Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

vearn27
post Feb 2 2008, 07:35 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

I'm planning on getting a 320GB SATAII HDD as my current 120GB SATA Samsung Spinpoint really couldn't fit my usage sweat.gif.

Many would have recommending Seagate for its performance and most importantly 5 years warranty provided. However, I wonder if I could lay myself on for another Samsung? unsure.gif Hahaha... just having this feeling that I'm preferring Samsung's HDD than the Seagate's. Weird one... sweat.gif

Anyway, did Seagate did provide 320GB model for their 7200.11? I thought the mininum for it will be 500GB and 7200.10 only has 320GB? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Feb 5 2008, 12:59 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Hmmm.....

320GB Seagate 7,200rpm 16MB cache RM275 with 3 years warranty

VS

500GB Seagate 7,200rpm 16MB (32MB?) cache RM460 with 5 years warranty

VS

500GB Western Digital 7,200 16MB cache RM360 with 3 years warranty

Which you guys will pick? I think probably we already reach 2TB or 4TB HDD by 5 years time... and no one will talk about 500GB HDD anymore... like what happened to 20GB and 40GB these days... hmm.gif
vearn27
post Feb 7 2008, 06:11 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Alright, answering to everyone's call smile.gif

Finally I made up my mind between the WD 500GB GreenPower and Seagate Barracuda 500GB...

Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s NCQ 500GB 32MB Cache Hard Drive
Model : ST3500320AS

Any software to recommend to check on the bad sector and error? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Feb 7 2008, 09:18 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Feb 7 2008, 07:50 PM)
wow...you finally make your mind... brows.gif  how is the performance...I think should be nice isn't it...32MB cache... drool.gif  btw, you can try hdtune...go hdtune.com... icon_rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif
Hehe... yeah biggrin.gif. Since that WD Green Power is a low performance HDD, so I picked this one instead which they said the 32MB cache benefits if used as system HDD. Now I'm running my OS on this 500GB HDD and backup all data on my previous 120GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA HDD.

Anyway, would there be any performance loss if I'm using SATA2 and SATA1 HDD on my SATA ports? I don't ever think even SATA2 HDD would go beyond 150MB/sec bandwidth due to mechanical HDD limit? unsure.gif

Alright, will trying HDTune later on nod.gif.
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 12:12 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Feb 7 2008, 10:25 PM)
how much u get it from?
RM445 at LYP smile.gif
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 12:39 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Feb 8 2008, 12:12 AM)
ic...your system now should run faster than before...that's good...I hope I can get that hdd too...but now running out of cash... I think you will only lost little perfrmance if you transfer file between both hdd, that is either SATA1 to SATA2 or SATA2 to SATA1...but I not really sure...never try before (dun even have chance to try...tongue.gif)...if installing game on that new seagate hdd, I think should load faster than before... icon_idea.gif  brows.gif  drool.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Edited to delete useless info... whistling.gif
Hmm... since installation till now. Just doing formatting and organizing the files inside. Splitted into 2 partitions of 82GB each for OS and programs & games etc., while another 3 partitions of 100GB each for DATA, ANIME & SERIES and MOVIE store smile.gif. The previous formatted 111GB of Samsung SATA HDD will be used as BACKUP biggrin.gif. A bit too much for the OS, programs and games thou... but just "tabur" la at the moment biggrin.gif. Else defragmenting will be a pain if I'm putting beyond 100GB in a single partition sweat.gif.

Noticeable increment in speed of access and loading etc. Games wise and others haven't really try tongue.gif.

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 8 2008, 12:17 AM)
i think he got it for rm445 at pczone rite?
Nah... not need to be PCZone... many other shop can offer around that price too wink.gif.
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 12:46 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

BTW, I have a question here. I formatted my HDD into 5 partitions and it become:
    C:
    E:
    F:
    G:
    H:
D: has been used for my optical drive. I managed to change the drive letter to be C:, D:, E:, F:, G: by using Administrator Tools > Computer Management > Disk Management and set my optical drive as H:.

However, when I load Windows bootup disk and using the built-in disk partition (before installing Windows), it stated my partition as:
    C:
    E:
    F:
    G:
    H:
Anyway to change it to the proper order as C:, D:, E:, F:, G:? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 01:28 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 8 2008, 01:02 AM)
how bout if u format other partition only after finished install windows?
That's what I did actually. After divide the partitions, I install Windows on C: and then only proceed to format the others.
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 01:43 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 8 2008, 01:39 AM)
hmm...i usually do what u did and no prob at all..i wonder if u need to format all of them during the installation  hmm.gif
I don't think there will be any option for you to do so without selecting the option to install Windows? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 01:52 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Feb 8 2008, 01:44 AM)
this one yo need to go into the administrative tools to adjust the drives name...  nod.gif
Yeah, I did that and it works on Windows. However, when I load the Windows bootup disk for re-installation or so, the built-in partition program shows C:, E:, F:, G:, H: and D: still been used up for my optical drive sweat.gif.

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 8 2008, 01:48 AM)
anyone know why seagate and WD 500GB HDD price is difference is more than RM100? is this means seagate is better?
The cheaper WD 500GB which is the Green Power series is actually a lower performance HDD compared to Seagate Barracuda's smile.gif. You still can use it like any other normal HDD, nothing different. Green Power series utilize lower power consumption, thus lower heat generation and lower read/write speed overall.
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 02:48 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Feb 8 2008, 01:59 AM)
hmm...
i do not know whether the bios can help or not...
maybe you need to tweak the bios setting... for the drives which come first...
else administrative tools is the only choice...
after you formatted your pc, the drives letter will mss up again,
then you need to re-adjust them...  sweat.gif
Well, honestly I don't see any BIOS setting for assigning letter drive or doing partition tongue.gif. The max BIOS can do only set your 1st, 2nd, 3rd and so... HDD in sequence laugh.gif.

If nothing can be done, might as well I just leave it and deal with the Disk Management everytime ba laugh.gif.

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 8 2008, 02:03 AM)
forgot to ask..r u installing xp or vista?
XP Pro SP2 smile.gif.
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 02:57 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 8 2008, 02:52 AM)
well.. i neva had dis prob..i just set the size of each partition during installation and arranged the letters after login into windows..after that each time i boot no changes made to the letters that i assigned...
Ah well... I think you have mistaken me. Yeah, I doesn't have the drive letter problem after the assignation by Disk Management in Windows. What I mean is the HDD itself. I bootup my rig using Windows XP BootCD and then enter the Partition Manager, the place where you can create and delete partitions on your HDD(s) before you selecting one to be installed with Windows. The partitions there still labelled as:
    C:
    E:
    F:
    G:
    H:
tongue.gif
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 03:07 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 8 2008, 03:01 AM)
i think it's usual kot dis thing happen  tongue.gif
Haha... then I wonder how come last time I could set my Samsung HDD as C:, D:, E: as default laugh.gif
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 01:25 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Feb 8 2008, 12:50 PM)
maybe tis time u use raid gua, so different loh.  tongue.gif
Tarak setup RAID la doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
vearn27
post Feb 8 2008, 08:25 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

For SATA2 3Gb/s HDD... what DMA mode I should run for maximum performance? Currently I'm on Ultra DMA Mode-5 on my SATA2 port unsure.gif.
vearn27
post Feb 9 2008, 12:17 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Feb 8 2008, 11:20 PM)
Is 7200.11 500GB here? thanks
Ya, I just bought the Seagate 500GB 7200.11 32MB SATAII HDD smile.gif.

BTW, no one can help me regarding the Ultra DMA Mode setting? unsure.gif
vearn27
post Feb 9 2008, 04:38 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Feb 9 2008, 03:11 AM)
already is the top limit mar, udma-5  sweat.gif
But in HDTune its indicating my Seagate can go as far as UDMA-6 and my Samsung UDMA-7 summore sweat.gif sweat.gif
vearn27
post Feb 12 2008, 05:17 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Feb 9 2008, 03:11 PM)
but i think only vista can go tat far ler, u try wit vista yet liao?
Nope, haven't install Vista for myself before in my life so far unsure.gif.

QUOTE(mitodna @ Feb 9 2008, 04:26 PM)
yoyoyo, how much? and where? thanks  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

SATA is using Ultra DMA setting? or it is nothing related??? thanks
U just got my PM tongue.gif. Can get it at LYP biggrin.gif.

QUOTE(Kataro @ Feb 10 2008, 02:33 PM)
I think it doesn't matter if the D appear as optical drive in the Partition Manager of the Window XP bootable CD...lable your partition and you will know which one you want to install the Windows XP Pro SP2 liao....

if you are going to reinstall windows in C, then no problem at all, no need to change anything...just install it...

anyway, I also want to make it many partition when I get another 500GB hdd, but I afraid make it too many partition is not good for the hdd as I read somewhere last time that make more than 3 partition will make it easy corrupted... hmm.gif dunno for large capacity this theory still valid or not... unsure.gif
Hahaha... actually it is no big deal with the drive partition letters. Just I'm preferring everything could be "in order" so it would just looks much neater tongue.gif. I didn't care much and just splitted my 500GB into 5 partitions. It would be a pain if you're gonna defrag a large partition leh laugh.gif.

QUOTE(e-jump @ Feb 10 2008, 08:08 PM)
did you set your bios SATA to AHCI mode?
UDmamode-5 is only 100MB/s
Need to switch to AHCI mode? huh.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 12 2008, 03:11 PM)
me looking for the 7200.11 320gb...cant find in Mid Valley...only got .10 sad.gif

eh wait.... .11 got 320gb ah?? sweat.gif or is it 500gb only?
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 is utilizing 250GB per platter drive. So you would only see 500GB, 750GB and 1TB at the moment smile.gif.

QUOTE(merzchan @ Feb 12 2008, 03:27 PM)
but 7200.11 which comes with 32mb internal cache & that would certainly blow WD off the ground.
500GB 7200.11 available in 16MB internal cache as well. They mentioned the cache only would benefit if you're using it as system drive. If using it just for data storage, it doesn't matter I guess unsure.gif
vearn27
post Feb 12 2008, 06:21 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Anyway, do I need to ENABLE ACHI MODE for my SATA? unsure.gif

Currently it's running on IDE mode and there are IDE, RAID and ACHI to pick from.

Anyway, just faced a few BSOD while rebooting my Windows sweat.gif. No idea what happened but finally I managed to load Windows after the 5th attempt shakehead.gif.
vearn27
post Feb 12 2008, 09:21 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Feb 12 2008, 08:54 PM)
Try scan ur new hdd for bad sectors.
Use Windows's Utility ScanDisk? Or any good application to be recommended? unsure.gif

0.0192sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:27 PM