25 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 >Bottom

Average people are not rich!, Pick the RIGHT career / business

vinesh22
post Oct 24 2011, 12:59 AM

Eat.Fly.Lift.Party.Love.Sleep
546 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 23 2011, 11:27 PM)
So, why is there a competition, a stage, many contestants, but those who failed to get into the semi-final round, manage to get contract from other companies and get famous?

What do you mean by "working smart" in this case by the way. From the example you share, you skipped the crucial part - what are the elements that make him a millionaire.

For example, those Malaysia Idol competition etc. Is someone working smart to get famous? No. He is doing what those top finalist do - attended the audition. He didn't do anything to get the contract. It's a coincidence that the company met him, fond of him and offer him a contract.

I believe the word "undiscovered talents", but it doesn't mean one have to sit there and wait for someone to discover him. One can work hard and aim for what he wants. There are many issues that got to get involved to make someone real famous.

There are also many types of life path; some people just being famous in the early stage and gets dimmer in the later age, some people work hard for a life time and just to get famous in the later age, some people work hard, but manage to find an average achievements (no big up nor big down).
You're looking at it from a reality TV competition point of view. With TV exposure, one can't say that one is more talented than the other just because the person wins a competition, and come on, we all know this fact deep inside, whether we'd accept it or not. My point is, if you're good, you're good. Its a matter of how you portray that to the world and make your gift work for you. I mean come on, I'm pretty sure those who've watched reality TV competitions don't always agree that the person who won at the end was the best, so again, its up to your own perception. Just because a majority of voters decide a winner, that doesn't mean that person would be the best among the rest. Look at Chris Daughtry for example. He was good at what he did, which is rock. He got eliminated somewhere around the last 4 IIRC, but still ended up becoming the most successful contestant for that season. Why? Because after being eliminated, he worked smart, and made the correct choice to make an ALL ROCK album, by starting a ROCK band. He used HIS gift to HIS advantage. I've not heard of the winner of that season since then to be honest, she just disappeared. Carrie Underwood on the other hand, the winner of the first season, went on to become the best selling contestant of all time, bagging country music awards after each album without fail. Why? SHE WORKED SMART. Instead of going mainstream and recording pop albums which is what the current generation look forward too, she followed HER ELEMENT and recorded a country album. Sure, many in the east might not be fans of the southern US genre, but those who were thought she was wonderful at what she did, and went on supporting her all the way. Daughtry and Underwood might not have had to work as hard as the rest to get a contract due to their natural talent, BUT, they did have to work smart to choose the proper path. Daughtry was offered to be the lead singer for Fuel for God's sake, and he turned it down. Why? I don't know, but PROBABLY because he was SMART enough to make a life changing decision.

I agree with you that one can work hard and aim for what he wants, and yes, there will surely be obstacles along the way, and that goes to any profession and/or anything that we're doing. The difference between these people, and the people who explore other options along the way, and are willing to open up to new ideas and views on the other hand is what makes them successful, IMHO at least. Some methods of getting there might now suit well with most people, heck probably even the majority of society, but hey, if you're willing to risk everything you've worked for, for a shot at success, would you do it? Assuming its all legal, and withing moral boundaries of course.

On what made my friend successful, I skipped that part for a reason, not wanting to dwell into it any deeper. But I'll just tell you this much. He was street smart. His social skills were one of, if not the best I've ever seen in a person. He has one of those abilities that make people just lve to be around him, and trust me, he used this gift to his advantage. He worked at clubs, as a bartender/promoter/usher during his teens. Due to his people skills, he managed to make friends with many high profile people who visited the places he worked in. One thing led to the next, and he worked for this ang moh expat who made him in charge of one of the city's hottest spots at the time. There he made even bigger "connections" with people you wouldn't even dare go near, and picked up even more tricks of the trade from them. You see, he worked his way from a no one, to a someone, by using his gift of having really good PR. When he started his own club, he didn't have any problems from any of the competitors as they all knew him personally and grew fond of his attitude of wanting to be successful and trying his best to get it. I've mixed with my fair share of important business people for someone at my age, and trust me when I say they don't hesitate when it comes to giving others advice. They like to see spirited people, ones who keep asking the "wh" questions non-stop and are willing to learn instead of continuously whining.
In my opinion, people who wok hard get there eventually, but its the ones who add a little brain to the brawn who get there even faster.

Again, this is just my personal view on how I live my life. It has been doing me great so far, so yeah, I'd pretty much stick to it and make changes where I think is necessary in order to make myself feel even better as time goes by. wink.gif

vinesh22
post Oct 24 2011, 01:03 AM

Eat.Fly.Lift.Party.Love.Sleep
546 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Oct 24 2011, 12:11 AM)
Folks,

It is VERY SIMPLE.

There is element of LUCK in life.  But, even in that situation, a person needs to know how to take advantage of that too.

It is YOUR LIFE.  You have the CHOICE of

A) "Can Do" attitude

Do what you can and give yourself the best shot in your life.

B) "Can Whine" attitude

Blame the world, environment, weather, luck and so on for your failure and BELIEVE that you cannot do anything about your life.

You may fail with either (A) and (B).  There is NO GUARANTEE in life.

In my case, I will always choose (A).  I CHOOSE to have NO REGRET in my life.  Asking myself in later time on "What If" things could turn out better if I tried harder.

It is YOUR CHOICE...

Dreamer
nod.gif
hazairi
post Oct 24 2011, 06:07 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 18 2011, 08:53 AM)
Folks,

Average people are not rich.  Rich people are not average.

In I-Ching aka book of change, there is no good or bad.  Every strength become weakness under certain environment.  Ditto on weakness.  World / environment are dynamic.  Changes are constant.

From "Art of War" by Sun Tzu, know your own strength and weakness, half of the battle is won.

The KEY to career planning is to know WHAT you are?? What are your own strength and weakness?? What kind of career and environment allow you to be ABOVE AVERAGE?? What can you do that is EASY for you but HARD for others?? Conversely, if you are in an environment that DOES NOT FIT your personality and temperament, you could work very hard but you will not go anywhere.  The best that you can be is AVERAGE in that career.

Most of times, people ask THE WRONG QUESTION!!!

If you ask the WRONG QUESTION, you will NEVER get the RIGHT ANSWER!!

You could be successful in ANY career / business as long as you can EXCEL and ABOVE AVERAGE in that career / business.

To do that, you need 3 things:

1) Motivation -> You LOVE that area.  Then, you could INVEST the extra 10,000 hours to be VERY GOOD in that area.

2) Talent / Temperament -> You are born to be better than average people in doing this kind of stuff.

3) Environment / Industry -> You are working in a country / environment / culture / industry that appreciate YOUR STRENGTH and would not mind your weakness so much.

Do not follow the herd of cows.. Cows get slaughtered.  They just go into any hot areas that pays well.  They do not ask and care whether they could be ABOVE AVERAGE in that area.  That is what AVERAGE people do.

Find out WHAT you are.  INVEST on yourself to be VERY GOOD in the area that YOUR STRENGTH will be appreciated.

Dreamer
Thanks bro. I think you are right 100% on this..

Added on October 25, 2011, 8:18 ami wanna publish this on fb note if u dont mind..

This post has been edited by hazairi: Oct 25 2011, 08:18 AM
tekoo
post Oct 26 2011, 12:21 PM

176 posts

well...this happens to me though...

1) Motivation -> what if i dont find myself love/have passion in any of the existing field/area?

2) Talent / Temperament -> what if i myself and even closest known for 10+ years friends also cant name me 1 single STRENGTH/TALENT tat i have?

well, i still continue wif work-home-work-home life and do not whine and complaint but in this case,what can i do?
LittleGhost
post Oct 26 2011, 05:30 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(tekoo @ Oct 26 2011, 12:21 PM)

1) Motivation -> what if i dont find myself love/have passion in any of the existing field/area?

2) Talent / Temperament -> what if i myself and even closest known for 10+ years friends also cant name me 1 single STRENGTH/TALENT tat i have?

well, i still continue wif work-home-work-home life and do not whine and complaint but in this case,what can i do?
read more, expose yourself to more things. Try everything interesting.

hazairi
post Oct 27 2011, 06:44 PM

2,694 posts

what do u think of this 'dreamer'?
TSdreamer101
post Oct 27 2011, 07:14 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 24 2011, 06:07 AM)
Thanks bro. I think you are right 100% on this..

Added on October 25, 2011, 8:18 ami wanna publish this on fb note if u dont mind..
hazairi,

You can publish if you provide link back the source...

Dreamer

Added on October 27, 2011, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 27 2011, 06:44 PM)

what do u think of this 'dreamer'?
hazairi,

Honey to someone is poison to others.....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autism

For example, many people in my family are AUTISTIC or have sign of autism..

For autistic people, it is PAINFUL to socialize with people. Their happiness is to do something ALONE.

When a person provide their POV of the RIGHT way to live, it is bound to be WRONG for someone else....

So, now, how I do I know whether somebody is living the RIGHT WAY??

That somebody know. We all know whether we are happy and successful as per our own POV.

MY GOAL is to let people dream. Show them that it is OKAY to live and pursue their dream. Show them how to achieve their dream. As to what their dream and definition of success, it is up them as long as it REALLY make them happy.

Dreamer

Added on October 27, 2011, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(tekoo @ Oct 26 2011, 12:21 PM)

tekoo,

Meditation...

Listen to your heart....

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Oct 27 2011, 07:25 PM
arielyek
post Nov 2 2011, 12:23 PM

50 posts

Dreamer101,
Sorry for taking me a long time to say thank you to you. Thanks for your teaching.
You're right about it. I have no vision. I don't know what I want or what I want to do in my life.

My life is a mess. I have failed to live my own life.
I find it very hard to get back up, or maybe I'm just giving myself excuse not to get back up.
I'm no longer what I was like last time. And the 'me' right now is a failed person.
I know it takes many small steps to get back up. But without goal and therefore lack of motivation,
it's hard to follow these small steps or conquer the small difficulties.
You're right. Everybody know what is wrong with them. And they know the solution to their problem.
They just cannot do it. In my case, I think it's already very painful, but yet I chose to ignore it.
I don't think it will come to a level that it's extremely painful, because if I keep ignoring it,
and at the end I will become a below average people.
I know I needed a change. But how to change completely, so that I won't repeat the same mistakes.
Because the second time I make it, it's not a mistake, it's a choice.
What I got today is what I deserved.

Sorry for my long story and poor english.
Thanks again.
WhiteRat
post Nov 2 2011, 01:54 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(arielyek @ Nov 2 2011, 12:23 PM)
Dreamer101,
Sorry for taking me a long time to say thank you to you. Thanks for your teaching.
You're right about it. I have no vision. I don't know what I want or what I want to do in my life.

I find it very hard to get back up, or maybe I'm just giving myself excuse not to get back up.
I'm no longer what I was like last time. And the 'me' right now is a failed person.
I know it takes many small steps to get back up. But without goal and therefore lack of motivation,
You're right. Everybody know what is wrong with them. And they know the solution to their problem.
They just cannot do it. In my case, I think it's already very painful, but yet I chose to ignore it.
I don't think it will come to a level that it's extremely painful, because if I keep ignoring it,
I know I needed a change. But how to change completely, so that I won't repeat the same mistakes.

Thanks again.
I think you carry too much old baggage. Its wearing you down, how to change?
google "zpoint"

AriadneLee
post Nov 23 2011, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Aug 18 2011, 08:57 AM)
So?? Some people DO NOT HAVE A CHOICE in there lives. Some have their talents undiscovered. Some just doesn't have the opportunity like other successful ones...
my definition of TALENT:
some ability that shines

my definition of OPPORTUNITY:
a chance given/found for a useful skill/ability

my point of view of UNDISCOVERED TALENT:
either it doesn't exist / it is useless/impractical / it is not really exceptional
e.g. the exceptional ability to cry within seconds = a TALENT + OPPORTUNITY at the correct moment would earn a toddler a new toy
But it is utterly useless to a working adult
TSdreamer101
post Feb 14 2012, 08:48 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(arielyek @ Nov 2 2011, 12:23 PM)
Dreamer101,

Thanks again.
arielyek,

Life is full of peak and valley. It does not go in a straight line. When you climbed a NEW peak, you have to fall to a new valley before you can go a higher peak.

You spend too much time and energy looking at the past. Hence, you have NO TIME and ENERGY to go forward. You KNOW this. But, you are COMFORTABLE with your failure. Hence, you keep on WHINING instead of DOING.

I cannot help you. You have to help yourself by DOING. Start by doing one little thing at a time. Celebrate that. Then, you will be TOO BUSY to WHINE.

Dreamer
arielyek
post Feb 14 2012, 09:23 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 14 2012, 08:48 PM)
arielyek,

Life is full of peak and valley.  It does not go in a straight line.  When you climbed a NEW peak, you have to fall to a new valley before you can go a higher peak.

You spend too much time and energy looking at the past.  Hence, you have NO TIME and ENERGY to go forward.  You KNOW this.  But, you are COMFORTABLE with your failure.  Hence, you keep on WHINING instead of DOING.

I cannot help you.  You have to help yourself by DOING.  Start by doing one little thing at a time.  Celebrate that.  Then, you will be TOO BUSY to WHINE.

Dreamer
dreamer101,

I guess my only choice is to climb to a new peak since I'm already in a valley.
I'll start moving forward and stop looking at the past because what is past is past.
I'm going to study chemical engineering (degree) this year although my A-lvl results is very bad.
What shall I do at the start of my engineering journey so that I'm better and well-prepared before I graduate as an engineer?
I don't want to be a fresh graduate with no experience and average or below average capability.
I want to increase my capability like what you did, and prepare myself years before I become an engineer.
I hope you can guide me because you are way more experience and a good example for me to learn from.

Thanks dreamer101, I appreciate your help.
debbieyss
post Feb 14 2012, 09:57 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Apparently arielyek is replying in a sarcastic manner but, well, apparently dreamer couldn't read body language. I have seen many engineers good in reading people's mind though.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Feb 14 2012, 09:57 PM
Joey Christensen
post Feb 14 2012, 11:11 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(arielyek @ Feb 14 2012, 09:23 PM)
dreamer101,

I'll start moving forward and stop looking at the past because what is past is past.
I'm going to study chemical engineering (degree) this year although my A-lvl results is very bad.
What shall I do at the start of my engineering journey so that I'm better and well-prepared before I graduate as an engineer?
I don't want to be a fresh graduate with no experience and average or below average capability.
I want to increase my capability like what you did, and prepare myself years before I become an engineer.
I hope you can guide me because you are way more experience and a good example for me to learn from.

What shall you do at the start of your engineering journey? One word: Do.

Regards, Joey

TSdreamer101
post Feb 14 2012, 11:37 PM

15,855 posts

dreamer101,

arielyek,

Keep a journal. Spend 5 minutes to write an entry per day...

Write down what you DID for yourself. What you could done BETTER. What you LEARN. What you IMPROVE??

Journey of thousand miles started with one step at a time.

Dreamer

Added on February 15, 2012, 12:44 am
dreamer101,

arielyek,

Something that I wrote before....

"Winner never lose, loser never win"

There is a difference between winner and loser. It is called the winning attitude. For a winner, they cherish and celebrate failure. To them, it simply mean that they learn something new about themselves. It is something to grow on. So, there is NO SUCH THING as failure to winners. It is learning experience to them. So, for those kind of people, how could they LOSE?? You could beat them down 99 times but they will keep coming up. And, they keep growing stronger and better.

Life is marathon. It is what you DO everyday and how do you CHOOSE to face your challenge that determine how far you can go.

This is one of the NICE features about IT / Datacom / Telecom world. You could learn the most by failing regularly. The GREATEST inhibitor of learning for a technical person is their EGO. When they can longer say "I DO NOT KNOW" that is when they stop learning.

I am grateful that I am in such a challenging and complex environment that I failed regularly even with my 24 years of experience. This is TOO MUCH FUN.

Why do children spend so much time playing and learning game?? Why it is so much fun to them even though they failed regularly in the game?? Why can't we provide the same kind of fun and learning experience environment to others?? After all, life is just a game.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Feb 15 2012, 12:44 AM
arielyek
post Feb 15 2012, 08:46 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Feb 14 2012, 09:57 PM)
Apparently arielyek is replying in a sarcastic manner but, well, apparently dreamer couldn't read body language. I have seen many engineers good in reading people's mind though.
debbieyss,

I'm not replying in a sarcastic manner, but asking in a sincere manner.
dreamer101 has rights to choose to help me or not, and he chose to help me,
that's why I'm really appreciate what he said.
dreamer101 is actually helping a lot of peoples in this forum.
Open up your mind and you'll find his teaching/advice is very useful.
I'm not here to start an argument, it's just my opinion.
Sorry if you feel offended and for my poor English.
Everyone's thought is different.
Cheers.

Added on February 15, 2012, 8:52 am
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Feb 14 2012, 11:11 PM)
What shall you do at the start of your engineering journey? One word: Do.

Regards, Joey
Joey Christensen,

I know is do. There are many ways to reach your goal,
but some ways are much more better than the other.
Some of the better ways are not yet discovered by us simply due to not enough experience.
For example, I want to be an excellent or above average engineer.
The second question I shall ask myself is how.
dreamer101 know how because he has been through this process.
That's why his guidance and teaching are very valuable to me.
This is what I think.
Thanks. smile.gif

Added on February 15, 2012, 9:05 am
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:37 PM)
arielyek,

Keep a journal.  Spend 5 minutes to write an entry per day...

Write down what you DID for yourself.  What you could done BETTER.  What you LEARN.  What you IMPROVE??

Journey of thousand miles started with one step at a time.

Dreamer

Added on February 15, 2012, 12:44 am

arielyek,

Something that I wrote before....
"Winner never lose, loser never win"

There is a difference between winner and loser. It is called the winning attitude. For a winner, they cherish and celebrate failure. To them, it simply mean that they learn something new about themselves. It is something to grow on. So, there is NO SUCH THING as failure to winners. It is learning experience to them. So, for those kind of people, how could they LOSE?? You could beat them down 99 times but they will keep coming up. And, they keep growing stronger and better.

Life is marathon. It is what you DO everyday and how do you CHOOSE to face your challenge that determine how far you can go.

This is one of the NICE features about IT / Datacom / Telecom world. You could learn the most by failing regularly. The GREATEST inhibitor of learning for a technical person is their EGO. When they can longer say "I DO NOT KNOW" that is when they stop learning.

I am grateful that I am in such a challenging and complex environment that I failed regularly even with my 24 years of experience. This is TOO MUCH FUN.

Why do children spend so much time playing and learning game?? Why it is so much fun to them even though they failed regularly in the game?? Why can't we provide the same kind of fun and learning experience environment to others?? After all, life is just a game.

Dreamer
dreamer101,

I'll start writing journal and let it become a habit.
I read it before, about what you wrote.
I'll try to have that kind of attitude to face my challenge .
There is so much to learn from you.

This post has been edited by arielyek: Feb 15 2012, 09:07 AM
SUSendau02
post Feb 15 2012, 11:46 AM

3,180 posts

Wow dreamer, u faild regularly n being paid for it.. you r d man wei
razorboy
post Feb 16 2012, 12:19 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

I don't think I have ever read anything that I have learnt and put into my pocket more than these posts from dreamer.

These are the things that not even money can buy and even with damn good money. I'm only 21 and I'm only in my 3rd year of tertiary studies but there is so much I can take away from your posts. For that I offer you my most sincere gratitude.

Crazy how much knowledge one is willing to share here for nothing in return.
zalmerox
post Feb 16 2012, 12:34 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Feb 15 2012, 11:46 AM)
Food for thought on failing...

TSdreamer101
post Feb 16 2012, 12:37 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Feb 15 2012, 11:46 AM)
endau02,

The ONLY WAY to avoid failure is to DO NOTHING.

Dreamer

25 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 >Top

0.0297sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:00 PM