Patch 1.4 PTR, The Rise of Protoss?

SUSAzurues
post Aug 25 2011, 11:14 AM, updated 15y ago

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

General
Unit vision up ramps has been reduced by 1.

PROTOSS
Immortal
Attack range increased from 5 to 6.

Mothership
Acceleration increased from 0.3 to 1.375.
The Mothership’s Cloaking Field no longer cloaks all units instantaneously, but rather adds units to the cloak field over time (maximum of 25 per second). This should alleviate “Mothership Lag” issue when a Mothership comes online.

Stalker
Blink research time increased from 110 to 140.

Warp Prism
Shields increased from 40 to 100.

TERRAN
Barracks
Build time increased from 60 to 65.

Hellion
Infernal Pre-Igniter damage upgrade decreased from 10 to 5.

Raven
Seeker missile movement speed increased from 2.5 to 2.953.

ZERG
Infestor
Fungal Growth damage changed from 36 (+30% armored) to 30 (40 vs Armored).

Overseer
Morph cost decreased from 50/100 to 50/50.
Contaminate energy cost increased from 75 to 125.

Ultralisk
Build time decreased from 70 to 55.

Notable non-balance changes:
When a building is canceled or salvaged the minerals returned will be displayed at the building location for the owner, for enemy players a floating text will be displayed.
(I believe this works like single player when you pick up floating mineral patches. You will see a +50 in blue and the opponent will need to be in the vicinity to see this floating text)

Added three privacy settings to the Options menu under the Battle.net section.
Only allow friends to send me invites.
Only allow friends to send me chat messages.
Set status to Busy when playing a game. (They make it easy for MLG)

Repeated control group and selection commands will no longer count as unique actions for APM calculation purposes.

Issuing new orders to charging zealots will cause them to lose the charge buff.

Attack upgrades are now retained by units controlled by Neural Parasite.

SCVs can no longer repair themselves while inside a Bunker or Medivac.

Baneling's Attack Structure ability is now a toggle to Enable/Disable Attack Structure. The toggle will determine whether structures are valid targets for auto-attack. This change fixes an issue which caused Banelings to prioritize buildings over hostile units.

If a unit provides power, that power is temporarily transferred to a player using Neural Parasite.

Fixed an issue where Drone attacks could be more easily dodged than SCV or Probes.

Full patch notes: http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/topic/1213111662
jeffvip
post Aug 25 2011, 12:24 PM

134 posts

The worst nightmare have begun with the rise of Immortal and Warp Prism. Pls be prepare for the nightmare of BW (which is Reaver drop) start to utilize commonly in sc2 with Immortal drop + warp in flex.gif
axn992
post Aug 25 2011, 01:27 PM

676 posts

Stalker
Blink research time increased from 110 to 140.

DAMN!
jeffvip
post Aug 25 2011, 01:29 PM

134 posts

I hate hellion nerf... I really enjoy how those Slayers utilize hellion so well
kEazYc
post Aug 25 2011, 01:59 PM

1,314 posts

Still no fix for 1/1/1 =\
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2011, 02:26 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

Immortal: Attack range increased from 5 to 6. The problem ppl have with immortals are nt really the range but the chunky movement which makes it hard to concave... Tat haven been fixed but the range 6 help u poke and return to recharge shields...

Mothership: Still wont see it in play LOL.

Stalker: Blink research time increased from 110 to 140. THis is jz dumb... Just when PvP allow u to get blink and hold 4 gate with micro, this happen... The only reason i can see this is in PvT where 1 base blink can win u games vs terrans who 1 rax expand but isn't this the point? 1 base blink don't do well in PvZ anymore and the 2 base variant doesnt care bout such timing... More worried bout PvP...

Warp Prism: Shields increased from 40 to 100. extra 60hp? me happy but what to drop? in scbw, u drop reavers which demolishes mineral lines (ala BFH)... in sc2 dropping immortals dun kill workers, u are left with sniping supply depots/ pylon or queens... dropping zeal does ntg as workers outrun then, stalkers dun do enuff damage, sentry drops started to get popular so it is a good thing.. DT drop is decent, HT/ colo drops for sure... nice to see it buffed but still as David Kim/ Dustin Browder said for HOTS preview, protoss lack a suitable unit for such role...

Barracks: Build time increased from 60 to 65. Retarded nerf... i dun see the reason for this besides the 2 rax bunker in TvZ... while u are at it, can u plz unnerf reapers?

Hellion: Infernal Pre-Igniter damage upgrade decreased from 10 to 5. I can see how OP BFH can be when they are in the mienral lines, killings lings and killing other soft units... But i think this is a overnerf... i enjoyed TvT with BFHs... This is such a big nerf which is nt needed... if they wanan stick with it, then please reduce the upgrade cost by 50%...

Raven: Seeker missile movement speed increased from 2.5 to 2.953. Welcomed change

Infestor: Fungal Growth damage changed from 36 (+30% armored) to 30 (40 vs Armored). Slight nerf to this, probably due to it 1 shotting marines LOL...

Overseer: Morph cost decreased from 50/100 to 50/50. Contaminate energy cost increased from 75 to 125. Welcomed change, underused unit but to balance it they nerf contaminate which is superly underused... I rather they keep the cost to like 50/75 and keep contaminate as it is =(

Ultralisk: Build time decreased from 70 to 55. 200/200 remax with ultras? me like this!

Added on August 25, 2011, 2:29 pmps: no bunker changes? i doubt this patch will go live (hint: there is a bunker related balance change every time there is a balance patch)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 25 2011, 02:29 PM
axn992
post Aug 25 2011, 04:06 PM

676 posts

another nerf for protoss units, stalkers blink research increased, they like to nerf protoss attacking units, while side units they upgrade.
keretapir
post Aug 25 2011, 04:41 PM

rampant public indecency
1,143 posts

immortals will rape ultras (with proper positioning)
SUSAzurues
post Aug 25 2011, 05:09 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

i dont feel like the blink will have huge effect.

probably just extra 1 chrono boosts and u can't super rush blink stalker anymore

and god dammit Blizzard, have u forgotten about Carriers?
hahli9
post Aug 25 2011, 06:29 PM

284 posts

MAN PRISMS

Also, -1 vision attacker's disadvantage = death of 4gate especially with immortal +1 range.

This post has been edited by hahli9: Aug 25 2011, 06:32 PM
Ryperer
post Aug 25 2011, 07:34 PM

22 posts

I like this biggrin.gif
FullMetalBoy
post Aug 25 2011, 08:34 PM

159 posts

hoho i like the nerf with the barracks and hellions. well i think hellions should cost more. either 1 is good
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2011, 08:43 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Aug 25 2011, 05:09 PM)

probably just extra 1 chrono boosts and u can't super rush blink stalker anymore

for PvP, this matter a whole lot =(
quest_5692
post Aug 25 2011, 09:18 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

yeah, i think the blink nerf is stupid, 3 gate blink after looonnnggg development (since IMYONGHWA) had finally been the only anti 4 gate strat protoss can safely execute now wif proper timings, then now suddenly a matured strat gets nerfed right away. david kim wants more 4 gate.

the fungal growth nerf is very big la -.- now infestor ling ZvP will be significantly weaker, last time the dmg of fungal for protoss armoured death ball is huge.....now......haiz...ok la, gta admit fungal is quite OP now, they deserve some nerf.

warp prisms buff is for more ht/zealot drop i guess...
evofantasy
post Aug 25 2011, 09:59 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Aug 25 2011, 09:18 PM)
yeah, i think the blink nerf is stupid, 3 gate blink after looonnnggg development (since IMYONGHWA) had finally been the only anti 4 gate strat protoss can safely execute now wif proper timings, then now suddenly a matured strat gets nerfed right away. david kim wants more 4 gate.

the fungal growth nerf is very big la -.- now infestor ling ZvP will be significantly weaker, last time the dmg of fungal for protoss armoured death ball is huge.....now......haiz...ok la, gta admit fungal is quite OP now, they deserve some nerf.

warp prisms buff is for more ht/zealot drop i guess...
tat's y i was mad at the blink nerf...

u got robo, stargate and templar as ur PvP options post 4 gate...
stargate demolishes robo, robo is even with templar (depend on micro) and templar jz wreck stargate play...
so the most stable build aka templar (blink) just got nerfed...
and that long time might allow ur opponent to get enuff colo vs robo build...
quest_5692
post Aug 25 2011, 10:56 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

moar 4 gate, moar 4 gate, moar 4 gate
kding2
post Aug 26 2011, 12:11 AM

1,007 posts

Blink research nerf is retarded. Why there is no carriers or HT buff?

As for the Barrack, does extra 5 seconds really make a different..at all?

And FG is basically untouchable, so how is this RISE of Protoss?
pepsi89
post Aug 26 2011, 03:17 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(kding2 @ Aug 26 2011, 12:11 AM)

As for the Barrack, does extra 5 seconds really make a different..at all?

And FG is basically untouchable, so how is this RISE of Protoss?
it makes me easier to 1 gate cheese a terran in 1v1 xelnaga map more easily, currently doing it with 100% success rate,lol
SiewKaiz
post Aug 26 2011, 08:17 AM

304 posts

OMG immortal drop pickup with zealot~ oh man now it is even harder to def it~ =.=a

yes barrack nerf 5 sec good for me~ 2 rax bunker rush will slow 5sec BUT THIS WILL ENCOURAGE MORE BFH(despite nerf some dmg) and banshit DAMN

Added on August 26, 2011, 8:20 am
QUOTE(Azurues @ Aug 25 2011, 05:09 PM)

good for zerk player~3 gate blinks all in is IMBA

This post has been edited by SiewKaiz: Aug 26 2011, 08:20 AM
jeffvip
post Aug 26 2011, 09:19 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(SiewKaiz @ Aug 26 2011, 08:17 AM)
OMG immortal drop pickup with zealot~ oh man now it is even harder to def it~ =.=a

yes barrack nerf 5 sec good for me~ 2 rax bunker rush will slow 5sec  BUT THIS WILL ENCOURAGE MORE BFH(despite nerf some dmg) and banshit DAMN

Added on August 26, 2011, 8:20 am

good for zerk player~3 gate blinks all in is IMBA
infested protoss have spoken notworthy.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:52 PM