FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

gark
post Jan 12 2010, 07:16 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Dec 23 2009, 10:14 AM)
Australian FD can go as high as up to 12%. 2007 and 2008 rates varied from 8.0% to 12.0%. Don't see that anymore due to the GFC, but the rates that went down to a low of 3.75% earlier this year, has gone up to 5 - 6% now.
Lol if you want high FD rates try Indonesian FD, I open a FD account there in 2001-2004 with an average rate of 16% p.a. drool.gif . Sadly now no more, only can get about 6%.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2010, 07:17 PM
gark
post Jan 14 2010, 12:39 AM

12,534 posts

A lot of companies put a lot of money in FD, because the cash reserve is not for generating interest income but to drive the primary business, where the majority of revenue is derived. The company that i work for puts tens of million of their excess cash in a laddered FD to ensure liquidity to do business whenever there is an opportunity. So to say that FD is useless, you are underestimating the function and use of FD.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 14 2010, 12:39 AM
gark
post Jan 22 2010, 12:05 PM

12,534 posts

The current investment industry have brainwashed us that holding cash and FD is very bad for you. The have mentioned over and over again and drilled in our brains that cash/FD is a deteriorating asset, which is slowly eaten up by inflation. They tell you that sitting on a load of cash or FD means that you do not know what you are doing, so they suggest to invest and invest no matter what is the state of the investments. They make it looks very easy to make lots of money by continuously investing in the long term.

If you are a patient long term investor, the holding in cash/FD is inversely proportional to the available to cheap investments. When good investment are not available, sitting on cash and FD is the best investment decision that you can make. Cash is usually most needed when you do not have them.

Having a load of cash/FD enables you to make opportunistic investment whenever you can find them. Cash/FD allows the investor to avoid selling a cheap investment to buy another cheap investment and also to take advantage of any special circumstances in which extremely good investments are available during a time of maximum pessimism.

So don't be suckered into thinking cash and FD is always bad for you, it is one of the most important investment strategy that you can employ. I myself use this strategy extensively.
gark
post Feb 4 2010, 12:28 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 2 2010, 03:46 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

By the way, the current OPR stands at 2.00%.
Bad! bad! I was actually hedging for the interest rate to rise. laugh.gif
gark
post Mar 12 2010, 09:11 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Mar 12 2010, 08:52 AM)
is tat worth to put FD for 1mth??..coz i had saw their website wrote there..2.25% per mth..but mininum is RM5k..worth??..
Depends what you do with it. I have my emergency fund for 1 month automatic renewal for like many years already. This is to ensure that I can have access to the cash when ever I want. I don't think too much about the interest rate, up or down does not matter to me. laugh.gif
gark
post Mar 29 2010, 08:51 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Mar 29 2010, 06:56 PM)
Although it is a good news having a higher interest FD, it somehow make my life more difficult. Now I need to toil to raise the ROI of my other investments in tandem with the FD increment. More work to do...sigh..
Hope BNM raise more interest rate soon, to get rid of all the riff raff in the property market. laugh.gif Anyway I don't think FD's interest is hard to beat at all, almost all investment trumps it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 29 2010, 08:52 PM
gark
post Mar 30 2010, 12:18 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Mar 30 2010, 10:26 AM)
Lol, that's only true when you make money. However, we all know not every investment will register profit. Worst still for investment newbie like me going for aggressive investment with higher risks.
If we just rely on FD's interest rate to be the majority of our investment, we will lose the same amount to inflation. I am aiming a minimum of at least 5%-7% per year just to break even with no gains after inflation. Investment is less about skill and more about reading, quantifying and make summary judgement, and more reading. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 30 2010, 12:19 PM
gark
post Jun 14 2010, 12:30 AM

12,534 posts

Aiya... interest rate also want to argue? IMHO, FD is only a good place to park your (3-6 months) emergency fund, or as a very short term deposit while you wait better investment opportunities. Then maybe for others who want to invest in an ultra safe investment, with low yield and if it helps you to sleep at night, why not? laugh.gif

Added on June 14, 2010, 12:34 am
QUOTE(gundam76 @ Jun 13 2010, 10:49 PM)
...but maybank official told me they predict on sept FD rate will increase....
Even if the OPR is going to go up, it will probably be 25 basis or the most it will be 50 basis point. BNM usually do not go more than that. 25 or 50 basis point is nothing and will not change much in the short term. So don't worry about these small changes. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 14 2010, 12:34 AM
gark
post Jun 14 2010, 10:57 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(gundam76 @ Jun 14 2010, 09:45 AM)
thats what I have in my mind.  blush.gif
thanks for sharing....
There is no right or wrong investment, so don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The type of investment suitable for one person depends on the risk tolerance, investment period, cash flow and also their future target. So know these points before you invest. eg for example, I have very high risk tolerance, even if i lose 50% of my asset, I don't really care because I will only need the money in 25-30 years time and so far I have met my target benchmarks.

Added on June 14, 2010, 11:01 am
QUOTE(gundam76 @ Jun 14 2010, 09:45 AM)
...maybe less but when reach the mature date, I get to see some interest in the principle....
Never rush into investment and don't be influenced by friends, I follow these investment rules:

1. Know what you are investing.
2. Know your risk tolerance.
3. Check your cash flow.
4. Know your target amount and time.

Have fun! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 14 2010, 11:02 AM
gark
post Jun 14 2010, 02:12 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 14 2010, 02:06 PM)
N if u r a bumi, my suggestion is, buy all u could wawasan 2020 shares. its 1 of d best return + backed by gomen.
If you are bumi, you buy all the ASB as you can get your grubby hands on, it is one of the best risk adjusted investment out there. brows.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 14 2010, 02:19 PM
gark
post Jun 14 2010, 02:25 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 14 2010, 02:18 PM)
btw, recently i heard insiders news said dat, gomen r havin cash flow prob... they r now tryin to overcome it by reducin subsidise of petrol + impose bla bla bla tax.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif
Government having cash flow problems or having a deficit does not mean anything to ASB as they only have < 10% invested in government bonds. As long as the government does not default the bonds will still continue to pay interest. You SHOULD be more worried of your EPF as 60%-70% are invested in long term government bonds, if the government defaults on it's bonds, you will be left with nothing. sweat.gif laugh.gif

Thats why financial education is important, as you will see your investments clearer. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 14 2010, 02:26 PM
gark
post Jun 14 2010, 05:03 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 14 2010, 04:57 PM)
This rumor has been circulating since 2008.
You forgot to mention that PNB could go bankrupt if the government defaults on bonds since all of them are so closely connected. Just like what doctors usually say, there is nothing absolutely 100% in medicine.
Even if PNB went bankrupt.... the ASB shares are held in trust right? It should be safe from creditors. icon_idea.gif
gark
post Jul 24 2010, 09:14 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 24 2010, 05:57 PM)
Yes it is. A marketing tactic to draw more depositors.
If they really want more depositors, they should lower the spread between OPR and FD rates. Anyone noticed the spread is getting wider and wider. Greedy banks! vmad.gif
gark
post Nov 20 2010, 04:28 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Nov 20 2010, 03:47 PM)
wanna ask question about interest rate.

I googled on bank website and saw those interest rate, 1 month - 60 month.

1. What is the diff between 1 month - 5 months when the interest rate is the same? let say RHB
2. How the interest rate being pay to us if FD  for 1 month.

Let say I put 10k for FD 1 month with 2.75% interest, my FD saving will be RM10K + RM 275 (interest) on the 2nd month?
FD beginner
If you put 10k FD with 2.75% interest p.a., the following calculation applies :

On 2nd Month, RM 10,000 + (10,000 x 0.0275/12) = 10,022.92.
You will only gain RM 22.92 for 1 month, remember the rate is per year, so you have to divide over how many month you are depositing. laugh.gif

If the interest rate is the same, it is better to put at the lowest month available with auto renewal, that way you can a little bit more as your interest will get interest as well. nod.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 20 2010, 04:29 PM
gark
post Nov 21 2010, 12:33 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Nov 20 2010, 04:48 PM)
Ohh..the months stated (1 month - 60 months) mean how many months I`m going to deposit it. Noted. rclxms.gif

"your interest will get interest as well"

is it mean when 2nd month : 10,022.92
3rd month : 10,022.92 + (10,022.92 x 0.0275/12) = 10,022.92 + 22.97 (interest)
                                                                    = 10,045.89

4th month as per above calculations

correct me if wrong ..thank you.notworthy.gif
You are correct, that is why if the rates are the same, choose the one with the lower month, so your interest will compound. laugh.gif
gark
post Dec 4 2010, 09:03 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Itu_Dia_Man @ Dec 4 2010, 12:49 AM)
What if CIMB revise their interest rate next month to say, 2.75%? Would the auto renewal still be based on 3%?
Auto renewal will always based on the new & current rate. If CIMB revises to 2.75%, your next renewal will be 2.75%, but your current term will still be 3% until maturity.
gark
post Dec 8 2010, 03:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 8 2010, 03:07 PM)
eFD means no cert given lah... Electronic FD ;-)
eFD have cert lah. If you bank with CIMB, they give you a printable cert similar to the one if you apply over the counter. rclxms.gif
gark
post Dec 8 2010, 11:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Amanda99 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:05 PM)
is it just me, cause i have been doing e-fd for years and cimb never sends anything to me by mail....just the monthly statement.

but i guess the monthly statement is good enough, as it lists all your fds as well.
I get consolidated account statement from CIMB every month showing all my FD in a nice little list. laugh.gif Still, statement have to print yourself. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Dec 8 2010, 11:48 PM
gark
post Feb 14 2011, 04:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ripalo @ Feb 14 2011, 03:36 PM)
I saw CIMB Fixed Return Investment Account-i (FRIA-i) - Monthly Returns
has a 3.30 p/a interest rate for 15 months.

Assuming I only have 1k...
Is it safe to say that I will be earning a confirm of 1000*0.033*15/12?

Are there any hidden terms?
The interest rate is fixed and won't fluctuate right?

Also why if I invest for 18months the interest is less? I thought normally longer tenure give you more interest?
1. yes
2. no - unless you withdraw before your term is up
3. yes - during the term, will change during renewal, if the rate changed
4. yes - current offer by CIMB for 3,10 and 15 months
gark
post Feb 14 2011, 06:43 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ripalo @ Feb 14 2011, 06:12 PM)
Thx for your prompt reply.
1) As such, would you recommend me to take the one with monthly returns is better than maturity returns right?

2) Also, when they say maturity is 3 years, they have a compounded interest of 3 years, or they just pay the interest*3 when the maturity ends ?

I also saw the Ambank InterestPlus FD rate...
Their condition being minimum 1,000 (for tenure of more than 3 months) and have to buy Unit Trust.

3) Am I correct to say that I need a minimum of RM2,000 to join this plan?

4) Is this plan more worth it than the CIMB plan since it has a really high interest rate of 5.61% (1 year)?

5) How do I pick my Unit trust? (as in which figures should I look out for, and source where I can know why unit is better)
1. You take short term if the money you might want to use. If not then take long term. All my FD is 1-3 months only. As these are short term funds for me, if I find better opportunity.

2. Interest is accumulated until the FD term ends, so your funds are not compounded.

3. Unit trust is other type of investment, unless you are already planning to buy unit trust (and know what to buy) don't join this plan for the sake of higher FD as you are paying about 5.5%-6.5% fees for the unit trust.

4. As above FD plan with unit trust have fees. Look before you jump. Don't take if you just want FD without the UT.

5. Unit trust look for long term report (>5 years) performance vs. benchmark and peers. Use morningstar or standard and poors rating. You can find them online or just go buy a personal money magazine (RM 9). Read the annual report and the factsheets. Don't be attracted to short term gains. Remember all UT have HIGH fees (initial & yearly) and you MAY lose money (economic downturn). laugh.gif

That being said, I have have a substantial amount in UT, but carefully picked. If something is given on offer, usually it is because no one wants em. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 14 2011, 06:56 PM

0.0204sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:17 AM