Dec 5 2005, 12:22 AM
89 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
I have been following a column on young investors in StarBiz. I was surprised to find out about a few "weird" investments that people make. Some of these are:
1)Pokemon Cards 2)Painting 3)Watch 4)Jewellery 5)Wine Personally, I do not consider these "weird" investments as investments although they might appreciate in value. Comment please... |
Dec 5 2005, 10:42 AM
1,478 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(Geminist @ Dec 4 2005, 11:16 PM) Thank you for your reply ... I have been following mutual fund for quite a while now by reading and understanding more behind it ... yes...it is useful in stock markets,but it is a must use in forex.The books about technical analysis i read was released a decade ago Yea, I have heard of technical analysis and I know alittle bit here and there ... I'm not really that fond of learning TA through the internet ... Do you happen to have any books which are good on technical analysis? I have been wanting to learn this for quite a while now, it's just that I can't find a good book about it ... I find knowing about TA is quite useful not only in stock, but also in other markets such as futures and FOREX ... |
Dec 5 2005, 11:47 AM
1,470 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Securities Industry |
QUOTE(mobiusone @ Dec 4 2005, 11:05 PM) l...You dont need to listen to any news or rumours.Just focus on the chart,you can see everthing.It is fast and much more accurate than analysing balance sheet.You dont have to worry about the company lying to you,you could see it in the chart.It is very useful in fast and volatile markets like futures. I hv nothing against Technical analysis but I don't think it is suitable for long term investment in the Malaysian stock mkt.If you mastered technical analysis,learning futures is like learning ABC I think Technical Analysis is more suited for short term trading in the Futures mkt where most trading is on short term basis ( a position is usually closed within a span of maybe less than 30 days).Whereas investing in the stock mkt requires patience and foresight as well as the ability to find suitable investible stocks. There was a quote I remembered that 80% of clients loss money trading. QUOTE(Truth Practitioner @ Dec 5 2005, 12:22 AM) I have been following a column on young investors in StarBiz. I was surprised to find out about a few "weird" investments that people make. Some of these are: There's another weird investment I heard of,"pu-er"tea leaf from China.pls don't ask me what's that b'cos I also know nothing abt this.1)Pokemon Cards 2)Painting 3)Watch 4)Jewellery 5)Wine Personally, I do not consider these "weird" investments as investments although they might appreciate in value. Comment please... |
Dec 5 2005, 04:01 PM
132 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(valee @ Dec 4 2005, 12:36 PM) I'd read about the Gold Counter Rate from the Maybank... i'm not very sure how it work. But i think you can invest in gold there by buying the gold (min 5g) and sell it when the price goes up, just like how the forex work, except you dont need to keep the gold yourself. But what i dont like is that the difference btw the buying price and the selling price is too much (commission is too high). http://www.maybank2u.com.my/rates/gold_rates.shtml I'd also closely monitored the price since 15 Nov 2005. The Buying/Selling price were : 15Nov 59.81/55.38 18Nov 62.14/57.66 23Nov 62.96/58.40 26Nov 63.50/58.89 30Nov 63.85/59.22 2 Dec 64.48/59.81 6 Dec 64.63/59.94 ... sorry, they dont provide the daily record, so i manually keep track the price thru the observation period, i can see there were only 2 times when the price went down, other than the the price keep going up... if you buy the gold on 15Nov, by now, you already can earn some money depending on how much you invest... unfortunately i was just in the process of learning, so i never buy until today... just hoping the price can get lower before i invest in it... |
Dec 5 2005, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(lklatmy @ Dec 5 2005, 11:47 AM) I hv nothing against Technical analysis but I don't think it is suitable for long term investment in the Malaysian stock mkt. It is suitable for all kinds of market,technical analysis got sooooooooooooooo many methods,and each one has its ups and downs,so some of them will work on certain market while some dont.The reasons people are losing money in malaysia stock markets because the obvious odds are against them,you have only around 30% to profit and 70% to loose your money.Why? Because you cant sell short those stocks.Thats why malaysian stock market isnt an ideal place to invest.Since i'm educated on western markets,thats why i prefer futures.Futures contracts expired on the end of a month or couple of months,thats why you cant hold your position more than 30 days,you have to close it at the end of the month,or else your positions will be bukkake'd by the market's rediculous closing price.Most futures trader stop trading on the last 10 days of the month and moves on to the next month,because at the end of the month,the price moves are extremly volatile.I think Technical Analysis is more suited for short term trading in the Futures mkt where most trading is on short term basis ( a position is usually closed within a span of maybe less than 30 days).Whereas investing in the stock mkt requires patience and foresight as well as the ability to find suitable investible stocks. There was a quote I remembered that 80% of clients loss money trading. |
Dec 5 2005, 05:02 PM
172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: San Francisco, CA |
QUOTE(...PS... @ Dec 5 2005, 04:01 PM) thru the observation period, i can see there were only 2 times when the price went down, other than the the price keep going up... if you buy the gold on 15Nov, by now, you already can earn some money depending on how much you invest... One thing gold is not meant to be a short term investment, the only times they help people make money is when a recession is coming, its expected for the dollar economy.unfortunately i was just in the process of learning, so i never buy until today... just hoping the price can get lower before i invest in it... The only people who bother profiting in short term for gold are big funds because they actually make money and their buying fee is a lot less since they buy in billion amounts. the price might dip a little below 500 when some other funds decide to take their profit.. it may be 497/oz and thats when you should buy. but if you buying like 1oz only then mabye this is not the best place for you to invest. the price will dip below 500 and it will start rising again when other funds want a piece of the action. gold... unless you have a lot of money to play, say in hundreds of thousands of ringgit, i think mabye not so feasible. also maybank is not the only place u can buy gold there are many other competitive gold companies u can buy from at much lower rates. the lowest i know is 2% but i'm sure the more u purchase u can haggle with them the rate. |
Dec 5 2005, 08:08 PM
37 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
you can always trade gold, -leveraged- on gcitrading.com, or betonmarkets.com .
did you know gold is also correlated to the canadian dollar/aussie dollar/swiss franc? .... but not for the faint hearted.. |
Dec 6 2005, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(mobiusone @ Dec 5 2005, 04:13 PM) It is suitable for all kinds of market,technical analysis got sooooooooooooooo many methods,and each one has its ups and downs,so some of them will work on certain market while some dont.The reasons people are losing money in malaysia stock markets because the obvious odds are against them,you have only around 30% to profit and 70% to loose your money.Why? Because you cant sell short those stocks.Thats why malaysian stock market isnt an ideal place to invest.Since i'm educated on western markets,thats why i prefer futures.Futures contracts expired on the end of a month or couple of months,thats why you cant hold your position more than 30 days,you have to close it at the end of the month,or else your positions will be bukkake'd by the market's rediculous closing price.Most futures trader stop trading on the last 10 days of the month and moves on to the next month,because at the end of the month,the price moves are extremly volatile. AFAIK,Technical Analysis,no matter which method is used ,is based on the principle that one try to predict the future trend,or to be more specific,the price of an instrument/stocks,using the past history of price and volume and tabulated or extrapolated in various ways.Technical analysis therefore,totally ignore external factors that can affect the future trend or price.Example of these external factors are typhoon,coup-detat,force majore,profit and dividend record,discovery of new souce of supply or inventions etc.This inherent limitation renders TA,IMHO,not suitable for people who invest on a long term basis.As for futures contract,there are basically two method of settlement on maturity of the contract.One is by physical delivery of the underlying commodity,and the second method is by cash settlement where all outstanding open positions are settled based on a settelment price determine by the Exchange.The determination of the settelement price is done either by the exchange or clearing house based on predetermined formula and parameters that is clearly spelt out in writing.It's done in a transparent way.This second method applies to most financial futures such as index and bond futures. As a trader in a futures contract which hv the option for cash settlement,you hv the choice not to liquidate the open position and wait for finnal settlement by the exchange. |
Dec 6 2005, 01:01 AM
oh crap...i forgot to mention about the comodities part.
But...i cant fully agree with your opinion.Yes...TA cant predict natural events like hurricanes tsunami bla bla bla.But i think it could predict some ummm...."man made events?",give me some of the important events that happened in malaysia like 97 crisis and stock market boom in the early 90s,or sacking of anwar.Someone showed me a chart containing the impact of those events to the stock market,but i forgot the website...i try to draw out one..if you dont mind |
Dec 6 2005, 09:49 AM
7,606 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Subang |
a good investor uses a combination of both technical and fundamental analysis to make decisions on their investments. Most head research analyst in malaysia uses fundamentals, the research assistants use technical analysis.
Dec 6 2005, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(mobiusone @ Dec 6 2005, 01:01 AM) But i think it could predict some ummm...."man made events?",give me some of the important events that happened in malaysia like 97 crisis and stock market boom in the early 90s,or sacking of anwar.Someone showed me a chart containing the impact of those events to the stock market,but i forgot the website...i try to draw out one..if you dont mind Sorry,I 'm not following,is there anything I can help out? |
Dec 11 2005, 02:25 AM
1,220 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Selangor Darul Ehsan |
i am a newbie at all of this unit trust and stocks... how do you guys choose to invest your money? how and where? i mean the most performing unit trust funds or stocks? i started a thread b4... without knowing that this thread existed... hehehe...
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=227839 |
Dec 11 2005, 01:31 PM
567 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Maybank PremierValue Savers Plan
Ok. I think this plan has been asked earlier by a person, As explained by the Financial Executive to me. Generally, this is a 3+1 plan I will list down the 3 things and I will explain them one by one. 1) Saving 2) Invest 3) Protection 1) Saving Off coz. You need to have a savings account with Maybank before you can embark on this plan. So, how it works? Every month, a minimum of RM100 to a maximum of RM480 will be debited from your account to be invested into mutual funds which are off coz, handled by the bank. The amount that you want to invest between RM100 to RM480 depends on you. And off coz, this is a long term investment plan, and by theory, it is a 100 years old plan. For sure, not many of us can reach that age, 2) Invest As explained earlier, the money debited was invested. The return per year is approximately 3-12%. The lowest they paid out before was 3%. Usually, it will be around 5-8% per year. 3) Protection Ok. In simple words, this is an insurance scheme. RM6.40 will be taken from the amount of money debited and will be put into this protection part. What does it protect? 2 condition. One is Death and another one is Permanent Disability. If any one of these two conditions happens, they will be paying RM50k to the beneficiary. Thus, assuming that RM100 is debited per month, RM6.40 will be gone to the protection, leaving RM93.60 to be invested. Off coz, you can go to a maximum of RM480 per month if you want. I think this is not really a bad plan but it requires a long period of time. Moreover, you can start with RM100 per month and if you are not satisfied, just stop it. What I dislike is the RM6.40 deducted for the protection. But well, an extra protection doesn't hurt. I actually started this thing, just to try it out. A return of 5-8% averagely per year is not that bad. |
Dec 11 2005, 07:46 PM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
15Nov 59.81/55.38
18Nov 62.14/57.66 23Nov 62.96/58.40 26Nov 63.50/58.89 30Nov 63.85/59.22 2 Dec 64.48/59.81 6 Dec 64.63/59.94 THat's your observation, right? You bought on 15th Nov, at buying price 59.81, and let's assume you sold on 6 Dec, at 59.94 How much money do you actually made? 0.13? How much is that? This, if your dates are right, are during about a 21 day period. 0.13 over 59.81... That,s about... 0.2% returns (if my math is still accurate)? Hmm... how much can you make? Perhaps over a longer, maybe 30 day period, it would give better returns, but I doubt it's the type of investment that will make you rich, fast. The price goes up an average (if we follow the small amount of stat you provided) of about 0.1 or something in 4 days. so.. even after say, 60 days, you'll make about 1.5 over how much? Percentage-wise, it doesn't seem really a grand way of making money, although it is a solid investment since gold prices don't seem to crash (as far as I remember) and give better returns than normal FDs. My opinions are just mine own... Don't blame me if anything happens. Oh yeah, the commission is really 0.7% ar? My calculations always anticipated something around 5% If really 0.7%, a lot of calculations I've made is really wasted. Anyway, good luck with ur investments. |
Dec 15 2005, 02:43 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
where is silveru go..?
Dec 23 2005, 02:19 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
New FD scheme ... 3.8% for 8 months.
Stitchy® w/o stitches |
Dec 23 2005, 03:30 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire : my observation is correct, unless the web site post a wrong info... i know the return is VERY LOW... like other Unit Trust and Shares, it depends on the market situation... even if you compare the Gold market and the shares market, do their price jump up and down drastically? i think no... unless the market is not stable, such as external influence or something...
If you want to invest in gold from Maybank Gold Counter, you need to buy at least 5oz of gold... RM0.13 (0.2%) in the period of 21 days i know is damn low... but think it of long term.... Try to compare the share market and the gold market... which is more stable? Share or Gold? From my reading, i learnt that people normally invest gold when they have additional huge sum of money. Investing in gold will make sure that your money doesnt depreciate so much even if the NYSE close down! (expert, please correct me if i'm wrong here...) FYI, i never invested in gold.... for the mean time, i just study and make some reseach before i really put my hand in it... |
Dec 23 2005, 03:30 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire : my observation is correct, unless the web site post a wrong info... i know the return is VERY LOW... like other Unit Trust and Shares, it depends on the market situation... even if you compare the Gold market and the shares market, do their price jump up and down drastically? i think no... unless the market is not stable, such as external influence or something...
If you want to invest in gold from Maybank Gold Counter, you need to buy at least 5oz of gold... RM0.13 (0.2%) in the period of 21 days i know is damn low... but think it of long term.... Try to compare the share market and the gold market... which is more stable? Share or Gold? From my reading, i learnt that people normally invest gold when they have additional huge sum of money. Investing in gold will make sure that your money doesnt depreciate so much even if the NYSE close down! (expert, please correct me if i'm wrong here...) FYI, i never invested in gold.... for the mean time, i just study and make some reseach before i really put my hand in it... |
Dec 23 2005, 05:57 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
All,
Let me play devil advocate here. Given that Public Bank counter is having dividend yield of 7%, you could earn 7% annualy just by buying Publicv Bank counter. So why do anyone want to take substantial risk on investing on all those risky stuff when they are not offering any substantial higher return?? Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: Dec 23 2005, 05:59 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:13 PM |