330 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

aliluya
post Jul 21 2015, 01:26 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 20 2015, 11:47 AM)
thank you for your link.

by the way, i couldnt see HLA in the list, does that mean if i purchase the PRS from HLA, i cant get tax relief?

SUSDavid83
post Jul 21 2015, 01:28 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jul 21 2015, 01:26 PM)
thank you for your link.

by the way, i couldnt see HLA in the list, does that mean if i purchase the PRS from HLA, i cant get tax relief?
If I'm not mistaken, HLA is not a PRS provider.
T231H
post Jul 21 2015, 01:33 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jul 21 2015, 01:26 PM)
thank you for your link.

I think the HL one is the Deferred annuity plan
which you can also get the tax relief.....btw...the tax relief is till 2021 only...
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4029

What’s the Difference of Private Retirement Scheme and Deferred Annuity Plan?
Read More http://kclau.com/retirement/prs-da/ - See more at: http://kclau.com/retirement/prs-da/#sthash.Sa4jNMb5.dpuf

With the PRS, you are not committed to contribute a fixed sum of money to the fund annually, ie. which means that you have greater flexibility in determining how much you want to contribute to the fund, if you are the type who are not overly concerned about the personal relief for tax purposes. While in the case of the deferred annuity scheme, you would have committed yourself to contribute a fixed amount (say, RM3,000) for the next 10 years.

http://malaysiantaxation101.com/2013/01/pe...ferred-annuity/

aliluya
post Jul 21 2015, 01:35 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 21 2015, 01:33 PM)
I think the HL one is the Deferred annuity plan
which you can also get the tax relief.....btw...the tax relief is till 2021 only...
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4029

What’s the Difference of Private Retirement Scheme and Deferred Annuity Plan?
Read More http://kclau.com/retirement/prs-da/ - See more at: http://kclau.com/retirement/prs-da/#sthash.Sa4jNMb5.dpuf

With the PRS, you are not committed to contribute a fixed sum of money to the fund annually, ie. which means that  you have greater flexibility in determining how much you want to contribute to the fund, if you are the type who are not overly concerned about the personal relief for tax purposes. While in the case of the deferred annuity scheme, you would have committed yourself to contribute a fixed amount (say, RM3,000) for the next 10 years.

http://malaysiantaxation101.com/2013/01/pe...ferred-annuity/
ohhh..so its 2 different thing..HLA agent is telling me that the return is 10.78%..thats seems to good to be true?
SUSsupersound
post Jul 21 2015, 01:37 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jul 21 2015, 01:35 PM)
ohhh..so its 2 different thing..HLA agent is telling me that the return is 10.78%..thats seems to good to be true?
Before you buy, indeed is 11%. Once you buy, if they are giving 1.078% you shall feel thankful that HLA still willing to give some after spending your money whistling.gif
T231H
post Jul 21 2015, 01:39 PM

5,143 posts

hmm.gif
are there any guarantee and non guarantee parts?
did he/she combine both the guarantee and non guarantee parts together?
wil-i-am
post Jul 21 2015, 01:39 PM

10,001 posts

Mind to share details of HLA product?
aliluya
post Jul 21 2015, 02:07 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 21 2015, 01:39 PM)
Mind to share details of HLA product?
i dont have much information, will check with the agent again.
aliluya
post Jul 21 2015, 02:08 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 21 2015, 01:37 PM)
Before you buy, indeed is 11%. Once you buy, if they are giving 1.078% you shall feel thankful that HLA still willing to give some after spending your money whistling.gif
bro, can mind share your experience, i dun wan caught with 10 years payment but feeling get conned pulak.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 21 2015, 02:15 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jul 21 2015, 02:08 PM)
bro, can mind share your experience, i dun wan caught with 10 years payment but feeling get conned pulak.
Long time get conned already, I bought it because it guaranteed minimum 5% return, since it is governed by EPF that time. So they only gives 5% excluding admin fees. So when I withdraw it and put back to EPF, the return average at 3% while EPF for the same period of 8 years got 5%.
adele123
post Jul 21 2015, 03:42 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jul 21 2015, 02:08 PM)
HLA only has deferred annuity, and only in the form of rider. means you have to buy another basic insurance plan. it is called evercash 60.

not possible they have 10%+ return on the DA. deferred annuity still has the tax relief benefit, but i think one should consider that DA is also meant for longer term.

if one is purely looking for tax relief, HLA is not good choice.

PS: the other guy no experience, just always BS-ing about insurance con him, etc...

This post has been edited by adele123: Jul 21 2015, 03:43 PM
SUSDavid83
post Aug 24 2015, 10:19 AM

52,874 posts

Online platform for PRS as AUM yet to hit RM1b mark

KUALA LUMPUR: When it was first launched in 2012, the private retirement scheme (PRS), administered by the Private Pension Administrator Malaysia (PPA), was expected to hit RM30.9 billion in assets under management (AUM) in 10 years — that’s an average of RM3.9 billion per year.

But more than two years since, its AUM, even with eight fund providers and 47 PRS funds, stood at some RM900 million and has yet to reach the RM1 billion mark as uptakes from corporations remain low as there is no sense of urgency for them to adopt the scheme.

URL: http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/o...t-hit-rm1b-mark
nexona88
post Sep 3 2015, 05:58 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,476 posts

Public Mutual launches two private retirement scheme funds
Public Mutual PRS Equity Fund (PRS-EQF) and Public Mutual PRS Strategic Equity Fund (PRS-SEQF).

PRS-EQF and PRS-SEQF seek long-term capital growth by investing in equities and collective investment schemes comprising of a diversified portfolio of blue chip stocks, index stocks and growth stocks.

Both funds will invest between 75% and 98% of their net asset value (NAV) in equities and hence offer the potential for higher returns over the long term.

“For increased diversification, PRS-EQF and PRS-SEQF can invest up to 30% and 98% of their NAV respectively in selected foreign markets which include Asia, the US and Europe markets,” it said.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...unds/?style=biz

This post has been edited by nexona88: Sep 3 2015, 05:58 PM
Kaka23
post Sep 14 2015, 11:05 AM

8,259 posts

Top up small amount today.. tongue.gif
babykon101
post Sep 14 2015, 02:05 PM

Bodyslammin' Sailormoon
585 posts

A bunch of glorified EPF? Best to just invest it in properties if you have so much money for private retirement scheme, every month just pay 300-500 IF you managed to rent out and after 20-30 years the house is yours. Just remember to get the freehold ones. smile.gif
nujikabane
post Sep 20 2015, 01:28 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

below are the list of providers :
http://www.ppa.my/providers/providers-schemes/

1 noOb question; does it matter which provider we go for ?

I mean, they are all under PPA, right ?
MUM
post Sep 20 2015, 01:50 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 20 2015, 01:28 PM)
below are the list of providers :
http://www.ppa.my/providers/providers-schemes/

1 noOb question; does it matter which provider we go for ?

I mean, they are all under PPA, right ?
YES, it does not matter if one are not so serious about its mandate and its performance track records.....eventhough past performance may not repeats

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 20 2015, 01:50 PM
nujikabane
post Sep 20 2015, 04:10 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

I am so over my head on this 1, so hopefully fellow forumers can assist me [and others who are like me] for better understanding :

[1] How long is the commitment (e.g. when can I reap the benefit of my contributions ? I suppose it is based on the retirement age as per the statutory law in Malaysia ?

[2] What is the minimum contribution, and what is the frequency [monthly, annually?]
T231H
post Sep 20 2015, 05:36 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 20 2015, 04:10 PM)
I am so over my head on this 1, so hopefully fellow forumers can assist me [and others who are like me] for better understanding :

[1] How long is the commitment (e.g. when can I reap the benefit of my contributions ? I suppose it is based on the retirement age as per the statutory law in Malaysia ?
PRS objective are helping to accumulate retirement savings, contributions to the PRS are also split and maintained in two sub-accounts, i.e. sub-account A which comprises 70% of contributions and sub-account B which comprises 30% of contributions. Full withdrawals from the PRS account can only be made upon the satisfaction of certain criteria* and partial-withdrawals can only be made from sub-account B subject to restrictions and penalties**.

*Reaching the prevailing retirement age, death or leaving Malaysia permanently.
**Members may only withdraw the amount in sub-account B once a year. The withdrawal amount is subject to a pre-retirement withdrawal fee of RM25 and also a tax penalty of 8%. The tax penalty will be deducted before the balance is credited to your account. The first pre-retirement withdrawal is allowed only after a year from the date of the first contribution by the PRS contributor. Subsequently, pre-retirement withdrawals will be allowed once in every calendar year.
"pls note that...there may not be "any benefits" available during the intend retirement age withdrawal, "IF" the funds are performing badly for some times prior to the withdrawal age....this investment is NOT risk free".
When you invest in a PRS Fund, there is investment risks involved. There are general risks which you will be exposed to when investing in any of the PRS Funds as well as specific risks associated with the investment portfolio of each PRS Fund. Therefore, before making an investment decision, you should consider the different type of risks that may affect you and the Fund. These risks are disclosed in the PRS Scheme Disclosure Document or Product Highlights Sheet.

[2] What is the minimum contribution, and what is the frequency [monthly, annually?]
Minimum initial contribution is RM100 and minimum subsequent contribution is RM50 per fund. frequency...up to your likings and convenience
more on this at...
http://www.ppa.my/prs/joining-prs/what-should-i-consider/
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2965

cherroy
post Sep 20 2015, 06:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Sep 20 2015, 04:10 PM)

1. It is just like investment in UT, no guarantee on when one can reap the benefit.
PRS is actually investing in chosen UT funds.

330 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:44 PM