Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment
liangko
Sep 22 2006, 02:48 AM

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Sep 21 2005, 01:46 AM) "bank is a place where dumb people put their money inside to let the wise people use them for investment and become richer." lol, this phrase is **** meaningful. Yeah, u are right, i'm planning to take out all my money from my current acccount now.
dreamer101
Sep 22 2006, 03:10 AM
QUOTE(liangko @ Sep 22 2006, 02:48 AM) lol, this phrase is **** meaningful. Yeah, u are right, i'm planning to take out all my money from my current acccount now. "bank is a place where dumb people put their money inside to let the wise people use them for investment and become richer." Liangko, How do you know you are wise?? For example, I know that I am a dumb person as far as playing Malaysia stock market?? "To be wise is to know when you are dumb or you do not know enough!!" Dreamer
cherroy
Sep 22 2006, 09:40 AM
At least the dumb people has plenty of money to put in to bank otherwise he/she doesn't need to open an bank account.  I know what he/she means with that statement some sort of to maximise the return opportunity but in investment sometimes you need to be defensive depends on the market and economy situation, not always trying too aggressive. Offensive strategy during wrong environment will led to quick failure. Now you see lot of hedge fund suffering billions of loss even some has to be winding up by betting oil and natural gas will go much higher instead oil and natural gas plunge to year low. They use bank more than others in some range they has gearing/leverage of 800% e.g. you have 1 dollar but use bank facilities and futures contract so that your bet become like 8 dollar. Sound great if winning but if lossing how? where to find the extra 7 dollar? Investment strategy needs to be changed time from time, evaluate your strategy and market situation before commit your Hard-Earned money. This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 22 2006, 09:53 AM
leekk8
Sep 22 2006, 10:02 AM
This is not the issue of dumb or wise. This depends on individual. Usually people think doctor is wise, but we can't say a barber is dumb. This depends on individual's interest. If you interested in investment, then sure you can invest your money and get higher return. If you not interested in investment, it's a wise choice you save your money in bank compared to keep your cash under your pillow.
cherroy
Sep 22 2006, 11:31 AM
FD is also a type of investment, just it is low risk low return. It is not nice/right to call it as 'dumb' investment. When stock market, housing market and commodities price plunge time when financial melt-down/crisis, it becomes a wise investment already.
low yat 82
Sep 22 2006, 02:10 PM
jus saw newspaper got anounce new two funds from amanah raya berhad (who manages asw2020 etc)...so where can i buy it?
michaelwong
Sep 23 2006, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 26 2005, 03:21 PM) Hi, 1) The one year FD with the rate of 3.7% does not require 100K. I know because I have a FD with only 5K. 2) Do you know how to do your own calculation as to what is the actual return for insurance?? Are you certain that the return is more than 3.7% per year?? 3) Buying and selling share: Have anyone look at how much commission you need to pay for buying and selling shares?? I believe that you need to buy around 20K to 30K RM worth of share and the share need to go up enough for a person to do not lose money. 4) I know I am dumb so I put my money in the bank's FD. I know I am not smart enough to deal with share. Plus, from my own calculation the FD return is better than insurance.. 5) Unit trust -> Do you know what is annual maintenance fee for the unit trust?? It is fairly high and teh unit trust need to make enough to cover that expenses.. Dreamer FD better dude.. maybank already eat my RM478 for bank charges.. i better use to invest myself. the investment done by the fund manager like SH*T. even i can do more. T*u charge here charge there.. sure one day malaysia unit trust will fall down like spore. trust me. going soon..
dreamer101
Sep 24 2006, 06:28 AM
QUOTE(michaelwong @ Sep 23 2006, 02:01 PM) FD better dude.. maybank already eat my RM478 for bank charges.. i better use to invest myself. the investment done by the fund manager like SH*T. even i can do more. T*u charge here charge there.. sure one day malaysia unit trust will fall down like spore. trust me. going soon.. Michealwong, Normally, you will not buy something until you know how much it will cost you. So, why didn't you ask first on all the possible charges before you buy?? This is the lesson that you should learn. And, this is a cheap lesson. One of the lesson that I learnt costs me 50% of all my savings. Dreamer P.S.: From "Rich Dad's Guide to Investing", the first rule rule of investing is to make sure that you DO NOT lose money. This was spoken by Warren Buffet too. Rule No.1: Never lose money. Rule No.2: Never forget rule No.1. Warren Buffett This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 24 2006, 06:56 AM
dreamer101
Sep 24 2006, 06:52 AM
Minolta
Sep 24 2006, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 24 2006, 06:52 AM) I think it a good lesson for him. But this kinda scenario are ripe to happen in USA. Banks there are so loose for them to lend out money to someone with false assets, up to the tune of >$500k, and with 100% on cost of home.
luqmanz
Sep 24 2006, 01:50 PM
nice link. Thanks for sharing dreamer.
Darkmage12
Sep 24 2006, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Sep 22 2006, 02:10 PM) jus saw newspaper got anounce new two funds from amanah raya berhad (who manages asw2020 etc)...so where can i buy it? go to those banks like Maybank ,RHB BCHB and so they got sell
Civil
Sep 24 2006, 03:43 PM
So any of you guys know which banks gives higher return on FD?
Assassin
Sep 24 2006, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(Civil @ Sep 24 2006, 03:43 PM) So any of you guys know which banks gives higher return on FD? I got FD in RHB Not all the banks are the same meh? This post has been edited by Assassin: Sep 24 2006, 05:50 PM
Darkmage12
Sep 24 2006, 05:56 PM
earlier got la CIMB
cherroy
Sep 24 2006, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(Assassin @ Sep 24 2006, 05:50 PM) I got FD in RHB Not all the banks are the same meh? Normally all are about the same but sometimes it is a bit different from bank to bank depended on their management. Eg. hlb gives 4% from 1 years while maybank gives 3.7%
leekk8
Sep 24 2006, 10:19 PM
The interest rate of FD depends on bank. There is no fixed rate for all the banks. You can get the interest rate of all the banks from newspaper. Usually business section of newspaper have these information.
Mutual fund has its own advantage. Profit or loss, depends on how you choose the fund. The charges are clearly stated on the prospectus, read it before you invest on mutual fund. Not neccessary you will loss in mutual fund. If you interested and put effort to learn about stock, sure you invest directly in stock market will give you more return.
TSky_khor
Sep 25 2006, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(michaelwong @ Sep 23 2006, 02:01 PM) FD better dude.. maybank already eat my RM478 for bank charges.. detail pls.
led
Sep 25 2006, 08:10 PM
FD?!Yes if you dont have big dreamz in life.Too low profit ,nearly negligible.Lol...........
dreamer101
Sep 25 2006, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(led @ Sep 25 2006, 08:10 PM) FD?!Yes if you dont have big dreamz in life.Too low profit ,nearly negligible.Lol........... Led, Then, offer an alternative and prepare to defend your recommendation in this thread. Dreamer