124 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Aug 10 2011, 04:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rr09 @ Aug 10 2011, 12:21 PM)
Thanks Gen-X for the reply
You're welcome.

To All: Please don't feel offended if I do not acknowledge your "Thank You" because if I do, I'll be spamming a lot tongue.gif

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 10 2011, 02:42 PM)
1. Annual Income: Around 40k++
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must + GST Waiver
3. Card required for: Petrol (90%) + Online Payment + Food + Others
4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Direct Access (Supplementary)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any
6. Others: Cash back is better
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than 1k, Around RM300 ~ 500 per month (Mostly Petrol)
The only Cash Back Card that gives you auto annual fee waiver and also GST waiver is OCBC Titanium MasterCard. You just need to swipe 12 times to get annual fee waived BUT for the GST waiver, you got to spend RM10K per year in order to qualify for the waiver.

Let us take your senario and compare the cash back cards. Say you spend like RM400 a month (RM4800 a year) on petrol only and nothing else.

OCBC Titanium MasterCard and UOB One Card: Cash Back 5% x RM4800 = RM240. Less RM50 GST, Net return RM190/year.

Maybankard 2 Card American Express (you must pump petrol on Sat & Sun only):
i. CAsh Back from weekends transaction at non-petronas stations: 5% x RM4800 = RM240.
ii. Treat Points: 4800 x 5TP = 24,000 Treats Points where you can use 10,000 TP to offset GST and balance 14,000TP can redeem for minimum RM50 voucher.
Therefore net return with RM4,800 with MBB 2 Amex = RM290/year.

So as you can see above, Maybankard 2 American express is better than UOB One Card and OCBC Titanium MasterCard if and only if you pump petrol on weekends and the petrol station you go to accept AMEX.

Click here to read my article on UOB One Card where I have prepared a table comparing it to Maybankard 2 Amex, OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Citibank Cash Back. From this article, there should be a link to my articles on MBB 2 and OCBC TMC or you will notice a Popular Post column in the right side, click on Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium MasterCard article to learn more.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 10 2011, 04:09 PM
alexng2208
post Aug 10 2011, 04:05 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

1. Annual Income: RM40k +

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably but if not surely can ask hor

3. Card required for: Petrol, Dining, Utilities, Movies, others not so major

4. Existing credit cards if any: Citi plat, Citi CB plat, SChart Biz Plat

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: UOB 1 card / OCBC Tita

6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Around 1K but sometimes more
TSGen-X
post Aug 10 2011, 04:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Aug 10 2011, 04:05 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM40k +
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably but if not surely can ask hor
3. Card required for: Petrol, Dining, Utilities, Movies, others not so major
4. Existing credit cards if any: Citi plat, Citi CB plat, SChart Biz Plat
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: UOB 1 card / OCBC Tita
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Around 1K but sometimes more
You got Citi Plat and Citi CB and SCB Biz Plat (Cash Back).

For petrol, I guess for your case UOB One CArd and OCBC TMC no diff since you already getting 5% cash back.

For Groceries, your Citi CB also gives you 2% and your Citi Plat 5X points at many Departmental and Hypermarkets.

Once again, click here to my article on UOB One Card.I have done a sample calculation on how much one can earn from various cash back cards including Citi CB. Go do one yourself and determine if OCBC TMC and UOB One Card can earn you more than Citi CB and Citi Plat.

Having said above, I would go with OCBC TMC or Maybankard 2 Cards since your spending is less than RM1K in general and cancel the 3 cards you have and get back RM150 from GST, hahaha. But Citi recently got many places giving discount and SCB do reward pretty good gift to their card holders ( not sure if that is applicable to Biz Card). You apply SCB Plat just to get the cash offer tongue.gif
yuunasue
post Aug 10 2011, 08:19 PM

232 posts

1. Annual Income: SGD 48k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Able to ask for waive

3. Card required for: Oversea spending and some big amount purchase in Msia only

4. Existing credit cards if any: MBB2Plat , UOB preferred Plat, Citi CBP

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Standchart or OCBC ?

6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: business use. dependable on invoicing

higher limit at UOB card 15K new upgrade from one Plat, able to take Citi PM card? Traveling 3 times per year

This post has been edited by yuunasue: Aug 10 2011, 08:22 PM
an0nym
post Aug 11 2011, 12:16 PM

1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Better have

3. Card required for: Cash rebate, petrol, n anything extra is a benefit

4. Existing credit cards if any: nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Doest really matter

6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Im a foreigner n been working officially since may 2011, before that I was working as a part timer in on university, anyway, I can bring along the proof of my salary for past 4 months...

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: upto 3K

8. Additional: to all /k/ kindhearted ppl, Would u please pm me the detail of the card as well, Thanks in advance
TSGen-X
post Aug 11 2011, 01:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Aug 10 2011, 08:19 PM)
1. Annual Income: SGD 48k
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Able to ask for waive
3. Card required for: Oversea spending and some big amount purchase in Msia only
4. Existing credit cards if any: MBB2Plat , UOB preferred Plat, Citi CBP
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Standchart or OCBC ?
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: business use. dependable on invoicing
higher limit at UOB card 15K new upgrade from one Plat, able to take Citi PM card? Traveling 3 times per year
what happened to your Petronas Plat? Why don't you call Citi and ask about PremierMiles.

QUOTE(an0nym @ Aug 11 2011, 12:16 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Better have
3. Card required for: Cash rebate, petrol, n anything extra is a benefit
4. Existing credit cards if any: nil
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Doest really matter
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Im a foreigner n been working officially since may 2011, before that I was working as a part timer in on university, anyway, I can bring along the proof of my salary for past 4 months...
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: upto 3K
Go talk to the bank your salary is deposited.
alexng2208
post Aug 11 2011, 01:43 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 10 2011, 04:23 PM)
You got Citi Plat and Citi CB and SCB Biz Plat (Cash Back).

For petrol, I guess for your case UOB One CArd and OCBC TMC no diff since you already getting 5% cash back.

For Groceries, your Citi CB also gives you 2% and your Citi Plat 5X points at many Departmental and Hypermarkets.

Once again, click here to my article on UOB One Card.I have done a sample calculation on how much one can earn from various cash back cards including Citi CB. Go do one yourself and determine if OCBC TMC and UOB One Card can earn you more than Citi CB and Citi Plat.

Having said above, I would go with OCBC TMC or Maybankard 2 Cards since your spending is less than RM1K in general and cancel the 3 cards you have and get back RM150 from GST, hahaha. But Citi recently got many places giving discount and SCB do reward pretty good gift to their card holders ( not sure if that is applicable to Biz Card). You apply SCB Plat just to get the cash offer  tongue.gif
thanks man.. u read me right. the SCB is for the 228 cash back only smile.gif now going to cancel it and the Citi CB card.

i applied for a OCBC TCB based on your review
btjwsk
post Aug 11 2011, 01:58 PM

14 posts

1. Annual Income: 130K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably YES

3. Card required for: A card easily accepted world-wide

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB VS, CIMB Platinum

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Preferably foreign bank

6. Others: Please be specific. Credit limit should be 15K to 30K.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: 1K to 3K

Any good credit card (preferably MasterCard) to recommend?
TSGen-X
post Aug 11 2011, 02:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(btjwsk @ Aug 11 2011, 01:58 PM)
1. Annual Income: 130K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably YES
3. Card required for: A card easily accepted world-wide
4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB VS, CIMB Platinum
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Preferably foreign bank
6. Others: Please be specific. Credit limit should be 15K to 30K.
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: 1K to 3K
Any good credit card (preferably MasterCard) to recommend?
For you, click here to read my article Malaysia Top Ten Credit Cards.
yuunasue
post Aug 11 2011, 08:26 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 11 2011, 01:16 PM)
what happened to your Petronas Plat? Why don't you call Citi and ask about PremierMiles.
Nothing happened to the Petronas Plat, i didn't hold that card... Abt the PremierMiles card, asking how many % to getting approval with kinda CL...
TSGen-X
post Aug 11 2011, 09:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yuunasue @ Aug 11 2011, 08:26 PM)
Nothing happened to the Petronas Plat, i didn't hold that card... Abt the PremierMiles card, asking how many % to getting approval with kinda CL...
I remembered your case very well because you posted sometime back MBB sent you the Petronas card via FedEx and you mentioned in another post you had the Petronas and you were complaining something like MBB2 Amex Plat no class since the Plat word not on the card that time tongue.gif

From V15, General Thread, post #188
QUOTE(yuunasue @ Mar 11 2011, 09:53 PM)
Currently i'm holding petronas since their didn't charge any annual fees to my account, if change the other, scary have to pay for it.
As for the PremierMiles, like I said call Citi CS since you got their Plat CB. If not mistaken, sometime ago someone mentioned CL RM6K can get Citi Plat already. Oh, what happened to your RM50K CL from HSBC?

From V13 CC Thread
QUOTE(yuunasue @ Dec 18 2010, 08:51 PM)
But if you pledge a 200k you will auto entitle Premier card with CL 50k ( That limit only i get  hmm.gif  )

yuunasue
post Aug 11 2011, 10:01 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 11 2011, 09:38 PM)
I remembered your case very well because you posted sometime back MBB sent you the Petronas card via FedEx and you mentioned in another post you had the Petronas and you were complaining something like MBB2 Amex Plat no class since the Plat word not on the card that time  tongue.gif

That case settle long time already ^^, almost forget.. I complaint until them withdraw the card then... BTW, Above asking for my friend behalf, not my finance criteria .. @@

From V15, General Thread, post #188
As for the PremierMiles, like I said call Citi CS since you got their Plat CB. If not mistaken, sometime ago someone mentioned CL RM6K can get Citi Plat already. Oh, what happened to your RM50K CL from HSBC?

No longer holding PM, shift to VS instead. Useless card can't access ant airport lounge... Damm.. Focus Eon VI now..  drool.gif

From V13 CC Thread
CL 6k can get Plat card?? Foolish ??? hmm.gif My lower plat card also got 50k la, from SCB but cxl pass year when new rules come out.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yuunasue: Aug 11 2011, 10:02 PM
seanlee89
post Aug 13 2011, 03:56 AM

417 posts

1. Annual Income: RM30k -RM36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferably

3. Card required for: Installments & Most importantly Cash Out

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybank 2 Cards

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: None

6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Around 1k-2k
curaptz
post Aug 13 2011, 08:43 AM

568 posts

edited.... smile.gif... blush.gif

This post has been edited by curaptz: Aug 13 2011, 08:46 AM
snigapoe
post Aug 13 2011, 11:04 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Aug 13 2011, 03:56 AM)

may be u can try for uob 1 card also with cash back feature
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2011, 11:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Aug 13 2011, 03:56 AM)
You overspending. Salary RM36K, spending up to RM24K p.a. Credit Cards are not for you because with the high interest charges, the balance money you have in hand that is not spent will just go towards paying interest with the cash advance you will do. I am serious.

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Aug 13 2011, 11:04 AM)
may be u can try for uob 1 card also with cash back feature
what happened to your standard advise not to spend beyond your means tongue.gif
king_lover23
post Aug 13 2011, 09:39 PM

1,055 posts

but AMEX is less common in malaysia right?
compared with MASTER card and VISA?

lotus_man
post Aug 15 2011, 02:01 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 11 2011, 01:16 PM)
Hi Gen-X,
Sorry. curi post reply.
anyway, salary deposited meaning ?
show them my bank statement that it had entered in instead of pay slip?
reason im asking is, cause im planning to apply the Maybank2kad Plat. unfortunately, for me to reach5k per month(which is inclusive of petrol), it would only come in the bank statement & not d pay slip.

snigapoe
post Aug 15 2011, 08:40 AM

2,388 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 13 2011, 11:41 AM)
You overspending. Salary RM36K, spending up to RM24K p.a. Credit Cards are not for you because with the high interest charges, the balance money you have in hand that is not spent will just go towards paying interest with the cash advance you will do. I am serious.
what happened to your standard advise not to spend beyond your means  tongue.gif
hah not feeling well on that day but still came inside the forum
so abit blur blur, dosent think much tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Aug 15 2011, 10:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Peterchua89 @ Aug 15 2011, 12:45 AM)
Issit possible to get a cc if my annual income is less than 24k?? Anyone got one with an annual inc less than 24k before? Anyway i never had a cards before so im a new holder.
What are you trying to say? You got a CC with annual income less than RM24 p.a. income.

According to BNM guideline, the banks are not suppose to issue CC to anyone earning less than RM24K. Having said that, previosly one can pledge FD with banks like PBB and HLB to get a credit card with credit limit equivalent to the FD pledge. And also one is supposed to be issued a Credit Card when one opens a privilege banking account.

To answer your question, yes, my wife and me did get a credit card each few months back from Citi when we open a Citi Gold Account even though we declared our income was nil at that time.

QUOTE(lotus_man @ Aug 15 2011, 02:01 AM)
Hi Gen-X,
Sorry. curi post reply.
anyway, salary deposited meaning ?
show them my bank statement that it had entered in instead of pay slip?
reason im asking is, cause im planning to apply the Maybank2kad Plat. unfortunately, for me to reach5k per month(which is inclusive of petrol), it would only come in the bank statement & not d pay slip.
The best way to justify your income is what you declared in your BE Form. But where cases where one does not have salary slip or relevant documents, some banks will consider the monthly amount credited into savings account as proof of income in the case of housing loans. I guess best is talk to Maybank, try asking 1U branch since they are suppose to process your card within an hour.

124 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:32 AM