24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

Ramjade
post Nov 18 2020, 10:22 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(kafechew @ Nov 18 2020, 09:59 AM)
Yes. After comparing 2 popular equity funds and a popular bond fund in the PRS limited selections, the risk is not justified for the reward.
Many active funds statistically hardly beat the market for many years consecutively.
Pretty common they're very very good for few years, but lost all in 1-2 years.
Given these funds consists less than 100 holdings, each holding rise or fall will give you worse or better returns comparing the World Index (close to US Index)
And star fund managers come and go, who will determine the performance.
Also, very high annual fee.

Sure, there are some very successful active funds for many decades, notably WB's BRK.
But how many WB in 8 billion people?
Recently, ARK funds too very hot (but still a very young fund).

I couldn't find broad-base passive fund in PRS.
But the tax relief is worth it.
If there is one (equity or bond), I will just invest into it.
Now, is it just choosing the most suitable among the worst.
Like voting for BN or Harapan  tongue.gif
I currently will go for the bond fund, lower risk, lower return but stable.
I revise my strategy once a year, but most probably stick.
Low expanse ratio, broad-base passive index funds or ETFs.
Avoid over-weighted to home country.
For example VT, VTI or equivalent.
Still can get minimum annualised 8% for past decades.

Decided an asset allocation that delivers solid returns and allows me to sleep at night, and then forget about it!
I will better put all focus on my active income, i.e. business or salary.
When you invest for retirement, make sure it can beat EPF or else no point.

QUOTE(kafechew @ Nov 18 2020, 10:16 AM)
Thanks for your clarification.

Do FSM charge RM 0.50 per transaction for existing or new fund like PPA direct topup did?

I did have insurance and i-EPF (no longer now) through FSM, no the transaction charge.
But not sure about UT or PRS funds from FSM.
No charge from FSM.
Ramjade
post Dec 1 2020, 03:46 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 1 2020, 03:03 PM)
If PRS extend to 2025, and after that people will start dumping their PRS.
Will the price of PRS collapse?
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Dec 1 2020, 03:13 PM)
that's y i clear out account B as permitted by the gov for covid
Don't be ridiculous. Do you guys know how unit trust works in the first place?
Unit trust holds thousands of stocks and/or bonds. The price of the Unit trust is basically the value of the stocks and/or bonds at the end of the day. Think of it as Alibaba/Tencent, Maybank.
Your unit trust is not the only fund buying those companies. This is true especially for likes of Alibaba, and Tencent. For alibaba and tencent to drop, it needs simultaneous dumping of funds and not one fund on it's own.
Ramjade
post Dec 1 2020, 04:22 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Dec 1 2020, 04:19 PM)
definitely no less than u. but i think im better of investing my prs elsewhere if allowed (btw allowed under gov initiative). heck even cash in hand better than stuck in prs for the next 30 years or so.

the only reason, the one and only reason to invest in prs is tax relief. otherwise, do take out whatever money inside (without penalty) if possible.
If you pick rubbish fund understandable. But if your funds have been returning you 15-20% every year I don't see anything to complain. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 1 2020, 04:23 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 5 2020, 12:31 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(xgen123 @ Dec 4 2020, 08:09 PM)
Just wondering why are most people invested into "Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity" ? Is it because it has more consistent returns over many years?
Because I noticed that for example, "Public Mutual PRS Islamic Strategic Equity Fund" seems to have higher returns based on recent data.
Public mutual have 3% service charge.
Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity if you buy via FSM is 0% service charge.
Ramjade
post Dec 24 2020, 10:53 PM

24,432 posts

Guys how to withdraw PRS from FSM under prihatin scheme!
Ramjade
post Jan 10 2021, 02:22 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(MiKE7LIM @ Jan 10 2021, 02:16 PM)
hello sifu's here ...
i just realize my contribution is higher than what i have right now. meaning my portfolio is in red now

can we select the REITs we want to invest in?
I saw mine under AMPRS-Asia Pacific REITs (Class I)
Directly no. Fund manager is the one who decide what to buy.
Indirectly yes. I think now there's a Manulife REIT PRS. So you can look into fund factsheet of amprs and Manulife PRS and pick the one with the REIT you want.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 10 2021, 02:25 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2021, 02:40 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 15 2021, 02:26 PM)
PLEASE read the fund fact sheet first, those conservative/mod/growth funds seem to be really small in size and don't perform as well as those pure equities one.

If you are still young and won't touch the money for 30 years, consider the pure equities one like Principal Asia ex Japan Equities.
I believe affin hwang growth actually beats Principal Asia ex Japan for 1-2 years already. Their AIIMAN fund also good but AIIMAN cost like 1.8%p.a
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2021, 08:45 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 7 2021, 01:09 AM)
Lemme correct it, even with tax relief at tax bracket 24%, there is a solid chance PRS will underperform StashAway or VTI/VXUS ETFs.

Malaysia mutual funds are awkward, they are kinda manual gear with no need to press clutch, we need to know which funds to pick. There is no target date fund or broad market fund (that invests in ALL investable stocks in KLSE), so the funds hole < 100 positions and we kena manually read up on macro econ trends and switch funds, or get rekt later on.  shakehead.gif
Yes and no. If it pick lousy funds yes. If you pick good funds no. My principal have been giving me 30% returns. I don't b.lieve stashaway is able to give 30% return p.a

Sometimes fees are worth paying if they can beat the index. I am waiting for them to let intoruduce PRS. But unlikely going to have PRS.
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2021, 03:38 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Mar 7 2021, 09:31 AM)
Ramjade

This year, do you plan to invest RM 3000 into Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Equity - Class C, or any PRS funds such as Affin Hwang PRS Growth Fund, AmPRS – Asia Pacific REITs and so on?

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. smile.gif
Of course. For my PRS I only stick with Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Equity - Class C. As long as got tax relief, I will put in max RM3k a year. Once tax relief stopped, I won't bother. Why should I stopped when govt giving me free money? If govt stopped it, I will just divert my PRS into ARK funds directly (bypassing UT)

In fact, the recent tech sell down is good opportunity to add. No need wait for promo from FSM. Add when market is red.

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 7 2021, 11:08 AM)
14% only the 1st year. In the subsequent years, their expenses can be higher than advertised expense ratio, eating into our return and nullifying even a 24% tax deduction.
Same, my Principal AAXJ class C been doing great, but it underperformed KWEB ETF still.

I think lah, if they put stashaway, wahed, akrunow etc into PRS, the fund houses really can ciao ady. Mutual funds are still manual driving, the buyer needs to know which asset class in which geographical location, which market is undervalued, Shiller PE ratio etc before buying it. Also, the fund manager cannot express their views to achieve an investment goals, they can only cherry pick securities to go into the mutual funds.
Principal AAXJ class C have been underperforming for few years vs Affin Hwang.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2021, 03:39 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2021, 05:55 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Mar 7 2021, 05:38 PM)
Ramjade

Thanks for your reply.

Since you said that Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Equity - Class C has been underperforming in comparison with Affin Hwang PRS Growth Fund, why don't you invest in Affin Hwang PRS Growth Fund, for this year?
The general idea is to stick with just one PRS fund for the same calendar year. However, we may invest in different PRS fund in another year, if that PRS fund is better than the PRS fund in which we invested during previous year.
Yes, for sure, as long as the government provides tax relief for PRS, we will invest in PRS. Without the tax relief, we will divert our fund to other investments.
1.5 Vs 1.8% in fees. 1.5% is the max I will pay for fees. Is it worth it for say extra 1% outperformance? In my option nope.

Eh I meant AIIMAN not the growth PRS.

But the choice is yours.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2021, 06:10 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 10 2021, 09:35 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(timeekit @ Mar 10 2021, 03:29 AM)
Guys I'm new to this, need your advice.

- what documents / proofs are required for the tax relief purpose. Will the annual statement from PRS web be sufficient.
- i briefly read through the forum. Do we need to deposit 3k annually to benefit from the tax relief ? or depositing 3k once into the funds will be sufficient to entitle for tax relief for the following years.

- the receipt when you buy/annual statement from fund house
- RM3k yearly, if RM3k once it's unit trust don't need to do business already
Ramjade
post Mar 23 2021, 04:57 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(emkay_2020 @ Mar 23 2021, 12:50 PM)
Hi , anyone invest this fund in FSM ?

Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity

Is it give good returns so far ?
I have been investing in it for don't know how many donkey years. It's one of the best prs to buy. Returns are always double digit yearly.
Ramjade
post Mar 24 2021, 09:34 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(CoronaV @ Mar 24 2021, 08:57 PM)
Is it worth to buy now?

Which market the fundhouse focus?
Depend on yourself.
It's cheaper than it is if compare beginning of the year. But it's not cheap enough for me. Then again market can just go higher from here.

Some people will just want to buy and be done with it.

For me it's not worth because there's no discount. I buy when market red. Always. And this have help boost my prs return.

I still have until end of this year to buy. So no hurry for me.

The name should tell you. If not open up the fundfactsheet.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 24 2021, 09:38 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 25 2021, 09:51 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Mar 25 2021, 08:43 AM)
Boss, I biasa just top up via PRS portal around Nov/early Dec - ok ka macam ini?    No idea if market is red or blue or green at that time.   What do you think I should do better?   BTW, my investment is usually 3k saja.
Depend on yourself. If you don't really matter/care about market return anytime is a great time to buy (money gets to work faster Vs sitting in the bank rotting). Downside is you could be buying when it's super expensive and less safety when it fall.

If you are like me who chase performance, I only buy when market is red and when people are scared to invest. Buying when market drop by say 10% will give me opportunity to boost my return hence my money is compounding faster (making my money work harder and more efficient). This is what enables my PRS portfolio to have consistent double digit return yearly.
Downside is market may not drop 10% and may go higher and higher. But so far once a year there's usually a time when market fall by >10%+.
You have to be super patient and have guts to buy.

The choice is yours. No need to think so much or chase returns. It all depend on what you want.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 25 2021, 09:51 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 6 2021, 04:34 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 6 2021, 04:08 PM)
Thanks.. i was thinking whether i should engage with Affin Hwang's PRS. A lot of other PRS outside as well. what do you guys think?
Keep in mind Affin Hwang funds have among the most expensive expense ratio at 1.8%p.a If you are ok with losing 1.8%p.a be my guest.

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 6 2021, 04:21 PM)
For Affin Hwang, it seems like they have zero sales charge and their growth and moderate is not bad. Anyone here engaged with Affin?
Better make sure it's zero. As far as I know only FSM MY and eUT MY are zero service charge.
Ramjade
post Apr 6 2021, 05:14 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 6 2021, 05:08 PM)
true that for the 1.8%. Which other PRS charge is lower?
Other PRS as they are the most expensive. Up to you to decide if you are willing to pay higher fees for their track record. Their track record not bad. You can compare their performance vs other funds here.

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/chart-centre

Sometimes it's worth paying extra but not for me cause eg
Affin Hwang 25%p.a
Competitor A 24%p.a
Competitor B 22%p.a

Do I really need to pay 1.8% for 25% when I can pick Competitor A 24%p.a? Keep in mind fund performance is already nett expenses. That's for you to decide.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 6 2021, 05:15 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2021, 12:04 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 7 2021, 12:27 AM)
Thanks guys. I wonder which one you select because there are too many. Lol
What so many? I only have like 3 to select which I know can give me double digit returns almost annually.
principal asia pacific class C ex japan
Affin Hwang PRS Growth
Affin Hwang AIIMAN Growth

Keep in mind my goal is to get more bang for my buck than simply keeping inside for tax relief.
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2021, 02:37 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 7 2021, 02:34 PM)
you bought 3 separately? do you use PPA online?
Nope. I only buy one. I never use PPA. I use FSM to get 0% service charge.
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2021, 06:49 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 7 2021, 06:26 PM)
I tried to use PPA to open my PRS account. I want to ask if I want to deposit via online. They will charge me for admin fee?
I believed yes. That's why I went with FSM.
Ramjade
post Apr 7 2021, 10:16 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 7 2021, 10:04 PM)
Topping up thru FSM will still incur RM 8 annual admin fee.
You cannot avoid RM8.00. Only way is keep buying new fund every year.

24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1866sec    2.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:25 PM