Technical PlayStation 2 Tech Talk, Techical problem discussion

dragger76
post Jan 5 2009, 10:46 AM

hi all,

need ur help. maybe this problem already hilighted many times but i can't find the posting.
i hv PS2 fat one.bought in 2004. lately, my PS2 give me a problem. The problems are;
1) can't load a game at all--->after Playstation2 screen appears
2) can enter a game, but hang when loading that game
3) sometimes can load a game without a problem

i staying at Sg. Petani. anybody got a place to service PS2 please pm me
Thanks in advance
kelvemcquay
post Jan 5 2009, 07:26 PM

13 posts

I need some advice on buying these....

Which is better?

This
http://www.lps2u.com/shop/index.php?main_p...products_id=435

or

This
http://www.lps2u.com/shop/index.php?main_p...roducts_id=1220
LVSeiZai
post Jan 6 2009, 09:42 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kelvemcquay @ Jan 5 2009, 07:26 PM)
hey have u bought ur converter already? how was it? do u hv minor problem with the gaming when using ur ps controller to play on pc?
kelvemcquay
post Jan 6 2009, 10:13 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Jan 6 2009, 09:42 PM)
hey have u bought ur converter already? how was it? do u hv minor problem with the gaming when using ur ps controller to play on pc?
not yet actually.... buying it on the weekend... really not sure which is better.... i think im going for the blue one.... i will post some feedback...
terryforever
post Jan 7 2009, 01:07 PM

192 posts

just wanna ask,
how to turn off/on the modded chip on the PS2??
i using matrix infinity.

This post has been edited by terryforever: Jan 7 2009, 01:07 PM
LYNsucks
post Jan 8 2009, 01:34 AM

188 posts

I'm not sure, but I heard holding down a combination of buttons of some sort upon powering up the ps2 will bring up the modchip menu few years back. Something like square + triangle or similar. But it might BREAK ur ps2 if u change the settings!
terryforever
post Jan 9 2009, 07:54 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Jan 8 2009, 01:34 AM)
I'm not sure, but I heard holding down a combination of buttons of some sort upon powering up the ps2 will bring up the modchip menu few years back. Something like square + triangle or similar. But it might BREAK ur ps2 if u change the settings!
i have try,
is just pressing start only.
ya, i heard that if the chip is clone n u enter the configure menu (something like that) or update the version will bricked ur modchip.......

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

another question wanna ask,
i just got my Network Adapter for my new FAT PS2 (2nd hand)
n i play HDL.

just wanna ask,
does it support HDD until 500gb of IDE HDD? any brand also can? Seagate, WD........
narutokun83
post Jan 9 2009, 06:54 PM

2,108 posts

Recently inherited a fat PS2 from my cousin who bought a PS3. The thing now is... all the games that i bought doesn't load on that damn thing, listening to the loading music and looking at the browser screen is like a nightmare to me now. What does this mean? is the laser dirty? should i follow the guideline from the internet saying to turn the white gear on the loading tray?

BroSP
post Jan 13 2009, 12:08 AM

53 posts

where to repair the ps2 lens problem?
gundamalpha
post Jan 13 2009, 04:20 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Is there any mod chip that allows a PS2 to play imported PS1 games? All those PS2 selling now are Asia/JP version but I need a console to play US PS1 games sad.gif
jingga
post Jan 13 2009, 07:25 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 13 2009, 04:20 PM)
Is there any mod chip that allows a PS2 to play imported PS1 games? All those PS2 selling now are Asia/JP version but I need a console to play US PS1 games sad.gif
Huhu i'm not sure about that, my PS2 also cannot play PS1 games.... The last resort is using the PS emulator for PC... Opss not to forget my PSP also can be use to play PS1 game (eboot lor)
kelvemcquay
post Jan 18 2009, 09:38 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Jan 6 2009, 09:42 PM)
Yo... I have already bought this item http://img.alibaba.com/photo/52120067/game...h_two_ports.jpg
from a shop in KLCC... The shop is located at the entrance of the putra station to klcc... Bought it for RM 28... Im just giving some feedback... Overall its a great device... U can play any games on the pc using a ps2 controller with vibration too... Just put in the device, insert the installation cd and run pu305.exe and restart ur comp and done! I have test it on a racing game ( Grand Prix 4 ) and it works perfectly fine...
koolguy76
post Jan 19 2009, 12:56 PM

Hi all,

Seek advice on where I can send my PS2 (fat version) to get the mod chip to be replaced.

Been reading thru the thread and done the checks required. New games cant load --> red screen of death comes out.

Tested PS2 using music CD and DVD9 movies --> Its okay, play without problem.

Seek advice from the experts here for your opinions and comments.

Koolguy76
drbaz
post Jan 19 2009, 04:31 PM

my Slim ps2 got problem
1. not spinning and lens not moving up and down
2. make a sound like motor try to spin when insert dics and close the tray

is it lens and motor problem?

TQ
Kelv
post Feb 4 2009, 11:57 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Anyone here manage to DIY repair their own PS2 controller?

This post has been edited by Kelv: Feb 4 2009, 12:01 PM
SUSirkuysm
post Feb 5 2009, 05:24 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

I download savegame from the internet.

Question is,how im gonna transfer the savegame to my memory card??

Added on February 5, 2009, 11:35 pmAny PRO can hlep me how to burn the ulaunchELF to DVD-R???

I googled that so many guide untill i failed to do all of it!

This post has been edited by irkuysm: Feb 5 2009, 11:35 PM
bee86
post Feb 5 2009, 11:58 PM

87 posts

hi my ps2 memory card has a problem i can save but i cant delete my games that i had saved,when i try read the memory card at the starting, without cd i enter the memory card, it starting to load all the games that i save when it is almost done showing, it just hang at there...i can save in the game also can delete in the games but when i try to Load only the memory card and delete without the game disc it will hang at there. does this problem can be fix how much does it costs around?

This post has been edited by bee86: Feb 6 2009, 11:57 AM
snipersnake
post Feb 6 2009, 04:57 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 7 2009, 01:07 PM)
just wanna ask,
how to turn off/on the modded chip on the PS2??
i using matrix infinity.
when booting the console, hold triangle and circle button. but be warned, if your MI is a clone, the moment you change the setting, the modchip will fry.
keledek
post Feb 7 2009, 10:03 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(bee86 @ Feb 5 2009, 11:58 PM)
hi my ps2 memory card has a problem i can save but i cant delete my games that i had saved,when i try read the memory card at the starting, without cd i enter the memory card, it starting to load all the games that i save when it is almost done showing, it just hang at there...i can save in the game also can delete in the games but when i try to Load only the memory card and delete without the game disc it will hang at there. does this problem can be fix how much does it costs around?
Google and download these programs(good start site skapps.com):
CDGENPS2, ulaunchelf.elf, MCKiller.elf

make urself a ulaunchelf cd
boot ulaunchelf on ur PS2
from ulaunchelf console, copy ur savegames to usb pen drive
from ulaunchelf console, run mckiller to format ur MC clean
from ulaunchelf console, copy back ur savegames to mem card from pendrive
voila problem solved for free or nearly at least
cherios

This post has been edited by keledek: Feb 7 2009, 10:05 PM
snipersnake
post Feb 10 2009, 08:24 AM