Restaurant Name: Fukuya Japanese Restaurant
Dining Time: Dinner

Ozeki Kinkan Sake - Hot (140ml) @RM18.00++
Outlook: 4/5
Creativity: 4/5
Taste: 3/5
Price: 4/5
Overall: 3/5 - I love a hot sake. However they need to keep it warm at all times. When they leave the sake like this, surely will turn cold in the matter of minutes. At that time, the sake is not really that nice to drink anymore.

Kashi @RM150.00++
Outlook: 5/5
Taste: 4/5
Price: 3/5
Overall: 4/5 - 7 different types of Sashimi which comes from the meat of Tuna (Maguro), Salmon (Sake) and Yellowtail (Hamachi). To compare with the Sashimi @Kampachi, this Sashimi has more types and more number of pieces with much cheaper price. However, Kampachi's Sashimi is still the thickest of all the Japanese Restaurant that I have dine. In term of freshness, both are equally the same. As for Fukuya, their food are air-flown twice a week which is on Tuesday and Friday.

Spider Maki @RM28.00++
Taste: 3/5
Overall: 3/5 - The Spider Maki is made of soft shell crab. Very delicious soft shell crab. I pretty like it.

Cha Soba @RM18.00++
Creativity: 5/5
Taste: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - This is one of the best Cha Soba I ever have. The portion is so big for the same competitive price.

They give another special sauce for the Soba which is very unique than any other Japanese Restaurant.

Hamachi Miso Soup @RM15.00++
Outlook: 3/5
Creativity: 3/5
Taste: 4/5
Overall: 3/5 - Very delicious soup. Full of fish taste in it. I seldom order a soup in a Japanese Restaurant. It was my friend's idea and I learned it now. However, just too many Japanese leek for me.

Hokkaido Melon @RM38.00++. If you read my Kampachi post before, I had a Japanese Melon which cost me @RM75.00++. So when I see they are selling at RM38.00++, my thought is..."This is a grab!" However, for my dear friend, she keeps mumbling and nagging away saying I am too crazy to order a RM40 bucks for a slice of melon when she can eat 10 local melons with that money.

When the dessert is served and she had her first bite, this is how she looks like. So...I asked her, "How does it compares with your 10 local melon?" She smiles.
Overall: 4/5 - Hokkaido Melon is a yellow meat compare with the melon I had at Kampachi. The taste are different but equally sweet and delicious.The price is much more reasonable compare with Kampachi. One thing I dislike about this melon is they should remove the seeds. It is quite annoying when we need to remove it ourselves. Apart of that, they are not perfectly sliced the melon for convenient for us to pick and eat.

Ambiance: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Food Serving Speed: Moderate
Will I Revisit?: Absolutely.
Extra comments: I will say a fantastic Japanese cuisine experience I had once again at Fukuya. Not a 6-star restaurant but definitely a 5-star restaurant for me. If you does not want to spend crazy amount of money at Kampachi, this is a place worth for you to consider. The parking are quite limited at their own parking area. However, you will be invited by the friendly jockey which the service is free of charge. I was told by one of the waitress there that if we would like to eat their fresh oyster, we need to book in advance as their air-flown schedule on every Tuesday and Friday evening. So we can reserve the fresh oyster for the later at night for our dinner. Price is vary depends on season.
Complete review: http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
mercury8400
post Nov 13 2011, 12:45 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 5 2011, 02:21 PM)
Restaurant Name: Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

Actually their menu is very simple and most of them are already displayed here.

Miso Char Siu Ramen @RM27.50++
Creativity: 5/5
Price: 2/5
Overall: 4/5 - The noodles are so tangy and the Char Siu is so delicious. I am very particular with fat meat. But somehow I can ignore this. As for the soup..it is quite salty if to compare with Shoyu Ramen. The price is very expensive for a small bowl like this.

Wah!!!! cha siu ramen for RM 27.50++ crazy expensive mang....is the char siu wrapped in gold????
Got gold flakes???? RM27.50???? RM 12 also i consider expensive since char siu don't cost that much...I buy char siu rice 1 packet only RM 4..... noodles + soup got so much more expensive than rice meh???? sweat.gif
vey99
post Nov 13 2011, 01:49 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

the hokkaido santou ramen looks like real deal

i'd pay the price as long as i get the 5/5 taste.

rzorboy u better be rite about this.
wyxyz
post Nov 13 2011, 10:00 AM

730 posts

Probably in the last few posts I've seen are more for 'atas orang' punya market (referring to price) tongue.gif If anyone fancy a bowl of affordable and tasty udon can head to Sanuki Udon near Taman Bukit Desa. Price of Udon ranges between rm5-7. Plus during the evening, they do offer yakitori (rm2-3 per stick). Open only for lunch+ dinner
TSRazorVista
post Nov 13 2011, 10:52 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Nov 13 2011, 01:49 AM)
the hokkaido santou ramen looks like real deal

i'd pay the price as long as i get the 5/5 taste.

rzorboy u better be rite about this.
Are you talking about me? Anything I am not right about? I already admit about the egg. And amended information already been given by another forumer. Anything else I did wrongly? Please do kindly point it out. Thanks
deodorant
post Nov 14 2011, 08:56 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 13 2011, 10:52 PM)
Are you talking about me? Anything I am not right about? I already admit about the egg. And amended information already been given by another forumer. Anything else I did wrongly? Please do kindly point it out. Thank
He is saying that you'd better be right about the 5/5 Taste rating you gave.
eueu
post Nov 14 2011, 11:02 AM

766 posts

for me, i will take the photo and comments as references, read more comments from other bloggers, if there are a lot positive comments, then i will try it out.. don't need judge the (5/5) points so seriously..

my point of view smile.gif

TSRazorVista
post Nov 15 2011, 02:13 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 14 2011, 08:56 AM)
He is saying that you'd better be right about the 5/5 Taste rating you gave.
Oh hahaha...you are good in interpreting...I can't even quite figuring out until you explained

QUOTE(eueu @ Nov 14 2011, 11:02 AM)
for me, i will take the photo and comments as references, read more comments from other bloggers, if there are a lot positive comments, then i will try it out.. don't need judge the (5/5) points so seriously..

my point of view smile.gif
True...subjective matters...one man's meat is another man's poison. thumbup.gif
TSRazorVista
post Nov 15 2011, 02:20 PM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Munakata Japanese Restaurant

Salmon Sashimi: Fresh sliced salmon - 4/5

Nigiri Salmon Sushi: Vinegared rice ball topped with fresh sliced salmon - 3/5

Soft Shell Crab Tempura: Deep fried battered soft shell crab - 3/5

Kitsune Soba: Hot broth wheat noodles with fried bean curd - 2/5

Ankake Age Tofu: Deep fried bean-curd with thick starchy sauce - 4/5

This is their menu for the ala-carte buffet.

Ambiance: 4/5
Service: 3/5
Food Serving Speed: Slow
Recommended?: No
Extra Comments: They only provide salmon sashimi which is a big letdown for such an expensive buffet. When I dine in this restaurant, I keep comparing with Umai-ya and it gives me a feeling that this is really not worth it. Therefore, in my opinion, this is not a place you should choose for your ala-carte Japanese buffet experience.
For the rest of the photos in the menu can be viewed in the link here: http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
SoulPower
post Nov 15 2011, 06:11 PM

235 posts

U really live to eat .... ganbate !!!!
TSRazorVista
post Nov 17 2011, 02:41 AM

266 posts

Hahaha. Aren't we all human the same? smile.gif

ceejay
post Nov 17 2011, 02:55 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 17 2011, 02:41 AM)
Hahaha. Aren't we all human the same? smile.gif
razorvista,
Visited your blog. Very nice and interesting. Hope you can keep it up. rclxms.gif

Wanted to try Hokkaido Ramen as it is supposedly one of the most well known chain in Japan and finally is in Pavillion.

I read various blogs for recommendations for places I may not necessary know about. Food tasting is very subjective and use the recommendations for what it is; a recommendation. Normally, when it comes highly recommended, it should be good. Bloggers have a reputation to keep. biggrin.gif

TSRazorVista
post Nov 22 2011, 10:04 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(ceejay @ Nov 17 2011, 02:55 PM)
razorvista,
Visited your blog. Very nice and interesting. Hope you can keep it up. rclxms.gif

Wanted to try Hokkaido Ramen as it is supposedly one of the most well known chain in Japan and finally is in Pavillion.

I read various blogs for recommendations for places I may not necessary know about.  Food tasting is very subjective and use the recommendations for what it is;  a recommendation.  Normally, when it comes highly recommended, it should be good.  Bloggers have a reputation to keep.  biggrin.gif
Thank you very much for your support!!! notworthy.gif
TSRazorVista
post Nov 22 2011, 10:08 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Restaurant Sumeragi Shio - Buffet A-la Carte Restaurant
Dining Time: Brunch

The above three pictures are the only Sushi they served as others are not available. I do not wish to rate one by one as all of them is the same rate at 2/5 because they are not fresh at all.

Ambiance: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Recommended?: No
Extra Comments: If you checked my link below, you will know actually this is a sushi + dim sum restaurant. A "serve cold food" and "serve hot food" together...is totally not blending

http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com

This post has been edited by RazorVista: Nov 22 2011, 10:09 AM
TSRazorVista
post Nov 23 2011, 11:33 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Kikyo Japanese Restaurant

Ordered a Daru Sake @RM22.40++ after 30% discount. They are running a promotion for their sake. However, it is still the same mistake for their hot sake. Same like Fukuya Japanese Restaurant. Nothing is there to keep them warm. The sake reduce to room temperature level within minutes.

Edamame - 4/5. I have eaten four bowls of this.

Salmon Sashimi & White Tuna - 4/5. Not thick but fresh. I have eaten three plates of this

Tofu Steak - 4/5...so BIG portion!

Hotate Butteryaki - 4/5

They got 6 flavors of ice cream to choose from. Green Tea, Black Sesame, Wasabi, Chocolate, Strawberry and Vanilla. All are quality ice creams.

Ambiance: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Recommended?: Yes
Extra Comments: Kikyo Japanese Restaurant has already opened quite a few years and they started with their ala-carte buffet for only RM29.90++ per person. Now, they just increased in the month of November to RM39.90++. Even though they have increase as much as RM10 per pax, their buffet price is still one of the cheapest.
For a complete review and also more pictures on the food, you are very welcome to click the link below:
http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
shyshy_gal
post Nov 23 2011, 02:15 PM

36 posts

fresh? they look frozen and still got ice on them
daijoubu
post Nov 23 2011, 02:56 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Anyone have any recommendations for Buffet Ala Carte dinner with good unagi dishes?

Budget is about RM50 per person.

Thanks!
Kenzany
post Nov 23 2011, 08:47 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 23 2011, 02:56 PM)
Anyone have any recommendations for Buffet Ala Carte dinner with good unagi dishes?

Thanks!
RM50 is pretty low. i dont think you can get a decent one.
TSRazorVista
post Nov 23 2011, 09:21 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(shyshy_gal @ Nov 23 2011, 02:15 PM)
fresh? they look frozen and still got ice on them
u mean the Edamame? That is salt... smile.gif

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 23 2011, 02:56 PM)

Thanks!
Still searching...

If you don't mind, to have the Maki Unagi @ Umai-ya first.

shyshy_gal
post Nov 24 2011, 11:03 AM

36 posts

isn't that ice? (on top of the sashimi on the right)

29 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:40 AM