124 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

ronnie
post Dec 8 2010, 05:05 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Maybank's eFD has no cert.... or receipt unless you print out the transaction when you create the eFD.
z21j
post Dec 8 2010, 06:34 PM

1,307 posts

Hi everyone. I have a question here (dont know whether it was asked by anyone b4).

I want to know, if today I deposited RM15,000 as FD @3.3% p.a (due to promotion); then the second month I decided to "add" another RM10,000.. then is the additional RM10,000 be separated to another account at 3% (normal non-promotion rate); or added into ori fd and become RM25,000?
Gen-X
post Dec 8 2010, 06:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Dec 8 2010, 06:34 PM)
Hi everyone. I have a question here (dont know whether it was asked by anyone b4).

I want to know, if today I deposited RM15,000 as FD @3.3% p.a (due to promotion); then the second month I decided to "add" another RM10,000.. then is the additional RM10,000 be separated to another account at 3% (normal non-promotion rate); or added into ori fd and become RM25,000?
it will be a separate account.
Robin Liew
post Dec 8 2010, 09:17 PM

290 posts

helllo everybody

i got some cash sitting not doing anything....90k

shall i put in fd or just dump to house loan(4% interest)
Amanda99
post Dec 8 2010, 10:05 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 8 2010, 04:58 PM)
That's true. They will mail the receipt to your correspondence address.
is it just me, cause i have been doing e-fd for years and cimb never sends anything to me by mail....just the monthly statement.

but i guess the monthly statement is good enough, as it lists all your fds as well.

Gen-X
post Dec 8 2010, 11:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Dec 8 2010, 09:17 PM)
helllo everybody

i got some cash sitting not doing anything....90k

shall i put in fd or just dump to house loan(4% interest)
You have been asking this question for sometime now in many threads, if you really don't know what to do, just put into 1 month FD and earn some interest lah while you decide what to do with your money. And I see the amount have been reduced from 100K to 90K. Better go put in FD fast fast before it reduce to 80K tongue.gif

Having said the above, have you been checking around with banks what interest rate they are offering because you can find banks offering up to 4% for FD. Go do some work to make your money work for you. My opinion is put in FD and when the opportunity comes, go buy MBB shares.
Robin Liew
post Dec 8 2010, 11:22 PM

290 posts

4% FD? which bank?

cimb offering 3.8% pa but 5 yrs fd

MilesAndMore
post Dec 8 2010, 11:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 8 2010, 11:11 PM)
You have been asking this question for sometime now in many threads, if you really don't know what to do, just put into 1 month FD and earn some interest lah while you decide what to do with your money. And I see the amount have been reduced from 100K to 90K.  Better go put in FD fast fast before it reduce to 80K  tongue.gif
Robin Liew
post Dec 8 2010, 11:25 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Dec 8 2010, 11:22 PM)
4% FD? which bank?

cimb offering 3.8% pa but 5 yrs fd
yes 10k spend already
massage & spa
gark
post Dec 8 2010, 11:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Amanda99 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:05 PM)
is it just me, cause i have been doing e-fd for years and cimb never sends anything to me by mail....just the monthly statement.

but i guess the monthly statement is good enough, as it lists all your fds as well.
I get consolidated account statement from CIMB every month showing all my FD in a nice little list. laugh.gif Still, statement have to print yourself. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Dec 8 2010, 11:48 PM
alvinfks78
post Dec 9 2010, 09:30 AM

1,127 posts

Hi wondering if any bankers know............if i have a FD at auto renewal...and

I don't update it or check it for a long time.

BUT..........I have a savings account wif ATM with the bank and I keep using that.

Since I am still attached to the bank but never update the FD will they send the FD to "consolidation fund" if after 5 yrs.
cherroy
post Dec 9 2010, 09:54 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:30 AM)
Hi wondering if any bankers know............if i have a FD at auto renewal...and

BUT..........I have a savings account wif ATM with the bank and I keep using that.

Since I am still attached to the bank but never update the FD will they send the FD to "consolidation fund" if after 5 yrs.
It is per account basis one, saving account active doesn't mean anything to the FD account.

MilesAndMore
post Dec 9 2010, 10:14 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:30 AM)

It will automatically renew each time it matures as per your instruction for a period of 7 years. After that you will need to give them a new instruction. This is how it works with HSBC. I'd assume it's the same with all other banks too.

alvinfks78
post Dec 9 2010, 10:57 AM

1,127 posts

So.......if eFD via ATM will the monies go back to savings automatically after 7 yrs?
cherroy
post Dec 9 2010, 10:59 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:57 AM)
So.......if eFD via ATM will the monies go back to savings automatically after 7 yrs?
No, unless being instructed in the first place.

If not mistaken, 7 years is the time, that being classified as unclaimed money category, aka the money will be sent to BNM in the unclaimed money pool.
You still can claim back, just paper work is needed.
MilesAndMore
post Dec 9 2010, 11:12 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 9 2010, 10:59 AM)
No, unless being instructed in the first place.

If not mistaken, 7 years is the time, that being classified as unclaimed money category, aka the money will be sent to BNM in the unclaimed money pool.
You still can claim back, just paper work is needed.
There is a RM50 administration fee, by the way.

wenwenwenwenwen
post Dec 13 2010, 08:23 AM

24 posts

i have 5% intrest~hehehe
hong leong bank
due to i m still a child~XD
escargo75
post Dec 13 2010, 09:13 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Dec 9 2010, 12:25 AM)
yes 10k spend already
massage & spa
Hello dude, if you are not planning to do anything with the money or at least have some discipline not spend it away, you can put it in unit trust. Unit trust return is much hogher than FD for sure. Well, off course if you can take higher risk invest in stocks.

bearbear
post Dec 13 2010, 07:40 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

cimb e-fd same rate as on counter?
MilesAndMore
post Dec 13 2010, 08:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 13 2010, 07:40 PM)