243 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

hihihehe
post Feb 8 2013, 05:05 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 8 2013, 08:03 PM)
Depending on sector, but generally you are dead wrong.
Dollar to dollar, Malaysia pays alot more for white collar jobs like finance.
Aus pays more dollar to dollar for skilled blue collar jobs compared to malaysia like foreman and technicians.
Really? Any prove?
mercury8400
post Feb 8 2013, 05:18 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 8 2013, 04:17 PM)
Well yeah you can make more money but sacrificing people who's in need and value. Our SME making huge fortune where you're sucking poor man's blood. If you have huge family backup or business, of course you'll say no problem. But how bout for young professionals who without financial backup?
I remember i dealt with some consultants even earn double degree can't have the salary they required, so they moved to singapore.
If you guys who have professional background, don't be afraid to cross overseas to get higher pay coz i'm telling ya, malaysian is not so char one what is highlighted in this forum. Just lack of confident only. Could try out china, hongkong,brunei or watever 3rd world country as long as the pay is nice.
I remember i have a job offer to china & dubai 3 years ago for RM20k/mth package (incl living and 2 return ticket) but i turned down coz being too 'patriotic' to stay in malaysia to contribute my service.
I'm not trying to brain drain our country. People asking me why am leaving? I only could answer them our Najib don't know me.
You have to understand there are braodly 2 types of people who migrate. One group are those genuinely wants a better living standards and another group who are just bitter at the gov and wants to get out of the country. Allthough both groups will overlap each other to a certain point.

Those who are bitter at the gov and choose to migrate, everywhere else in the world is good for them except Malaysia. Even timbaktu is better.

But for those who migrate becuase they want a better living std then better think twice. Becuase going to Aus, you might end up worse-off. Consider all the angles. Like employment, salary,etc. Yes it "seems" Australia pays better but really is it? Unless you're in one of their critical skills shortage jobs like nurse, doctors, etc you are probably not going to transfer your seniority over. That means you start from scratch at the bottom. Not a good idea when you're in your mid thirthies or fourties and made to report to someone who is 10 years your junior who probably knows lesser than you. Also they won't pay you that much as compared to what you're currently earning. Then there is the heavy taxes, glass ceilings, etc.

Then I'm also amased at people who are in managment earning like RM 20-30k a month in Malaysia who migrates to australia and leave everything behind including their well paid jobs to "let their children have quality university education ". I'm like ya, you're an idiot. With RM 20-30k p.m. salary and todays family of average 2 kids, you're telling me you cannot afford to send your kids to Australia which cost like RM 100k-RM150K a year? With RM20k-30k you'll be earning something like RM 240-RM 360k a year excluding bonus! They forfiet all that and go take a A$5k p.m. job in Australia! Are you kidding me????? Look at your opportunity cost!
mercury8400
post Feb 8 2013, 05:18 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 8 2013, 05:05 PM)
Really? Any prove?
Ya, me.
I'm earning more than my australian counterpart

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Feb 8 2013, 05:21 PM
Nemesis1980
post Feb 8 2013, 05:45 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 8 2013, 05:18 PM)
You have to understand there are braodly 2 types of people who migrate. One group are those genuinely wants a better living standards and another group who are just bitter at the gov and wants to get out of the country. Allthough both groups will overlap each other to a certain point.

Those who are bitter at the gov and choose to migrate, everywhere else in the world is good for them except Malaysia. Even timbaktu is better.

But for those who migrate becuase they want a better living std then better think twice. Becuase going to Aus, you might end up worse-off. Consider all the angles. Like employment, salary,etc. Yes it "seems" Australia pays better but really is it? Unless you're in one of their critical skills shortage jobs like nurse, doctors, etc you are probably not going to transfer your seniority over. That means you start from scratch at the bottom. Not a good idea when you're in your mid thirthies or fourties and made to report to someone who is 10 years your junior who probably knows lesser than you. Also they won't pay you that much as compared to what you're currently earning. Then there is the heavy taxes, glass ceilings, etc.

Then I'm also amased at people who are in managment earning like RM 20-30k a month in Malaysia who migrates to australia and leave everything behind including their well paid jobs to "let their children have quality university education ". I'm like ya, you're an idiot. With RM 20-30k p.m. salary and todays family of average 2 kids, you're telling me you cannot afford to send your kids to Australia which cost like RM 100k-RM150K a year? With RM20k-30k you'll be earning something like RM 240-RM 360k a year excluding bonus! They forfiet all that and go take a A$5k p.m. job in Australia! Are you kidding me????? Look at your opportunity cost!
Haha...now when i think back, i deserve for being called idiot and stupid. as such i was so naive thinking malaysia would be one day become a better place. If you asking me now, i'll tell you don't be an idiot like me last time.
That's why i'll encourage them who are young and capable, don't hesitate to move forward. Explore the world and you never know what's ahead.
I was lucky i got my PR recently. Even if i didnt get my PR, i'll still step out from malaysia to overseas to work.
Nemesis1980
post Feb 8 2013, 05:50 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 8 2013, 05:05 PM)
Really? Any prove?
I can prove that too, my wife working in the bank.
The locals do have higher pay compare to Oz counterparts. This is mainly each bank opened a branch to each country would require some locals dealing with authorities which foreginer cant dealing with.
Alvin330000421
post Feb 8 2013, 06:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 8 2013, 12:54 PM)
This is quite subjective. $40k is average for fresh graduate. Above 30 years old and only earning $60k is not enough but also depends how you spend. But this is definitely not enough if you have family
Fren, rent alone in the city for a two bed apmt, can cost up to $4k a month, thats about $48k a year, $60k where got enough?
Nemesis1980
post Feb 9 2013, 12:56 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 8 2013, 06:36 PM)
Fren, rent alone in the city for a two bed apmt, can cost up to $4k a month, thats about $48k a year, $60k where got enough?
Stay in suburb lor, take train or bus
mercury8400
post Feb 9 2013, 10:40 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 9 2013, 12:56 AM)
Train is almost always late. And very late in Sydney
Nemesis1980
post Feb 9 2013, 05:03 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 9 2013, 10:40 AM)
Train is almost always late. And very late in Sydney
Bro, sydney won't later than KL. I bet you have not really experiencing KL's real transportation service.
Sydney's train and bus delay is just minor. What i afraid is they strike. I kena 3 times in 1 year end up i reach uni 1 hour late.
Honestly, i don't know why is your expression is so depressing towards Australia
Alvin330000421
post Feb 9 2013, 05:35 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:56 AM)
Yeah, some suburbs are like 60km away from the city center. Even then, its not that much cheaper than staying in the city.

I recall during my uni days, when I went to a suburb 70km away from the city center to visit a friend, I almost got robbed. The moment I got off the train at the station, 3 guys started to ask me for money, I ignored them and walked fast pace. They follow me from behind. Then while walking fast, I quickly peek behind to see what they were doing. The white aussies took out switchblades and steel rods from their bag. I thought I was going to die. I could imagine my face on the front pace of the "The Australian", "Malaysian student killed by thugs demanding money". Then as I was walking face pace away from the station, being pursued by 3 Ozzy youths, I saw my friend sitting in his car at the car park. I quickly open his door and told him to speed off. Then he sped off, before the 3 youths could reach his car.

Phew..

hihihehe
post Feb 9 2013, 05:41 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 8 2013, 09:36 PM)
I can get luxurious 2br apartment with $4k rental per month in the city. Average 2 br rental in Melbourne CBd is about $2-2.5k. Also, people who earn $60k pa won't rent that expensive apartment.just put little bit of common sense k?

Alvin330000421
post Feb 9 2013, 05:45 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 8 2013, 06:18 PM)

Spot on.

Frankly speaking, I am a PR but I postponed my migration plans after two brief visits to Australia. I found out that the cost outweighs the benefits. I may decide to let it lapse...I don't know yet. I know I should have migrated when I graduated there but I've worked here for quite some years already so if I go there, I be busted down to junior level.

Even doctors have a hard time migrating there. Not unless you are a fresh grad. My friend's who migrated there is a doctor. But before she could practice as a doctor, the Australian govt made her to go through their own exam requirements before she could practice as a doctor in Aust. And even when she got her PR, they forced her to relocate to some rural Australian town.

Then they work you to death. Some of the asian doctors there are forced to work as ERs, not getting sleep for 2 hours.

Actually, we do have access to quality learning, already we have Monash, Curtin and Swinburn university campuses here. We also got UK universities, Nottingham, Heriott-Watt and Newcastle. Besides these, we have dozens of twinning colleges offering Aust, USA and UK degrees.

hihihehe
post Feb 9 2013, 05:45 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 8 2013, 08:50 PM)
I can prove that too, my wife working in the bank.
The locals do have higher pay compare to Oz counterparts. This is mainly each bank opened a branch to each country would require some locals dealing with authorities which foreginer cant dealing with.
Again,this is very subjective. I have a friend who was working in CBA bank and earned about $55k pa and it was part of graduate position

I'm not familiar with finance sector but it is best if can compare the position and the job scope together then only decide which one is higher than the other one
Alvin330000421
post Feb 9 2013, 05:47 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 9 2013, 06:41 PM)
I can get luxurious 2br apartment with $4k rental per month in the city. Average 2 br rental in Melbourne CBd is about $2-2.5k. Also, people who earn $60k pa won't rent that expensive apartment.just put little bit of common sense k?
How come I see most of the ads, advertise about that level? About $4k.

Unless in Gumtree, can find those 2-2.5k.

Nemesis1980
post Feb 9 2013, 11:07 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Feb 9 2013, 05:35 PM)
Yeah, some suburbs are like 60km away from the city center. Even then, its not that much cheaper than staying in the city.

I recall during my uni days, when I went to a suburb 70km away from the city center to visit a friend, I almost got robbed. The moment I got off the train at the station, 3 guys started to ask me for money, I ignored them and walked fast pace. They follow me from behind. Then while walking fast, I quickly peek behind to see what they were doing. The white aussies took out switchblades and steel rods from their bag. I thought I was going to die. I could imagine my face on the front pace of the "The Australian", "Malaysian student killed by thugs demanding money". Then as I was walking face pace away from the station, being pursued by 3 Ozzy youths, I saw my friend sitting in his car at the car park. I quickly open his door and told him to speed off. Then he sped off, before the 3 youths could reach his car.

Phew..
wow, your suburb is somewhere like travelling from seremban to kl. I was lucky that my Greek landlord charging me AUD800/mth to rent studio unit next to his resident.
Yeah, city centre's crime rate is high. We were even pursue by a whole gang even we walk around to pub at nite in a malaysian student group of 4. We actually fought with them as i mentioned previous few threads. Damn, we've being attacked by 3 aboriginals youth. 1 of them is like heavyweigh taiko. that 1 take 2 of us. smash like mouse. Luckily we manage to escape and went to report police. we've being told by police that we're lucky to be alive as crime is high lately around city center. Beware chippendale, surry hills, redfern and broadway. these thugs like to rob students.

mercury8400
post Feb 10 2013, 12:29 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 9 2013, 05:03 PM)
Bro, sydney won't later than KL. I bet you have not really experiencing KL's real transportation service.
Sydney's train and bus delay is just minor. What i afraid is they strike. I kena 3 times in 1 year end up i reach uni 1 hour late.
Honestly, i don't know why is your expression is so depressing towards Australia
In sydney, the train is late almost 50% of the time.
It ranges between 10min late to 1 hour late.

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Feb 10 2013, 12:30 AM
bysquashy
post Feb 10 2013, 05:45 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 10 2013, 12:29 AM)
In sydney, the train is late almost 50% of the time.
It ranges between 10min late to 1 hour late.
So far I find it quite accurate, just once it was delayed by 10mins for me. I do note that there was an incident last week where the train system was in havoc when one of the lines was not working properly.
bysquashy
post Feb 10 2013, 07:32 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

Alvin330000421, I sense a general negativism from your view of Australia. Hope that you don't mind me sharing my opinion on a few of the points that you've raised.

Economy
I do agree with you that AU is very reliant on CN. Not only the Chinese are buying most of AU's minerals, they are buying also a lot of farm land (read: 30000 hectares) to increase food supply security for CN.

As a whole, I guess we can agree that AU's economy is stronger than MY's economy in their current position. You suggest that AU's economy will suffer if CN is in trouble. 3 questions:
a) May be some details on your prophecy on CN's downfall?
b) What makes MY's economy invisible if CN is in trouble?
c) Will the AU economy be worst than MY when CN's is in trouble?

Even though I pay a lot of tax here in AU, I know most of the money goes back to the people. In Malaysia, cronies are laughing to the bank and it's affecting the economy.

Laziness
I do agree that Centerlink's policy need to change to prevent lazy people from abusing it but at least it working in terms of crime prevention. I challenge anyone to tell me that they don't have someone who they personally know that has been robbedin MY. To me, opting for crime is also a type to laziness (and the worst kind).

Not sure whether you've noticed in your time here, Aussies don't mind laborious/blue collar jobs. Aussies take up jobs like cleaner, construction worker, waiter and etc which in Malaysia, overseas worker is hired for these jobs.

Education
Malaysia has been chosen by many universities as their overseas campus which is improving the quality of the tertiary education. There are numerous research that suggest that early education is vital in a person's development. No point ruining the kid in Malaysia's education system and trying to fix it when they reach uni.

Politics
Where do we start... let me put it this way, things that has been happening in political scene in Malaysia is only worth it's entertainment value to me. You did not bring up politics but I hope that you can have a fair comparison from different angles.

Job Opportunity
Outsourcing does not lead to "leftover" jobs. The way I see it, tasks that can be easily replicated can be outsourced leaving high value task/job in Australia.

I do agree that finding a job in Australia is not easy and I know someone who's given up everything in Malaysia and came here to start anew even before he secured a job which I think is very reckless. Lucky for him, he found a decent job after 2-3months. I wouldn't recommend people coming over that way.

What I like about working here is flexi hour, emphasis on work-life balance and trust. An example of trust is where when you take medical leave for 1 day, you do not need to produce MC.

This post has been edited by bysquashy: Feb 10 2013, 07:39 AM
Nemesis1980
post Feb 10 2013, 02:30 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Feb 10 2013, 07:32 AM)
Alvin330000421, I sense a general negativism from your view of Australia. Hope that you don't mind me sharing my opinion on a few of the points that you've raised.

Economy
I do agree with you that AU is very reliant on CN. Not only the Chinese are buying most of AU's minerals, they are buying also a lot of farm land (read: 30000 hectares) to increase food supply security for CN.

As a whole, I guess we can agree that AU's economy is stronger than MY's economy in their current position. You suggest that AU's economy will suffer if CN is in trouble. 3 questions:
a) May be some details on your prophecy on CN's downfall?
b) What makes MY's economy invisible if CN is in trouble?
c) Will the AU economy be worst than MY when CN's is in trouble?

Even though I pay a lot of tax here in AU, I know most of the money goes back to the people. In Malaysia, cronies are laughing to the bank and it's affecting the economy.

Laziness
I do agree that Centerlink's policy need to change to prevent lazy people from abusing it but at least it working in terms of crime prevention. I challenge anyone to tell me that they don't have someone who they personally know that has been robbedin MY. To me, opting for crime is also a type to laziness (and the worst kind).

Not sure whether you've noticed in your time here, Aussies don't mind laborious/blue collar jobs. Aussies take up jobs like cleaner, construction worker, waiter and etc which in Malaysia,  overseas worker is hired for these jobs.

Education
Malaysia has been chosen by many universities as their overseas campus which is improving the quality of the tertiary education. There are numerous research that suggest that early education is vital in a person's development. No point ruining the kid in Malaysia's education system and trying to fix it when they reach uni.

Politics
Where do we start... let me put it this way, things that has been happening in political scene in Malaysia is only worth it's entertainment value to me. You did not bring up politics but I hope that you can have a fair comparison from different angles.

Job Opportunity
Outsourcing does not lead to "leftover" jobs. The way I see it, tasks that can be easily replicated can be outsourced leaving high value task/job in Australia.

I do agree that finding a job in Australia is not easy and I know someone who's given up everything in Malaysia and came here to start anew even before he secured a job which I think is very reckless. Lucky for him, he found a decent job after 2-3months. I wouldn't recommend people coming over that way.

What I like about working here is flexi hour, emphasis on work-life balance and trust. An example of trust is where when you take medical leave for 1 day, you do not need to produce MC.
Well, i sense that on @Alvin330000421 too. Probably just share to us what's your personal experience back then.
I think most people who going through without a job to Oz is the worst route which soon i'll be going through. It's making me unsecure to be honest. I have to fork out huge amount of money to prepare myself for this. Luckily have friends out there willing to offer me his place and car for me. It's really a big help. I saw loads of job in my profession, don't mind to accept junior post though. Giving myself a year on this post will give me a jump.
mercury8400
post Feb 10 2013, 03:15 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 10 2013, 02:30 PM)
Well, i sense that on @Alvin330000421 too. Probably just share to us what's your personal experience back then.
I think most people who going through without a job to Oz is the worst route which soon i'll be going through. It's making me unsecure to be honest. I have to fork out huge amount of money to prepare myself for this. Luckily have friends out there willing to offer me his place and car for me. It's really a big help. I saw loads of job in my profession, don't mind to accept junior post though. Giving myself a year on this post will give me a jump.
Its people like you that we are talking about when we comment about the bad points of going to Aus. Firstly have you obtained a PR? If there are loads of jobs in yr field why don't u apply from msia instead of going there? How deep is your pocket? How long can you last in Aus if you are on yr own?

There is only so much you can rely on yr friends.
Ending up, you might be one of those we talked about. Those that work in petrol kiosk or 7-11 for min wage without realising yr potential esp when yr still young. You don't want to be caught in a situation when yr 40 and still working in 7-11 earning slightly above min pay. No point.

243 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0199sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:26 PM