Begin Your Career As A Seafarer V2, More Proper & Updated. See the WORLD!

4896la
post Sep 13 2013, 11:45 PM

295 posts

Is that mostly bumi in ALAM? If i want to be marine engineer i need to be physically fit too? I very malas to do exercise...brows.gif
4896la
post Sep 14 2013, 12:54 PM

295 posts

The main campus of ALAM is located at Malacca right? Marine Engineer need study how many years and it's in English right?

4896la
post Sep 14 2013, 11:02 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(xcoselete @ Sep 14 2013, 04:37 PM)
Yes in Malacca, No more Terengganu Campus. 3-year program, 1st year pre-sea training, 2nd year sea training, 3rd year post-sea training. And yes of course it's in english smile.gif
I see...thanks
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 10:17 AM

295 posts

Is there any cruise company in Malaysia? Normally where will the graduate work at? And how much for the 3 year marine engineering course?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Sep 15 2013, 10:49 AM
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 15 2013, 04:08 PM)
Cruise company star cruise,but they only take foreign engineers and officers because cruise require loads of experience and it is steam ship,means from engine cadet till you acquire class 1 Chief Steam cert you will have to sail on steam ships, LNG, LPG vessels that carry gas. Then only you may try for cruise. Better try overseas company.
ALAM is around RM74K plus,but better you try for sponsors as ALAM got sponsors who will sponsor you and also bond you with company,means after graduating you already have a job in your hand. ALAM 1st year at campus. 2nd year at Sea. final year at campus then oral exams and so on.
Ok...thanks for sharing. BTW, how much is the salary for new graduate? We need to work at sea for how long until we get a holiday?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Sep 15 2013, 05:51 PM
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 06:37 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 15 2013, 05:58 PM)
For Alam graduate like what destroyer and the other seniors on this thread said, around RM4000-7000. Still considered higher compared to all those fresh degree holders. And work depends on contract. Usually 6 months at sea, 2 months off. Sometimes,u will be onboard more than 6 months if no reliever to relieve you like my case,  7 months onboard haha. Sealife is fun, you'll find interesting things to do. Fishing is fun, watching tv, talking rubbish stories with crew,exchanging stories and all.  Engineering side is hard work. 70% brute force and 30% brain. Im not sure about deck side. Sleep will be 7 hours per day max. Working 7 days a week. No raya holiday, CNY holiday, merdeka all hahaha. If ship alongside,can get shore leave from senior officer/chief engineer for perhaps 4 hours to half a day. This field need to have strong mental and must tahan maki,its not for the sensitive and hardheaded people. So, think carefully before joining this career.
It's challenging and I like fishing too...haha but only got >4months a year with family and friends
4896la
post Sep 15 2013, 09:19 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(djshank @ Sep 15 2013, 06:49 PM)
Seafarers are born to work. They live to work. That's the difference of this job compared to others.You can retire early start up a business. It's the best job to save money. since on ship,everything provided. No need pay for food/drinks, electric bill,petrol, etc..haha. Think you are doing this to change your family life. For me,i come from poor family, i am doing this for my family. For you, ask yourself. Are you sure this job is what you seek in life. It is not a glamorous job, but tell me where got diploma holders earn as much as this? hehe
Yeah...I will use this few months to think of it...When the course start? It is normally in September?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Sep 15 2013, 09:20 PM
4896la
post Sep 16 2013, 12:34 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ChuckyHuntsYou @ Sep 16 2013, 12:07 PM)
If you go for this job :

50% you'll be gay
20% you'll be drug addict
20% you'll be gambling all days and be a stupid gambler in the future.
10% you'll get AIDS or HIV.

Why?
Once you arrive your destination, let's say : Dubai.
The agent at there will give you your salaries once you depart, and there'll be many whores at there waiting for you to satisfy yourself. And your money will be gone very fast.

Unless you know how to control yourself. (5% of all are capable of doing that ONLY)
Total 105%? I believe I can be the 5%...
4896la
post Sep 17 2013, 08:13 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 17 2013, 04:51 PM)
those 4 months a year worth a lot , because that 4 month u are 100% on holiday and u have lot of cash to spend within 4 month at home..lol
Yeah...haha
4896la
post Sep 17 2013, 08:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(green_algae @ Sep 16 2013, 10:13 PM)
im interested in marine engeneering but my vision,sadly to say is more than 200.
my question is,can i wear contact lenses and do LASIK afterwards?
I think this is not a problem...only color blindness can't join marine engineer
4896la
post Sep 20 2013, 10:17 AM

295 posts

Is it easy to get scolarship from ALAM?
4896la
post Sep 20 2013, 10:47 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 20 2013, 06:22 PM)
go for the written test , and interview ..
u will be interview by company , if u dont get scholarship they will let you know ..
90% will get scholar
I will work hard for it...thanks
4896la
post Sep 21 2013, 12:10 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 21 2013, 11:04 AM)
try to update yourself , i remember there's this 1 part , where u have to read a whole essay and rephrase and tell them in your on word
and give them 5 point something like that , written is something like spm , not tht tough
I see...
4896la
post Oct 9 2013, 12:24 PM

295 posts

Guys...how is the MISC company now? Still very bad to sea going officer and pay low salary? From the version 1 of this thread I found that some of you say the company rugi and the salary keep on decreasing for the seafarer same as the intake in ALAM...is that true?
Sorry for my broken english...

This post has been edited by 4896la: Oct 9 2013, 01:13 PM
4896la
post Oct 11 2013, 11:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Oct 11 2013, 12:53 AM)
3rd mate misc now basic if im not mistaken rm8700
bt misc have tons of junior officer , most of them after 1 year of graduation only get the chance to join ship , only those super smart people join ship early ,
yearp misc is selling their chemical fleet
How about the intake for DME this few year?
4896la
post Oct 15 2013, 12:59 PM

295 posts

Can I use trial result for joining ALAM? I am sitting for SPM this year...
4896la
post Oct 15 2013, 09:29 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Oct 15 2013, 08:17 PM)
in the month of december , there will be intake for those using spm result ,the exam will be in jan , then when you get your actual result , you have to post it to alam.
This mean if i pass the interview I also not comfirm can join ALAM?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Oct 15 2013, 09:38 PM
4896la
post Oct 16 2013, 11:05 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Oct 16 2013, 01:05 AM)
they will give you conditional offer letter , with this offer letter you are selected to join ALAM if your spm result meet the requirement
Oh...the interview usually at where?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Oct 16 2013, 11:32 AM
4896la
post Oct 16 2013, 11:05 PM

295 posts

Thanks for ur info!
4896la
post Nov 21 2013, 07:34 PM

295 posts

Anyone mind to tell me how to know when is the first interview for ALAM? I would like to use my trial result for the interview... I cant find any information about the open day or first intake of ALAM at the website

0.0362sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:09 AM