Anyhow, I find that it will be very confusing in the future if there's too much similar threads ...
Therefore, I merged your topic and edited the current title
Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment
Nov 6 2005, 05:14 PM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Hi, Silveru, thank you for contributing towards this section ..
Anyhow, I find that it will be very confusing in the future if there's too much similar threads ... Therefore, I merged your topic and edited the current title |
Nov 6 2005, 05:15 PM
39 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(naklee2k @ Nov 6 2005, 04:00 PM) welcome bro,very good topic,im also in the process of learning...btw juz wanna ask,how bout those equity index,index fund...lotsa them,mind share wif us? Thanks. I'm in the learning process as well. Do hope I can help you out. Well, are you looking into the cash index aka Kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI). I'll give you a brief overview of KLCI. Everyday, you should be observing from the news, that the Index is up 3 points... blah blah blah. Everyone will be wondering how does this come up. Basically, our index consists on 100 shares. These 100 shares are known as the bluechips as well. im very interested wif currency,but only can trade online,izit easy to get burnt?coz i heard a lot of ppl get burnt d...hehe,n they advise not to trade currency...any opinions on this...thank u very much;) Some news might quote heavyweights. Heavyweights usually refers to Maybank, MISC, Tenaga and Telekom. Reason being is of the 100 shares, these shares has the highest weightings. Say if Maybank drop 10 cents, our KLCI index will drop 1 point. If PBB drop 20 cents, our KLCI might only drop 0.5 points as the wightings are lower. I will post up the weightings of the top 20 bluechips so you can have a rough knowledge. This is the same for other countries as well. But Malaysia BOLEH! Have the most stocks wan. Haha... Hong Kong's Hang Seng on has 30, Singapore's STI has 50 and Japan's Nikkei also has very little only la. Can't remember Also becoz we have so many, our index don't move a lot. This is because volume traded already low. Back to your question, you cannot trade in the KLCI. You can do so by buying the 100 shares based on the weightings but no one will do that. The easiest way is through futures. Do look into my FUTURES posts. Look into this URL so you have some rough overview on how KLCI news is being reported: http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/news_...s.php?id=163546 Indeed, for currency, very very easy to get burnt. You can only trade online. You can look into http://www.fxcm.com/ or http://www.xpresstrade.com/. They have something called mini account whereby you don't need to be rich to trade. Only a small amount of USD300 is required to start an account. Why get burnt easily:- a) You are trading in USD. Meaning more money is used. c) High volatility of currency is because everywhere around the world is trading currency 24 hours a day. Some banks want to hedge their risk. Big big petrol companies are constantly buying or selling currencies to hedge their business risks. Compared to a small potato like us, we are nothing. This is the reason for the danger in currency trading. Their is a simulation given on http://www.fxcm.com/. Download it and try using it. It's free. You no need to pay anything. They will like give you money and you just use the money and play for fun. Like a game. Try it and you will know roughly how trading of currencies work Hope this helps |
Nov 6 2005, 06:44 PM
37 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
silveru, its a good explanation of why people get burnt. Which is why you need to study properly and have good risk & money management.
In your example, if your account size was only USD300, you would never open 1 lot. Instead you would open 0.1 lot and 1 pip would cost you USD1. High volatility is the reason why you trade. How would trades earn money then? There is danger in everything that is traded. People lose their shirts because they are greedy. Enough said. Ken |
Nov 6 2005, 07:02 PM
184 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 6 2005, 08:53 PM
772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Labuan |
Nov 6 2005, 09:49 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
QUOTE(Silveru @ Nov 6 2005, 04:54 PM) =FUTURES= Hi there, just to make the list complete you missed out FMG3 (3-year government bonds) There are three different segments of futures in Malaysia. =Equities based futures= FKLI (Futures of the Kuala Lumpur Composite Index) =Non equities based futures= KLIBOR (interest rates futures) FMG5 (5 years government bonds) FMGA (10 years government bonds) =Commodity= FCPO (Futures of crude palm oil) FKPO (Futures of kernel palm oil) The most commonly traded by retailers are FKLI and FCPO. Basically if you want to open an account you need to look for a broker. To open an account, you need at minimum RM2000. How to trade on futures??? ....................... For FCPO, 1 point is RM25. But FCPO's fluctuation is higher at times Great to know a dealer online |
Nov 6 2005, 10:21 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 6 2005, 10:23 PM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Silveru @ Nov 6 2005, 03:55 PM) e) Property (This is for high rollers. Haha... Anyways can help on this a lil as was working as a sales executive for mortgages for high end properties) There is an alternative way to play property. It is called Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT). You can buy and sell unit in REIT in small quantity. There are small number of REIT (3, I think) in Malaysia but more are coming out. Dreamer |
Nov 6 2005, 10:32 PM
1,010 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Melaka |
why don't you read books written by expert[s]...
i.e what kind of investments you're into.. i suggest books written by Azizi Ali. You can learn something from him. It's not that technical and quite easy to understand but the investment fundamentals are there. At least you know what to do and make your own decision wisely... |
Nov 6 2005, 10:33 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 6 2005, 10:21 PM) Hi, perhaps you can have a look here http://www.mdex.com.my/mdch/mdch.htm |
Nov 6 2005, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 6 2005, 11:23 PM) Hi, yeap 3 types..There is an alternative way to play property. It is called Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT). You can buy and sell unit in REIT in small quantity. There are small number of REIT (3, I think) in Malaysia but more are coming out. Dreamer i`m interested how this REITs...err wats it future in the malaysian market? besides add on the mesdaq part. QUOTE(lord_vader @ Nov 6 2005, 11:32 PM) why don't you read books written by expert[s]... add on,About azizi ali part, tats another topic for ppl who r alredy half way in career.Azizi Ali is much more for those who alredy making quite a money and wan to make more..to me he is like RDPD of Malaysia i.e what kind of investments you're into.. i suggest books written by Azizi Ali. You can learn something from him. It's not that technical and quite easy to understand but the investment fundamentals are there. At least you know what to do and make your own decision wisely... If you r talking about securing personal finance while you just started ur career, i might recommend The Money Book, by CAP of penang This post has been edited by Geminist: Nov 6 2005, 11:15 PM |
Nov 6 2005, 11:01 PM
Yeah, there is a lot of 'sifu' here. I need time to digest all this info. Even some of the terms and abbreviate i don't understand.
All this 'sifu' can guide me on where to invest. |
Nov 6 2005, 11:10 PM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Thread cleaned
--- It's great seeing such a good participation in this topic and moreover, this topic is something which I like ... However, because of this reason, please kindly refrain from posting things such as "thank you" or "wow, it's great, hope I can learn from you all" and etc, so that more information can be posted instead of single one liners holding no information (This is because if there's too many one liners, this section would extend quickly and alot of information will be buried under the earlier pages ... Of course, questions and information are welcome here This makes life easier for ppl who wish to scroll back up to read more about what is being said previously ... --- KVReninem, please kindly use the edit button if you wish to add in more information and when there's no one posting below you the next time --- Lastly, thank you very much for everyone here who's contributing and keep all the infos coming |
Nov 7 2005, 12:16 AM
1,470 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Securities Industry |
QUOTE(Sanity @ Nov 6 2005, 04:33 PM) Bro...can a normal people like me which is also a student buy government bond?If so, is it go and approach the Treasury Department?I am also in a process of learning...teach me AFAIK,unless u hold a private banking a/c,individuals hv no direct access to Govt Bonds.Nevertheless,investing in Govt bonds only give u slightly better interest compare to other interest bearing instruments available in the market.There is no capital gains.There is an alternative,the Ambank group recently launched a Bond Fund listed in Bursa which can be bought and sold in quantities of 100 unit(Stock name ABFMY1 and stock no. is 0800EA).This bond fund invest in Malaysian Govt bonds which is what u r looking for.But mind u,this instrument is very thinly traded and there is unlikely to be any capital appreciation. This post has been edited by lklatmy: Nov 7 2005, 09:14 AM |
Nov 7 2005, 09:28 AM
By looking at the current market, what is the recommended investment between bond and equity? What I know from my friend is that bond is depend on the bank interest rate. When the interest rate goes up then the bond price will drop and vice versa. He also mention that bond is a conservative investment that more stable than equity.
Nov 7 2005, 11:09 AM
1,470 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Securities Industry |
QUOTE(khoong25 @ Nov 6 2005, 06:44 PM) silveru, its a good explanation of why people get burnt. Which is why you need to study properly and have good risk & money management. Volatility can work for you if you r right,it work against u if u r wrong.High volatility is the reason why you trade. How would trades earn money then? There is danger in everything that is traded. People lose their shirts because they are greedy. Enough said. Ken Futures trading is a zero sum game,every dollar made,there's a loser. If u(I mean other forumers) are new,I would advise you to refrain from short term trading until you hv gain enough experience and build enough guts.and yes, never be greedy.You can't fight the big boys.A case in point is the CAO case that happened recently in Singapore. This post has been edited by lklatmy: Nov 7 2005, 12:01 PM |
Nov 7 2005, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(lklatmy @ Nov 7 2005, 12:09 PM) Volatility can work for you if you r right,it work against u if u r wrong. I agree with your saying besides investing also involved philopshy of war, and not easy to understand.Futures trading is a zero sum game,every dollar made,there's a loser. If u(I mean other forumers) are new,I would advise you to refrain from short term trading until you hv gain enough experience and build enough guts.and yes, never be greedy.You can't fight the big boys.A case in point is the CAO case that happened recently in Singapore. Iklatmy, Whut is the CAo case happened in singapore?do mind to tell wuts the story about it? |
Nov 7 2005, 07:43 PM
89 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
I read an article in The Star business section today about a bond that is indexed to the inflation rate. The value of your principal will appreciate according to the inflation rate plus another interest rate (which is not very high, I think). The attractiveness about this type of bond is that your purchasing power will remain the same while you get to enjoy the benefits of an interest rate.
QUOTE For illustrative purposes, assume an investor buys a one-year inflation-indexed bond that costs RM1,000 today, and promises a real return of 1.90%. If inflation turns out to be 3% by the end of one year, the face value of the bond will rise to RM1,030, and the bond will pay interest equal to 1.90% of RM1,030 or RM19.57. If inflation increases to 5%, the face value of the bond will rise to RM1,050, and the interest payment will be 1.90% of RM1,050 or RM19.95. For all the "sifu" here, do you think this bond is attractive? I think it can serve a very good purpose to place our emergency fund, right? If we withdraw our money from the bond before the predetermined date, are we going to get any interest? Wait, is there a predetermined date for withdrawal to start with? (http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/11/7/business/12444972&sec=business) |
Nov 7 2005, 08:36 PM
Silveru, i think i need to ask you this
CIMB is offering CIMB-principal fund... lots of list under it.. UT stuff i think.. how do you see either it is worth it or not? |
Nov 8 2005, 12:43 AM
24 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Hi All,
I have recently joined Alliance Unit Trust called MoneyPlus Fund. Anyone have any idea about it's potential? Thank you Vincent |
| Change to: | 0.0184sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:38 PM |