Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

yweising
post Dec 1 2011, 08:02 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Dec 1 2011, 05:14 PM)
just went to a shop that's sell empty container for commercial used (shampoo)...
thought that with a pump head attach to the seachem 500ml bottle...
I dun have to dirty/wet my hands when dosing...
so bought 3 500ml bottle and 2 pump head...

wah...do you know how xpansive the head is... ohmy.gif
rm2.10 for the head only...

but if I buy the bottle with pump head...rm2.50

when pay only know... doh.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif
so still wan to sell the extra seachem biggrin.gif
yweising
post Dec 2 2011, 10:05 PM

658 posts

guys, what can i do when watching the shrimp dying? icon_question.gif
yweising
post Dec 2 2011, 10:50 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(z8net @ Dec 2 2011, 10:10 PM)
check your water parameters... what kind of shrimp?
how to check? orange in colour. forgot what name d tongue.gif

Added on December 2, 2011, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(Bishop @ Dec 2 2011, 10:33 PM)
Pray for them? blush.gif
yup...praying n clearing the dead shrimp doh.gif

This post has been edited by yweising: Dec 2 2011, 10:53 PM
yweising
post Dec 2 2011, 11:26 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(z8net @ Dec 2 2011, 11:08 PM)
get water parameter test kit... different kind of fauna requires specific water parameters...
got picture or any brand name suggestion?
yweising
post Dec 7 2011, 10:41 PM

658 posts

is that safe to keep the golden algae eater with baby shrimp? its the only fish in my 25cm small tank,a few plant in the tank.
yweising
post Dec 19 2011, 01:51 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Dec 19 2011, 01:06 PM)
lol of course not.
@.@ how to count 1000 shrimps while they keep moving.

sudosandwich:
now i got too many shirmplets swimming around. thats why i wanted to get no planaria ASAP before they kill my babies.
i found 1 in my tank also sweat.gif
will it split?
yweising
post Jan 16 2012, 11:40 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 16 2012, 09:51 AM)
BBA usually grow because lack of CO2 especially in high flow area. Are you using any co2 injection? If yes, is it DIY or cylinder type?

I won't say that G Series - BBA Remover is cheap but value for money. RM90-100 for a product that can last you over a year.

I have tested Snail Killer (I slightly overdose) and snails are disappearing. I usually have to pick up snails on the glass but none appeared for the last 2 days. I shall monitor further and update. Shrimps and fishes are doing alright. I am just sharing my experience and product that hopefully can benefit planted kaki out there and widen our product options rather than stuck to few brands.
will the snail killer kill all kind of snail? mind to pm me the product with price? notworthy.gif
yweising
post Jan 16 2012, 06:55 PM

658 posts

what snail is this? good or bad "guy"?
yweising
post Jan 18 2012, 11:24 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jan 18 2012, 10:39 AM)
haiz.. same here. i cant trust anyone in my house to take care of my tank. they'll just leave it like that with excuse "im afraid/dunno how to touch ur tank" even after i gave the schedule. no need my tank la, even my simple plants in pot also no one wanna help take care like pandan and cili api. haiz..!!  rclxub.gif  just help pour water only... people need to know how important to make earth green.  sweat.gif

is all ur plants melted? no chance to revive?
haha...i m still finding the way to keep my shrimps alive after my 1 week balik kampung holiday...do u hv any suggestion? icon_question.gif
yweising
post Jan 18 2012, 11:59 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 18 2012, 11:34 AM)
food timer, cost about Rm35 at jalan pasar.
cheap and easy way to feed especially lazy ppl like me !
i saw a few brands, but not sure how much will it feed. but 1 things can confirm is the hole is big and my shrimp tank only 25cm, sure it will over feed. sweat.gif
yweising
post Jan 18 2012, 01:50 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jan 18 2012, 12:04 PM)
heh, i got timer too. but no food timer. >_< well... for a week, so far i never had a fish died starving at least so far. the only thing is, POTASSIUM!!!!!!!!!!!! heh, i dont know but usually i just leave my tank just like that since no one gonna take care of it anyway and so far nothing been wrong so far even without potassium (shorter photoperiod). i dun have any problem to topup water also since my water evaporation rate is damn slow unlike using fan. just, afraid of algae if it occured anytime during my absence and when i came back... walla!! algae took over the tank already (crossfingers.. so far never happened)
hurm, i dun know about CRS but my other shrimps never die also for one week holiday previously. they wont get the best buffet of course, but the tank usually have something for them to much on naturally.... oh, and as long no electrical blackout happened during my away time, i wouldnt worry so much. biggrin.gif
hopefully they wont kill their own shrimplets. my tank got snail problem, i dont think there is any leave over food for the shrimp. tongue.gif

any1 know what is that creatures mention in the video?

yweising
post Jan 18 2012, 02:45 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jan 18 2012, 02:06 PM)
- looks like water flea to me. i have those too sometimes in a matured tank ... but they usually stay at the bottom area and hardly visible. i usually leave them because it never got serious like snails.
- this might comes if your gravel dirty with fish poos which those fellas survives for it. most tank have this but usually it's hardly visible because they're in the gravel or sand unless ur tank is overpopulated with it.
- u cant totally remove them 100% tho, but to minimize it, make a big waterchange often and vacuum ur gravel as much as u can in between foreground plants leaf.
- fishes would use them as 'alternate' food source but they would ignore them if already being fed nicely. starve ur fish and they'll dig over these pest. hehehe...
w00t..!! tsunami!! "WOW.. It's raining food, fellas!!!!" - Fishes

hahahahahaha....!!! it's gonna be funny if that happens. LMAO!!! i dont know, i dont use auto-feeder is because i enjoy feeding my fishes every night. it's like playing with them.. like what u usually do with other type of pets (like dogs, cats, hedgie, etc) tongue.gif
omg..raining food shrimp happy me sakit hati cry.gif doh.gif coz the shrimp food so expensive!
yweising
post Jan 18 2012, 05:27 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 18 2012, 04:39 PM)
You can leave the shrimps without feeding for over a week but not fishes.

I am using various shrimp food..given them variety as I am testing out the product

Current brand/product i am using for:-
Fish
BW Staple S (day to day food for my fishes - Rainbow threadfin, Galaxy Rasboras, Pygmy Cory and Pseudomugil getrudae )
BW Pro Color - crush and feed together with Staple S from time to time (maybe once a week or twice if i can remember)
ADA AP-2 (sometimes just feed for fun cause it is quite old. Bought it like 1-2 yrs back)

Shrimp
BW Grow
BW Color
BW Spinach
CRS Haven protein food (CRS Haven is one of the LFS in Singapore and they market their own shrimp food).
Mosura Specialty CRS food (previously i keep CRS)
Mosura Excel (previously i keep CRS)
I feed very little and mix among the brand. My pygmy and fishes will nip on the food too especially Pygmy Cory and Oto.

I know it is a little crazy to have so many food but I think we need to give a little variety.

Wait till you keep marine fish..more food  rclxub.gif
wow...now i know got so many choices. btw, mind to list down the average market price for each of them?
yweising
post Jan 19 2012, 10:30 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(ProX @ Jan 19 2012, 10:01 AM)
weijie - it is possible. Stan and the gang did it with Ah Yee 3ft tank before for aquafair. Basically they drain out the water, transfer the tank to a wood platform and put it into a van. They move back the tank after aquafair and everything look alright to me.

Update:

G Series - Snail Killer has proven to be effective in killing snails without harming fishes/shrimps in the tank. Snails are disappearing in less than a week of using it. I didn't follow the recommended dosage because I am losing patience with so many snails crawling all over my tank. So far I have dose 2ml x 4 instead of dosing 2ml once or twice weekly. I did a large water change yesterday and dose another 2ml again.

Recommended for people that is having snails problem. I am literally skeptical at first but this product prove me wrong.  thumbup.gif

Note - Snails in my tank are Ramshorn. Size about 1-2mm.
hmm...seems like suit for my tank, but do u selling smaller pack? or sell some of yours to me? drool.gif
yweising
post Jan 19 2012, 12:30 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jan 19 2012, 12:21 PM)
if you have quite big aquarium, perhaps if you know anyone from a warehouse company, you can use this wood pallete used by forklifts. These things holds quite well too but it may be quite large in sizes so small vehicles like vans maybe can't fit. A truck would be possible

eg

http://www.exchange3d.com/3D-Model-of-fork.../prod_6123.html
wow..then the cost of moving the tank & acc. only will be a lot more higher than the cost of moving house sweat.gif
yweising
post Jan 28 2012, 11:24 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(mattw @ Jan 28 2012, 06:30 PM)
Aaarrgh... Have enough of DIY CO2 leakages..  Now have BBA in my nano tank.

Now considering to buy a reusable CO2 tank. Any idea where I can get CO2 refills in Penang Island?
a few lfs do provide the service smile.gif

This post has been edited by yweising: Jan 28 2012, 11:26 PM
yweising
post Feb 15 2012, 02:43 PM

658 posts

any1 knows where to buy the NO-PLANARIA?
yweising
post Feb 15 2012, 02:57 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Feb 15 2012, 02:45 PM)
try check NA subang smile.gif
sadly i m from penang cry.gif
yweising
post Mar 1 2012, 12:21 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Feb 29 2012, 11:28 PM)

nice pic! but inflow from lower level tank need more power. how can u match the water flow for in and out?
yweising
post Mar 6 2012, 03:32 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Mar 6 2012, 02:16 PM)
how do you make a 7inch height of soil from the back of aquarium?
we use lava rocks to create slope, and reduce the use of ADA soil.
This is an alternative way to save budget.

Added on March 6, 2012, 2:17 pm

yeps yeps. lava rocks are easy to handle and cheap compare to other stones that you get from LFS.
i think the another advantage for lava rocks is their light weight.
weijie, can riccia grow well in low tech tank?

0.0495sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:51 PM