QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 19 2005, 01:49 PM)
nope... i scanned it using another pc. and the answer pop up. once i slot in the HDD, windows straight away scanned it.
so wat windows ur fen using until can start scan it?Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion
Oct 19 2005, 03:16 PM
19,322 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 19 2005, 05:03 PM
134 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Sentuz & PeeJay |
last month i bought a seagate 160 sata wiv ncq at viewnet pc shop. everything work great until yesterday when i on my pc a SMART error message came out... i continue to boot into window..scandisk..no bad sector..everything normal... try to restart few times the message still came out... so i disable the SMART function..
is there anything wrong wiv my hdd?? could i take back the hdd to the shop & change to a new one cause in 1 year time can exchange 1 to 1 but my hdd work normal if i disable the SMART?? |
Oct 20 2005, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(kitloon @ Oct 19 2005, 05:03 PM) last month i bought a seagate 160 sata wiv ncq at viewnet pc shop. everything work great until yesterday when i on my pc a SMART error message came out... i continue to boot into window..scandisk..no bad sector..everything normal... try to restart few times the message still came out... so i disable the SMART function.. mayb related to ur mB ler sumhow.is there anything wrong wiv my hdd?? could i take back the hdd to the shop & change to a new one cause in 1 year time can exchange 1 to 1 but my hdd work normal if i disable the SMART?? |
Oct 21 2005, 08:20 AM
3,169 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 21 2005, 07:16 PM
365 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
i'm using seagate barracuda 80 Gb Sata h/d. Bought it 2 yrs ago n it is still working fine.
Oct 21 2005, 07:22 PM
1,436 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Oct 21 2005, 08:10 PM
2,994 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
a lot of bad comments for Maxtor
but my maxtor still work fine after 4 years |
Oct 21 2005, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 21 2005, 07:22 PM) normal windows xp sp2. once an additional hdd is install in to a pc, windows will scan the secondary hdd if it was not properly shut down before. very weird then coz windows alwiz didnt inform of the bad sector it scan as so far only win98 & ME will tell after scan alwiz.correct me if i'm wrong |
Oct 22 2005, 05:15 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 8 5 0 0 0 |
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Oct 21 2005, 08:10 PM) maybe coz only a recent model dat is the bad ones? now i dont noe which hardisk to buy |
Oct 22 2005, 05:25 AM
37 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
I have 2 WD running for 2 years. No sign of errors.
Oct 22 2005, 10:08 AM
973 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: CarJunk |
hey,wat is NCQ and molex connector ... ?
wat HDD must i have .... 4 both of them .... |
Oct 22 2005, 11:01 AM
Oct 22 2005, 03:37 PM
1,814 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 22 2005, 03:42 PM
608 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang Island |
what are the advantages of NCQ?
Oct 22 2005, 11:39 PM
168 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ/Subang Jaya/USJ |
QUOTE(LarharT @ Oct 22 2005, 03:42 PM) Try a Google search of NCQ. Amount of information on-line is immense. Also, sites like Tom's Hardware and Anandtech are first rate hardware sites you should never miss. |
Oct 23 2005, 12:30 AM
12,089 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Malaysia |
But NCQ is not utilized in Windows XP yet izzit..?
If let's say I bought a HDD that is using SATA II but my mobo only supports SATA I, will it be backward compatible..? This post has been edited by hardyboyz888: Oct 23 2005, 12:42 AM |
Oct 23 2005, 05:57 PM
1,248 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Poor me...my 200GB Maxtor 6L200P0 ATA suddenly not working this morning....my pc suddenly hang & freeze...when restart, can't detect IDE since i used it as my master drive...dont have any back-up to my data...
i only used it for three months....lucky for me, it's under warranty & this monday i will return it at c-zone lowyat to clain my warranty..but warranty will never give me data recovery... i never let my PC on for more than 24 hours..just a normal everyday use....i really dissapointed with maxtor quality control... i hope government through their IT & multimedia department must made compulsory for all hard disk drive makers to have data recovery centre for customers which their hard disk fail & still under warranty to recover their datas for free...hard disk makers sould responsible for all data lost...if cant be recover, they must pay compensation for the customer... but for sure my next buy is not MAXTOR a.k.a DATA KILLER....fairly, before this i have one 40GB maxtor working fine for 2 years before sold it ..that one was in very good condition when i sold it... I think Maxtor is not reliable for mass capacity storage such as more than 80GB.... So for those with maxtor > 80GB...back up your data now ~~!!.... I learned a lesson today... i'll get my back up drive to back up my datas...i have nothing now .... This post has been edited by he-sham: Oct 23 2005, 05:58 PM |
Oct 23 2005, 06:23 PM
316 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KL |
government?!?
dun think they gonna get invovled in this sort of matter. i've had 4 seagate disks so far. 1 @ 4 years 1 @ 3 years 2 @ 6 months thankfully...... all still ok. This post has been edited by borneo: Oct 23 2005, 06:25 PM |
Oct 23 2005, 06:28 PM
10,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: GMT +8:00 |
QUOTE(he-sham @ Oct 23 2005, 04:57 AM) i hope government through their IT & multimedia department must made compulsory for all hard disk drive makers to have data recovery centre for customers which their hard disk fail & still under warranty to recover their datas for free...hard disk makers sould responsible for all data lost...if cant be recover, they must pay compensation for the customer... Read the warranty policy on any hard drive. It does not cover the data on the drive itself. When you purchase the drive, you are agreeing to these terms.It would be ridiculous to make them responsible for the data on the drive since the value of the data is not something that you can easily measure. Also it will lead to so many false claims. |
Oct 23 2005, 08:15 PM
71 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
just wondering is that all HDD you guys complaining are high capacity (60GB above) or low capacity 20 - 40 GB ???
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:33 PM |