124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

sheahann
post Dec 19 2010, 01:05 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

hi anyone can help!

i got 2 fixed deposit slip under 1 account ,..
mine is per month basic ..
so everymonth i will get renewal notice .

i dint get notice since june .. so i called them up on last august i guess. they said new policy will only sent out once every 3 months ..

but then now december ad .. why still notice 1 ah ?anyone know ? can i check thru online ? i got pbebank online but i think i dint add or link it with my FD
Gen-X
post Dec 19 2010, 08:57 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Dec 19 2010, 01:05 AM)
hi anyone can help!

i dint get notice since june .. so i called them up on last august i guess. they said new policy will only sent out once every 3 months ..

but then now december ad .. why still notice 1 ah ?anyone know ? can i check thru online ? i got pbebank online but i think i dint add or link it with my FD
Call CS and ask how to link it.
nomen
post Dec 19 2010, 09:02 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Dec 19 2010, 01:05 AM)
hi anyone can help!

Same for me too. Previously Public Bank used to send out FD renewal reminder every month, but lately
I only received one quarterly statement so far in replacement of the regular monthly renewal reminder.
I guess they have changed policy to save paperwork and postage, all the local banks here are real stingy
financial institutions.
I presume our statements will arrive anytime soon for this December month, if not give them a call
but I think there is nothing to worry about.
BTW, I do have FD with Maybank too, but it is never a practice for them to sent out reminder or statement.
kenwooi
post Dec 21 2010, 12:45 PM

179 posts

Just wanna ask, if we transfer the money from savings account to fixed deposit account via online website.. there's no need of obtaining a physical slip right?

I did it with RHB website.
ccschua
post Jan 1 2011, 11:22 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 9 2010, 11:12 AM)
There is a RM50 administration fee, by the way.
can I know the procedures aka how to go about it. why is there no procedures stated in BNM site. RM 50 is a reap off.

rgds
MilesAndMore
post Jan 1 2011, 11:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 1 2011, 11:22 PM)
can I know the procedures aka how to go about it. why is there no procedures stated in BNM site. RM 50 is a reap off.

rgds
Just go to your bank. They will guide you through the procedure.

zeist
post Jan 1 2011, 11:44 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I throw my savings into one of my family member account (working at some bank).

3.8% p.a

I think the % is higher, of course they want to get something in return too. No rugi lor. The longer the higher. Didn't ask though.
Gen-X
post Jan 1 2011, 11:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Jan 1 2011, 11:44 PM)
I throw my savings into one of my family member account (working at some bank).

3.8% p.a

I think the % is higher, of course they want to get something in return too. No rugi lor. The longer the higher. Didn't ask though.
Why would you want to put your money in someone else's name when you can get up to FD 3.5% interest today yourself? For RM100K only gets you extra RM300 for the trouble. In November couple banks were offering up to 5% interet for FD. Anyway I expect more banks to come up with promotions this month.
bearbear
post Jan 2 2011, 12:01 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

5% for >100k?

right now i stick with cimb for their 3 months wink.gif
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 12:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 2 2011, 12:01 AM)
5% for >100k?

right now i stick with cimb for their 3 months wink.gif
In October-November yes, got two banks offering up to 5% for FD (one of them HLB Junior FD) and can be less than RM100K new funds of course. Last month (December) one of the banks that offer the 5% promotion in October -November stop giving the rate as they have hit their targeted amount sad.gif Now they offering 3.4% for 12 months but you have to be 40 years above.

HLB Junior FD previous offer was fantastic, interest paid monthly. Now rate only 3.5% but need deposit into savings RM5K not mistaken. AMBank stillgot 3.5% interest but I guess we are expecting the rate to go uo this year.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 2 2011, 12:15 AM
denon91
post Jan 2 2011, 12:52 AM

321 posts

hi,I'm newbie to FD..wanna ask some questions...

1.if I wanna put Rm5K into a FD account for monthly tier,if the interest rate is 2.75%, how much interest i will get after one month?How to calculate it?
interest=RM5000 X 2.75 %?? icon_question.gif

sorry if asking noob questions

thanks in advance
Gen-X
post Jan 2 2011, 12:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(denon91 @ Jan 2 2011, 12:52 AM)
hi,I'm newbie to FD..wanna ask some questions...

1.if I wanna put Rm5K into a FD account for monthly tier,if the interest rate is 2.75%, how much interest i will get after one month?How to calculate it?
interest=RM5000 X 2.75 %?? icon_question.gif
RM5000 x 0.0275 x Nos. of days/365

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 2 2011, 12:56 AM
denon91
post Jan 2 2011, 01:12 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 2 2011, 12:54 AM)
RM5000 x 0.0275 x Nos. of days/365
after 1 month i will get 5000 x 0.0275 x 30/365 = 11.30

auto renewal,

i will get 5011.3 x 0.0275 x 60/365 = 22.65

or

i will get 5011.3 x 0.0275 x 30/365 =11.33???
bearbear
post Jan 2 2011, 01:20 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(denon91 @ Jan 2 2011, 01:12 AM)
after 1 month i will get 5000 x 0.0275 x 30/365 = 11.30

auto renewal,

i will get 5011.3 x 0.0275 x 60/365 = 22.65

or

i will get 5011.3 x 0.0275 x 30/365 =11.33???
if auto renewal and u credit into your principal

the 2nd one cos you are still on monthly basis thus only 30/365
denon91
post Jan 2 2011, 06:27 PM

321 posts

after surveying, i found that MBSB provide the highest interest
http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposits/

How about the Foreign Currency Fixed Deposit ?? Is it safe?
Cobb
post Jan 3 2011, 11:14 AM

HSBC new short-term fd ...

Anyone know the term and condition ?

kucingfight
post Jan 3 2011, 01:34 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(denon91 @ Jan 2 2011, 06:27 PM)
after surveying, i found that MBSB provide the highest interest
http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposits/

How about the Foreign Currency Fixed Deposit ?? Is it safe?
why not? i myself bought AUD thru public bank. 5.3% interest, yet alone, in my case, i earned 11% from the rates itself. (off course depending on the rate u buy/sell)
denon91
post Jan 3 2011, 02:40 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 3 2011, 01:34 PM)
why not? i myself bought AUD thru public bank. 5.3% interest, yet alone,  in my case, i earned 11% from the rates itself. (off course depending on the rate u buy/sell)
so u meant,the interest will change time by time?will my deposit become less (rugi)?
ronnie
post Jan 3 2011, 02:43 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

When you place in FCFD, you need to "pray" that the Malaysian currency drops or Foreign currency goes up, which will yield higher returns for the FCFD (Interest rate + Forex rate)
MilesAndMore
post Jan 3 2011, 05:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Cobb @ Jan 3 2011, 11:14 AM)
HSBC new short-term fd ...

Anyone know the term and condition ?
Is there such a product from HSBC ?

124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top