LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti

weikee
post Feb 26 2012, 10:36 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 26 2012, 07:53 PM)
thanks for this video. you are right, my impact drill is practically useless.
btw i like to ask one thing - i bought a tile bit and by the time i drill two holes, the whole bit koyak. why like that?
dont tell me my tile too hard?  sweat.gif
another common question - how not to drill into wirings or pipes?
im going to buy a rotary drill like yours.
You will not know if you drill into wiring or pipes. Is good to know how the house piping and wiring run. And most common practice is wires come from top to bottom, and water come from bottom to top.

So if you have socket on the bottom of the place you want to drill than very likely you may hit the wires.
idoblu
post Feb 26 2012, 10:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Ok thanks for all the useful info.... Thank you! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Feb 26 2012, 10:51 PM
TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 10:11 AM

1,200 posts

Yes, it dangerous if you drill through live wires or water pipes. For the purpose, you need to use stud finder to find the location for the wires or piles.

Most of time, before I start drilling, I check for wiring by, lookling at the switches and power outlets location, and avouid them logically. smile.gif If I am still not confident, I tap the wall several times to find any sound differences.

Alright...another tool to be added in my wish list.. ... the stud finder. smile.gif

Added on February 27, 2012, 10:13 amOne more thing.. I changed the topic title to reflect the way to drill into concrete and masonry. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 27 2012, 11:22 AM
JinXXX
post Feb 27 2012, 10:17 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Feb 27 2012, 10:11 AM)
Alright...another tool to be added in my wish list.. ... the stud finder. smile.gif
this one can detect wiring.. but piping is non metallic.. how to detect

unless it uses sonar or sonic to detect emptiness aka conduit in the wall la..

TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 10:20 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 26 2012, 07:53 PM)
thanks for this video. you are right, my impact drill is practically useless.
btw i like to ask one thing - i bought a tile bit and by the time i drill two holes, the whole bit koyak. why like that?
dont tell me my tile too hard?  sweat.gif
another common question - how not to drill into wirings or pipes?
im going to buy a rotary drill like yours.
Ha ha ha .. yup.. exactly... the tiles are TOO HARD. We already discussed it this thread. Please do browse and hope you can find the answer. smile.gif

Remember, rotary hammer is optimized for masonry/concrete drilling. It doesn mean it can drill through a hard tiles, instead it can break them into pieces in no time, if you use hammer+drill mode. smile.gif

Not need to get the exact model which I am using. Most of the members here are using Makita HR2470 and Bosch GBH 2-26, but, if you like the design, then HR2810 is a very nice designed rotary hammer. smile.gif
idoblu
post Feb 27 2012, 10:22 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

if living room wall and behind got no bathroom, is it safe to say there wont be any pipes running thru

going by logic alone, i think safe gua? smile.gif

but do stud finders work for our hard concrete walls? isnt this device for those dry walls like found in US homes where they dont use bricks

TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 11:19 AM

1,200 posts

I saw the Bosch branded stud finder/scanner somewhere in KL/Selanger, so it might works... Just ask the shop keeper to demonstrate it to you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 27 2012, 11:35 AM
Eng_Tat
post Feb 27 2012, 11:36 AM

2,215 posts

Bosch multipurpose detector is around dmf10 is 200+ works for concrete wall
This model around 300+
http://www.bosch-pt.com.my/papocs-my/Trade...05324/index.htm

maybe i the near future i might get one of these:P
JinXXX
post Feb 27 2012, 11:55 AM

2,516 posts

how i wish we have a diy club and can share/kongsi buy and use it smile.gif

since we dont need it everytime or maybe a rental..
aneip
post Feb 27 2012, 12:06 PM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 27 2012, 11:55 AM)
how i wish we have a diy club and can share/kongsi buy and use it smile.gif

since we dont need it everytime or maybe a rental..
+ 1.. Interesting Idea.. Stuff such as stud finder and laser pointer should be ideal since hard to broke..
TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 12:09 PM

1,200 posts

Good idea.. but, we are scattered around Malaysia or outside.. smile.gif

Actually, I really wish to have a meeting and we bring along our big toys, and let's share our knowleges experiences. If someone can sponsor concrete and wood blocks, screws, then, we can do some practices. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 27 2012, 12:18 PM
JinXXX
post Feb 27 2012, 12:14 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Feb 27 2012, 12:06 PM)
+ 1.. Interesting Idea.. Stuff such as stud finder and laser pointer should be ideal since hard to broke..
hard to broke ??
TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 12:23 PM

1,200 posts

Typically, we (the owner) love our tools like toys, and quite difficult to give it away, unles if we let the owner involved too. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 27 2012, 12:24 PM
JinXXX
post Feb 27 2012, 01:17 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Feb 27 2012, 12:23 PM)
Typically, we (the owner) love our tools like toys, and quite difficult to give it away, unles if we let the owner involved too. smile.gif
+1 , unless you really know the person..

unless everybody chip in for an item/tool and all those people have access to it smile.gif
ozak
post Feb 27 2012, 01:21 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 27 2012, 10:17 AM)
this one can detect wiring.. but piping is non metallic.. how to detect

unless it uses sonar or sonic to detect emptiness aka conduit in the wall la..
Use human sensor to detect lah.

My way is, I know how wiring run. So avoid half till 1" from the estimate wiring place. Normally wire run from below straight up to the light point or socket. While for upstair, light switch wire is from top down to the light. But some from below too.

For piping, normally horizontol to your tap or stop kok.

You know what, when that time my house built before plaster, I use videocam to record all the wiring and piping in the wall. So sometime I refer back where the wire run if I want to drill that place. smile.gif
TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 01:46 PM

1,200 posts

ozak : Excellent tips...
aneip
post Feb 27 2012, 01:48 PM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 27 2012, 12:14 PM)
hard to broke ??
Hehe.. wrong words a, how to explain it.. I mean like drill the value of the drill itself decrease significantly when you use it..

But for something like stud finder it quite reliable.. can use many time without significant wear & tear..

Hope you get what I mean..

TSbahathir
post Feb 27 2012, 01:53 PM

1,200 posts

Mmm..the term is Wear and Tear smile.gif
weikee
post Feb 27 2012, 01:55 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Feb 27 2012, 10:11 AM)
Yes, it dangerous if you drill through live wires or water pipes. For the purpose, you need to use stud finder to find the location for the wires or piles.

Most of time, before I start drilling, I check for wiring by, lookling at the switches and power outlets location, and avouid them logically. smile.gif If I am still not confident, I tap the wall several times to find any sound differences.

Added on February 27, 2012, 10:13 amOne more thing.. I changed the topic title  to reflect the way to drill into concrete and masonry. smile.gif
Sometime stud finder won't be able to detect because the cable is conceal deeper. My friend loan me a stud finder before, and when I try to find wires it did not detect all the conceal wires. The real good one is the steel detector we saw on the movies.

beebouly
post Feb 27 2012, 02:05 PM

85 posts

I'm trying to drill holes (for curtain rail) into my apartment wall with a Bosch GSB 10 RE impact drill. The drill has a rotary/impact change over but I'm not sure which function to use or whether I should switch the functions in between. Need advice!

127 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:08 AM