QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 20 2013, 11:07 AM)
as I know new brake will need some time to run in.
good P2 salesman will remind the brake issue for new car. it will be ok after some time. (for my case yes)
but for your case still need hard press after 1000KM travel?? then better get SC check for you. brake pump, brake fluid. or may be kena angin.
Fei, this is not true. I've shared my experience with new brake pads in the earlier post. Summary is, because it is cheaper and easier to put on the new brake pads and let them run, let the pad and the disc brake "smoothen" out each other, so 99.9% (if not 100%) of the mechanics will tell you this.good P2 salesman will remind the brake issue for new car. it will be ok after some time. (for my case yes)
but for your case still need hard press after 1000KM travel?? then better get SC check for you. brake pump, brake fluid. or may be kena angin.
But the actual way to install (or replace) brake pads and make sure there is no sound/noise, is actually to get a sifu to come attached a machine to the disc and start smoothing the surface, and then add the pad. This is ensure there is no sound/noise after changing to new pads. But since no mechanics have such machines, and asking for a sifu to come by cost money, so nobody does it. They just let your new pads continue to rub against the disc and that's it.
My own experience is.. after changing to new brake pads, after one week still have noise. Took out and skim the disc surface, still the same. Noise for another week. Finally, he called the 3rd party sifu to come and do it on the wheel, without dismantling the disc brake, then no more noise. So he told me all the reasons why very very few ppl do it this way.
Jun 20 2013, 11:47 AM

0.0582sec