176 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

soonwai
post Apr 14 2019, 06:31 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 14 2019, 10:45 AM)
PoE injector means I’ll need a power socket at the location right?

How long is “long”? Is it follow the Cat6 below 90m?
Yeah, you'll need a power source. The PoE injector can be anywhere along the cable. If the distance is quite far, you can put it somewhere in the middle.

You can calculate the voltage drop. Simplistically speaking, it's V=IR. What we learn in Sek Men. The R will depend on the quality, material, AWG and length of the conductor (the cable). Probably easier to do it experimentally. If you're using the same box of Cat6A for your house, just wire up a 10m length and test the resistance or voltage drop. That'll give you pretty good idea of what you can expect from your cables.

But for me, I just plugin 12V and see what comes out the other end. Not enough, plugin 24V. Most devices which accepts passive PoE (also known as fake PoE by another well informed forumer here) will be able to handle a range of voltages. Example: my Mikrotik AP accepts anything from 8-30V. UBNT is probably the same.

And then there's 802.3 af/at PoE. This one I never use before.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 15 2019, 08:37 AM
MX510
post Apr 15 2019, 06:41 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Please don't use cheap cat 6 cable or cat 5 which is not full copper.

Got heh fake poe i thought fake cables tongue.gif

Even though short distance 5 meter also cannot power up ap tongue.gif
celciuz
post Apr 15 2019, 10:04 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 14 2019, 06:31 PM)
Yeah, you'll need a power source. The PoE injector can be anywhere along the cable. If the distance is quite far, you can put it somewhere in the middle.

You can calculate the voltage drop. Simplistically speaking, it's V=IR. What we learn in Sek Men. The R will depend on the quality, material, AWG and length of the conductor (the cable). Probably easier to do it experimentally. If you're using the same box of Cat6A for your house, just wire up a 10m length and test the resistance or voltage drop. That'll give you pretty good idea of what you can expect from your cables.

But for me, I just plugin 12V and see what comes out the other end. Not enough, plugin 24V. Most devices which accepts passive PoE (also known as fake PoE by another well informed forumer here) will be able to handle a range of voltages. Example: my Mikrotik AP accepts anything from 8-30V. UBNT is probably the same.

Thanks for the input. Sigh couldn’t get Cat6a, the sub contractor only have Legrand Cat6.

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 15 2019, 06:41 AM)
Please don't use cheap cat 6 cable or cat 5 which is not full copper.

Got heh fake poe i thought fake cables tongue.gif

Even though short distance 5 meter also cannot power up ap tongue.gif
It’s Legrand Cat6, I googled seems to be pure copper type. The sub contractor charging me RM 200 per cable (long or short also same 😅). Only advantage is the cables are being installed when the house is built, so I no need hack when receive my keys later.

raymond82
post Apr 17 2019, 06:07 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 14 2019, 06:31 PM)

power lost in the cable have to take into consideration
awg22 23 cable resistant is around 6Ohms/100meter

power=i^2*r

let said power consumption is 1.5a
power loss over 100 meter cable is 13.5watt(13.5watt juz wasted and convert to heat...not good ranting.gif )

v/r=9 volt drop over 100 meter

he need a 24v 2a power supply

soonwai
post Apr 17 2019, 06:42 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(raymond82 @ Apr 17 2019, 06:07 PM)
power lost in the cable have to take into consideration
awg22 23 cable resistant is around 6Ohms/100meter

power=i^2*r

let said power consumption is 1.5a
power loss over 100 meter cable is 13.5watt(13.5watt juz wasted and convert to heat...not good ranting.gif )
v/r=9 volt drop over 100 meter
he need a 24v 2a power supply
As long as the cable doesn't melt, should be OK lah. When I calc voltage drop for PoE, I use the length of the cable x 2. My Dintek cables not so good, no way I'll get 9v drop over 100 meters.
Sky.Live
post Apr 17 2019, 11:23 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 15 2019, 10:04 AM)
Thanks for the input. Sigh couldn’t get Cat6a, the sub contractor only have Legrand Cat6.
It’s Legrand Cat6, I googled seems to be pure copper type. The sub contractor charging me RM 200 per cable (long or short also same 😅). Only advantage is the cables are being installed when the house is built, so I no need hack when receive my keys later.
Ask him to do a proper conduit and trunking, it might happen 1 day you might need to replace your cables..
My conduit wires all broken when i try to pull.. now have to go by surface mounting..

Just got myself a HAP AC.. hope it's not the wrong choice.. Might want to add another Cap ac on my 3rd floor

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 17 2019, 11:25 PM
soonwai
post Apr 18 2019, 12:30 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 17 2019, 11:23 PM)
Ask him to do a proper conduit and trunking, it might happen 1 day you might need to replace your cables..
My conduit wires all broken when i try to pull.. now have to go by surface mounting..

Just got myself a HAP AC.. hope it's not the wrong choice.. Might want to add another Cap ac on my 3rd floor
hAP AC as your main router? What speed is your UniFi? Afraid to say that the hAP AC routing performance is relatively weak.

I did a test here with the hAP AC. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=90330495

Not a comprehensive test but it didn’t give me a very impression of the hAP AC. I’m currently using one as an AP only. WiFi also so-so lah. But then again Mikrotik’s WiFi is always just so-so only.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 18 2019, 12:36 AM
Sky.Live
post Apr 18 2019, 06:52 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

yeah the HAP AC seems a little disappointing.. using it as my main router... 500Mbps unifi..

For Rm500+ I expect maybe better performances

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 18 2019, 06:53 PM
Gaara92
post Apr 22 2019, 12:20 AM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 18 2019, 12:30 AM)
hAP AC as your main router? What speed is your UniFi? Afraid to say that the hAP AC routing performance is relatively weak.

I did a test here with the hAP AC. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=90330495

Not a comprehensive test but it didn’t give me a very impression of the hAP AC. I’m currently using one as an AP only. WiFi also so-so lah. But then again Mikrotik’s WiFi is always just so-so only.
can you suggest the best mikrotik router for TIME 1Gbps?
soonwai
post Apr 22 2019, 12:32 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Apr 22 2019, 12:20 AM)
can you suggest the best mikrotik router for TIME 1Gbps?
hAP AC2 will be good enough. It handles UniFi 800Mbps with room to spare. And TIME's internet doesn't use VLANs which means less CPU needed.

RB4011 for sure OK but 3x more expensive.
gahkin
post Apr 23 2019, 09:22 PM

735 posts

Hi need your all advised , i try to proposal wireless solution to my customer which run cafe business recently and TM was upgrade the 800m plan for them. My customer wish to expand their wireless coverage and with some bandwidth limitation by IP control within 1 hours valid for the guest wifi. any idea bro which model can do it ? I know mikrotik wifi signal is quite so so only , so can i get another good router work as AP and then can link to miktrotik hotspot captival portal as well ?

This post has been edited by gahkin: Apr 23 2019, 09:30 PM
MX510
post Apr 23 2019, 10:59 PM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Apr 23 2019, 09:22 PM)
Hi need your all advised , i try to proposal wireless solution to my customer which run cafe business recently and TM was upgrade the 800m plan for them. My customer wish to expand their wireless coverage and with some bandwidth limitation by IP control within 1 hours valid for the guest wifi. any idea bro which model can do it ? I know mikrotik wifi signal is quite so so only , so can i get another good router work as AP and then can link to miktrotik hotspot captival portal as well ?
Bro i can do this for you smile.gif got complete solutions
gahkin
post Apr 24 2019, 12:10 AM

735 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 23 2019, 10:59 PM)
Bro i can do this for you smile.gif got complete solutions
pm detail for contact further. smile.gif
Gaara92
post Apr 24 2019, 01:37 AM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 22 2019, 12:32 AM)
hAP AC2 will be good enough. It handles UniFi 800Mbps with room to spare. And TIME's internet doesn't use VLANs which means less CPU needed.

RB4011 for sure OK but 3x more expensive.
i dont have hAP AC2, just hAP. I have an EdgeRouter-X though, does it better than hAP in terms on performance? I know the functionalities is win by MikroTik.
soonwai
post Apr 24 2019, 01:51 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Apr 24 2019, 01:37 AM)
i dont have hAP AC2, just hAP. I have an EdgeRouter-X though, does it better than hAP in terms on performance? I know the functionalities is win by MikroTik.
ERX is same, more or less, as RB750Gr3. Same Mediatek CPU, Both are better than hAP AC in terms of routing speed.

I was using the RB750Gr3 before changing to a hAP AC2. The RB750Gr3 is OK but you gotta make sure bridge port hw_offload is enabled and fasttrack is operational. The main prob I faced was the 1Gbps link from the switch to the CPU. The hAP AC2 has a 2Gbps link.

A few tests I did on RB750Gr3 on Turbo500.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=90581142
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=90471918

Marginal for 500Mbps. If you're doing more with the router, definitely not good enough. If default config then no probs for 800Mbps.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91511605
hAP AC2 on Turbo 800. Much better.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 24 2019, 01:52 AM
wong_86
post Apr 26 2019, 11:24 AM

DUDE
565 posts

Hi all sifu, i like to get a Mikrotik router for hobby and home use.

My house devices up 15, mix with wired and wifi, unifi 100mbps.

Current router is Asus AC55uhp, plan to set this router as AP

Can recommend a suitable Mikrotik router ?
MX510
post Apr 26 2019, 11:45 AM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Apr 26 2019, 11:24 AM)

Can recommend a suitable Mikrotik router  ?
Depend on ur budget hap ac2 or rb4011 with wifi
soonwai
post Apr 26 2019, 11:50 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Apr 26 2019, 11:24 AM)

Can recommend a suitable Mikrotik router  ?
I agree with MX510, go for the hAP AC2. Whether you use its wifi or not, it's a really awesome router.

Also the RB750Gr3, no wifi, router only, about RM50 cheaper.
wong_86
post Apr 26 2019, 12:15 PM

DUDE
565 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 26 2019, 11:45 AM)
Depend on ur budget hap ac2 or rb4011 with wifi
QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 26 2019, 11:50 AM)
I agree with MX510, go for the hAP AC2. Whether you use its wifi or not, it's a really awesome router.

Also the RB750Gr3, no wifi, router only, about RM50 cheaper.
thanks for recommendation. smile.gif rclxms.gif

How about wireless performance ? house size single story, 30x80

This post has been edited by wong_86: Apr 26 2019, 12:18 PM
cyberic
post Apr 26 2019, 02:51 PM

1,132 posts

Any buyer for CCR 1009? biggrin.gif I'm thinking to revamp my setup and also get the RB4001 and some other stuff.

176 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:16 AM