33 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Begin Your Career As A Seafarer V2, More Proper & Updated. See the WORLD!

SUSChuckyHuntsYou
post Sep 14 2013, 12:28 PM

337 posts

Hey TS, one of my relatives is a captain and he retired recently and opened a S$5,000,000++ worth hotel in Indonesia that faces Singapore.

Even my grandma also encourage me to involve in this industry.

But what it takes to be a captain?
Do I need to train violently like the army?
Why my uncle said if want to be captain like him, better go Indonesia to learn?
How come they can steal some fuel oil from the ship and sells it?

djshank
post Sep 14 2013, 12:34 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 12 2013, 10:19 PM)
Hmm.. a career as a seafarer.

You can get tons of cash... doing "you know what".  biggrin.gif

I shall say no more.
yeah,get caught from APMM, get your COC revoked and blacklisted in marine department..bye bye to your seafaring career haha
djshank
post Sep 14 2013, 12:40 PM

26 posts

I was wondering if the Admin of this thread could enlist the crewing/PIC of manning of companies in this thread for future seafarers to refer to.
djshank
post Sep 14 2013, 12:48 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ChuckyHuntsYou @ Sep 14 2013, 12:28 PM)
Hey TS, one of my relatives is a captain and he retired recently and opened a S$5,000,000++ worth hotel in Indonesia that faces Singapore.

Even my grandma also encourage me to involve in this industry.

But what it takes to be a captain?
Do I need to train violently like the army?
Why my uncle said if want to be captain like him, better go Indonesia to learn?
How come they can steal some fuel oil from the ship and sells it?
1.To be a captain, you require a diploma in nautical studies from ALAM. You start as a Deck Cadet and work your way up to Captain. Within 6 to 10 years you can become a captain. This field is like an investment/savings kinda field. You live to work. As you work,you save every single cent and only use your salary when needed. When you retire you start a business. That's what most seafarers do. High paying salary that lets you retire early.

2.Nope, just need discipline, mental kuat, and tahan maki to work your way up to captain hehehe.

3.If you ask me, i've worked with indonesian seafarers. They are like every other human beings in variety. Ada yang bagus, ada yang malas ,ada yang sailing just for fun. But they are hardworking and they love to do illegal activities onboard. But it's best to study in a reputable establishment such as ALAM,PUO or Singapore Poly.

4. Stealing fuel oil from ship is a no no. You're risking your career and life. If caught by maritime enforcement, your COC, and seafarer status will be revoked and you will be jailed under malaysian law. Worst thing can happen to a seafarer is not being allowed to work at sea again.
4896la
post Sep 14 2013, 12:54 PM

295 posts

The main campus of ALAM is located at Malacca right? Marine Engineer need study how many years and it's in English right?

xcoselete
post Sep 14 2013, 04:37 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(4896la @ Sep 14 2013, 12:54 PM)
The main campus of ALAM is located at Malacca right? Marine Engineer need study how many years and it's in English right?
Yes in Malacca, No more Terengganu Campus. 3-year program, 1st year pre-sea training, 2nd year sea training, 3rd year post-sea training. And yes of course it's in english smile.gif
SUSChuckyHuntsYou
post Sep 14 2013, 06:43 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 14 2013, 12:48 PM)
1.To be a captain, you require a diploma in nautical studies from ALAM. You start as a Deck Cadet and work your way up to Captain. Within 6 to 10 years you can become a captain. This field is like an investment/savings kinda field. You live to work. As you work,you save every single cent and only use your salary when needed. When you retire you start a business. That's what most seafarers do. High paying salary that lets you retire early.

2.Nope, just need discipline, mental kuat, and tahan maki to work your way up to captain hehehe.

3.If you ask me, i've worked with indonesian seafarers. They are like every other human beings in variety. Ada yang bagus, ada yang malas ,ada yang sailing just for fun. But they are hardworking and they love to do illegal activities onboard. But it's best to study in a reputable establishment such as ALAM,PUO or Singapore Poly.

4. Stealing fuel oil from ship is a no no. You're risking your career and life. If caught by maritime enforcement, your COC, and seafarer status will be revoked and you will be jailed under malaysian law. Worst thing can happen to a seafarer is not being allowed to work at sea again.
Regarding answer 4
Is it easy to get caught? As far as I know, my uncle haven't get caught and he retired now hahaha smart one.
djshank
post Sep 14 2013, 10:43 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ChuckyHuntsYou @ Sep 14 2013, 06:43 PM)
Regarding answer 4
Is it easy to get caught? As far as I know, my uncle haven't get caught and he retired now hahaha smart one.
Yes it is easy to get caught thesedays. I have a senior who got his COC revoked and blacklisted in Jabatan laut. Your uncle probably sell around East OPL anchorage,Singapore there or indonesia. IF malaysian waters very risky. coz got maritime enforcement
4896la
post Sep 14 2013, 11:02 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(xcoselete @ Sep 14 2013, 04:37 PM)
Yes in Malacca, No more Terengganu Campus. 3-year program, 1st year pre-sea training, 2nd year sea training, 3rd year post-sea training. And yes of course it's in english smile.gif
I see...thanks
zizdnyll
post Sep 14 2013, 11:16 PM

490 posts

jdshank u do know a lot , where are you from?
zizdnyll
post Sep 14 2013, 11:17 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 14 2013, 12:40 PM)
I was wondering if the Admin of this thread could enlist the crewing/PIC of manning of companies in this thread for future seafarers to refer to.
i do have list of company as per 2010 , that one i get from alam , got about 80 companies , pm me , i can email you the file
xcoselete
post Sep 15 2013, 07:20 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 14 2013, 11:17 PM)
i do have list of company as per 2010 , that one i get from alam , got about 80 companies , pm me , i can email you the file
If you don't mind, can you please email me the list as well? I'll pm you my email address.
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 10:17 AM

295 posts

Is there any cruise company in Malaysia? Normally where will the graduate work at? And how much for the 3 year marine engineering course?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Sep 15 2013, 10:49 AM
djshank
post Sep 15 2013, 01:50 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 14 2013, 11:16 PM)
jdshank u do know a lot , where are you from?
Just another seafarer who just started his journey,bro. Im from another maritime institute in Malaysia. Graduated in 2012. Waiting to take prep course for orals at the moment. And how about you,bro? I did DME. you?
win44
post Sep 15 2013, 02:51 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 14 2013, 10:43 PM)
Yes it is easy to get caught thesedays. I have a senior who got his COC revoked and blacklisted in Jabatan laut. Your uncle probably sell around East OPL anchorage,Singapore there or indonesia. IF malaysian waters very risky. coz got maritime enforcement
..but the money..
omg
lust.gif *Green Eyes*
djshank
post Sep 15 2013, 04:08 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(4896la @ Sep 15 2013, 10:17 AM)
Is there any cruise company in Malaysia? Normally where will the graduate work at? And how much for the 3 year marine engineering course?
Cruise company star cruise,but they only take foreign engineers and officers because cruise require loads of experience and it is steam ship,means from engine cadet till you acquire class 1 Chief Steam cert you will have to sail on steam ships, LNG, LPG vessels that carry gas. Then only you may try for cruise. Better try overseas company.
ALAM is around RM74K plus,but better you try for sponsors as ALAM got sponsors who will sponsor you and also bond you with company,means after graduating you already have a job in your hand. ALAM 1st year at campus. 2nd year at Sea. final year at campus then oral exams and so on.
djshank
post Sep 15 2013, 04:12 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(win44 @ Sep 15 2013, 02:51 PM)
..but the money..
omg
lust.gif  *Green Eyes*

But that is illegal money. I have heard and even seen people who earn that money have so lousy lives. The money finishes very fast and people who buy house (house terbakar), people who buy car/superbike ( accident), so??? Best earn thru legal and proper ways bro.
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 15 2013, 04:08 PM)
Cruise company star cruise,but they only take foreign engineers and officers because cruise require loads of experience and it is steam ship,means from engine cadet till you acquire class 1 Chief Steam cert you will have to sail on steam ships, LNG, LPG vessels that carry gas. Then only you may try for cruise. Better try overseas company.
ALAM is around RM74K plus,but better you try for sponsors as ALAM got sponsors who will sponsor you and also bond you with company,means after graduating you already have a job in your hand. ALAM 1st year at campus. 2nd year at Sea. final year at campus then oral exams and so on.
Ok...thanks for sharing. BTW, how much is the salary for new graduate? We need to work at sea for how long until we get a holiday?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Sep 15 2013, 05:51 PM
djshank
post Sep 15 2013, 05:58 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(4896la @ Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM)
Ok...thanks for sharing. BTW, how much is the salary for new graduate? We need to work at sea for how long until we get a holiday?
For Alam graduate like what destroyer and the other seniors on this thread said, around RM4000-7000. Still considered higher compared to all those fresh degree holders. And work depends on contract. Usually 6 months at sea, 2 months off. Sometimes,u will be onboard more than 6 months if no reliever to relieve you like my case, 7 months onboard haha. Sealife is fun, you'll find interesting things to do. Fishing is fun, watching tv, talking rubbish stories with crew,exchanging stories and all. Engineering side is hard work. 70% brute force and 30% brain. Im not sure about deck side. Sleep will be 7 hours per day max. Working 7 days a week. No raya holiday, CNY holiday, merdeka all hahaha. If ship alongside,can get shore leave from senior officer/chief engineer for perhaps 4 hours to half a day. This field need to have strong mental and must tahan maki,its not for the sensitive and hardheaded people. So, think carefully before joining this career.
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 06:37 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 15 2013, 05:58 PM)
For Alam graduate like what destroyer and the other seniors on this thread said, around RM4000-7000. Still considered higher compared to all those fresh degree holders. And work depends on contract. Usually 6 months at sea, 2 months off. Sometimes,u will be onboard more than 6 months if no reliever to relieve you like my case,  7 months onboard haha. Sealife is fun, you'll find interesting things to do. Fishing is fun, watching tv, talking rubbish stories with crew,exchanging stories and all.  Engineering side is hard work. 70% brute force and 30% brain. Im not sure about deck side. Sleep will be 7 hours per day max. Working 7 days a week. No raya holiday, CNY holiday, merdeka all hahaha. If ship alongside,can get shore leave from senior officer/chief engineer for perhaps 4 hours to half a day. This field need to have strong mental and must tahan maki,its not for the sensitive and hardheaded people. So, think carefully before joining this career.
It's challenging and I like fishing too...haha but only got >4months a year with family and friends

33 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:00 AM