Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

Sanko
post Oct 10 2005, 10:55 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

hrmm.... i just RMA my WD1600JS, bought it on February 05

but i still opt for WD, i already bought 3 WD (120G, 160G and 200G)

currently using WD2000JS (Sata2)
Sanko
post Oct 11 2005, 10:18 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 10 2005, 01:03 PM)
wat happen to ur 160GB? sudden dead?
i also WD user ler.  cry.gif  i dun want mine spoilt, i got lot hadnt backup ler.
28k of bad sector. but the RMA took only about 1 week time. relief. and the good thing is that they RMAed a SATA 300mb/s replacing the SATA 150mb/s (transfer rate).

hrmm... the reason i opt for WD is because of its speed, according to some sellers in LYP. and comparing to seagate with NCQ, i still feel that WD is faster.

i know i should't totally believe in sellers intro, but i did, and i didn't regret.

the WD 120g and WD 200g is still running well. never experience any data loss before.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Oct 11 2005, 10:29 PM
Sanko
post Oct 11 2005, 10:23 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Oct 10 2005, 07:40 PM)
how come!!!!!
which show you buy!!!
the one i bought has S.M.A.R.T error, i suspect they sell old stock haha!!  sweat.gif

* about the RMA, should we follow the date stated in the hdd company website or base on the date we purchase?
also, WD offer how many years warrenty, Seagate offered 5 years, what about Samsung?
hrmm... if i'm not mistaken, WD offers 3 years of warranty while seagate offers 5 years. that's the draw back. samsung i'm not quite sure.

This post has been edited by Sanko: Oct 11 2005, 10:23 PM
Sanko
post Oct 19 2005, 12:50 AM

Noob
1,436 posts

hrmm.... anyone knows what reliable cooling setup for HDD?
very curious on it cause heat is really an issue in every electronic stuff..
Sanko
post Oct 19 2005, 01:49 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 19 2005, 12:44 PM)
how u know u got bad sector? scan in dos mode?
nope... i scanned it using another pc. and the answer pop up. once i slot in the HDD, windows straight away scanned it.
Sanko
post Oct 19 2005, 01:52 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Oct 19 2005, 08:22 AM)
Coicendentally, I did that also. Then I place my floppy disk drive in the lowest empty CDROM bay and leave the hole (existing floppy drive) for the air to come in, and add a fan to draw in cool air to cool my babies.
hrmm.... i won't opt to leave a 'hole' there although we know air will go in but dust too. when too much of dust 'collected', then the pc will become hot and crashes will occur. besides, the air ventilation inside the pc is disturbed.

just my 2 cent
Sanko
post Oct 21 2005, 07:22 PM

Noob
1,436 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 19 2005, 03:16 PM)
so wat windows ur fen using until can start scan it?
normal windows xp sp2. once an additional hdd is install in to a pc, windows will scan the secondary hdd if it was not properly shut down before.

correct me if i'm wrong

0.0360sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:16 PM