Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion
anangryorc
Sep 5 2008, 06:35 AM
WD6400AAKS is the most worthy drive for me so far, good price/performance ratio, and quite silent too. Thanks to 320GB platter  Here's my single drive, RAID-ing these babies will surely rock!!
with version 65a7b, winaam is set to minimum at factory default, just download winaam to set it to max, otherwise will have a lousy seek time. This post has been edited by anangryorc: Sep 5 2008, 06:53 AM
Jcsy
Sep 5 2008, 08:21 AM
a good hard disk is a hard disk which has lasted many many years  ? hehe mine few years already
kernah
Sep 5 2008, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Sep 5 2008, 08:21 AM) a good hard disk is a hard disk which has lasted many many years  ? hehe mine few years already yeah... if u use it just for storage...
lotiman2003
Sep 5 2008, 09:11 PM
I bought 3 Seagate b4 and all kaput in 1 year. Now using 4 Western Digital and still kicking.
Oxburg
Sep 6 2008, 03:53 PM
My old 40GB WD really sux leh......damm alot bad sector.Always dl got problem and then damm noisy + hot (51C). Recently new patch i not sure already ><
kernah
Sep 6 2008, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 5 2008, 09:11 PM) I bought 3 Seagate b4 and all kaput in 1 year. Now using 4 Western Digital and still kicking. wah then u sure hav a lot very painful experience on data lost loh...
emy_xvidia
Sep 6 2008, 05:58 PM
been using Seagate for years now.. so far im satisfied wif the performance and durability..  and i had a bad xperience wif the Maxtor drive..
jasonkwk
Sep 6 2008, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Sep 4 2008, 12:19 PM) Why is the Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 always having the yellow spot shown in HD tune?  This also happens to my 1 year old Seagate 160 GB, also of the same 7200.10 you are not the only one   I spend the whole day yesterday to fix 486KB of bad sector, damn tiring....zzzzzzzz  This post has been edited by jasonkwk: Sep 6 2008, 06:16 PM
kernah
Sep 6 2008, 06:29 PM
every piece of hdd.... no matter wat brand ... new one(juz came out from factory) or old one ... big or small capacity... 3.5'' or 2.5''.... wil hav certain amount of bad sectors... juz dat it is marked ( another word used is 'fixed' which i don like) to not being detected or being used so dat data written wil not corrupted. Some software claimed dat it is capable to recover or fix (again i don like diz word), but the fact behind it is still marking the bad cluster not fixing it, 'fix' is making a thing bec to normal n useable...
jasonkwk
Sep 6 2008, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(kernah @ Sep 6 2008, 06:29 PM) every piece of hdd.... no matter wat brand ... new one(juz came out from factory) or old one ... big or small capacity... 3.5'' or 2.5''.... wil hav certain amount of bad sectors... juz dat it is marked ( another word used is 'fixed' which i don like) to not being detected or being used so dat data written wil not corrupted. Some software claimed dat it is capable to recover or fix (again i don like diz word), but the fact behind it is still marking the bad cluster not fixing it, 'fix' is making a thing bec to normal n useable... really dont understand what you are trying to say.
Oxburg
Sep 7 2008, 03:47 PM
Can open new thread and open poll for ruined HDD? and 1 more poll for working fine HDD.
anangryorc
Sep 10 2008, 05:18 PM
i think ur hdd is too hot for a gp wd drive, try to keep it ~40c max.
Saros
Sep 10 2008, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(kernah @ Sep 6 2008, 06:29 PM) every piece of hdd.... no matter wat brand ... new one(juz came out from factory) or old one ... big or small capacity... 3.5'' or 2.5''.... wil hav certain amount of bad sectors... juz dat it is marked ( another word used is 'fixed' which i don like) to not being detected or being used so dat data written wil not corrupted. Some software claimed dat it is capable to recover or fix (again i don like diz word), but the fact behind it is still marking the bad cluster not fixing it, 'fix' is making a thing bec to normal n useable... That is true actually. That's exactly how it works. I also dislike the way they throw the word "fixed" around. Also, if not already mentioned, check out Google's white paper http://research.google.com/archive/disk_failures.pdfIt is very informative and interesting to see the conclusions. This post has been edited by Saros: Sep 10 2008, 06:06 PM
super macgyver
Sep 13 2008, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Sep 6 2008, 06:13 PM) actually u should consider a better grade of seagate which is SV or ES series.  Others normal seagate got so high failure rates ler.
magna_voxx
Sep 15 2008, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Sep 13 2008, 12:18 PM) actually u should consider a better grade of seagate which is SV or ES series.  Others normal seagate got so high failure rates ler.  i will consider those series if wanna get new hdsk again. not really care bout those actually b4 dis luckily...so far serve me well,both W.D and Seagate.
rosihan
Sep 15 2008, 10:21 PM
how to check the series? frm sn ?
light bulb
Sep 15 2008, 11:07 PM
WD for me, 250 GB. Thinking of getting another one same brand. Today 80 GB oso not enough, have to fill with tonnes of movie, songs etc  .
zer0hour
Sep 15 2008, 11:28 PM
Best price/performance HDD is the WD6400AAKS =)
vearn27
Sep 17 2008, 10:38 AM
Currently I have a Seagate 7200.11 500GB and Samsung Spinpoint 120GB in my rig. I need to expand the capacity of storage for my HD movies. Should I get another Seagate 7200.11 500GB to do RAID or hentam Samsung F1 1TB? Any opinion?