::: ART ATTACK V3 :::, all about handmade ART :D

TSAgito666
post Oct 31 2011, 11:01 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Adamiquesce @ Oct 31 2011, 10:41 PM)
Shunya Yamashita?What?
Nope,I know quite well Shunya's works.
eurpoean / US since is more like ......not like this type.
unsure.gif
seba
post Oct 31 2011, 11:20 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

Errr,maybe not,but I saw alot on deviantart.
DragonReine
post Nov 1 2011, 01:43 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

Manga is something of an overused style on dA. Not a bad thing, per se, but it's hard to make your work look "unique" there :/

Today I took a risk and worked on something I never usually use. Bright colours~! So used to go from dark to light... starting with midtones is a bit of a challenge.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Nov 1 2011, 01:44 AM
TSAgito666
post Nov 1 2011, 09:15 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(seba @ Oct 31 2011, 11:20 PM)
Errr,maybe not,but I saw alot on deviantart.
nah some deviantart artist i saw are kena heavy influence by jap manga style...but i dont hate at all. tongue.gif

as for why i said it does looks like jap style because i read a lot (yes a lot) doujin from jap whistling.gif
and in DA i saw some western artist's drawing but none of these resemble to this. (former work for publishing one la)

european artist usually gives me impression is like this: tongue.gif

SUSAdamiquesce
post Nov 1 2011, 10:21 AM

Perlu ada Soul
711 posts

Ahh nevermind,maybe I am the only one that saw a lot of European artist
attempting to get into manga style,but it turned out to be that kind of
style,so Im confused,then I said that it is European influenced.
bah, I actually dont care all that.

@DragonReine Ahhh finally,something more bright,you know your past works look dim and surrounded by dark aura,very serious yo.
and yeah thats not bad at all,very good attempt,but still,
dont u want to carve a smile on that face?
All your characters have serious,sad,confused,contemplating type of face.

This post has been edited by Adamiquesce: Nov 1 2011, 10:30 AM
H4XF4XTOR
post Nov 1 2011, 06:41 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

ZZZZZZZZZZZZ ...

Bonchi
post Nov 1 2011, 06:48 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

^ hey man.. try using layers... and switch between softbrush and solid to paint and see...
seba
post Nov 1 2011, 07:00 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

and try darker tone on the shadow I think.
H4XF4XTOR
post Nov 1 2011, 07:39 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 1 2011, 06:48 PM)
^ hey man.. try using layers... and switch between softbrush and solid to paint and see...
already using it tongue.gif ..sory... im noob at coloring

QUOTE(seba @ Nov 1 2011, 07:00 PM)
and try darker tone on the shadow I think.
how dark... biggrin.gif .can teach ?
DragonReine
post Nov 1 2011, 07:40 PM

2,610 posts

ADAM HUGH'S LARA CROFT ART IS AWESOME. AS IS HOW HE DRAWS WOMEN WHO ARE ATHLETIC AND STILL SEXY.

That is all tongue.gif

@ Adam

biggrin.gif Well it just so happens that most of the characters I like are pretty serious characters, generally. So the result is that they tend to smile very little, if at all, in my paintings of them.

As for commissions... well, my clients apparently like drama LOL.

I do have some exceptions where I draw smiling characters, but the smile is more evil/mischievous/cheeky than "happy" (spoiler because of large images):

@ H4XF4XTOR

What I'd actually suggest is that you use dark AND slightly more saturated colours for your shadows instead of just "darker" versions of the base colour. Right now it just looks very... "gray".
H4XF4XTOR
post Nov 1 2011, 07:52 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Nov 1 2011, 07:40 PM)

@ H4XF4XTOR

What I'd actually suggest is that you use dark AND slightly more saturated colours for your shadows instead of just "darker" versions of the base colour. Right now it just looks very... "gray".
hurm... owh ic... guess you're right tough .

i use darker version of base colour

so by using dark,do u mean black colour?
TSAgito666
post Nov 1 2011, 08:17 PM

11,861 posts

whistling.gif
seba
post Nov 1 2011, 09:06 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Nov 1 2011, 07:52 PM)

so by using dark,do  u mean black colour?
not black,just more darker than that until it look like shadow,u can use black at an area of total darkness.

@agito U DSLRfag?how come no show us the outcomes.
Sai91
post Nov 1 2011, 09:06 PM

Schizodroid™
1,023 posts

whai whai aagito whaii u make me jelly D:
seba
post Nov 1 2011, 09:09 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

sai,the fact u own skullcandy lagi buat I jelly
DragonReine
post Nov 1 2011, 09:23 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Nov 1 2011, 07:52 PM)

so by using dark,do  u mean black colour?
Err... Not really "black"

I'll show you the skintone palette set I used for the painting that I'd posted the WIP for earlier, as an example.

The first four colours above are the ones I basically used for shading, going from highlight -> shadow.

You'll notice that the highlight is a very pale, very DESATURATED yellow, sort of greyish. In contrast, the shadow tone is a dark, SATURATED red-orange (it looks brown here, but it isn't; the greenish tone of the background makes it look "cooler" than it really is)

What's happening here is that I am using a progression of colours that goes from cool to warm. Mixing up cool and warm colours are a good way to give "life" to a painting.
So if cool light, warm shadow. Warm light, cool shadow smile.gif

The three colours below are the "enrichment" or "enhancing" colours, which I brush lightly over selected areas of the face to give extra colour variety, using very low opacity, almost transparent brushes, with very soft edges. The yellow is most obvious on the forehead (which is usually yellow toned), the pink I used on the brighter parts of the cheeks and nose (the middle of the face is usually ruddy and warm), and the orange on the shadowed areas where skin is near skin (the edge of the nostrils, the underside of the chin) to give the effect of bounced light and the resulting subsurface scattering, which is quite important to make skin look like skin.

EDIT: I actually AVOID black. It's too flat, too dark, and can make your painting look very muddy. It works best if the painting is very, VERY desaturated to begin with, but otherwise it's better to actually use the "dark and saturated" trick again for the darkest parts of the painting. Almost-black deep red, almost-black deep blue, that sort of thing.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Nov 1 2011, 09:25 PM
TSAgito666
post Nov 1 2011, 09:38 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(seba @ Nov 1 2011, 09:06 PM)
not black,just more darker than that until it look like shadow,u can use black at an area of total darkness.

@agito U DSLRfag?how come no show us the outcomes.
DSLR shot i dont post here. i rarely take out to shoot due to i now dont go anywhere interesting to shot.
using phone shoot more now.

nah one of the photo. unsure.gif

phone here:

KTHXBAI.

This post has been edited by Agito666: Nov 1 2011, 09:39 PM
Sai91
post Nov 1 2011, 09:38 PM

Schizodroid™
1,023 posts

QUOTE(seba @ Nov 1 2011, 09:09 PM)
sai,the fact u own skullcandy lagi buat I jelly
skullcandy je pon laugh.gif laugh.gif
art skill is diffy notworthy.gif
seba
post Nov 1 2011, 10:15 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

@agito u got me drooling mang,nice shot.And I have to agree,push mankind aside,
Malaysia dont really have great natural scenery besides rainforest and jungle.
unlike Japan or South Korea,the places are so beautiful,great photography materials.

@dragonreine I love how u spend your time typing out tutorial and infos. smile.gif

@sai gah,I want skullcandy real bad,no money liao

This post has been edited by seba: Nov 1 2011, 10:21 PM
Sai91
post Nov 1 2011, 10:41 PM

Schizodroid™
1,023 posts

agito what phone u use D:
soo sharp tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top