Begin Your Career As A Seafarer V2, More Proper & Updated. See the WORLD!

xcoselete
post Sep 24 2011, 04:21 AM

53 posts

Hey guys, I'm new here.
Between AlAM and SMA, which one is better? And why the fees between these two so different?
xcoselete
post Jan 11 2012, 03:20 PM

53 posts

Hi, who else is going to the ALAM interview this 20 Jan?
xcoselete
post Feb 1 2012, 10:36 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(IVX @ Jan 31 2012, 06:03 PM)
the cadet program still open or not..can I still submit my application?
im about 150cm only and im 21 ..am i qualified?
They will reopen the application after the SPM result is released. Minimum height is 158 cm(ALAM). Try Sarawak Maritime Academy.

Added on February 1, 2012, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(Eternalbliss @ Feb 1 2012, 04:36 PM)
Hi guys. i have decided seafaring as my career pathway about half a year ago.

I want to enroll into ALAM but apparently i dont have physics, so i am having difficulties enrolling. I am currently waiting for a reply from Sarawak Maritime Academy which is in about 2 weeks time.

Anyhow I am actually here to inquiry all of you respective users: what channels or how can i secure a sponsorship before i enroll into any of these institutions?
I am really having problems looking for a sponsorship as i know the Diploma in Nautical Studies course can only be completed if the sea training is completed which requires me to secure a sponsorship form a shipping company.

Anyhow any channels to secure a sponsorship with a Singapore based maritime company would also be GREAT as studying Diploma in Nautical Studies in Singapore at Singapore Polytechnic is actually my first choice, though the application's closing soon.
GREATLY APPRECIATE THE HELP AND ADVICE GUYS =)
As for Sarawak Maritime Academy, you need to finish your 1st semester then only can apply for sponsorship (using your 1st sem result) <- That's what the SMA staff told me.

This post has been edited by xcoselete: Feb 1 2012, 10:44 PM
xcoselete
post Feb 2 2012, 11:18 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Eternalbliss @ Feb 2 2012, 01:04 AM)
The sponsorship given is offered by Shin Yang Group of Companies (which is the mother company of SMA) if im not mistaken. I would love to have other alternatives other than Shin Yang, not to say they are bad =)
Thank btw xcoselete. smile.gif
Yeah SMA is a part of Shin Yang company. If you look into Bumi Armada website, they also sponsor SMA students.

This post has been edited by xcoselete: Feb 2 2012, 11:19 AM
xcoselete
post Feb 7 2012, 04:37 PM

53 posts

They will give you the offer letter after the spm result is released.
xcoselete
post Feb 7 2012, 07:41 PM

53 posts

Aik why they gave you the conditional offer letter since youre using actual result? Like destroyer said, better you call ALAM for explanation. Btw, when did you sit for the written test?

Added on February 7, 2012, 7:44 pm
Added on February 7, 2012, 7:36 pm
so when did they gave u the letter?
i already checked their website and found that they only have one intake per year that is 6 of august. is true?

[/quote]

They only open one intake per year. You're taking DME/DNS eh?

This post has been edited by xcoselete: Feb 7 2012, 07:44 PM
xcoselete
post Feb 7 2012, 07:48 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(JT1160 @ Feb 7 2012, 07:45 PM)
i dun know, i already tell them that  i have the spm.
but in the last page there something to be fax.
anyway i have the written test at 17 of jan.
I see. Did mine on 20th jan. But I failed the written test sad.gif Going to sit for the 2nd round of written test somewhere in April.
xcoselete
post Feb 7 2012, 07:55 PM

53 posts

Yeah. Applying for DME. Only 11 succeed out of 40++ Btw Im 19 y/o this year. SPM 2010
xcoselete
post Feb 7 2012, 08:28 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(JT1160 @ Feb 7 2012, 07:59 PM)
so those who passed the interview must wait for april interview also eh?
No. Only those who failed and who are really keen to join this field can come again and sit for the written test that will be held in April.
xcoselete
post Feb 7 2012, 10:33 PM

53 posts

So you're 21 I assume you're an undergraduate?

xcoselete
post Feb 8 2012, 02:54 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(JT1160 @ Feb 8 2012, 12:57 AM)
nope..not interested in further my studies that time..

Added on February 8, 2012, 1:10 amhow 'bout u?
didnt further studies yet?
Currently doing my diploma. But going to drop out if I got a placement in ALAM.
xcoselete
post Feb 9 2012, 09:20 PM

53 posts

http://akademilautmalaysia.blogspot.com/se...ING%20PROGRAMME

Hope this can help. Better call ALAM for more info. Not sure if they still doin MEBP tho.

Added on February 9, 2012, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(JT1160 @ Feb 9 2012, 08:34 PM)
did'nt think it wasting up your time?
anyway what course do u taking.
Nope. Taking something related to maths and computer.

This post has been edited by xcoselete: Feb 9 2012, 09:23 PM
xcoselete
post Mar 6 2012, 02:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Eternalbliss @ Mar 6 2012, 11:09 AM)
Hey guys.... just got a placement in SMA really excited now..... I have a big problem though.... I can't find any companies i could call to.... I'm looking for companies who does international shipping and not offshore support vessels...... All your suggestions on where to find companies like that are very very much appreciated. smile.gif

Me too biggrin.gif Need to confirm with them that we accept the offer by end of this month rite?
xcoselete
post Mar 7 2012, 10:19 AM

53 posts

So have you managed to secure sponsorship yet?
xcoselete
post Mar 7 2012, 12:28 PM

53 posts

Still no idea bout it. I think it will be hard to get a sponsorship. Actually im waiting for the alam entry assessment that will be held this april. Just wondering, maybe I can confirm my acceptance of the offer of admission later than the given date? Btw, youre taking dns/dme?
xcoselete
post Mar 7 2012, 09:37 PM

53 posts

Yeah just email them. I need to write an official letter to SMA. Same, im taking DNS
xcoselete
post Mar 7 2012, 10:27 PM

53 posts

Haha hope to see you too.
I think you should give a call/email the companies to inquire.
xcoselete
post Mar 18 2012, 08:54 PM

53 posts

sniper@dme881, download the application form here and fill out the form. Send your application form with the documents needed via mail/email to SMA.
xcoselete
post Mar 21 2012, 04:56 PM

53 posts

As for SMA you can start apply now, SMA
xcoselete
post Mar 23 2012, 12:17 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper@dme881 @ Mar 22 2012, 10:31 PM)
rclxms.gif
Did you apply yet? hmm.gif

0.0211sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:24 PM