Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

Seremban_2
post Jul 29 2012, 12:44 PM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(titus85 @ Jul 27 2012, 10:48 AM)
i also have friends burned everything in 1 single local share. i didnt say he is wrong, i just dont like his attitude. is my mistake, without study invest money in UT by just listening to the agent when i walk in the branch to deposit money. bad agent are just spoiling good agent's rice bowl. i agree plain greed+hope working=gambling. thats y thinking should hold or sell now rather than -80% from UT. non here share same situation with me?
do majority here making money from PM UT?
I got to know a new Public Mutual Agent and introduce by my friend. He gave good advice and plan to show me his client fund performance statement which making good paper money.
wongmunkeong
post Jul 29 2012, 02:53 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(titus85 @ Jul 27 2012, 10:48 AM)
i also have friends burned everything in 1 single local share. i didnt say he is wrong, i just dont like his attitude. is my mistake, without study invest money in UT by just listening to the agent when i walk in the branch to deposit money. bad agent are just spoiling good agent's rice bowl. i agree plain greed+hope working=gambling. thats y thinking should hold or sell now rather than -80% from UT. non here share same situation with me?
do majority here making money from PM UT?
I'm unsure about "others" and "majority" but my family, friends that i invest with and myself am making (net net) $ from Public Mutual's funds and EastSpring's (ex Prudential). Personally, i've been "at it" since.. 1990s - profits more than losses, especially when doing it with a plan, not main tembak tongue.gif

Note: i am a PM agent, though mainly for my family & myself since the $ invested yearly makes it worthwhile to be an agent - discounting + no agents thus far could keep up, thus might as well pay myself first, second and third sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 29 2012, 02:56 PM
flatwhite
post Jul 31 2012, 12:08 AM

Hi, I am new here, don’t know much about Unit Trust, please help:

When selling bond fund, what are the service charges will be incurred?
How to calculate the $ that an investor will get after deducting all the service charges?

Thanks in advance!
wongmunkeong
post Jul 31 2012, 08:06 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(flatwhite @ Jul 31 2012, 12:08 AM)
Hi, I am new here, don’t know much about Unit Trust, please help:

When selling bond fund, what are the service charges will be incurred?
How to calculate the $ that an investor will get after deducting all the service charges?

Thanks in advance!
There are no back-load service charges for Public Mutual's bond funds, or any Public Mutual's funds for that matter (as of now lar - future, gawd knows tongue.gif).
Simple English = NO SERVICE CHARGES when selling funds back to Public Mutual.
mucklampir
post Jul 31 2012, 02:23 PM

318 posts

thinking of to ttansfer epf to either PB or amanah saham didik. What do u guys think? Saham didik for the past 5yrs maintain 6-7%.

This post has been edited by mucklampir: Jul 31 2012, 09:10 PM
kparam77
post Jul 31 2012, 07:47 PM

952 posts

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v6/newsbusiness.php?id=684531

Public Mutual Berhad declare distribution for Financial Year Ending 31 July 2012.

Public Growth Fund – 3 sen/ per unit

Public Australia Equity Fund – 0.50 sen/ per unit

Public Optimal Growth Fund – 1.25 sen/ per unit

Public Far-East Property & Resorts Fund – 0.50 sen/ per unit

Public Islamic Opportunities Fund – 2.25 sen/ per unit

Public Islamic Select Enterprices Fund - 2 sen/ per unit

Public Bond Fund – 5.25 sen/ per unit

Public Islamic Select Bond Fund - 5 sen/ per unit

Public Islamic Income Fund – 3.50 sen/ per unit

mucklampir
post Jul 31 2012, 09:14 PM

318 posts

distribution is dividen, right? How if for the one under epf scheme? Will the distribution being transferred back to epf account?
kparam77
post Jul 31 2012, 11:22 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(mucklampir @ Jul 31 2012, 09:14 PM)
distribution is dividen, right? How if for the one under epf scheme? Will the distribution being transferred back to epf account?
no, re-investback to the fund.

go to epf scheme at my siggy for more info..
wongmunkeong
post Aug 1 2012, 07:58 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jul 31 2012, 11:22 PM)
no, re-investback to the fund.

go to epf scheme at my siggy for more info..
Bro, sorry ar, just to clarify:
i though it DEPENDS whether customer ticked/chose to take payout or auto-reinvestment?
If payout chosen, then paid back into EPF right?
OR there is no payout option for EPF-funded investments (loooooooong time never read the "new a/c" form liao heheh).

Curious and seeking info notworthy.gif

Added on August 1, 2012, 7:59 am
Just to share:

PUBLIC MUTUAL ONLINE (PMO) CAMPAIGN 2012
1 AUGUST 2012 TO 31 OCTOBER 2012
We wish to inform that we will be launching the Public Mutual Online (PMO)
Campaign on 1 August 2012.
There are 2 parts to the PMO Campaign.

1) Special Service Charge
PMO subscribers will be entitled to special service charge of
 5.00% for all successful online cash investments. <MK's note - sigh.. still not 2%+/- like some "online agent" with multiple fund houses' funds - end of b*tching>
 5.25% for all DDI registered during the campaign period for as long as the DDI is active.

2) 5,000 MGQP
New PMO users will be given 5,000 MGQP upon their first login to PMO and subscription to e-Statement during campaign period.
The 5,000 MGQP will be reversed if the subscription to e-Statement ceased.

Please logon to www.publicmutual.com.my or call Hotline 03–6207 5000 for more details.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 1 2012, 08:03 AM
hafiez
post Aug 1 2012, 09:04 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 07:58 AM)
Bro, sorry ar, just to clarify:
i though it DEPENDS whether customer ticked/chose to take payout or auto-reinvestment?
If payout chosen, then paid back into EPF right?
OR there is no payout option for EPF-funded investments (loooooooong time never read the "new a/c" form liao heheh).

Curious and seeking info notworthy.gif.
EPF auto re invest oly.

No physical money come out to unit holder hands.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 1 2012, 09:27 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Aug 1 2012, 09:04 AM)
EPF auto re invest oly.

No physical money come out to unit holder hands.
Ah so, auto re-invest only, no option for payout.
Of course lar bro, cannot get PHYSICAL $ out via dividends. How we wish - loophole tongue.gif
Thought those that opted for dividends payout would be paid back into EPF.
Gracias notworthy.gif
Seremban_2
post Aug 1 2012, 11:49 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 09:27 AM)
Ah so, auto re-invest only, no option for payout.
Of course lar bro, cannot get PHYSICAL $ out via dividends. How we wish - loophole tongue.gif
Thought those that opted for dividends payout would be paid back into EPF.
Gracias  notworthy.gif
Bro, can investor like us invest in public mutual become an agent public mutual as well. And can we buy fund using our name so that we can save sales commission fees. notworthy.gif
wwl86
post Aug 1 2012, 12:05 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Aug 1 2012, 11:49 AM)
Bro, can investor like us invest in public mutual become an agent public mutual as well. And can we buy fund using our name so that we can save sales commission fees.  notworthy.gif

Hi Seremban_2,
ya. why not. There are forummer who r public mutual agent investing for themselves as well smile.gif

wongmunkeong
post Aug 1 2012, 02:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Aug 1 2012, 11:49 AM)
Bro, can investor like us invest in public mutual become an agent public mutual as well. And can we buy fund using our name so that we can save sales commission fees.  notworthy.gif
Yup, been doing that since.. 2005 (on my ex's name and 2008 on my own name).
Simple calculations:
a. If doing only EPF into mutual funds: $xx,xxx *( 1.75% *(100% - tax rate%) ) must be > $100 to be worthwhile, preferably double that (margin of safey mar tongue.gif)

b. If doing only cash into mutual funds: $xx,xxx *( 2.75% *(100% - tax rate%) ) must be > $100 to be worthwhile, preferably double that

c. if doing combination.. er.. go calculate lar hehe - no Excel here with me.

Cost per annum is about $100, just watch out for the "other requirements" such as PM's minimum sales quota (i think it's $30K) + the industry's yearly CPD requirements.

j.passing.by
post Aug 1 2012, 03:30 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 07:58 AM)
PUBLIC MUTUAL ONLINE (PMO) CAMPAIGN 2012
1 AUGUST 2012 TO 31 OCTOBER 2012
We wish to inform that we will be launching the Public Mutual Online (PMO)...
Thanks for the news... maybe the discount will be permanent in future?

Noted that when purchasing online, there is a selection on the agent code, and "NONE" can be selected. Maybe in future, more discounts can be given when no agent code is selected. If the commission is 1.75% for EPF investment, the online charge should be 1.25%...

It will be great if the online service is directly linked to EPF, no more filling in forms... have to go through several forms in my last purchase to get the thumb-print right.

-------------------

btw. the PMO is reputed to be fool-proof, maybe try whether you can change the epf fund from 're-invest'?

-------------------

INVESTMENT TIP
A bond fund has slightly better returns than FD; in fact a good bond fund can be better than EPF. (The sad news is that good bond funds in PM is normally closed for new investments.)

With Public Mutual Online and e-banking, you can easily purchase a unit trust fund in bonds (and re-purchase) online and transfer monies from your savings account (and back.) The charge is only 0.25%.

It is more convenient than transferring your money from savings to a Fixed Deposit Account.

The rate of returns is pretty linear in bond funds, and it is not significant to determine the date when to make the purchase, just as in making a fixed deposit. But unlike FD, there is no fixed term and no interest lost in early withdrawal.

The measly 0.25% can be recouped in less than a month.

Cheers.

wongmunkeong
post Aug 1 2012, 03:45 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 1 2012, 03:30 PM)
Thanks for the news... maybe the discount will be permanent in future?

Noted that when purchasing online, there is a selection on the agent code, and "NONE" can be selected. Maybe in future, more discounts can be given when no agent code is selected. If the commission is 1.75% for EPF investment, the online charge should be 1.25%...

It will be great if the online service is directly linked to EPF, no more filling in forms... have to go through several forms in my last purchase to get the thumb-print right.

-------------------

btw. the PMO is reputed to be fool-proof, maybe try whether you can change the epf fund from 're-invest'?

I bloody wish (EPF forms no more and all online) but someone's palms must be heavily greased for that to happen i think tongue.gif

As for the lower service charges when / if selecting "NONE" for online transaction's agent, ooo nice and can be done IF PM has the nuts to withstand the war cries of sales agents (ie. no value add flers).

Both the above still wishful thinking only heheh.

Ooo yeah, i've tried before, screwing around with PMO. Nope, can't change "reinvest" to "payout" sweat.gif
Yes yes - i had similar ideas brows.gif
j.passing.by
post Aug 1 2012, 03:59 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 03:45 PM)
I bloody wish (EPF forms no more and all online) but someone's palms must be heavily greased for that to happen i think tongue.gif

As for the lower service charges when / if selecting "NONE" for online transaction's agent, ooo nice and can be done IF PM has the nuts to withstand the war cries of sales agents (ie. no value add flers).

Both the above still wishful thinking only heheh.

Ooo yeah, i've tried before, screwing around with PMO. Nope, can't change "reinvest" to "payout"  sweat.gif
Yes yes - i had similar ideas  brows.gif
Not too wishful thinking on the lower charges... just spreading the idea at every opportunity... and market forces will eventually prevail. biggrin.gif

If "NONE" is selected, no agent will get the service charge either...

kparam77
post Aug 1 2012, 04:13 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 1 2012, 03:59 PM)
Not too wishful thinking on the lower charges... just spreading the idea at every opportunity... and market forces will eventually prevail.  biggrin.gif

If "NONE" is selected, no agent will get the service charge either...
the SC will goes to company.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 1 2012, 04:20 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 1 2012, 04:13 PM)
Yeah, that is like cutting off the nose to spite the face tongue.gif
j.passing.by
post Aug 1 2012, 05:39 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 1 2012, 04:13 PM)
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 04:20 PM)
Yeah, that is like cutting off the nose to spite the face tongue.gif
No, no, don't get me wrong... am not anti-agent, just telling the truth as it lays.... if "NONE" is selected, whether lower charges or not, no agent will get the service charge. If the agent code can be manually filled in, will be happy to fill in your agent codes.

I also invest in PB series; and went to the nearest branch or most convenient branch with easy parking previously; and now, the name of the agent in the online service appears as "PBB"; and it appears 3 times in the selection. rclxub.gif Previously in the statements, the agent's name was shown, now just "PBB".... So I do think something will change in the near future. And maybe the online campaign is sort of a testing ground.

(No, I don't think all the 3 PBB agents had resigned, as the latest purchase was last month.)

If the service charge is higher, and other fund houses are more attractive, a smart investor would know where to invest. Am not disputing whether a UTC deserves the fee or not, but whether PM will get the business. This is what I meant by "market forces".

Cheers. Happy Investing.

127 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 >Top

0.0202sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:55 PM