125 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

MilesAndMore
post Jul 31 2011, 12:25 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vanderbilt @ Jul 30 2011, 05:17 PM)
Wanna ask a question don't know if anyone can help.

I currently hold 3 credit cards:
Maybank World Mastercard CL RM 80k Outstanding none
CIMB World Mastercard CL RM 100k Outstanding 80k
MBF World Mastercard CL RM 50k Outstanding 40k

Been holding CIMB card since 2007, Maybank since 2008 and MBF since 2010.

That is all my commitment. No car loan no housing loan etc. Monthly gross salary is RM 25k. Payment in CCRIS all prompt never late. Do you think if I apply cards from other bank they will approve or do I fall under "high risk" category? I'm in my mid 20s.
It's a good thing to check our CCRIS once in a while. Well, BNM limits us to check it once everyone three months only. I wondered how's your CCRIS report looks like. No remark at all i suppose ? Mind to share hmm.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 30 2011, 07:54 PM)
No, I doubt it. Taking a wild guess, he must be either partying hard or likes to visit our city in the heaven or maybe our neighbour resort island  brows.gif If really for business, well he must have been conned often since he's still a kid tongue.gif

Talking about kids, my 19 years old son got DA WMC and MBB 2 Plat supp cards with CL of more than the century mark but he cannot check into a hotel in Melaka today because he is under 21, hahaha He had to call me to fax the hotel a letter permitting him to check in and that the hotel is not liable for whatever happens. First time I heard such thing. When I was under 21 years back, I could check into hotels  smile.gif
I was just 17 years old when i first checked into a hotel using my own name. It was Le Meridien Singapore (now Concorde Hotel) and the check in went through just fine. Anyway, the hotel was all paid for before i checked in biggrin.gif

Lucky lah your son. Only 19 years old already got a World MasterCard. Even a debit card was so rare just a few years ago and i had to screw the internet over and over again before i finally found out that Public Bank offers a VISA Electron. Wanted my own card so badly then because i often buys something from the internet and it is much more convenient if i have my own card laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 31 2011, 12:29 AM
Gen-X
post Jul 31 2011, 01:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 31 2011, 12:25 AM)
Lucky lah your son. Only 19 years old already got a World MasterCard. Even a debit card was so rare just a few years ago and i had to screw the internet over and over again before i finally found out that Public Bank offers a VISA Electron. Wanted my own card so badly then because i often buys something from the internet and it is much more convenient if i have my own card   laugh.gif
Actually my eldest son before at age 17 had 3 Debit cards - Public Bank Visa and 2 from US banks { Chase [ your avatar tongue.gif ] without my consent where he just needed to proof he is an undergraduate and his Uni Bank where account joint with me as he was under 18 and cannot have own account }. Since last year, he has Alliance Premier Debit Card that earns him 2% cash back but he doesn't use it often as that is his own money and instead uses my supp cards, cry.gif

Nowadays kids can get Debit Cards easily. All my children have Debit Cards. And you are right, with internet, one can buy anything from anywhere. My eldest daughter since age 14 have been using her Public Bank Electron card to buy clothes from HK and the other day my son bought worms couriered to my house for his fighting fishes doh.gif When I was young, I went to the road side drain to get the worms!

Reason why gave him DA WMC was so that he can buy XO at Eraman for me when he comes back. smile.gif Too bad fags no discount.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 31 2011, 10:14 AM
post Jul 31 2011, 09:52 AM

1,102 posts

Hi all, if i want to pay my bill online, do i need to register my AMEX card first? Want to pay p1wimax bill, thanks...
Gen-X
post Jul 31 2011, 10:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(avatar123 @ Jul 31 2011, 09:52 AM)
Hi all, if i want to pay my bill online, do i need to register my AMEX card first? Want to pay p1wimax bill, thanks...
Didn't you read kei18kun reply to your post at Where To Use Amex Thread? P1 do not accept Amex.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 31 2011, 10:07 AM
SUSvanderbilt
post Jul 31 2011, 11:23 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 31 2011, 12:25 AM)
It's a good thing to check our CCRIS once in a while. Well, BNM limits us to check it once everyone three months only. I wondered how's your CCRIS report looks like. No remark at all i suppose ? Mind to share   hmm.gif

All 'O's. No '1's, '2's etc as all payment done promptly.

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:26 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 30 2011, 07:30 PM)
Well, if you ask me, you are lucky if another card issuer issue you a card with CL RM20K.
What a meager CL. Never had such low CL even when I was a supplementary before getting my first card when I turned 21.

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:30 am
QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Jul 30 2011, 07:26 PM)
I was terribly surprised when you owe credit card so much money whereas you afford to settle it. What is the reason behind still using credit card?
1)Does credit card rewards u with free trip, freegift, etc? Yes.
2)Or u wan to let the govt know u in still debt & avoiding some taxes? Yes.
3)Does it cheaper to owe credit card than take loan from bank? No. More flexibility yes.
4)You are credit card lover? eg like to collect credit card Yes.
You must have yr reason for it , right? Please enlighten me

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:31 am
QUOTE(ben83 @ Jul 30 2011, 07:41 PM)
I think all his balances must be the result of rampant balance transfer
False

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:33 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 30 2011, 07:54 PM)
No, I doubt it. Taking a wild guess, he must be either partying hard or likes to visit our city in the heaven or maybe our neighbour resort island  brows.gif If really for business, well he must have been conned often since he's still a kid tongue.gif
How presumptuous

This post has been edited by vanderbilt: Jul 31 2011, 11:33 AM
ben83
post Jul 31 2011, 12:01 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(vanderbilt @ Jul 31 2011, 11:23 AM)
All 'O's. No '1's, '2's etc as all payment done promptly.

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:26 am

What a meager CL. Never had such low CL even when I was a supplementary before getting my first card when I turned 21.

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:30 am

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:31 am

False

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:33 am

How presumptuous
If it is not balance transfers, then it is either retail balances or installment plans (if you include this as outstanding balance)

Paying minimum & being charged on interest rates for the outstanding balance is not really a smart way. Anyhow it is your money & life, spend as you see fit. If it is installment plans, then it is alright.

On the new card application, since your records are clean then it should not be a problem. CL offered should be between RM 40k to RM 100k.

This post has been edited by ben83: Jul 31 2011, 12:04 PM
zenquix
post Jul 31 2011, 12:07 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

Sounds like you are one of those 'silver spoon to the mouth" backgrounds. It is your choice to continue to carry such a large balance and yet want more cards (of high limits) to continue the debt spiral. It doesn't scream "prudent financial management", and could possibly hint to the banks you may not be exactly mature enough to handle such large credit limits.

Possible high income due to directorship/position in FAMA company?

Just my 2 cents.

Gen-X
post Jul 31 2011, 02:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Try apply UOB, OCBC and Public Bank to see what CL they give you tongue.gif

SUSvanderbilt
post Aug 1 2011, 01:22 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jul 31 2011, 12:01 PM)
If it is not balance transfers, then it is either retail balances or installment plans (if you include this as outstanding balance)

Paying minimum & being charged on interest rates for the outstanding balance is not really a smart way. Anyhow it is your money & life, spend as you see fit. If it is installment plans, then it is alright.

On the new card application, since your records are clean then it should not be a problem. CL offered should be between RM 40k to RM 100k.
Yes mostly interest free installment plans to allow greater flexibility for cashflow.

Thanks for your input, much appreciated.

Added on August 1, 2011, 1:23 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 31 2011, 02:25 PM)
Try apply UOB, OCBC and Public Bank to see what CL they give you  tongue.gif
Thanks, hopefully they have more appealing cards in the future. At the moment, none seems to interest me.

This post has been edited by vanderbilt: Aug 1 2011, 01:23 AM
DarReNz
post Aug 1 2011, 10:29 AM

7,496 posts

does ocbc or scb have free IBG transactions and doesn't charge annual ATM fees ?
SUSDavid83
post Aug 1 2011, 10:47 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 1 2011, 10:29 AM)
does ocbc or scb have free IBG transactions and doesn't charge annual ATM fees ?
You should inquire them if they have Basic Saving Account.
JJBerry
post Aug 1 2011, 11:31 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 31 2011, 02:25 PM)
Try apply UOB, OCBC and Public Bank to see what CL they give you  tongue.gif
Try apply RHB Bank Visa Infinite instead, the CL start with minimum 200K.... tongue.gif
congkoloi
post Aug 1 2011, 01:45 PM

Hi , my GF want to apply CIMB enrich gold .. is it possible to get approve .. her salary is less than RM36k per year ..the requirement is RM50k .. anyone experience this ?
Gen-X
post Aug 1 2011, 01:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Aug 1 2011, 11:31 AM)
Try apply RHB Bank Visa Infinite instead, the CL start with minimum 200K.... tongue.gif
hahaha, first he needs to pay himself more to qualify for the card (and thus pay 26% to government) and then can use the RHB VI minimum CL RM200K again for cash flow and to sustain his high salary tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 1 2011, 02:10 PM
chemistry
post Aug 1 2011, 09:25 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 1 2011, 10:29 AM)
yes, SCB has got SuperSalary account which gives you ATM card for free, and without annual fee.
Service charge for withdrawal within SCB is free, however, within House network is RM1 and Meps network is RM4.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 2 2011, 12:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 31 2011, 01:29 AM)
the other day my son bought worms couriered to my house for his fighting fishes doh.gif When I was young, I went to the road side drain to get the worms!
Oh my God!!! laugh.gif

iamkid
post Aug 2 2011, 02:23 AM

677 posts

Public Bank 8-12% cash back is back again! rclxm9.gif Check out their website.
Embrangle
post Aug 2 2011, 03:22 PM

353 posts

Hey guys.. whats the difference between HSBC amanah and conventional card? All i heard is just one is point card and the other is a cash back card. Is there difference in privileges in local as well as overseas?
zenquix
post Aug 2 2011, 10:54 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Embrangle @ Aug 2 2011, 03:22 PM)
Hey guys.. whats the difference between HSBC amanah and conventional card? All i heard is just one is point card and the other is a cash back card. Is there difference in privileges in local as well as overseas?
I had a bad experience getting HSBC to give the same promotions to the Amanah cards. So I cancelled it.
ronnie
post Aug 2 2011, 11:59 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

PB Credit Card offers Online Applicants 10% Cash-Back on their first month usage... maximum RM100 per new-to-bank CC.
After paying the RM50 GST, you get RM50 NETT cash back (equivalent to 5% cashback)

125 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:43 PM