Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V54!, The Orange Legion

fansoption
post Oct 24 2011, 01:37 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 24 2011, 11:50 AM)
Newbieeeeee: Just checking - the flash that is mounted is your F42? It shouldn't underexpose so much in ADI.

fansoption: Show us bigger flowers! Wow the Nanoha Macro looks very interesting especially with the built-in LED illumination.

NutZ748: Yes the A77 lets you quickly choose AF points with its joystick.

razuryza: What he means is that you need to press the AF point selector button first before being able to select. On the A100/A200/A300/A350/A450/A500/A550/A560/A580/A700/A77/A850/A900 you can press left/right/up/down on the D-pad or joystick to immediately change AF point, without having to press anything. Pressing the AF button in the middle of the D-pad or joystick resets to the center point.
i will try to show more bigger flower on my nex.
jimlim007
post Oct 24 2011, 02:03 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

This is Sony factory, not Sony submarine! my goodness!

Newbieeeeee
post Oct 24 2011, 02:04 PM

:)
1,286 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 24 2011, 12:15 PM)
Aiyo.

I did state that when using anything that reduces light on the flash or through the lens, you need to compensate, when using ADI.

The manual for the Stofen would usually tell you how much +EV to add.

However, the Stofen is meant to be used at a 45 degree angle...
Oh. You're right. At 45 degrees its both the same. What about my demb diffuser? It turns out underexposed too. How much to compensate?
fansoption
post Oct 24 2011, 02:45 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 24 2011, 02:04 PM)
Oh. You're right. At 45 degrees its both the same. What about my demb diffuser? It turns out underexposed too. How much to compensate?
haha. just shoot until u get the right explosion haha!
ahpingko
post Oct 24 2011, 02:52 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(fansoption @ Oct 24 2011, 02:45 PM)
haha. just shoot until u get the right explosion haha!
lol... explosionexposure....

u may try to increase by stops for your first try..then can start learn from there...basically no any fixed value for that...all based on the angle and surrounding and your camera settings...just learn from try and error first..next time u will be able to predict it more accurately...*from my experience la*
TSalbnok
post Oct 24 2011, 02:57 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Newbieeeeee:

ADI knows what power to use based on the lens distance. So for something that is 5.25 meters away with ISO400 105mm zoom, it knows to use 1/32 power for the F42.

However, if you put a ND filter, a diffuser, or anything that can reduce the light bouncing from flash to lens, the ADI calculation is no longer accurate. You'll need to compensate as per the instructions - for example, a red filter may have instructions to compensate +1 EV. It's on the instructions that come with the filter/diffuser.

I say EV, not Flash EV, for simplicity, since on most Alphas, setting +1 EV also sets +1 Flash EV. There is an option on some to set "exposure sets ambient only" instead of "exposure sets ambient + flash".

You're not supposed to use these diffusers in a direct flash way - read the instructions.
NutZ748
post Oct 24 2011, 03:34 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 24 2011, 02:03 PM)
This is Sony factory, not Sony submarine! my goodness!

that is actually the Weatherproof QC check... a realistic one flex.gif
Newbieeeeee
post Oct 24 2011, 04:37 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 24 2011, 02:57 PM)
Newbieeeeee:

ADI knows what power to use based on the lens distance. So for something that is 5.25 meters away with ISO400 105mm zoom, it knows to use 1/32 power for the F42.

However, if you put a ND filter, a diffuser, or anything that can reduce the light bouncing from flash to lens, the ADI calculation is no longer accurate. You'll need to compensate as per the instructions - for example, a red filter may have instructions to compensate +1 EV. It's on the instructions that come with the filter/diffuser.

I say EV, not Flash EV, for simplicity, since on most Alphas, setting +1 EV also sets +1 Flash EV. There is an option on some to set "exposure sets ambient only" instead of "exposure sets ambient + flash".

You're not supposed to use these diffusers in a direct flash way - read the instructions.
Edit: I get it already.. thanks!

This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Oct 24 2011, 04:49 PM
ieR
post Oct 24 2011, 05:27 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 24 2011, 12:20 PM)
not for canon,

but did sony still make sensor for nikon like d7000 ? d5100?
hahahaha u dont get my point, it was a sarcasm for gearhead, sony does not make sensor for canon DSLR.

D7000 and D5100 is using A580/A55 sensor.

Added on October 24, 2011, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(eddybeh @ Oct 24 2011, 12:11 PM)
ieR: tat C3 feature will be nice for lazy ppl like me.. XD anyway, street price around RM19XX,rite?
the unit not mine, i testing it only. and yesss the feature is very helpful

zstan: imagine this, softskin on aps-c image quality.

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 24 2011, 05:55 PM
Newbieeeeee
post Oct 24 2011, 06:00 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 24 2011, 05:27 PM)
hahahaha u dont get my point, it was a sarcasm for gearhead, sony does not make sensor for canon DSLR.

D7000 and D5100 is using A580/A55 sensor.

Added on October 24, 2011, 5:55 pm
the unit not mine, i testing it only. and yesss the feature is very helpful

zstan: imagine this, softskin on aps-c image quality.
Eh, wait wait wait. If they're using the same sensor, why is nikon's noise control better compared to Sony's?
lwliam
post Oct 24 2011, 06:02 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 24 2011, 06:00 PM)
Eh, wait wait wait. If they're using the same sensor, why is nikon's noise control better compared to Sony's?
Analogue to digital conversion algorithm.
TSalbnok
post Oct 24 2011, 06:26 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Newbieeeeee: Chromatic noise reduction.

Nikon has a different color output from the same sensor. Color information is lost at higher ISOs to give the illusion of cleaner pictures. Also, you have less distinct color tones in an image, especially noticeable in greens and skintones.
ieR
post Oct 24 2011, 06:46 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Oct 24 2011, 06:00 PM)
really? i dont dig DPreview comparison, because they do it under BRIGHT condition. ask them bring to DARK condition, and u will see how much IQ is LOST due to the NR design!

even canon 450D retain more details at iso1600 then D90 (ambient light) at iso800 with FLASH

opps, i am showing REAL LIFE USAGE comparison, not studio setup. if studio setup, it will blow u even more, nikon with its artificial unknown color, canon with its pale color, and dragging saturation from canon raw just not right, the color tone will become not balance at all.

dont call me a sony fanboi, because i own these camera and tested it intensively, and i do feel, sony might not be the best iso monster out there, but it is the best color retention out there.

and thanks to sony sensor, nikon able to keep such good color retention too. but somehow, because they wan more, to claim better then sony, they push the dynamic color too far until wierd color came off their photo, i need to dig the sample from my D7k archive...

for nikon user who wanted to bomb me, no, i did not pick the worst pic from D90 to compare, because, All my D90 photo are like that.

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 24 2011, 06:57 PM
lwliam
post Oct 24 2011, 06:50 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

IeR, I hetchu because of the spoilered part that you put...
ieR
post Oct 24 2011, 06:50 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

double posted paiseh

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 24 2011, 06:51 PM
NutZ748
post Oct 24 2011, 07:21 PM

131 posts

really nice info...no wonder i always think Nikon is the best NR monsta!
too much artificial...
but nvm...i never liked Nikon shakehead.gif
Nikon Fanboys....im sorry~ whistling.gif
jimlim007
post Oct 24 2011, 08:01 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

haha, my fren yesterday visit Penang road mega star buying filter, heard someone place ordered 3 set a77QV rm5500 look nice! flex.gif luckily a77 and kit already distributed before the flood comes attack.

someone also share on the super insane price, sound like grey set is comes silencely hmm.gif caution everyone future a77 owner wink.gif
QiAnG
post Oct 24 2011, 08:21 PM

545 posts

hey guys, any mirians here?

want to start getting my first dslr and had chosen sony. but cant seem to find any shops with street prices like those in west malaysia. most of the shops follow the rrp. which is .. wacko.gif

This post has been edited by QiAnG: Oct 24 2011, 08:21 PM
8tvt
post Oct 24 2011, 08:24 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

buy online?
TSalbnok
post Oct 24 2011, 08:48 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts