112 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V12, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

rayfoo
post Oct 3 2011, 03:13 PM

2,562 posts

i meant to say if my unit is brand new with no phone wiring, am i expected to pull a phone cabling (copper) to the riser for unifi? or unifi will provide the cabling

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Oct 3 2011, 02:55 PM)
Don't over exert yourself in spinning and twisting.

If you're getting very big difference in different local servers, it means they™ can't even get their local connections right. Tantamount to the fact that they're merely selling packages advertising local speeds when local bandwidth should be close to FREE. Local bandwidth should be uncapped.

Your reason of not getting good response time between Unifi and Yes4G might be due to no peering involved between the 2 isps. Like I said, they are rivals and they put up a large wall between their borders.

Sounds like a salesman in the making.

Added on October 3, 2011, 2:59 pm

Same old phone port. They need only to trace your copper pair from your unit back down to the riser room that all.

There won't be old phone service anymore once they hook your copper pair up to their VDSL switch. Your copper pair will be made to replace a LAN cable between the VDSL switch and your apartment unit without needing a CAT 5/6 cable to be pulled.

That's the advantage of VDSL2. No need for actual LAN cable to be pulled directly to each home by utilizing your existing copper pair from the VDSL switch at the riser served by a fibre line as a backbone.

Added on October 3, 2011, 3:01 pm

The 10mbps package you subscribed is local rated speed.

Anything outside TM's own local peering servers even unrelated local isps, expect a huge drop in speed.
Pain_X
post Oct 3 2011, 03:14 PM

244 posts

Added on October 3, 2011, 3:01 pm

The 10mbps package you subscribed is local rated speed.

Anything outside TM's own local peering servers even unrelated local isps, expect a huge drop in speed.
Seriously? Thats a massive kick in the balls. So roughly what kind of speeds can i expect for normal filesharing sites?

Thanks for the reply smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pain_X: Oct 3 2011, 03:15 PM
blackdollie
post Oct 3 2011, 03:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 3 2011, 02:53 PM)
Hey guys,new 10 MBps user here.The workers came over and fixed it today morning.

Im a little disappointed with the download speed though. Internet speed test shows speed of 9.8 Mb/s download and 8.8 upload,but when i tried a test download of a movie from megaupload,the speed is very slow. Tried it with fileserve/filesonic,im getting speeds of about 300 KB/s. Im using Internet Download Manager to download btw.

I know 300 KB/s is still quite fast,but im paying for 10 MB/s and was hoping for at least 500 KB/s. Any idea why its like this? sad.gif

Thanks in advance
are u filesonic/fileserve 's premium user?
Pain_X
post Oct 3 2011, 03:17 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(blackdollie @ Oct 3 2011, 03:15 PM)
are u filesonic/fileserve 's premium user?
Nope sad.gif
Just a normal user. I want to try the normal firefox click link download after this instead of using IDM and see if there is any difference. Will torrents be better? I remember it being throttled badly..
Ahn3hn3h
post Oct 3 2011, 03:18 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Oct 3 2011, 03:13 PM)
i meant to say if my unit is brand new with no phone wiring, am i expected to pull a phone cabling (copper) to the riser  for unifi? or unifi will provide the cabling
Depends on the arrangement of your building maintenance. Did your home deal came with telephone wiring provided by the developer? If not then it's more worthwhile for them to pull fibre since copper isn't present.

Just like they do it in Singapore HDB.

Fibre all the way to your unit drop termination is not your responsibility.
IwanAGP
post Oct 3 2011, 03:43 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Oct 3 2011, 02:55 PM)
Don't over exert yourself in spinning and twisting.

If you're getting very big difference in different local servers, it means they™ can't even get their local connections right. Tantamount to the fact that they're merely selling packages advertising local speeds when local bandwidth should be close to FREE. Local bandwidth should be uncapped.

Your reason of not getting good response time between Unifi and Yes4G might be due to no peering involved between the 2 isps. Like I said, they are rivals and they put up a large wall between their borders.

Sounds like a salesman in the making.

Nah... But... The weird thing here is... The cyberjaya server hosted by TM itself also gives me 500ms ping. Idiot routing they have there... Stupid TM
blackdollie
post Oct 3 2011, 03:59 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 3 2011, 03:17 PM)
Nope sad.gif
Just a normal user. I want to try the normal firefox click link download after this instead of using IDM and see if there is any difference. Will torrents be better? I remember it being throttled badly..
normally,free user won't get very high speed...maybe should try download from megaupload / rapidshare to see what speed u'll get.... biggrin.gif
Pain_X
post Oct 3 2011, 04:01 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(blackdollie @ Oct 3 2011, 03:59 PM)
normally,free user won't get very high speed...maybe should try download from megaupload / rapidshare to see what speed u'll get.... biggrin.gif
Oh i see,thanks mate. Im guessing i didnt notice that as i was on 1mbps connection before this and i rarely reached over 130 kbps download. Funny thing though,i tried a random IDM download on some video which was 90 MB and it reached speeds up to 1.25 mbps,lol..
brotan
post Oct 3 2011, 05:41 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 3 2011, 03:17 PM)
Nope sad.gif
bro,

normally non premium customer the speed are cap by the storage service provider, not by TM
Pain_X
post Oct 3 2011, 05:59 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Oct 3 2011, 05:41 PM)
bro,

normally non premium customer the speed are cap by the storage service provider, not by TM
Haha yea bro,read my post above this. I never noticed this coz previously my net speed=garbage tongue.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post Oct 3 2011, 06:09 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

anyone experiencing waaay below average speed for VIP5?
lebHaF
post Oct 3 2011, 06:11 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 3 2011, 05:59 PM)
Haha yea bro,read my post above this. I never noticed this coz previously my net speed=garbage tongue.gif
Where ure staying?The installation starts at wat time?Provide some details about the equip,bro..
Pain_X
post Oct 3 2011, 06:24 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(lebHaF @ Oct 3 2011, 06:11 PM)
Where ure staying?The installation starts at wat time?Provide some details about the equip,bro..
Im in Jalan Melawis Klang. They came at 10:20 am,assessed the area and decided on which way to pull the cables ( my house is the only house in the lorong,so the telephone poles and stuff are in weird places) and then they told me they will go and do the 'outside' work first.

15-20 mins later they came back to my house and told me they cant do fix it for my house yet as the poles or something arent properly connected to my house yet. It can be done for the houses 2 streets away but they havent connected it yet to the next poles. (this part im not very sure,once the fella told me cant,i wasnt paying attention)

Then 15 mins after they left,he suddenly called me and said his boss said they can do it,and proceeded to do all the wiring and stuff. The process in itself is very simple. If u live in a 'normal' house without cabling and pole issues,they should be able to finish it in 2 hrs tops.

Equipment: DECT phone,Dlink wireless router DIR 615,the whole IPTV set thing with remote(its in my parents room,cant remember all the stuff) and the main white thing that receives the cable from set top box,sry dunno what its called lol.
lebHaF
post Oct 3 2011, 06:41 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 3 2011, 06:24 PM)
Im in Jalan Melawis Klang. They came at 10:20 am,assessed the area and decided on which way to pull the cables ( my house is the only house in the lorong,so the telephone poles and stuff are in weird places) and then they told me they will go and do the 'outside' work first.

15-20 mins later they came back to my house and told me they cant do fix it for my house yet as the poles or something arent properly connected to my house yet. It can be done for the houses 2 streets away but they havent connected it yet to the next poles. (this part im not very sure,once the fella told me cant,i wasnt paying attention)

Then 15 mins after they left,he suddenly called me and said his boss said they can do it,and proceeded to do all the wiring and stuff. The process in itself is very simple. If u live in a 'normal' house without cabling and pole issues,they should be able to finish it in 2 hrs tops.

Equipment: DECT phone,Dlink wireless router DIR 615,the whole IPTV set thing with remote(its in my parents room,cant remember all the stuff) and the main white thing that receives the cable from set top box,sry dunno what its called lol.
Thanks so ur house is using poles not the green under ground box?Online Registration?
And contact method u put Mobile thats why they call u or if put sms they just sms u only?

This post has been edited by lebHaF: Oct 3 2011, 06:47 PM
brotan
post Oct 3 2011, 06:53 PM

2,392 posts

just registered online yesterday

those who apply through online, roughly how long they will come to install?
Pain_X
post Oct 3 2011, 06:55 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(lebHaF @ Oct 3 2011, 06:41 PM)
Thanks so ur house is using poles not the green under ground box?Online Registration?
And contact method u put Mobile thats why they call u or if put sms they just sms u only?
Yeap,my house still using the telephone pole outside. Online registration and my contact i put as call handphone. Dont worry la bro,they were quite efficient,u shouldnt have any problems smile.gif

QUOTE(brotan @ Oct 3 2011, 06:53 PM)
just registered online yesterday

those who apply through online, roughly how long they will come to install?
Depends on the day u set as the appointment. I set mine as today on the 23rd of last month,and they came today biggrin.gif
brotan
post Oct 3 2011, 07:01 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 3 2011, 06:55 PM)
Yeap,my house still using the telephone pole outside. Online registration and my contact i put as call handphone. Dont worry la bro,they were quite efficient,u shouldnt have any problems smile.gif
Depends on the day u set as the appointment. I set mine as today on the 23rd of last month,and they came today biggrin.gif
not bad. came in 2 weeks time
blindbox
post Oct 3 2011, 07:30 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Oct 3 2011, 08:06 AM)
Seems today morning some web pages cann't open.
TM maintenance or somewhere cable broken? hmm.gif
Some country's websites are slow since a few hours ago (namely, those in US and Germany). Australia seems fine though.

I suspect East USA and Europe are the ones having problems. I can access some other US websites, no problem.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Oct 3 2011, 07:30 PM
xjia
post Oct 3 2011, 08:09 PM

245 posts

im using BIZ5, so far the speed is 500-600kbps.

line basicly is stable, but sometimes when playing CS, battlefield, first person shooter game, will hav 30secs-1 min lag... ping raised up to 1000-3000 then falls back again.

Otherwise, its ok.
Phoenice
post Oct 3 2011, 08:13 PM

34 posts

Speaking of the filesonic download speed, I just installed the the unifi vip5 at Tmn Pelangi, JB.

Speedtest result at around 4988kbps (download) but filesonic only giving me around 150kbps download speed. Funny part is when I tried to download some stuff from nvidia website, I could simply hit 600kbps. >.<

anyone encounter same issue?

112 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0567sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:03 AM