I can conclude through my own experiences

DO NOT GET MAXTOR. MAXTOR, DATA KILLAS

get WD, Seagate, Hitachi and Samsung, these are some good brands
TSvictorboy
post Oct 17 2005, 06:36 AM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 16 2005, 07:25 PM)
so got any conclusion? so far i see maxtor got many complaints.... WD not really much... Seagate kena praised and giving 5 years warranty(damn) and samsung not much ppl talk about it. My father going to KL 2molo so i might ask him to get me a 200gb hard disk. So Seagate or WD is better?
try Seagate then later tell us the reliability and performance...
hehe!!

well, i'm also need to purchase additional hdd for my own use...
too many data to store, i think i will give it a try for Seagate!!

sweat.gif

*error typo edited sweat.gif

This post has been edited by victorboy: Oct 17 2005, 06:43 AM
raymond5105
post Oct 17 2005, 09:46 AM

5,341 posts

Try any brand HDD just try to avoid from Maxtor.Seagate user here also,quite satisfied with my Seagate HDD.Already use for 4 years with excellent condition.
super macgyver
post Oct 17 2005, 12:11 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Hornet012 @ Oct 15 2005, 12:57 AM)
haha...sorry bro. i din notice it tongue.gif so far i only see ppl keep complaining Maxtor HDD  whistling.gif  btw im using WD HDD but will "dead" soon cos its operating noise getting louder and sometimes it will "break" (click sound). And i use Maxtor HDD for 3 years......lucky me got "good" Maxtor HDD  tongue.gif
WD memang make worry ler.

QUOTE(bbng @ Oct 15 2005, 02:34 AM)
some problem about harddisk deframenter ........

my harddisk brand is seagate , and the capacity is 80GB..

my harddisk was divided to three part...
i m face the problem of my pc FAT32 file system can't t transact deframent...
but other one on the NTFS file system no porblem for deframent...

what is the problem for my harddisk ???

sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
do a full format after delete all 3 prt?

QUOTE(jones007 @ Oct 15 2005, 05:36 PM)
erm now i'm getting a new harddisc.. budget below 300 bucks.. i don't know much about harddisc.. so which do u guys recommend??
dun go for maxtor & seagte.also WD.

QUOTE(jones007 @ Oct 15 2005, 05:38 PM)
i forgot to say.. 160gb should be enough.
try look 4 hitachi as it improve liao.
jinXxxx
post Oct 17 2005, 01:15 PM

57 posts

got you loud and clear ceo684.

one thing interesting for you guys to note, now my OS doesnt seem to let me format any of my HDD to FAT32 anymore. unless i reformat the PC and format the partition straight to FAT32, i cant convert any of them to FAT32.
super macgyver
post Oct 18 2005, 04:10 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(jinXxxx @ Oct 17 2005, 01:15 PM)
got you loud and clear ceo684.

one thing interesting for you guys to note, now my OS doesnt seem to let me format any of my HDD to FAT32 anymore. unless i reformat the PC and format the partition straight to FAT32, i cant convert any of them to FAT32.
did u ever tried with partition magic or acronis disk manager?
Hornet012
post Oct 18 2005, 04:21 PM

71 posts

hey...have u guys ever think about heat generate from HDD ? would it be the factor cause it to be failure ? or program like PnP software (BT, Kazaa etc...) if it really do then i think my WD problem probably because of BT. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Oct 18 2005, 04:27 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Hornet012 @ Oct 18 2005, 04:21 PM)
hey...have u guys ever think about heat generate from HDD ? would it be the factor cause it to be failure ? or program like PnP software (BT, Kazaa etc...) if it really do then i think my WD problem probably because of BT.  sweat.gif
sorry as that time my fren fail 4 biji seagate 80gb pun he hadnt got streamyx also. sweat.gif
Hornet012
post Oct 18 2005, 04:36 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 18 2005, 04:27 PM)
sorry as that time my fren fail 4 biji seagate 80gb pun he hadnt got streamyx also. sweat.gif
well......i did "melt" my seagate HDD with norton before tongue.gif .....luckyly its under warranty period. BTW at that time is 486 era....should be 7-8 years ago. Thats y i didnt use Seagate until now sweat.gif
unitron
post Oct 18 2005, 05:17 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Using a seagate currently, so far no problem after i installed a cooling fan for it.

Computer hang a few times before coz' of downloading with Streamyx. tongue.gif The hangs are caused by overheated HDD.

After install cooling fan for the HDD, problem solved liaow.. thumbup.gif
ben3003
post Oct 18 2005, 08:25 PM

10,859 posts

my father bought 160gb pata seaget hard disk... hope it wont disappoint me..
aaron_lwm
post Oct 18 2005, 08:56 PM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

@ben3003
I'm sure it won't, Seagate HDD are very well favored among enthusiasts and it is a good HDD, have personal experience with it
TSvictorboy
post Oct 18 2005, 10:32 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 18 2005, 08:25 PM)
my father bought 160gb pata seaget hard disk... hope it wont disappoint me..
haha!!!
good luck!!!
if this thread didn't close...
please share your opinion and experience here!!

thumbup.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 18 2005, 10:35 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 18 2005, 08:56 PM)
@ben3003
I'm sure it won't, Seagate HDD are very well favored among enthusiasts and it is a good HDD, have personal experience with it
if the hdd can last for 3 years and above, then it is ok already.
we know electronic part is wear and tear, but at least can last for several years.
Sanko
post Oct 19 2005, 12:50 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

hrmm.... anyone knows what reliable cooling setup for HDD?
very curious on it cause heat is really an issue in every electronic stuff..
Hornet012
post Oct 19 2005, 03:02 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 19 2005, 12:50 AM)
hrmm.... anyone knows what reliable cooling setup for HDD?
very curious on it cause heat is really an issue in every electronic stuff..
for me i just leave 1 slot space between 2 HDD. Should be alright.....BTW my casing installed 6 fans (4 in front and 2 back) and 1 is WD 5400rpm and Maxtor 7200rpm. Heat its not an issue for me thumbup.gif but BT might "kill" my WD HDD soon sweat.gif
pcdoctor_my
post Oct 19 2005, 08:22 AM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 16 2005, 10:52 PM)
I can conclude through my own experiences

DO NOT GET MAXTOR. MAXTOR, DATA KILLAS

get WD, Seagate, Hitachi and Samsung, these are some good brands
My 40GB maxtor Diamond 5400RPM is still running although it's motor is abit noisier nowdays.Very rarely I see it kaput.
Western Digital's life is shorter than others.
Hitachi for notebooks is abit fragile but most of the time can be revived back using Hitachi's low level format...haven't seen Hitachi for desktop hard disk.But I am using a IBM Deskstar 7200RPM, it's noisy on seeking, but still running.
Seagate is good, quiet and fast.
Samsung..so far my friend using on his PIII,day 1 until today, no problem.

QUOTE(Hornet012 @ Oct 19 2005, 03:02 AM)
for me i just leave 1 slot space between 2 HDD. Should be alright.....BTW my casing installed 6 fans (4 in front and 2 back) and 1 is WD 5400rpm and Maxtor 7200rpm. Heat its not an issue for me  thumbup.gif but BT might "kill" my WD HDD soon  sweat.gif
Coicendentally, I did that also. Then I place my floppy disk drive in the lowest empty CDROM bay and leave the hole (existing floppy drive) for the air to come in, and add a fan to draw in cool air to cool my babies.

This post has been edited by pcdoctor_my: Oct 19 2005, 08:24 AM
super macgyver
post Oct 19 2005, 12:44 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 11 2005, 10:18 PM)
28k of bad sector. but the RMA took only about 1 week time. relief. and the good thing is that they RMAed a SATA 300mb/s replacing the SATA 150mb/s (transfer rate).

hrmm... the reason i opt for WD is because of its speed, according to some sellers in LYP. and comparing to seagate with NCQ, i still feel that WD is faster.

i know i should't totally believe in sellers intro, but i did, and i didn't regret.

the WD 120g and WD 200g is still running well. never experience any data loss before.
how u know u got bad sector? scan in dos mode?
Sanko
post Oct 19 2005, 01:49 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 19 2005, 12:44 PM)
how u know u got bad sector? scan in dos mode?
nope... i scanned it using another pc. and the answer pop up. once i slot in the HDD, windows straight away scanned it.
Sanko
post Oct 19 2005, 01:52 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Oct 19 2005, 08:22 AM)
Coicendentally, I did that also. Then I place my floppy disk drive in the lowest empty CDROM bay and leave the hole (existing floppy drive) for the air to come in, and add a fan to draw in cool air to cool my babies.
hrmm.... i won't opt to leave a 'hole' there although we know air will go in but dust too. when too much of dust 'collected', then the pc will become hot and crashes will occur. besides, the air ventilation inside the pc is disturbed.

just my 2 cent

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:56 PM