4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

usermode
post Jan 12 2012, 02:15 PM

25 posts

yosh peopleeeeee..!!! hehe..

I'm looking for some weeping moss and spiky moss.
Anyone have it for sale/give (weeping moss, desperately)?
I dont really need so much. Half palm each would be more than sufficient.
I can COD at anytime this Saturday (PJ/Kajang/Bangi area or any area you wanted to if i can find the place).

Also at the same time I'm giving away some Java moss. I have 2 patches of them around 5'x4' size.
No postage, sorry since I'm only giving it out FOC and it's just Java Moss. LOL!!
Can COD at PJ/Kajang/Bangi area if anyone wanted.
usermode
post Jan 12 2012, 04:36 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Pacman88 @ Jan 12 2012, 04:16 PM)
My tank attack by floating algae (green water). I had been using the uv light 9w for almost 6 days but the water still cloudy. Any best solution for green water?
UV light usually would helps. But the light itself must be able to penetrate the water depths. I don't just use light for my tank if been bloomed with 'green water'. I always have my UV HOB Filter for that case so the water will flow through the UV lights closely.

Or another way, 'blackout'. hehehe... if u have HC, be ready with it to melt if they're 'weak'. LOL!...

or, 100% WC. superbly ma fan job... take out ur fishes and stuff but it still doesnt guarantee the removal of green water but the success rate still quite high. But with this, there's a chance for green water to come back again sooner or later. *touch wood*

the bottom line is, STOP fertilize ur tank with anything that contains iron.

This post has been edited by usermode: Jan 12 2012, 05:52 PM
usermode
post Jan 13 2012, 01:16 AM

25 posts

prox, that bba remover might comes in handy once a while.... when excel failed! LOL!!! my most hated algae....
usermode
post Jan 13 2012, 11:23 AM

25 posts

prox, where did u get those? might be interested to have the BBA remover just in case. heh..
usermode
post Jan 13 2012, 04:13 PM

25 posts

oh... order thru u ah? hehe.. ok la. can also... but not now la. hehehe.. my tank is still algae free (for the moment... crossfingers) at least. tongue.gif maybe next month after CNY lor.. spare a bottle for me for next month.

heh... btw, have u tested it personally? how efficient it is? does this brand have anything to prevent (not stopping) GSA as well?
usermode
post Jan 14 2012, 12:56 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 13 2012, 05:08 PM)
I trust algae destroyer will be able to take care of normal algae (GDA/GSA/Hair Algae..etc). Tough algae like BBA require BBA Remover.

I don't have any algae in my tank to test it out so I will get a friend to try it. I have been using BW Growth to surpress algae and it seems working. My tank is free of algae (except very minor gda) for the past 1 year.

Have some faith.

- I think im gonna change my mind. do u still have the snail killer? LOL!!! i might be needing that after CNY instead.

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 13 2012, 09:31 PM)
hihi,

so long din update myself here.

I need sifu advise here.

I plan to buy lily. But which brand is better and is market? I am not aiming for branding, bt for long term ussage, and not expensive. I am usinf Taiyo cf1200 for my 2 feet tank. Where to buy a cheap lily pipe?
(i dont know which size to buy..still very new)

Where to get a cheap and nice driftwood? EastAqua v expensive

Please advise ler..

if got any seller here, pm me ya.

tq a lot ^^
lily pipe... hurm, you can go for CADE as for medium range (low end one.... i never see any lily pipe below RM100 anyway). CADE so far is quite okay in its pricing and doesnt make much difference in the water flow but of course got difference but slightly if you're comparing with higher end lily pipe like ADA. Anyway, if it;s not higher end, brand doesnt really matter actually IMO. just go for it if you can afford the price offered. the built still will not be as bad as the plastic cheapo green color lily and won't be as good as ADA.

size to buy, depends on your filter hose (and chiller hose if you have any). usually there'll be 2 size only. but if you;re unsure, cut the tip of your hose about 1 cm only, and bring it to shop and when buying the lily pipe, you can test if its fit. You can try 88 Petsmart near the new Murni restaurant at PJ. If i'm not mistaken, they have a slight promotion on their lily pipe currently.

Cheap and nice driftwood? err... no such thing. LOL!!! .. if it's cheap, it wont be nice and vice versa unless you bring your lucky charm when u go out for shopping. East Aqua price have no much difference with another shops if you're looking for the same type of wood (bogwood will be cheap.. but i dont think u want it). the price differs around RM1-3 bucks only because that's the market price.

My advise, for long term... starting from now, u better find at least one LFS that have the most thing u ever needed, then stick with them as much as possible. get to know them and their staff (bosses better) and get close with them. then u might get "a little bit" cheaper price in future if they bring in new woods or any other stuff. if they got membership card, join! it does pays off ... tongue.gif

Or another suggestion, hunt the wood urself. go into swamp and cut them off urself. seriously... no kidding. u can get nice woods and FOC. just a lil bit effort. or, go to the seaside village and pray that someone got a nice driftwood as their collection for home decor and ask them to sell to you. hahahaha...!!! and this one is no kidding either. i did this before... and got one SUPER BIG chump of branchy driftwood just for RM50 tongue.gif... just need to cut them by meself to make it smaller pieces. heh... it's still worth.

usermode
post Jan 15 2012, 01:31 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jan 14 2012, 01:54 PM)
@usemode,

Thanks a lot for your fruitful answer. I guess i will have to go forward with ADA brand already.

I wonder, Jalan Pasar aquarium shop really cheaper in price compared to 88 and EAqua?

Added on January 14, 2012, 2:36 pmby the way,

any1 knows where to buy a cabinet/stand for 2feet tank? i put the tank on my heavy-duty table, but recently, i noticed a crack down there...so, temporary, i need to put on the floor~!

please advise ye~!
you're welcomed anytime smile.gif i love ADA.... but not the price tongue.gif for me, i usually opt for another brand if there's an option. LOL!!! I've no idea about Jalan Pasar. i never shop that before because idont know where it is actually. hahahaha.... (im n00b with KL road).

btw, i have an extra 2ft DIY cabinet still in good condition. but currently being used to put some 'stuffs' in it. LOL!!! i'll see if i have a place to put those, then i can sell it to you if you're interested.

QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 15 2012, 12:09 PM)
@usermode - No problem. Will keep for you until after cny. Just let me know when you need it. Very limited stock available smile.gif
thank you..!!! hehehe... spare 1 bottle is enuf. i've been manually killing em if i see em whenever i look at my tank. but for CNY break, i foresee the tank gonna get swarmed by it when i came back. duuhhh!!!! hate those snails.

usermode
post Jan 15 2012, 09:30 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jan 15 2012, 06:16 PM)
my tank keep on growing BBA, will it be filter dirty..Im using 2 sponge filter and it has not been change since very very long ago, almost reaching 1yr.

usually i just use toothbrush and scrub it.
BBA, the legendary algae hated by most aquascaper. hahahaha...!!! proX have a BBA Killer posted for sale recently. you might want to try it. actually, BBA would come and visit your tank if your tank is dirty. a dead spot in tank water flow also helps to increase the chances of its visits. unchanged filter media is good actually because you would need the beneficial bacteria that already been colonized in it, but make sure its clean as well (do NOT ever wash with tap water directly). try to change to HOB filter instead of sponge filter but use the same 'sponge' from your current sponge filter. im assuming ur sponge filter is the one submersed in the tank rite?

QUOTE(friexs @ Jan 15 2012, 07:39 PM)
hi,
i plan to make a living room divider with a thin profile aqua tank inside it. issit posible? planning to make it see thru from both side. in my mind, 3 ft long X 2ft height and 1ft width. anything that should come to consideration? what the best thickness of the glasses?
- good for you.... not many having that kind of budget. heh... yes it's possible. as a devider or not, it'll be around the same thing to consider.... place to put ur lightings, hoses, filters, etc. also a scape that is nice from both side will be a challenging one. good luck with the design.

2ft height, isnt that too high for ur hands to reach to the bottom? do consider this as well for maintenance purpose. if it's okay, then go for it. also you might need a good lighting to penetrate that depth especially if u planning to have foreground plants like HC and glosso, etc. MH would be good but pricey.

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jan 15 2012, 09:05 PM)
Can't
Live plant needs soil. I had this question before until i asked the LFS about it smile.gif
unless you can find others like marimo (cladophora moss ball but more like algae than plant!) which don't require soil but may be better with running water & filtration or best with CO2

Btw, I don't have plants in my aquarium. Can ppl like me who don't plant but do have fish pet join in here? Cos nowadays all the topics are mostly on planted aquarium. What happen to ppl like me who just have an aquarium with river stones eh?  cry.gif
- actually, still possible to have live plants with no soils at all. but plant choice would be very limited. the growth rate wont be as fast and the health of the plant might not be a its best but still possible to thrive. u can have java fern (tied to the one rock mentioned), or can have some moss like java moss tied to the stone to being used as the tank floor carpet.

btw, yes.. u can come here as well. why not? LOL!!... planted tank or not, still will have fishes/faunas in it. just.. less dicussions about it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by usermode: Jan 15 2012, 09:31 PM
usermode
post Jan 16 2012, 12:18 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(desmond @ Jan 15 2012, 11:35 PM)
that mean u on for 4 hours the light for 2 weeks?? then all gone arh?? got co2?? wah i wan try try le!! thanks thanks xD
- GSA or green algae bloom usually comes due to high lights that isnt balanced with your co2 (at least) levels. they'll benefit on the excess lights when ur plants cant used it due to insufficient co2 in ur water. get ur lighting and co2 back on track. usually people will reduce their lighting/photo-period as an easy exits. but if u still having low co2 levels, sooner or later they might come back again once u put ur lighting back to normal. no matter what, it wont goes off in a day or two unless u use UV filter/lights (yes it's possible with these.. i've tried myself).

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jan 16 2012, 12:00 AM)
usermode: im using eheim HOB, it come with 1 carbon filter + 1 sponge filter, I also used substrat pro in it too, I dont think my water is dirty..but some how I able to kill some BBA with excel, but new BBA is coming back..

proX selling that product is expensive..just thinking to rescape again, boring with current scape already..
- not the water dirty... but the tank. BBA, yes... spot treatment with excel and dun give up use ur finger to pick as much as u can also. hu hu hu...!!! if they keep coming at the same place, then u might want to consider that place. either the water circulation is dead on that spot, or for some weird reason BBA love that DW/stone, so throw it away. if it's on leaf, just trim off the leaf. if it appears on random spots, trim ur plants. remove any old leaf/unhealthy leaf. these kind of leaf will be BBA magnet usually (also make ur tank looks ugly as well). just remove em... biggrin.gif

but really.. BBA is usually one tough algae. even i hate em (the most algae i super damn hate)... so better prevent them before they start coming.
usermode
post Jan 16 2012, 07:06 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 16 2012, 04:34 PM)
Any recommendation of planted tank shop to visit at Johor?
i am going there during CNY, any shop open on 3rd day of CNY?
i'll be in JB too during this CNY!!! hehehe.. but i doubt those shops are open even if i have recommendations tho.. *rolleyes*

QUOTE(yweising @ Jan 16 2012, 06:55 PM)
[attachmentid=2643301]
what snail is this? good or bad "guy"?
that kind of snail, erm... it's not as bad as those crazy-plant-following snails. but i dont like this one as well in my tank. in my experience, they dont breed as fast. but still, it's a weird one. i leave em alive in my tank if i just see one or two. could be some additional snails for me in there for the fun factor to look at. but if too much, i'll just crush em and my fishes and shrimps would be happy to feast on it. LOL!!!
usermode
post Jan 16 2012, 09:56 PM

25 posts

i dont know much... just a few johore LFS. should contact Sim. he should know better. but i bet he'll be out of town also. hahaha...!!! and not to forget that those LFS might not be opened as well. duh...!!!

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 16 2012, 09:49 PM)
wow lets come out yc. hehehe
maybe you guys can bring me walk around johor fish shop smile.gif
usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 12:11 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jan 16 2012, 10:44 PM)
hi there, i'm having problem with my tank being too small, and crowded so look like very messy.

Now thinking to get a new tank about 1.5ft size, any idea roughly how much it will be? thank you so much >"<

btw, having a 2ft tank to let go as it is a bit too big for my guppy and neon >"<
just about time and ur lucky day.... but before that, may i know ur 2ft tank spec? the thickness of the glass? and also if the tank have bracings? is the tank have any leakage?
if all the answer just fit as what i wanted, i have 1.5ft tank INCLUDING cabinet and im ready to just swap with u for that 2ft tank. my reason is just because i need a 2ft tank and i dont need my 1.5ft tank anymore and i dont want to keep it either for extra space smile.gif
usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 10:34 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Jan 17 2012, 06:59 AM)
urm, i'm not too sure about the spec but i'm very sure it's not leaking at all!!! I'll double check everything for you and let you know by today cos my partner knows more about it and i only know how to put things inside tongue.gif

btw, where's your location? i'm from subang o  sweat.gif
- heh.. already replied your PM. let's continue there instead ya.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 17 2012, 09:03 AM)
duh ~
next time then. anyway i am going SG planted tank shops ! yooohoooo ~
YC is still okay ma... just 'lawatan sambil belajar' to LFS, that part... erm, not sure if there's any LFS open.

- Anyway, anyone have Rotala sp Green that could share? hahahaha...!!! im buying also nvm. those who have, trim abit la urs and gimme the cuttings tongue.gif

usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 12:53 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 17 2012, 12:37 PM)
buy me a cup of teh tarik, i trim some and bring over to johor during CNY. hehehe
walao... since u are also in selangor ma. why dont u trim tonight and give to me tomorrow and i buy u 2 cup of teh tarik? LOL!!!! im at PJ/bangi currently and im cool to drop down to ur place (even i dont know euquene park).
if give to me at Johor, i need to keep it for one week before come back to my house in here to be able to put them in my tank. err... kesian the rotala >_< i rather not to take it there.
usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 02:13 PM

25 posts

argkhh.... last sunday? that's the time when i decided to have it in my tank!!! LOL!!!!! why i didnt know it earlier. hadui...

well, there's no rush in everything always biggrin.gif but im dropping by at EA MV today. today is plant restocking day for almsot all LFS in selangor. ho ho ho!!! im gonan see if they have some rotala and i might buy it. else, i'll just wait for urs after CNY ...

and i know u have lot of mosses too. LOL!!! maybe can curi some if i come to your house. hahahahaha!! tongue.gif
usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 03:07 PM

25 posts

hehe... one thing about me, im a shopping kaki (until pokkai liao). so i know which LFS restocking what and when usually. hahahaha...!!! but this week, ya... i agree with u due to CNY, some low-traffic LFS might not taking anything. Ah Yee also didnt take so much this week. that's why im targetting for MV since they have quite a traffic there.... and i wonder if they gonna close long for CNY anyway since they still have malay workers too.

whatever it is, im going there after work today!!! w00t!!! (i might buy nothing other than rotala... but who knows? bring money ngam-ngam only. duh!)
usermode
post Jan 17 2012, 04:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Dinosore @ Jan 17 2012, 03:50 PM)
Anyone has glosso for sale or give for free before it goes to dustbin? Need around 2 - 3 palm size.
you should get it quite easy.... i think so many people having glosso in their tank (just not me.. i hate it).
btw, glosso at shop also very cheap nowadays... and they so far never runs out of stock.

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jan 17 2012, 04:27 PM)
Hey guys, I just semi-finished my plastic plant tank after some grueling work. It's a huge 6 x 2.5 x 2.5 feet tank and quite hard to fill properly thanks to the huge vertical space. I needed to find something that looked like roots. Had to make do with weighted tree branches, old ones of course.

Meanwhile, the huge driftwood with the rocks on it is still annoyingly floating. I wonder how long something big like that will take to sink. Any suggestions or should I weigh it down? No fishes yet as I want to run it for a week or more to improve water quality. What do you guys think of the design? Any suggestions or constructive criticism most welcome!

Meanwhile, I am looking for a reputable shop anywhere in Malaysia that can get me better looking plastic plants since the ones I have are kinda short, I wonder if there are taller ones? As well as fake hollow rocks to spice up the place a little. Any help guys?

PS: Sorry for my bad photos, low quality camera here. 
http://www.myaquariumclub.com/my-new-280-g...ete-803228.html
- err.. what do u mean by 'plastic plant tank'? means all artificial plants in there? no live plants?

- for the wood, u should have soaked it earlier before u setup ur tank. for now, the most u could do if you want to let it in the tank is anchor it with more 'heavier' rocks.
those river stone for sure will not hold the wood from floating. heh... buy some aquascaping rocks, then tie the wood to the rock or vice versa. by time, it will submerged without need to tie anymore.

- comments, dunno what to comment except the wood is SOO BIG!!! but it's 6ft tank anyway.
if u want more woods, go to Natural Aquatic World at Subang. They have the wood in the size suitable for ur tank and 'branchy' as u wanted. Below is the address.
CODE
No. 17, Jalan SS19/6,
47500 Subang Jaya,
Selangor Darul Ehsan,
Malaysia.
Tel & Fax: +603 5633 1368

- reputable shop for plastic plants? why u need a reputable shop for it? just find a shop... LOL! but to have longer version? hurm... i dont know. never looked for artificial plants anyway.
maybe u could try to buy those artificial plant from flowershop then glue a stone on it, then put in ur tank. at least those shop got sell 'long' grass.

usermode
post Jan 18 2012, 09:45 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:30 AM)
cry.gif

Just came back from africa, go back home and saw half of my planted become black color.
All fish died left one only.
huhuh  cry.gif
wah.. so sorry to hear that.... how long have u been in africa? got baring anything for ur tank from savannah? tongue.gif
usermode
post Jan 18 2012, 10:39 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:49 AM)
been there for work, sometime 1 months but this time just for 10 days. my wife so lazy to take care my aquarium. sigh.
i found new soil... gajah poooop!
hahah 
cry.gif  cry.gif  my planted..
haiz.. same here. i cant trust anyone in my house to take care of my tank. they'll just leave it like that with excuse "im afraid/dunno how to touch ur tank" even after i gave the schedule. no need my tank la, even my simple plants in pot also no one wanna help take care like pandan and cili api. haiz..!! rclxub.gif just help pour water only... people need to know how important to make earth green. sweat.gif

is all ur plants melted? no chance to revive?
usermode
post Jan 18 2012, 12:04 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 18 2012, 11:34 AM)
My 3feet and 2feet aquarium is fully automated system. Lol.
Complete with solenoid, electrical timer, automatic food timer. I can leave home for about 10days without worry about it at all.
Unfortunately, problem is nobody help me to trim rotala, my tank will evolve into jungle whenever i go trip.
I only need to find someone to help top up water once every 3days only. hehehhe
food timer, cost about Rm35 at jalan pasar.
cheap and easy way to feed especially lazy ppl like me !
heh, i got timer too. but no food timer. >_< well... for a week, so far i never had a fish died starving at least so far. the only thing is, POTASSIUM!!!!!!!!!!!! heh, i dont know but usually i just leave my tank just like that since no one gonna take care of it anyway and so far nothing been wrong so far even without potassium (shorter photoperiod). i dun have any problem to topup water also since my water evaporation rate is damn slow unlike using fan. just, afraid of algae if it occured anytime during my absence and when i came back... walla!! algae took over the tank already (crossfingers.. so far never happened)

QUOTE(yweising @ Jan 18 2012, 11:24 AM)
haha...i m still finding the way to keep my shrimps alive after my 1 week balik kampung holiday...do u hv any suggestion?  icon_question.gif
hurm, i dun know about CRS but my other shrimps never die also for one week holiday previously. they wont get the best buffet of course, but the tank usually have something for them to much on naturally.... oh, and as long no electrical blackout happened during my away time, i wouldnt worry so much. biggrin.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0441sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:35 AM