Technical PlayStation 2 Tech Talk, Techical problem discussion

vearn27
post Dec 1 2007, 06:25 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Weird... the gurus and sifus in this thread seem to be missing... unsure.gif

I just try to guide u guys out smile.gif

QUOTE(hybrid_katarsis @ Nov 28 2007, 02:07 PM)
guys,why ah? when loading for each game, it will take damn long time. izit something wrong with my ps2 or i shud put de blame on de game. but if wanna blame de game, i think all de game took a long time to load. i think there is sumthing wrong with my ps2. izit about it lens or what ever? plzz plzz plz.. advice needed
I'm not sure of wat happening, probably something wrong with the cd/dvd drive I suppose. Look for this guy eKai and drop a message at his thread and he'll response when he read it and probably provide solution or fixing http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/311224 wink.gif

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Nov 29 2007, 07:27 AM)
guys .. my console[scph-79006] display system configuration & browser menu since yesterday. just bought 3weeks ago. izit problem with my lens or motor or whatever? pls help .. i'm noob abt this ??
What do u mean? Isn't that's normal and PS2 suppose to display the System Configuration & Browser Menu when no disc is inserted upon the PS2 startup? unsure.gif

QUOTE(emiya_shin @ Nov 30 2007, 10:14 AM)
Urm sifus and gurus? Can answer my question?

My fat PS2 is a bit sot sot already. Sometimes can play games sometimes not. It is modded. 5 years already and been repaired once. What is going on? My PS2 is coming to the end? NTSC/J.

Is PS2 is sensitive to voltage? I mean irregular voltage.
Probably ur cd/dvd drive or modchip is dying... time to implant a new one wink.gif Go look for him here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/311224

QUOTE(eek-1 @ Dec 1 2007, 01:03 AM)
My PS2 slim is starting to scratch discs.  Any game disc I put in the tray gets scratched on the outer side upon spinning.

Can the console be repaired?
LoL... drop ur message here as well http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/311224 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(yusry1985 @ Dec 1 2007, 02:08 AM)
sorry mr mod.. hmm.. repeating my question.. but little update after i read others forum.. where can i buy network adaptor for fat ps2 and also usb advance / usb extreme? and is when we buying a network adaptor, is there any other thing come with it or must buy also? (let see.. like add in card or something like that.)

if there is anyone from penang or kedah that know where i can get the spareparts for fat ps2.. mean like dvd lens or bla bla bla.. hoping all pro's guys here can answer my little Q here.. thanks in advance.
Well, another one looking for PS2 Network Adapter aka PS2 NA. Sad to say, but PS2 NA can be described as a rare product now which we could hardly get one, even the 2nd or 3rd hand as well. If u r in hurry, ur best pick would be Ebay and there are still plenty of them selling there smile.gif. Else if u doesn't wan to trouble with importing the product from Ebay, u gotta keep ur eyes on Garage Sales and Lelong.com.my, sometime there will be people selling out their precious gem when they're not into PS2 anymore wink.gif.

The PS2 NA come with an Internet Setup disc (can't remember properly the name), but not all with it and I'm not sure if any useful it can be. Says all that u wanted just play games on HDD, u'll need a PS2 NA, an IDE HDD (no WD) and HDLoader bootup disc (google urself for the ISO and then burn into disc biggrin.gif). That's all laugh.gif

QUOTE(emiya_shin @ Dec 1 2007, 05:09 PM)
Can I clean my PS2 lens with CD lens cleaner? It doesn't read any discs.

What is system configuration which is saved at my memory card?
I'm suppose u can do so, but better wait for higher level gurus to clarify on this tongue.gif.

The System Configuration in ur mem card is the one which store the settings u done at ur System Configuration & Browser Menu. Example changing the time, etc. wink.gif
yusry1985
post Dec 1 2007, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Dec 1 2007, 06:25 PM)
Well, another one looking for PS2 Network Adapter aka PS2 NA. Sad to say, but PS2 NA can be described as a rare product now which we could hardly get one, even the 2nd or 3rd hand as well. If u r in hurry, ur best pick would be Ebay and there are still plenty of them selling there smile.gif. Else if u doesn't wan to trouble with importing the product from Ebay, u gotta keep ur eyes on Garage Sales and Lelong.com.my, sometime there will be people selling out their precious gem when they're not into PS2 anymore wink.gif.

The PS2 NA come with an Internet Setup disc (can't remember properly the name), but not all with it and I'm not sure if any useful it can be. Says all that u wanted just play games on HDD, u'll need a PS2 NA, an IDE HDD (no WD) and HDLoader bootup disc (google urself for the ISO and then burn into disc biggrin.gif). That's all laugh.gif
thanks for ur time bro.. well.. i try buying in ebay i think. got a few selling NA in garage sales.. already pm them and mostly sold out. thanks again for ur answer.. quite far behind of this kind of thing even im working in it laugh.gif
tHeRiDdLeR
post Dec 1 2007, 08:53 PM

247 posts

@vearn27,
thx for replying. sorry for lack informations. actually there is a disc in my console. probs already fixed. ada wiring problem kat motor.

emiya_shin
post Dec 1 2007, 11:04 PM

128 posts

Thanks dude. I wonder replacing a mod chip and cd/dvd will cost how much?

This post has been edited by emiya_shin: Dec 1 2007, 11:05 PM
shinichi88
post Dec 7 2007, 12:31 PM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

Where can i get PS2 to repaired..??
My friend's console seem to be power failure... not sure what version, is the fat type.
What is price for fixing it..???
arshad
post Dec 7 2007, 02:17 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Anyone know how to claim warranty from Singapore? :-

1. How long does it takes?
2. Where to claim?
3. What do I need to bring?
acougan
post Dec 7 2007, 02:24 PM

590 posts

^ refer to gameaxis forums, a few of them also have lense problems

http://forums.gameaxis.com/showthread.php?t=1468362

need to register, then send to Sony Service Center. repairs might take up to a week.
arshad
post Dec 7 2007, 02:44 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

ahhh, i insert cd then no icon. sad.gif no weird sound though.
FaReez
post Dec 8 2007, 09:27 AM

hi all.. my ps2 jam while playing halfway, got sound while plying, i do no what problem and something wrong with graphic, my ps2 is almost 5 years already.. can anyone help me.. thanx....

MC_Amig0
post Dec 8 2007, 09:41 AM

456 posts

can somebody help me.
last night i played COD4 then , the game hanged. so i eject the cd and wait for about 2-3 minutes... nothing happen.

the i force-off the ps3 by switching off the back switch. waited 1-2 minutes before switching it on again.

when i switched on the ps3, red screen came out and it read "Serious error has occured. Please contact Customer Service." I pushed the controller button , nothing happen. then i switch off the ps3 again.

when i tried to switch on again. nothing happen. only blue screen came out.

so what possibly went wrong. it is HDD corrupted?
arc_archive
post Dec 8 2007, 10:53 AM

386 posts

that's new...all of the while,ive been hearing people crying bout the lens and the overheating prob only.

to confirm either hdd of the ps3 corrupted or other thingy,try detach the hd and turn on the ps3..if it come up wif other than ur red screen..juz turn off the ps3.once more turn on the ps3 wif the hdd.if the red screen gone...congrats to u!!!

bout the ps3 lens prob..it seems it became a 3ROD for ps3 edi..my new PS3 SINGAPORE juz encounter the same prob again..sigh..but after change the lens..it work again.it seems both of my PS3 come out wif the same prob over and over again.but interestingly enough,i have used the original PS3 lens from the HK set into my SG set...and hell..it work...

and to assume the lens alone are defected is less accurate as mine case show differently.the true cause is still not yet discovered.as of my experience owning 2 set of defective PS3,a challenges for a PS3 owner must bare are:

1. Lens failure.
2. PS3 3ROD version (cannot ON and the LED keep blinking RED).
3. BD Rom rotor defective.

my SG set lens failure appear when playing Need for Speed Pro Street while the loading page appear...suddenly the page static...but the PS3 MENU can be viewed (means that the system did not yet crash).it might happend bcoz of the rotor stop functioning (juz a theory, still under investigation).

all and all,my HK set has been my guinea pig all the while.it thought me alot.i might got my hand wif the new 40Gb PS3 to see which version are the most stable one (less defective component) in the future....

This post has been edited by arc_archive: Dec 8 2007, 10:54 AM
ruztynail
post Dec 8 2007, 10:56 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

walau... got problems.. darn!!!! wats the probability?? HK or sg set getting defected?

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Dec 8 2007, 10:59 AM
MC_Amig0
post Dec 8 2007, 01:42 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Dec 8 2007, 10:53 AM)
that's new...all of the while,ive been hearing people crying bout the lens and the overheating prob only.

to confirm either hdd of the ps3 corrupted or other thingy,try detach the hd and turn on the ps3..if it come up wif other than ur red screen..juz turn off the ps3.once more turn on the ps3 wif the hdd.if the red screen gone...congrats to u!!!

bro, thank for helping me but some weird happen today.

before i tried your methods, i decided to do one trial and error...

1st) ok, i tried to switch on mr precious ps3 once again. and same thing happen, "blue screen".i pushed the PS button on the controller still nothing happen. seem like the controller has lost its connection to the ps3 unit. the i switched off the ps3 using I/O button (Open/Off switch - at the front loading disc bay). push about 5-10 second. it turn off.

2) then, i put the ps3 in stanby mode for about 5-10 minutes. the i switched it on again. saw the HDD indicator flashing, then you know what... its working fine again, seem like nothing happen. That really weird!!! i also dont know what was really happen. blink.gif blink.gif

I conclude the red screen happen on me because i force-switch off the ps3 while it (maybe processing something or for example COD4 trying to download game setting for IW server)..

So, guys. if it happen to you, then dont panic, just turn off your ps3. maybe 5-10 minutes or more then, put the ps3 in standby mode, another 5-10 minutes.

thanks arc, notworthy.gif
mine ps3 80gb SG
product code CECHE06

This post has been edited by MC_Amig0: Dec 8 2007, 01:44 PM
arc_archive
post Dec 8 2007, 05:30 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 8 2007, 10:56 AM)
walau... got problems.. darn!!!! wats the probability?? HK or sg set getting defected?
rite now,ive seen a lot of asian set being defected.to assume the prob caused by dust...i think the bd rom r well protected n sheilded from dust.it might be the heat.

QUOTE(MC_Amig0 @ Dec 8 2007, 01:42 PM)
bro, thank for helping me but some weird happen today.

before i tried your methods, i decided to do one trial and error...

1st) ok, i tried to switch on mr precious ps3 once again. and same thing happen, "blue screen".i pushed the PS button on the controller still nothing happen. seem like the controller has lost its connection to the ps3 unit. the i switched off the ps3 using I/O button (Open/Off switch - at the front loading disc bay). push about 5-10 second. it turn off.

2) then, i put the ps3 in stanby mode for about 5-10 minutes. the i switched it on again. saw the HDD indicator flashing, then you know what... its working fine again, seem like nothing happen. That really weird!!! i also dont know what was really happen. blink.gif  blink.gif

I conclude the red screen happen on me because i force-switch off the ps3 while it (maybe processing something or for example COD4 trying to download game setting for IW server)..

So, guys. if it happen to you, then dont panic, just turn off your ps3. maybe 5-10 minutes or more then, put the ps3 in standby mode, another 5-10 minutes.

thanks arc,  notworthy.gif
mine ps3 80gb SG
product code CECHE06
thats a good news indeed laugh.gif for all the ps3 owner...do stay away from any dvd played using ur ps3...as of my SG set,a few days b4 the lens failure,ive let my PS3 playing an ori dvd..and after few days later...the lens failed me..
arshad
post Dec 8 2007, 07:56 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

how to get into standby mode? D:
MC_Amig0
post Dec 8 2007, 08:09 PM

456 posts

when the green light become red one... that standby mode. tekan butan PS kat controller > pilih "Turn Off the System" ... nnt ps3 akan berada dlm standby mode.
emiya_shin
post Dec 8 2007, 09:25 PM

128 posts

Cleaned the lens but still cannot read any discs. When I put games into PS2 it just returned to the System Configuration and Browser. Need some advice about this.
cyew86
post Dec 16 2007, 01:51 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

anyone having problem using component cable on PS2? my image is distorted, skipping here and there and lots of artifacts on my Samsung LCD using that cable, even during start-up or in BIOS. posted dis problem b4 some time in may but the thread went dead. just wanna see if there is any latest solution to my problem. thanks
vailance
post Dec 19 2007, 07:48 PM

wat??
841 posts

guys.. my ps2 fat last time drop from table the dvdrom senget and memory card crushed but i open the ps2 and fix the dvdrom now ok d.. but then now i bought a new mem card put into any slot1 or 2 same cant detect d.. is there anyway to fix this? if yes took how much?
bluedream
post Dec 22 2007, 02:01 AM

105 posts

guys i tried using a dvi>hmdi input for my ps3 using a Samsung SyncMaster 932bplus and after searching the net i tried the 2 second blink method and nothing comes out of the screen

even tried changing the output manually via settings , still the blank screen,
was wondering anyone using this monitor for their ps3?

any input is greatly appreciated

thx

106 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:17 AM