124 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

TSbenny888
post Sep 1 2011, 09:58 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 1 2011, 09:44 AM)
u gotta be kidding me ....
where got so fast wan ...
which area r u from ?
Why not ?
Since day one, my GPS lockup on official stock rom till all the cook roms ( Litening, Villan, TK, Cognition, Modaco, Smaberg, Gingermod, etc ) I have tested my GPS lockup has always being very fast. These are the times - it is always like this and very consistent wherever I go in Msia and Spore

Google Maps, Papago X5 : 3 to 5 secs
Sygic Aura : Immediate to most 2 secs

And I DON"T use any other 3rd party apps to have quick fix. There is absolutely no need to use such apps. MY 3G is also always on 24/7. MY car is factory default tint, very light

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 1 2011, 09:59 AM
r47z
post Sep 1 2011, 10:02 AM

686 posts

@benny i remember u mentioned about a rom that does not required any root or insecure kernel. which rom is that again?
TSbenny888
post Sep 1 2011, 10:03 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yang90 @ Sep 1 2011, 09:55 AM)
Hi,I now found another screen problem,a big balck circle on the screen.
I really doubt with the quality of samsung mobile and mean of SUPER AMOLED PLUS screen.
The yellowish tint and black circle are obvious in grey background and u all can use this method to check.
This is very dissapointed.

Just go and ask for a replacement if you are so unhappy over it.
I must say mine is close to perfect; no yellowish tint, dead pixels or those slight grey spots
BTW where is your phone manufacture ? Look for it under the battery. Mine is Made in Korea. If stated just Made by Samsung - than don't know where is the source . Some has reported Made in China

Added on September 1, 2011, 10:05 am
QUOTE(r47z @ Sep 1 2011, 10:02 AM)
@benny i remember u mentioned about a rom that does not required any root or insecure kernel. which rom is that again?
Just flash Litening rom: It will give you auto root, install clockworkmod recovery, install a rom without wiping your phone. Try Litening ver 4.0 and below not v5 or 6 as these later versions has more issues/bugs than ver 4 below

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 1 2011, 10:05 AM
yang90
post Sep 1 2011, 10:05 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 1 2011, 10:03 AM)
I must say mine is close to perfect; no yellowish tint, dead pixels or those slight grey spots
BTW where is your phone manufacture ? Look for it under the battery. Mine is Made in Korea. If stated just Made by Samsung - than don't know where is the source . Some has  reported Made in China
soory bro,how to check where it made of?
Fallenangelz
post Sep 1 2011, 10:07 AM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

BTW where is your phone manufacture ? Look for it under the battery. Mine is Made in Korea. If stated just Made by Samsung - than don't know where is the source . Some has  reported Made in China
all SME sets are made by Samsung... which made the things even worse. most of the dead pixels and yellow tint complaints come from those SME set users (mayb becoz most of us are purchasing from SME, not AP). and this proves SME still got a lot to do to improve their quality standard doh.gif

Added on September 1, 2011, 10:08 am

QUOTE(yang90 @ Sep 1 2011, 10:05 AM)
soory bro,how to check where it made of?

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Fallenangelz: Sep 1 2011, 10:08 AM
TSbenny888
post Sep 1 2011, 10:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 1 2011, 08:22 AM)
Now trying SensatioN by Crysis with speedmod T26 (it comes with the rom). Using full wipe version.

Anyone having problem batch restoring with titanium backup pro? It is not working and have to restore 1 app at the time. Lucky i do not have much app. Must make complain to software developer.
I have been using Titanium Backup Pro for past 3 years, yet to come across such issue. Is it related to this cook rom - no idea as I have not tested this version . However my restores on all the cook roms I have tested ( inclusing my other Androids phones/tablets) is always good and never come across such issues. Why don't you post at the XDA thread of this Cyris rom to find out whether other users has such a problem
r47z
post Sep 1 2011, 10:11 AM

686 posts

Just flash Litening rom: It will give you auto root, install clockworkmod recovery, install a rom without wiping your phone. Try Litening ver 4.0 and below not v5 or 6 as these later versions has more issues/bugs than ver 4 below

[/quote]
i'm having issue with flashing. heimdall won't detect my phone on my mac. Odin is out of the question. I dun want to install parallel just to root my phone. it's sad to know that it's so difficult to do this. My old Desire could be done with rEVOked on OSX automatically. Any tips how do it get about it? I just want to remove all those bloatware on sgs2
TSbenny888
post Sep 1 2011, 10:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 1 2011, 10:07 AM)
all SME sets are made by Samsung... which made the things even worse. most of the dead pixels and yellow tint complaints come from those SME set users (mayb becoz most of us are purchasing from SME, not AP). and this proves SME still got a lot to do to improve their quality standard  doh.gif

Added on September 1, 2011, 10:08 am
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Mine is the first releases in May- UK set ( AP set ) - I believe is all Made in Korea
tenchi0205
post Sep 1 2011, 10:16 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 1 2011, 10:10 AM)
I have been using Titanium Backup Pro for past 3 years, yet to come across such issue. Is it related to this cook rom - no idea as I have not tested this version . However my restores on all the cook roms I have tested ( inclusing my other Androids phones/tablets)  is always good and never come across such issues. Why don't you post at the XDA thread of this Cyris rom to find out whether other users has such a problem
I also no problem using the Titanium Backup pro for 4years+...no failed me before nod.gif
yang90
post Sep 1 2011, 10:16 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 1 2011, 10:12 AM)
Mine is the first releases in May-  UK set ( AP set ) - I believe is all Made in Korea
ya,checked,just wrote made by SAMSUNG.the battery is made in korea,finish in vietnam

mean ap set better than SME.OMG
Lineage
post Sep 1 2011, 10:21 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 1 2011, 09:44 AM)
u gotta be kidding me ....
where got so fast wan ...
which area r u from ?
Lol..I'm not kidding..at first Benny told me it just takes few seconds to lock..but I don't believe..I go and try myself..I was like "WTF"..its damn fast..but I dont take snapshot..if you want I can post up later when I'm outside.. nod.gif

This is my snapshot previous..forgot what ROM sweat.gif

[attachmentid=2413451]
blinkblink88
post Sep 1 2011, 10:25 AM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

May I know where can I get galaxy tab 10.1 accessories at low yat plaza? and what should i do once I get my tablet? flash? root? I am still new and noob to android devices.....thanks
Fallenangelz
post Sep 1 2011, 10:27 AM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Sep 1 2011, 10:25 AM)
May I know where can I get galaxy tab 10.1 accessories at low yat plaza? and what should i do once I get my tablet? flash? root? I am still new and noob to android devices.....thanks
u sure u din lost in LYN?
benzourry
post Sep 1 2011, 10:29 AM

24 posts

I've just upgrade from KF1 to KH3..try connect to Kies and got "cannot update this version"(or something similar).. Kies Air also not working somewhat.. i think even from KF1, onenight and KiesAir stop working..It's nice to know that SGS2 capable to be webserver (tho exclusively to Kies Air)..

Din use much, no game, no crazy apps, no crazy hack.. just read School Rumble and Pretty Face in Mango...
TSbenny888
post Sep 1 2011, 10:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=r47z,Sep 1 2011, 10:11 AM]

[/quote]
i'm having issue with flashing. heimdall won't detect my phone on my mac. Odin is out of the question. I dun want to install parallel just to root my phone. it's sad to know that it's so difficult to do this. My old Desire could be done with rEVOked on OSX automatically. Any tips how do it get about it? I just want to remove all those bloatware on sgs2

[/quote]

Did you install ANDROID SDK MaCOSX VERSION ( http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html ) to get the Android USB phone drivers - this will also install fastboot and all the adb files you need to start pushing files from terminal ( on Mac OSX) over:
If you have done that, than you can use this method to root: ( ODIN on Windows compared to this method is just plain ABC )

How to root the Samsung Galaxy SGII with GNU/Linux using the FOSS tool HEIMDALL on Apple Mac OSX :

Download and install heimdall.
Download an »insecure« kernel image from XDA
Put your SGII into download mode by pressing the volume down button, the home button and the power button at once.
Flash the device:

sudo heimdall flash --kernel zImage-insecure

If you now do

adb shell

you end up in a root shell.

If you would like to have further root functionality (e.g. for root apps), you can now install the su binary and the Superuser app from androidsu.com: http://androidsu.com/superuser/

From your computer: Remount the /system partition to read-write mode:

adb remount
Download the su zip file from androidsu.com to your computer and extract it. Then, on a console on your computer, push the su image to your phone with adb:

adb push su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed/system/bin/su /system/bin/su
Start a root shell on your phone with adb shell. On your phone: Correct the permissions and the ownership of the image and set a symlink to /system/xbin:

rm /system/xbin/su
ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
chown root.shell /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
chmod 6755 /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
exit

Install the Superuser app (with a shell console on your computer):

adb install su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed/system/app/Superuser.apk

blinkblink88
post Sep 1 2011, 10:34 AM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 1 2011, 10:27 AM)
u sure u din lost in LYN?
sorry....opened too many windows and posted in wrong room... tongue.gif
louis
post Sep 1 2011, 10:43 AM

95 posts

i'm new to Samsung Galaxy SII...
alvin_lee
post Sep 1 2011, 10:45 AM

131 posts

Hi all,
would like to check the alarm will not function when the phone is switch off? any software works even the phone is swithc off?

any good apps can remove the ads from apps or games.

my phone did not root so can't use ads free.

r47z
post Sep 1 2011, 10:45 AM

686 posts

that's quite a bit to digest. not a fan of running adb manually. I'll try. and hope not to brick my 2k.
TSbenny888
post Sep 1 2011, 10:46 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(louis @ Sep 1 2011, 10:43 AM)
i'm new to Samsung Galaxy SII...
Read page 1 , than from Kindergarten immediate graduate to O Level. Read some more at XDA and join in discussions here , graduate another level up to Degree. Root/flash and brick your phone, recover from it now you are already Master level

Added on September 1, 2011, 10:47 am
QUOTE(r47z @ Sep 1 2011, 10:45 AM)
that's quite a bit to digest. not a fan of running adb manually. I'll try. and hope not to brick my 2k.
issuing adb commands is easy - just follow EXACTLY - one mistype of a letter, miss a spacing, miss a letter etc you will fail
And you can NEVER and UNLIKELY will brick your phone. Issuing adb commands from terminal , if fail means fail - your phone remain intact . It will NEVER and CAN NEVER brick

Added on September 1, 2011, 10:55 am
QUOTE(alvin_lee @ Sep 1 2011, 10:45 AM)
Hi all,
would like to check the alarm will not function when the phone is switch off? any software works even the phone is swithc off?

any good apps can remove the ads from apps or games.

my phone did not root so can't use ads free.

Sorry Android feature ( or you can call it a failure ) : Alarms will NOT work if phone is switch off. For this have to use good old Nokia. So far there is no software solution for this

You need ROOT to remove ads using AD Free. Even other solutions removing ads need root as simply such apps/solutions need to access system files. Without root enabled, system files cannot be access

And just use Odin to root - refer page 1 post #5 : Many available solutions - take your pick. It is easy and fast and you can NEVER and UNLIKELY will spoil your phone; the chance you brick/spoil is 1 in a million or more . you must be the most unlucky guy in the world if you brick rooting it. I always quote rooting your phone is turning your builtin 3000 cc sports car engine into reality instead of running it as just a normal 1600 cc car

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 1 2011, 10:55 AM

124 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:55 AM