135 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

Dinosore
post Jan 17 2012, 03:50 PM

159 posts

Anyone has glosso for sale or give for free before it goes to dustbin? Need around 2 - 3 palm size.
CloudDave
post Jan 17 2012, 04:27 PM

174 posts

Hey guys, I just semi-finished my plastic plant tank after some grueling work. It's a huge 6 x 2.5 x 2.5 feet tank and quite hard to fill properly thanks to the huge vertical space. I needed to find something that looked like roots. Had to make do with weighted tree branches, old ones of course.

Meanwhile, the huge driftwood with the rocks on it is still annoyingly floating. I wonder how long something big like that will take to sink. Any suggestions or should I weigh it down? No fishes yet as I want to run it for a week or more to improve water quality. What do you guys think of the design? Any suggestions or constructive criticism most welcome!

Meanwhile, I am looking for a reputable shop anywhere in Malaysia that can get me better looking plastic plants since the ones I have are kinda short, I wonder if there are taller ones? As well as fake hollow rocks to spice up the place a little. Any help guys?

PS: Sorry for my bad photos, low quality camera here.
http://www.myaquariumclub.com/my-new-280-g...ete-803228.html

usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 04:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Dinosore @ Jan 17 2012, 03:50 PM)
Anyone has glosso for sale or give for free before it goes to dustbin? Need around 2 - 3 palm size.
you should get it quite easy.... i think so many people having glosso in their tank (just not me.. i hate it).
btw, glosso at shop also very cheap nowadays... and they so far never runs out of stock.

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jan 17 2012, 04:27 PM)
Hey guys, I just semi-finished my plastic plant tank after some grueling work. It's a huge 6 x 2.5 x 2.5 feet tank and quite hard to fill properly thanks to the huge vertical space. I needed to find something that looked like roots. Had to make do with weighted tree branches, old ones of course.

Meanwhile, the huge driftwood with the rocks on it is still annoyingly floating. I wonder how long something big like that will take to sink. Any suggestions or should I weigh it down? No fishes yet as I want to run it for a week or more to improve water quality. What do you guys think of the design? Any suggestions or constructive criticism most welcome!

Meanwhile, I am looking for a reputable shop anywhere in Malaysia that can get me better looking plastic plants since the ones I have are kinda short, I wonder if there are taller ones? As well as fake hollow rocks to spice up the place a little. Any help guys?

PS: Sorry for my bad photos, low quality camera here. 
http://www.myaquariumclub.com/my-new-280-g...ete-803228.html
- err.. what do u mean by 'plastic plant tank'? means all artificial plants in there? no live plants?

- for the wood, u should have soaked it earlier before u setup ur tank. for now, the most u could do if you want to let it in the tank is anchor it with more 'heavier' rocks.
those river stone for sure will not hold the wood from floating. heh... buy some aquascaping rocks, then tie the wood to the rock or vice versa. by time, it will submerged without need to tie anymore.

- comments, dunno what to comment except the wood is SOO BIG!!! but it's 6ft tank anyway.
if u want more woods, go to Natural Aquatic World at Subang. They have the wood in the size suitable for ur tank and 'branchy' as u wanted. Below is the address.
CODE
No. 17, Jalan SS19/6,
47500 Subang Jaya,
Selangor Darul Ehsan,
Malaysia.
Tel & Fax: +603 5633 1368

- reputable shop for plastic plants? why u need a reputable shop for it? just find a shop... LOL! but to have longer version? hurm... i dont know. never looked for artificial plants anyway.
maybe u could try to buy those artificial plant from flowershop then glue a stone on it, then put in ur tank. at least those shop got sell 'long' grass.

CloudDave
post Jan 17 2012, 04:49 PM

174 posts

- reputable shop for plastic plants? why u need a reputable shop for it? just find a shop... LOL! but to have longer version? hurm... i dont know. never looked for artificial plants anyway.
maybe u could try to buy those artificial plant from flowershop then glue a stone on it, then put in ur tank. at least those shop got sell 'long' grass.
Reputable since I don't plan to travel too far, I'm currently in Taiping and the selection here is absolutely horrible. If I wanna get anything it's probably by post. Meanwhile I have tried asking about plastic plants in flowershop but apparently the plastic there is bad and will rot in a watery environment. Or so that's what they claim. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by CloudDave: Jan 17 2012, 04:50 PM
Shoot@M3
post Jan 17 2012, 09:04 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hey i have some question about fish food
my tk2 tetra, congo tetra and german ram color kind of not shining out
my question is
does getting those better quality fish food (some says enhancing color etc) will really bring out the colors of the fish? or is it just hoax to bring ppl to buy the products?

if it's really true can bring out the colors of fish, can someone recommend me some for my tetras, barbs and ram?

thx smile.gif
naoki666
post Jan 18 2012, 12:15 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 16 2012, 08:29 AM)
provide more hideouts for your shrimps.
i have problem that shrimps killing guppies. lol
Haha the problem is the java moss in my tank is growing like snail, might be due to low lighting. But it shouldn't be any problem because i heard java doesn't require much light. blink.gif ... Having CO2 and some soil, should be any problem. Just recently got "white algae" outbreak, thought it was snail eggs but nothing hatch and the white algae just grow bigger and bigger if untouch. Oto and shrimp don't even touch it, not sure what it is but i think the plants don't like it because some plant grow slower or no new shoot around the white algae patch...

Added on January 18, 2012, 12:26 am
QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jan 17 2012, 04:49 PM)
Reputable since I don't plan to travel too far, I'm currently in Taiping and the selection here is absolutely horrible. If I wanna get anything it's probably by post. Meanwhile I have tried asking about plastic plants in flowershop but apparently the plastic there is bad and will rot in a watery environment. Or so that's what they claim. tongue.gif
Taiping... if for me i'll just go place that looks like lake or water ponding place, you might find some wild plant in the water.. got my fish from abandon lake. When going to those places try go in group, scare unwanted things might happen, just be careful.. I heard from my brother in law he got a lot of those Egeria Densa or some call Anacharis. It is free and if rotten you can just feed to cichlids, hehehe. Just wash it before putting it into your aquarium, might have a lot of unwanted object or creature, especially nymph.....

This post has been edited by naoki666: Jan 18 2012, 12:28 AM
DecemberRose
post Jan 18 2012, 04:44 AM

67 posts

Hey bro,i'm from taiping too...Why dont you get a soil and plant real plant biggrin.gif.
Maybe i can give you some moss after i trim XD. Btw do you bought those DW at Taiping?Look nice for me
surfsmurf
post Jan 18 2012, 09:11 AM

101 posts

i found some moss in my garden..can it be used in planted tank ?
weijie
post Jan 18 2012, 09:20 AM

18 posts

why having plastic / artificial plants? they will become black and start losing color in no time.
you wont go for any fake plants once you seen real planted tanks, huhu.
ageh84
post Jan 18 2012, 09:30 AM

211 posts

cry.gif

Just came back from africa, go back home and saw half of my planted become black color.
All fish died left one only.
huhuh cry.gif

usermode
post Jan 18 2012, 09:45 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:30 AM)
cry.gif

Just came back from africa, go back home and saw half of my planted become black color.
All fish died left one only.
huhuh  cry.gif
wah.. so sorry to hear that.... how long have u been in africa? got baring anything for ur tank from savannah? tongue.gif
ProX
post Jan 18 2012, 09:46 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jan 17 2012, 09:04 PM)
hey i have some question about fish food
my tk2 tetra, congo tetra and german ram color kind of not shining out
my question is
does getting those better quality fish food (some says enhancing color etc) will really bring out the colors of the fish? or is it just hoax to bring ppl to buy the products?

if it's really true can bring out the colors of fish, can someone recommend me some for my tetras, barbs and ram?

thx smile.gif
Yes it will. However, food alone is not the only key factor to having healthy and beautiful coloration. As simple as it may sounds, you will need to take care of water parameter and ecosystem in the tank too. Good quality fish food is packed with nutrition, won't foul your water and require less feeding.

It can last you very long if you feed carefully and moderately. Usually mine last over a year and expire before I finish.

Added on January 18, 2012, 9:48 am
QUOTE(surfsmurf @ Jan 18 2012, 09:11 AM)
i found some moss in my garden..can it be used in planted tank ?
Any pic? Some can ie Singapore moss.

This post has been edited by ProX: Jan 18 2012, 09:48 AM
ageh84
post Jan 18 2012, 09:49 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jan 18 2012, 09:45 AM)
wah.. so sorry to hear that.... how long have u been in africa? got baring anything for ur tank from savannah?  tongue.gif
been there for work, sometime 1 months but this time just for 10 days. my wife so lazy to take care my aquarium. sigh.
i found new soil... gajah poooop!
hahah
cry.gif cry.gif my planted..
CloudDave
post Jan 18 2012, 10:05 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 18 2012, 09:20 AM)
why having plastic / artificial plants? they will become black and start losing color in no time.
you wont go for any fake plants once you seen real planted tanks, huhu.
Using artificial plants to lessen the maintenance. I've been fed by many horror stories about live plants dieing all the time. Also, for such a big tank, I'd need almost 2k just to setup C02 and other stuff for a proper running tank. Am running on 1k budget and below and that's not even counting the fish. Also, if I happen to go on holiday I don't want my plants and fish to die en mass like the poster above. Sorry bout that. tongue.gif Hehehe.
usermode
post Jan 18 2012, 10:39 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:49 AM)
been there for work, sometime 1 months but this time just for 10 days. my wife so lazy to take care my aquarium. sigh.
i found new soil... gajah poooop!
hahah 
cry.gif  cry.gif  my planted..
haiz.. same here. i cant trust anyone in my house to take care of my tank. they'll just leave it like that with excuse "im afraid/dunno how to touch ur tank" even after i gave the schedule. no need my tank la, even my simple plants in pot also no one wanna help take care like pandan and cili api. haiz..!! rclxub.gif just help pour water only... people need to know how important to make earth green. sweat.gif

is all ur plants melted? no chance to revive?
Shoot@M3
post Jan 18 2012, 11:13 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Ic, hey thx for that info.
will upgrade the food later on. any advice as to which I should get? say the ingredients should contain? crude protein 45% above? shrimp ingredient included?

been to 8 LFS here and none of them sell shrimp/prawn for fish food...
got only see fire shrimp, cherry and yamato/oto shrimp. oto alone is already RM3 each here and that's just how hard it's to get stuff here in KK, Sabah..

i'll search more on water parameters and ecosystem optimum for the fish then

thx smile.gif
QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 18 2012, 09:46 AM)
Yes it will. However, food alone is not the only key factor to having healthy and beautiful coloration. As simple as it may sounds, you will need to take care of water parameter and ecosystem in the tank too. Good quality fish food is packed with nutrition, won't foul your water and require less feeding.

It can last you very long if you feed carefully and moderately. Usually mine last over a year and expire before I finish.

Added on January 18, 2012, 9:48 am

Any pic? Some can ie Singapore moss.
yweising
post Jan 18 2012, 11:24 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jan 18 2012, 10:39 AM)
haiz.. same here. i cant trust anyone in my house to take care of my tank. they'll just leave it like that with excuse "im afraid/dunno how to touch ur tank" even after i gave the schedule. no need my tank la, even my simple plants in pot also no one wanna help take care like pandan and cili api. haiz..!!  rclxub.gif  just help pour water only... people need to know how important to make earth green.  sweat.gif

haha...i m still finding the way to keep my shrimps alive after my 1 week balik kampung holiday...do u hv any suggestion? icon_question.gif
weijie
post Jan 18 2012, 11:34 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jan 18 2012, 10:05 AM)
Using artificial plants to lessen the maintenance. I've been fed by many horror stories about live plants dieing all the time. Also, for such a big tank, I'd need almost 2k just to setup C02 and other stuff for a proper running tank. Am running on 1k budget and below and that's not even counting the fish. Also, if I happen to go on holiday I don't want my plants and fish to die en mass like the poster above. Sorry bout that. tongue.gif Hehehe.
QUOTE(usermode @ Jan 18 2012, 10:39 AM)
haiz.. same here. i cant trust anyone in my house to take care of my tank. they'll just leave it like that with excuse "im afraid/dunno how to touch ur tank" even after i gave the schedule. no need my tank la, even my simple plants in pot also no one wanna help take care like pandan and cili api. haiz..!!  rclxub.gif  just help pour water only... people need to know how important to make earth green.  sweat.gif

IMHO, artificial plants need more maintenance. I been keeping fish + artificial plant,during my secondary school time (10years ago).
Artificial plants are very nice when you first brought it, but soon or later, algae will start growing on fake leaves and stems. you would need to take them out and clean it every week. That's where i gave up last time tongue.gif

My 3feet and 2feet aquarium is fully automated system. Lol.
Complete with solenoid, electrical timer, automatic food timer. I can leave home for about 10days without worry about it at all.
Unfortunately, problem is nobody help me to trim rotala, my tank will evolve into jungle whenever i go trip.
I only need to find someone to help top up water once every 3days only. hehehhe

QUOTE(yweising @ Jan 18 2012, 11:24 AM)
haha...i m still finding the way to keep my shrimps alive after my 1 week balik kampung holiday...do u hv any suggestion?  icon_question.gif
food timer, cost about Rm35 at jalan pasar.
cheap and easy way to feed especially lazy ppl like me !
CloudDave
post Jan 18 2012, 11:35 AM

174 posts

Meanwhile guys, my tank is very big and I kinda have a problem. My sand substrate is rather shifty and I am worried bigger fishes will uproot the fake plants. So I plan to keep only small ones like tetras, barbs and corydoras. However, with such a huge tank the problem would be algae.

I plan only to use those small golden plecos. Will say 6 or 7 of them be enough to keep my tank moderately clean?
weijie
post Jan 18 2012, 11:38 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jan 18 2012, 11:35 AM)
Meanwhile guys, my tank is very big and I kinda have a problem. My sand substrate is rather shifty and I am worried bigger fishes will uproot the fake plants. So I plan to keep only small ones like tetras, barbs and corydoras. However, with such a huge tank the problem would be algae.

I plan only to use those small golden plecos. Will say 6 or 7 of them be enough to keep my tank moderately clean?
since artificial plants doesnt have any roots, maybe you should tie them with rock first before buried them into sand.
tetras would be good idea if you want schooling fishes. cory does dig hoses and uproot plants.
small golden plecos will clean green spot algae that grow on glass. i dont think they will go for harder algae such as BBA or hair algae etc.

135 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.5533sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:20 PM