85 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment

TSky_khor
post Nov 24 2005, 12:14 PM

No.22
894 posts

woah since when the thread grow like this XD.
i should have come back to this forum more often.
diablos
post Nov 24 2005, 12:49 PM

260 posts

Hi guy, I trade on FXCM on mini forex account online. Quite a good income. every month just target USD 200. Malaysia market I just apply new share and just earn the dividen.
lklatmy
post Nov 24 2005, 03:06 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(Chronox @ Nov 23 2005, 01:09 PM)
Do you think KLSE has reached its bottom and heading for a bull run now?

I think it's heading upward very soon, but it won't be a bull run...
I think the mkt will continue drifting like what it is now for another few mths.Any "bull run"will be confined to a few counters and upside very limited.
TSky_khor
post Nov 24 2005, 04:05 PM

No.22
894 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=160737

just want to hear some comment from the "si fu" here. The Autosurf/Online Forex sort of investment thread in Kopitiam.
petalingjaya
post Nov 25 2005, 12:04 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 24 2005, 04:05 PM)

just want to hear some comment from the "si fu" here. The Autosurf/Online Forex sort of investment thread in Kopitiam.
ya but most of the pts site only got few months life, most hyip site not more than 60 days

that call betting, cant count at investment
Truth Practitioner
post Nov 25 2005, 07:42 AM

89 posts

Even well-known Internet Gurus like EOneNet's President and SenZe advised people to be very cautious in trying out this sort of "surf-to-get-money" investment*. They said the companies can actually collapse overnight. They are also not sure whether these companies are genuine companies. As one of them mentioned, would a company want to advertise if they know that their targeted group would just leave their computer on on an "autosurf" mode without even looking at their ad? But then again, they are not discounting the possibility that some of these companies might be genuine. What you should do is to invest without expecting too much. Do not park all your money there! Your money might disappear overnight. Just invest a little bit and pray a lot... As the previous forumer said, it's more like betting than investing...

*Read this from Personal Money
lklatmy
post Nov 25 2005, 10:05 AM

1,470 posts

This is something I think,a get rich quick pyramid scheme.It appears that late comers will be the sucker when the party ends.I doubt the participants hv any recourse against the perpetrator of the scheme as their identity is concealed.I am amazed by some posting which showed checks issued by some Malaysian banks,this can be a lead for the authority to track them down.

As for the forex trading part,I don't think any company in Malaysia (except for some licensed financial institution like Citibank,Hongkongbank, Maybank ect)is licenced to take on individual clients to speculate in forex.Though some companies r licenced to trade in derivatives in the overseas mkt.If any company in Malaysia solicits you to trade in forex or derivatives,I think u should double check the company's license with the Securities Commission.

If you trade forex thru the internet with a overseas company,make sure that the company is licensed by the regulatory authority in that country.In the event that anything goes wrong,you can refer your grivences to the competent foreign regulatory authority for resolution.

Again,my advice is know what you are trading,there's no free lunch! smile.gif

dEviLs
post Nov 25 2005, 12:26 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

Hi, for those who trades in Futures, I know that the clearing house has introduced the use of shares as collateral earlier this year but the market's response doesnt seem to be favourable. Why is it so in your opinion ? Thanks. smile.gif
petalingjaya
post Nov 27 2005, 06:06 PM

206 posts

actually autosurf and hyip can make money!
but just cannot count it into investment,

that is another kind of games other than forex
let people to make money with money and
internet traffit!
some of them gone, but some of them still paying

i am a gambler so i call it a betting game
all you need is know their rule very well and
updated information. enjoy your betting
BugsBunny
post Nov 27 2005, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Nov 25 2005, 12:26 PM)
Hi, for those who trades in Futures, I know that the clearing house has introduced the use of shares as collateral earlier this year but the market's response doesnt seem to be favourable. Why is it so in your opinion ? Thanks. smile.gif
Would like to know, how does 'future' works. Not familiar? I know how stock market goes but haven't really got any knowledge in futures though heard of it before.

QUOTE(Chronox @ Nov 23 2005, 01:09 PM)
Do you think KLSE has reached its bottom and heading for a bull run now?

I think it's heading upward very soon, but it won't be a bull run...
Your question can't really be answered. You asked a thousand people and you'll get thousand answers. It's up to you to make the best guess.

Basically KLSE moves just the business cycle- up and down,just like waves. Once a blue moon the market crashes. Bad news for some, good news for others. I would asy if you have extra money, get someone eg financial planner to help you out (not friends or some Tom, d*** and Harry who has no idea what they're talking about). Get enough info before you decide how you want to invest your hard-earned money.

Cheers
...PS...
post Dec 1 2005, 08:07 PM

132 posts

hi.. i'm new to this forum as well as all the investment things.. Firstly, i wanna thanks everyone of you all for the contribution. From -? PS

Well, anybody heard about the Public Mutual's new UT, Public Far-East Select Fund (PFES)? i heard about it while i was in a shopping center few weeks ago. And i'd invested 5K in it...

This is actually my first investment, despite the FD... i dunno where to go, beside FD to invest my money for the first time... so i decided to give it a try, since the Public Mutual has quite a good reputation for its fund management. Currently i will closely monitor and learn the available investment vehicles in order to pick up what you guys are talking about. Until i really understand how everything works, then only i will get involve into it personally. So in the mean time, i'm hoping to learn more about the financial matter while hoping that my money in the PFES will grow... what you all think about that? huh.gif
Geminist
post Dec 1 2005, 08:14 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(...PS... @ Dec 1 2005, 08:07 PM)
hi.. i'm new to this forum as well as all the investment things.. Firstly, i wanna thanks everyone of you all for the contribution. From -? PS

Well, anybody heard about the Public Mutual's new UT, Public Far-East Select Fund (PFES)? i heard about it while i was in a shopping center few weeks ago. And i'd invested 5K in it...

This is actually my first investment, despite the FD... i dunno where to go, beside FD to invest my money for the first time... so i decided to give it a try, since the Public Mutual has quite a good reputation for its fund management. Currently i will closely monitor and learn the available investment vehicles in order to pick up what you guys are talking about. Until i really understand how everything works, then only i will get involve into it personally. So in the mean time, i'm hoping to learn more about the financial matter while hoping that my money in the PFES will grow... what you all think about that? huh.gif
This year, PBE has been promoting their funds quite often and persuading people to join their fund ... Hmm ... I wonder ...

By the way, I believe FD is more like a cash reserve for you to stash your capital before you're using them for any sort of investment ... The return rate of FD is quite low here in Malaysia ... sad.gif

Anyhow, it's great for you to learn something before jumping onto it (as I made the mistake of jumping onto something without knowing everything) ...

By the way, welcome to JC and have fun smile.gif

This post has been edited by Geminist: Dec 1 2005, 08:15 PM
Chronox
post Dec 1 2005, 08:31 PM

466 posts

The Bank Negara has increased the interest rate. With this, the FD interest rate is expected to increase, right? What's the possible new interest rate?
mobiusone
post Dec 2 2005, 12:49 AM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

QUOTE(BugsBunny @ Nov 27 2005, 06:29 PM)
Would like to know, how does 'future' works. Not familiar? I know how stock market goes but haven't really got any knowledge in futures though heard of it before.

http://www.mdex.com.my/education/whatis.htm

this site explains all of it.

Futures is a contract where you buy certain stuffs in the future with the current price.For example,a farmer is going to sell his rice next month but it is not ready to harvest yet,and he thinks the current price is pretty good.For example RM10 per kg,and he wanted to sell his rice in this price,but he fears that the price in next month will change.So what he did is he sold his future rice that cost RM10 per kg via futures contract to anyone who wants to buy it,then on the next month he buyer will get the goods and the farmer will be paid RM10 per kg,and the price isnt affected by the price change.

This is how commodities futures work,i'm not sure about index futures.Besides farmers and miners or anything that relates to commodities,there are people who buy futures contracts and make money from the price fluctuations.Futures market are very risky,but the reward is thumbup.gif .I remember when i first invested on the klci futures,i made RM1000 in a week.But due to my carelessness,it didnt last long.The futures market is nice place to invest if u are armed with the right tools and discipline
valee
post Dec 4 2005, 12:36 PM

62 posts

how about investing in gold? what lies ahead?

This post has been edited by valee: Dec 4 2005, 12:45 PM
lipkhin
post Dec 4 2005, 04:02 PM

1,390 posts

---deleted---

This post has been edited by lipkhin: Sep 10 2006, 04:05 AM
Geminist
post Dec 4 2005, 08:01 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(mobiusone @ Dec 2 2005, 12:49 AM)
http://www.mdex.com.my/education/whatis.htm

this site explains all of it.

Futures is a contract where you buy certain stuffs in the future with the current price.For example,a farmer is going to sell his rice next month but it is not ready to harvest yet,and he thinks the current price is pretty good.For example RM10 per kg,and he wanted to sell his rice in this price,but he fears that the price in next month will change.So what he did is he sold his future rice that cost RM10 per kg via futures contract to anyone who wants to buy it,then on the next month he buyer will get the goods and the farmer will be paid RM10 per kg,and the price isnt affected by the price change.

This is how commodities futures work,i'm not sure about index futures.Besides farmers and miners or anything that relates to commodities,there are people who buy futures contracts and make money from the price fluctuations.Futures market are very risky,but the reward is  thumbup.gif .I remember when i first invested on the klci futures,i made RM1000 in a week.But due to my carelessness,it didnt last long.The futures market is nice place to invest if u are armed with the right tools and discipline
Yes, personally, I'm also thinking about investing in futures when I have the right amount of knowledge ... However, currently, I still lack the knowledge in future ... Can anyhow recommend me anything such as books and etc? The futures I'm thinking is future index ...

QUOTE(valee @ Dec 4 2005, 12:36 PM)
It has already been discussed a few pages back, you can check there smile.gif

ktooken
post Dec 4 2005, 10:53 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(valee @ Dec 4 2005, 12:36 PM)
I'm excited to have found out about gold. just lately it surpassed a psychological level of usd500/oz. and its said to be able to hit usd850 within 3 years. a more conservative figure is given by Merril Lynch at usd7xx (bfr gold surpassed usd500). Point is, gold is only going to go up. and people usually say if you are doing good with the stock market, you can expect 20% returns a year. starting at usd500 you will have usd864 by end of 3 years, but thats if you're so expert in so to sustain returns of 20% a year for the next 3 years in stocks and this kinda returns are only in aggresive stock markets like the usa.. malaysian stock market? uhhh bleak...

So you can either believe that you are a stock market expert that will turn 500 to 864. or you can just invest gold and start at 500 and mabye hit 850 and you dont have to do anything about it, just own it. some people questioned where the hell you going to store the gold, there are investment companies that will hold the gold for you. you dont have to actually have the gold in your hands and keep it at the bank or back home!

Of course the question is, why is gold going up? for one its been artificially priced for many years, even now its underpriced but of course how long it stays that way depends on how long the powers at be (the usa) can keep it up. Usa has been printing money for a long time and has been accumulating massive debts for a long time, which starts to make the USD become more and more unattractive to hold, which is why russia, middle east and asia are slowly converting some of their holdings into gold to protect agaisnt the cowboy dollar.

Being in the USA myself I can see many of the reasons why USA is in such deep shit and it can't go up anymore, its doesnt have to crash, but since it can't go up.. it can only go down, the stupid market fueled by false real estate economy which is fueled by debts which is bought up by china in return for exporting its goods etc, its just a BS cycle, the dollar is in a mess right now, and since malaysia is a dog to the dollar (maintaining a dirty float) its going to be tagged along to go down and suffer the inflation also.

the best defence agaisnt inflation? GOLD.
mobiusone
post Dec 4 2005, 11:05 PM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Dec 4 2005, 08:01 PM)
Yes, personally, I'm also thinking about investing in futures when I have the right amount of knowledge ... However, currently, I still lack the knowledge in future ... Can anyhow recommend me anything such as books and etc? The futures I'm thinking is future index ...

well...you must first learn how to fight and use the weapon,before knowing where you fight.
Heard of Technical analysis? this is the best or the only weapon you could use in trading futures.When you want to buy a stock/futures contract,of course you need to do some research,if not...you are gambling.There are two ways to analyse it,fundamentals and technical.Fundamental uses balance sheet and looking at the news and pay close attention to whats happening to that certain company.This isnt encourage,because there are a lot of companies that produce fake balance sheets and spread false news and stuff,and this method is time wasting.Lets just say fundamentals cant protect you from h4x0rz.Technical uses charts,and thats all...You dont need to listen to any news or rumours.Just focus on the chart,you can see everthing.It is fast and much more accurate than analysing balance sheet.You dont have to worry about the company lying to you,you could see it in the chart.It is very useful in fast and volatile markets like futures.

this website explains all of it
http://www.investopedia.com/university/technical/

and if you have problems with it ask it here
http://forum.richdad.com/forums/tt.asp?appid=27
there are a lot of pros here

If you think learning from the internet is a bit hard...there are a lot of books about technical analysis,look for them at mph in mid valley.There are a lot being sold there.

Or....you could attend talks and seminar,look at the star's business section,there are a lot of ads about free talks and seminars.You could also attend courses,again the star business section is the best place for look for it,some of the courses has a free preview of it.If you really want to attend courses,i suggest you attend a guy called Fred Tam's courses.He is one of the best in technical analysis in malaysia.

If you mastered technical analysis,learning futures is like learning ABC

Geminist
post Dec 4 2005, 11:16 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(mobiusone @ Dec 4 2005, 11:05 PM)
well...you must first learn how to fight and use the weapon,before knowing where you fight.
Heard of Technical analysis? this is the best or the only weapon you could use in trading futures.When you want to buy a stock/futures contract,of course you need to do some research,if not...you are gambling.There are two ways to analyse it,fundamentals and technical.Fundamental uses balance sheet and looking at the news and pay close attention to whats happening to that certain company.This isnt encourage,because there are a lot of companies that produce fake balance sheets and spread false news and stuff,and this method is time wasting.Lets just say fundamentals cant protect you from h4x0rz.Technical uses charts,and thats all...You dont need to listen to any news or rumours.Just focus on the chart,you can see everthing.It is fast and much more accurate than analysing balance sheet.You dont have to worry about the company lying to you,you could see it in the chart.It is very useful in fast and volatile markets like futures.

this website explains all of it
http://www.investopedia.com/university/technical/

and if you have problems with it ask it here
http://forum.richdad.com/forums/tt.asp?appid=27
there are a lot of pros here

If you think learning from the internet is a bit hard...there are a lot of books about technical analysis,look for them at mph in mid valley.There are a lot being sold there.

Or....you could attend talks and seminar,look at the star's business section,there are a lot of ads about free talks and seminars.You could also attend courses,again the star business section is the best place for look for it,some of the courses has a free preview of it.If you really want to attend courses,i suggest you attend a guy called Fred Tam's courses.He is one of the best in technical analysis in malaysia.

If you mastered technical analysis,learning futures is like learning ABC
Thank you for your reply ... I have been following mutual fund for quite a while now by reading and understanding more behind it ...

Yea, I have heard of technical analysis and I know alittle bit here and there ...

I'm not really that fond of learning TA through the internet ... smile.gif

Do you happen to have any books which are good on technical analysis? I have been wanting to learn this for quite a while now, it's just that I can't find a good book about it ... I find knowing about TA is quite useful not only in stock, but also in other markets such as futures and FOREX ... smile.gif

85 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:32 AM