
so basically once you buy there will be no hidden/maintenance charges until your retirement withdrawal?
Rm8/year if you decide to topup.

Yearly maintenance fee counted into the diary prices. As long as you buy the fund, annual fees still jalan despite how the fund perform.

That's why very important to pick good fund. No point paying fund manager if don't do their work well.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 18 2019, 02:47 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 11 2019, 11:33 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Nov 11 2019, 11:09 AM)
so what's current PRS trend ? still CIMB PRS Principle Ex Japan?
near year end. yet to topup for tax relief
For me yes that's still the go to buy. Already bought my fill of RM3K during the recent HK stocks blood bath.
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2019, 03:17 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 13 2019, 02:17 PM)
i wanna check, can i switch from manulife to CIMB PRS?
Yes can. But very long process.
Ramjade
post Dec 11 2019, 07:37 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Dec 11 2019, 12:22 AM)
Really not worth it. The only advantage for PRS is tax benefits but then even then those companies has already "accounted" for those advantage.
Worth it if
1. You know what you are buying.
2. Buying at the right time.

If you don't know and blindly follow agents and buy at peak (when is most expensive) , of course your returns is lousy. My one year already beat EPF by ~2%

For is very worth it.
Pay less tax and get to keep the money able to earn higher returns than EPF,.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 11 2019, 07:39 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 11 2019, 04:52 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(nlks @ Dec 11 2019, 12:41 PM)
I see, so means the performances still does matter and I might need switching fund from time to time.

If 1 yrs after my purchase and let say the fund price has increase by 5%, and I’m performing the switch, is the concept the same with stock - my profile will “sell” the fund at current price and earn 5%, then “purchase” the new fund with that total of 105% amount?

Not sure whether this is a good timing, but I’m doing this too late as it’s already Dec and have to make a purchase although I saw some fund is near the peak at the moment sad.gif
I buy and never switch. When it drop just buy more. Simple. PRS hard to switch. Lots of paper work and very long.

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Dec 11 2019, 01:46 PM)
I only go for the tax relief which there is until 2021 and then I will stop contributing I guess
Same. I also aiming for tax relief. Anything extra is bonus which I intend to take as well.
Ramjade
post Dec 14 2019, 02:25 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(cafe912 @ Dec 13 2019, 03:38 PM)
I withdrew all my PRS funds early this year (after reaching 55) but now I decided to contribute back. In order to eligible for tax relief, do I have to contribute back all the funds I withdrew plus a new contribution or just a new contribution? Thank you.
Buy RM3K worth of fund only. Don't buy a single Sen more.
Ramjade
post Dec 19 2019, 05:35 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(piausuk @ Dec 19 2019, 04:57 PM)
alright, thanks for your info, i will confirm with my fund agent too, coz she also not that sure about PPA / FSM.
from my understanding the PPA / FSM just act as a middle-man.
No need ask agent about FSM Sure they tell you don't buy from them.
No good. Online. Nobody answer your questions. If you are the agent, will you ask your customer go to another place which is free ans buy vs buying from you and collecting free money from you? brows.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 21 2019, 06:37 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(jayzac @ Dec 20 2019, 03:29 PM)
coming towards the year end , havent spend my 3k PRS quota, any good fund recommended from FSM ? please recommend some smile.gif
Don't wait until end of the year to buy. By waiting you missed out on fantastic discount during the August month. I did my topup then (way lower price then now)

So I am getting best of both world.
Tax relief + awesome returns.
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2019, 06:42 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(kim0112 @ Dec 25 2019, 06:14 PM)
Hi all, wanna ask how to buy prs in fsm? I jz noticed that we need to submit a complete set of original fill documents to fsm by mail to their office? How long will this take for processing? And also after submit this so in future we don’t need go through this method ady?
1. Open account with FSM.
2. Buy the fund you want. Make payment via FPX.
3. Submit the documents required. Make sure to read the FAQ or contact customer service to know what are the documents required. Some funds may ask for more documents. Mail it to FSM
4. Wait for approval. (I forget took how long, budget 1 month time)
5.Yes submit once only. You need to submit again if you are buying other funds. Eg you filled up form for fund A. Now you want to buy fund B, you need to fill it up again and send them again.
Ramjade
post Apr 29 2020, 04:28 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 29 2020, 04:02 PM)
thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif thanks for the updates...

then that means, withdraw RM1500, then use that withdrawn money of RM1500 to contribute back to PRS....get tax relief or RM1500 (for free)
all the gain with nothing to lose but some 'spending time" only...  :thumbsup:
You are forgetting if you withdraw at a loss = a loss.
Ramjade
post Apr 29 2020, 09:22 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 29 2020, 05:51 PM)
those withdraw now could be from Conservative PRS fund,....intending to buy into EQ PRS funds.....

well anyway, how you know now is not the good time or now is a good time?
the price could be stagnant, up or fall after you sold and buy again (to get the FREE tax relief gain as posted above)

withdraw now and buy again....
if buy again, at a higher price.....you lose if the price paid is higher than the tax relief gain
if buy again, at a lower price.... you gain the lower priced units PLUS the gain of tax relief.
if buy again at the same price as you sold earlier...you will still gain the tax relief.
Market haven't recovered to last all time high.

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Apr 29 2020, 06:19 PM)
It will be interesting to see how many will still contribute to PRS post 2020 (I believe it is the last year for relief, barring any extensions, or corrections - in case I am mistaken).

I for one, will not as the main purpose is to gain from tax savings. The moment this no longer exists, there will be no significant incentive to even consider this medium.

Their returns (in my case) have been super pathetic and I have tried all permutations - aggressive, moderate, conservative. All super koyak - putting the money in FD even at 3% per year is better. And I have been investing since 2012.

However, I will take advantage of the RM 1,500 and then retop up another RM 1,500 for the final time this year.
I will. Cause tax relief is until 2021. 2021 is last year to buy. If they don't extend I won't buy anymore. Simple as that. Either way I win. If they don't extend, I can shift the extra RM3k overseas.
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 12:01 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Apr 29 2020, 11:59 PM)
It appears that PRS seems to have missed its intended purpose. Retirement savings? I think many people here only use it to save tax, nothing more. The moment the government removes this tongkat, what will happen to it?

I just pray that I don't lose when I can finally withdraw. At least EPF is guaranteed 2.5% per annum (and most of the time outperforms the minimum and FD!). Why can't PRS since it is suppose to act exactly the same as EPF?
For me it's never retirement savings. It's always tax relief (pay less tax) and keep my money. Money paid to income tax is no longer your money but money put into prs will always be your money.

My retirement will be dividend investing. I intend to live off my dividends.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 30 2020, 12:01 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 12:41 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Apr 30 2020, 12:24 AM)
LOL - not just you, most likely most who invest. Instead of PRS, it should be renamed as TRF (Tax-Relief Fund). That way, they will be no misunderstanding and they don't need to hard-sell that they can make money for you (which in my experience, it is pitiful - just putting the money in FD alone makes way more than my PRS returns over the past several years).

Just have to remember - TRF.

Since we know that EPF (I guess it will never fail since there is always income going in) will be around and I guess guaranteed by the government, what about PRS? Is there a chance it will collapse? After all, it is a supposed Private Retirement Fund? Luckily, maximum (for Tax-Relief) is only RM 3k per year x # of years invested. That is the total loss scenario. It could happen, I guess, if there is no guarantee - at least I don't recall reading it...

Now SSPN is another story - it gives around 4% returns per year, for many years in a row. PRS should model itself after SSPN - if SSPN can do it, why not PRS? SSPN gives you the same tax relief (this year RM 8k!) and virtually returns FD like or better rates! So you actually benefit upfront AND back-end, cumulative (provided you don't withdraw).
Apparently you didn't know that prs can have double or triple FD return. Been there done that. biggrin.gif Most prs is rubbish returning below FD returns but there are selected few which give you double or triple returns. tongue.gif

It all comes down to
1. Picking the right fund
2. Picking the right time

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 30 2020, 12:42 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2020, 01:05 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Apr 30 2020, 01:02 AM)
Yes, you are right. I never did much research but since there is time aplenty now from the never-ending MCO, should start looking. Any pointers?
Good place to start
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169

If you are lazy buy amasia reits/pacific Asia dynamic income. Can't remember the full name.
Ramjade
post Aug 4 2020, 10:50 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 4 2020, 10:39 AM)
ok fine, got a point. that one immediately got some few hundred bucks back in cash.

but don't forget also, you cannot withdraw the money until you're 55.

so assuming if the tax relief thing is only until 2020 and the gomen didnt extend the tax relief perk.

then your money is stuck in there for another dunno how many years.

let's throw in a scenario, if you're 30 this year and you can still qualify for the tax relief for the next 2 years.

assuming RM3k x 24% tax savings = RM720 per year x 2 = RM1440 for the next 2 years and no more after that.

then assume your fund is stuck inside until you're 55, means 55 - 32 = another 23 years to go.

assuming the fund only make 3%, or 4% which means you stand to gain 1% p.a. for the next 23 years.

wouldn't you be better off in the long run until 55, having your money in the FD with compounding effect than the tax savings + PRS?
That's why must know which fund to buy. Buy lousy fund you get -ve or 2-3% return.

Buy good funds at right time can easily make 10%p.a

That's the main reason I don't simply buy funds.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 4 2020, 10:50 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 4 2020, 11:23 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 4 2020, 11:04 AM)
but it is pretty difficult to "time" the market, the general idea of DCA is to eliminate all the noises, doing it regularly would smoothen your costs out and at the same time stay invested.
There's this theory where "time in the market" > "time the market", right?
Thanks. Corrected the tax relief of up until 2022.
Do both. Time your entry and do time in the market. Don't sell.
Buy when everyone and news telling you stock market plunge by XX amount.
You have one year every year to monitor.
I have been doing that every year. Everytime news said trade war getting worse. Market drop by XX amount, I buy.
So far it works wonders.
Everytime they tell you market roaring, green reaching almost all time.high, I stay away.
Timing can never be perfect. You cannot catch the bottom but if you can catch near bottom is good enough.

I don't fear a down market. I welcome it. Cause that's the time to go shopping. Load up on all the discount stocks.

Tax relief is until 2021. 2021 is last year to buy PRS to claim in 2020. Unless they extend.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 4 2020, 11:23 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 4 2020, 12:25 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 4 2020, 11:27 AM)
on that,...
recently there was a forummer mentioned that he is still waiting for the drops and he has until DEC to wait for he expected the mkts would drops

thus i think, DEC is the cut off time (if tax relief is the objective), no matte up or down, by that time, have to go in too
Yup. Evey year one have until Dec to take action.

For me I still have money. So I welcome another drop. If another such severe drop happend during Nov/December I got other stuff to deploy it. My PRS for the year already maxxed out.

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 4 2020, 11:29 AM)
yeah, i've been doing both. with the regular monthly DCA.

plus, buying extra when there's bad news regarding the market. been doing that quite a bit especially in stashaway.

on the tax relief, thanks for the correction, i thought it is until 2022. so in this case until 2021, means the last tax filing to claim such tax will be by April 2022.

those who are going in now just to get the tax relief gotta be extra careful if you don't want your money stuck there for the next many years.
Max amount to buy in a year is RM3k + RM8 (for annual fees).
Don't exceed that amount.

Yup until 2021 unless they extend it further.
If they extend I will continue buying. If they don't I will bring my money elsewhere. I have already allocated RM3k every year for PRS.

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 4 2020, 12:20 PM)
agreed. but gotta bear in mind, picking the right fund is equally important.

The argument was, there's no point if the return of the fund is 3-4% p.a. and you're paying 3% annual fees for that fund. This will kill you in the long run, hypothetically.
Use FSM or eUT to buy PRS at 0%. So even if the fund is making 3%p.a who cares. You already make money. The thing is avoid paying service charge at all cost.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 4 2020, 12:27 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 2 2020, 04:59 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Sep 2 2020, 04:54 PM)
Is this a good fund?
Lots of unit trust in Malaysia are useless.
Never buy based on brand of the company.
Ramjade
post Sep 25 2020, 07:10 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 25 2020, 06:32 PM)
The only reason I haven’t DCA is because I’m waiting for FSM lump sum promotion for PRS during year end.
Don't look at that promo for topping up PRS. Small gain vs opportunity for big gain. I loaded up max into my prs during march sell down. Got quite near the bottom.
Ramjade
post Sep 25 2020, 07:19 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Sep 25 2020, 07:15 PM)
If I can predict the March sell down and rebound I would have invested all my money then smile.gif
I cannot predict but my rules told me to go buy. Buy when everyone selling. People all kena margin left right center.

24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.1492sec    1.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:54 AM